Head to head
Compared side by side on published facts and the same six criteria every review is graded on — generated from the live directory, not a sales page.
Adyen
Payment Processor · 4.4/5 mean
Adyen is a global, enterprise-grade payments platform that unifies acquiring, processing, routing and risk management into a single stack for merchants with international and omnichannel needs.
Read the full review →Elavon
Payment Processor · 2.5/5 mean
Elavon is one of the world's largest payment processors, serving over 2 million merchant locations across 36 countries offering a comprehensive suite of enterprise payment solutions, but widely criticized by small and mid-size merchants.
Read the full review →Adyen holds the higher standing — by grade, then mean category score. The row-by-row picture below is what should actually decide it for your business.
Both graded against the same six criteria. How we grade · Last fact-checked August 19, 2026.
| Criterion | Adyen | Elavon |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | 5.0wins this criterion | 1.0 |
| Feature set | 5.0wins this criterion | 4.0 |
| Ease of use | 4.0wins this criterion |
Straight from each provider's published documentation. Where a number isn't published, we say so rather than estimate.
| Metric | Adyen | Elavon |
|---|---|---|
| Online rate | Not disclosed | Not publicly disclosed; quote-based |
| Monthly fee | no universal monthly fees | Not disclosed |
| Payout | 1-2 business days (varies by currency, bank, payout model, and cut-off times) | 1-2 business days (91% of merchants funded within 2 business days as of May 2025, per Elavon) |
| Contract | None for main merchant contracts. Specific services have specific commitment.s that renew automatically | Not disclosed |
| In-person rate | Not disclosed | Typically cited as 2.6% + $0.10 (varies by contract) |
| Keyed rate | Not disclosed | Approximately 3.5% + $0.15 |
From the Elavon review
Both target enterprise merchants, but Adyen pairs its unified global stack with transparent Interchange++ pricing, no monthly or PCI fees, and no early-termination fee, while every Elavon rate is quote-based. Elavon still competes for organizations that want the financial stability of its U.S. Bancorp parent and its dedicated suites for healthcare, hospitality, and the public sector.
Pick Adyen if you need one omnichannel enterprise platform with transparent Interchange++ pricing
Ideal for
Not recommended for
Ideal for
Not recommended for
The full reviews carry the pricing narratives, contract analysis and everything else behind these numbers — or let the matching funnel score the whole directory against your business.
| 2.0 |
| Customer support | 3.5wins this criterion | 2.0 |
|---|
| Contract terms | 4.0wins this criterion | 2.0 |
|---|
| Industry reputation | 5.0wins this criterion | 4.0 |
|---|
| PCI fee | No separate PCI fee | Historically $29–$59/month |
|---|
| Statement fee | No separate statement fee | Not disclosed |
|---|
| Chargeback fee | Regional per-dispute fees (exact amounts depend on contract) | Not disclosed |
|---|
| Early termination | None. However, termination does not alter your liability under the Agreement, including those for processed payments, related chargebacks, or other liabilities in connection with the agreement. If there are negotiated custom term or commercial commitments in your agreement, you will be responsible for such terms or commitments. | Historically $295 (first year) or $195 (years 2–3); company has reportedly reduced ETFs for some contracts |
|---|
| Last fact-checked | August 19, 2026 | August 19, 2026 |
|---|