Stripe
Payfac / AggregatorClaimedStripe is a leading payment processor known for its developer-friendly API, transparent pricing, and comprehensive suite of payment solutions for businesses of all sizes.
We grade payment processors on pricing transparency, features, support and contract terms — then publish the reasoning behind every grade.
reviewed
independent
always
The report card
real directory dataStripe
Payfac / Aggregator
PayKings
Agent Office / Reseller
Square
POS & Business Software
The evidence
Rates, fees, payout times and contract terms come from published documentation and public filings — never from a sales call. Each review carries the date it was last fact-checked.
Where a provider doesn't disclose a number, the review says so. We don't estimate, and we don't fill gaps with marketing copy.
The fact sheet
real directory dataHelcim
Fact-checked September 7, 2026
Every value above is published by the provider. A processor that doesn't publish a number gets “Not disclosed” in that cell — never an estimate.
The grade
Pricing transparency, feature set, ease of use, customer support, contract terms and industry reputation — every review scores all six, and the grade is what the scores say it is.
No pay-to-play, no sponsored placements. A provider can't buy a better grade; they can only earn one, and the reasoning is published either way.
The scorecard
real directory dataHelcim
Mean category score 4.5/5
The six weighted scores produce the letter grade — the same rubric for every review in the directory.
Head to head
Same criteria, same evidence, side by side — with a winner called per row and overall, and the reasoning for each call.
Where the honest answer is “it depends on your business”, the comparison says that instead of forcing a verdict. And it's not just the featured matchups — any two of the reviewed processors can be compared.
Head to head
real directory data| CDGcommerce | Helcim | |
|---|---|---|
| In-person markup (under $50,000 a month) | Not disclosed | Interchange + 0.40% + 8¢ |
| Online and keyed markup (under $50,000 a month) | Not disclosed | Interchange + 0.50% + 25¢ |
| Monthly account fee | Not disclosed | $0 |
| ACH bank payments | Not disclosed | 0.5% + 25¢, capped at $6 |
Full transparency
Lawsuits, regulatory actions, undisclosed pricing, contract traps — when the evidence turns up a problem, it goes in the review with the same prominence as the praise.
A grade you can trust has to be allowed to be bad. Every item in this feed links to the review that documents it.
Watch out
from published reviewsCADE v. Redecard S.A. (online payment facilitators), Case 08012.004089/2009-01
Rede · 2014-07-23
CADE inquiry into Itaú Unibanco and Redecard (receivables and bank-domicile locks)
Rede · 2018-07-04
CMF sanction of Transbank S.A., Resolución Exenta N°9244
Transbank · 2024-10-01
CMF order to cease instalment advances (Transbank's challenge, Rol 438-2024, Santiago Court of Appeals)
Transbank · 2025-11-03
Doesn't publish its pricing
Rede
Doesn't publish its pricing
Niubiz
Documented in the linked reviews — legal actions are listed with case title, date and status.
Top rated
Ranked by grade, then by average category score. Equal grades share a position. An acquirer and an agent office are not the same purchase — pick a category to rank like against like.
Stripe is a leading payment processor known for its developer-friendly API, transparent pricing, and comprehensive suite of payment solutions for businesses of all sizes.
PayKings is a specialized payment processor offering tailored solutions for high-risk industries with a strong emphasis on fraud prevention.
Square offers simple, transparent payment processing ideal for small businesses. Flat-rate pricing, no monthly fees, and excellent software make it a top choice — but account holds and limited support are key concerns.
Helcim is a Calgary-based payment processing company that offers genuinely transparent interchange-plus pricing with no monthly fees, no hidden charges, and a comprehensive suite of free payment tools.
Adyen is a global, enterprise-grade payments platform that unifies acquiring, processing, routing and risk management into a single stack for merchants with international and omnichannel needs.
Shopify Payments is Shopify’s own branded payments service — processed by Stripe, per Shopify’s published processor list — giving merchants one-click access to accepting cards and wallets inside Shopify, simplifying setup and eliminating third-party gateway fees for supported merchants.
The directory
Rede is the merchant acquiring business of Itaú Unibanco, Brazil's largest private bank. It started in 1996 as Redecard, Itaú took it private in 2012, and it has traded as Rede since 2013. The legal entity is Redecard Instituição de Pagamento S.A., authorised by the Banco Central do Brasil as a payment institution in the acquirer (credenciador) category. Rede signs the merchant agreement itself, so there is no reseller or sub-merchant layer between you and the acquirer. It rents out the orange "laranjinha" card terminals, and it also sells a payment-link tool, the e.Rede online API, the Maxipago gateway and prepayment of card receivables. It does not publish its card rates; its own FAQ says they are negotiated per business. It does publish terminal rental prices, which as of November 2026 run from R$19 to R$109 a month. Itaú Empresas account holders can have that rental waived once they bring enough sales volume to the bank. The contract has no fixed term, and either side can end it on 15 days' notice without penalty. Itaú reports that Rede was Brazil's largest acquirer by card volume in 2025. Rede holds Reclame Aqui's top RA1000 rating. It has settled two CADE competition cases, in 2014 and 2018.
Niubiz is Peru's largest card acquirer. It was known as VisaNet Perú until February 2020 and is run by Compañía Peruana de Medios de Pago S.A.C. from Miraflores, Lima. It signs merchants directly, rents them POS terminals and also sells an online gateway (Pago Web), payment links, QR acceptance, working-capital loans and a cash-in agent network. It is owned by Peruvian banks and, as of Indecopi's 2021 market study, Visa; BBVA Perú reported a 20.20% stake at 30 September 2025. Niubiz publishes a rate table by business segment, as Peru's central bank requires. Weighted-average rates run from 1.53% to 3.38% on credit cards, 1.79% to 2.73% on debit and 3.88% to 4.03% on foreign cards, with maximums up to 4.95%. Your own rate is agreed when you sign up, and the table does not say whether IGV is included. Terminal rental prices are not published. Its help centre says sales are paid the next business day if your account is with BCP, BBVA or Scotiabank, and in two business days at other banks, though the contract allows up to three. The contract has no fixed term, and either side can end it on 30 days' notice by notarial letter. It lets Niubiz hold suspect transactions, defer payouts by up to 30 days after unremedied fraud, and deduct card-not-present transactions an issuer flags as errors without asking for your documents. Dispute fees run from about $2 to $842 per case, and there are monthly penalty programmes for merchants above dispute or fraud thresholds.
Bold is a Bogotá fintech, founded in 2019, that sells card terminals (datáfonos), payment links, an online checkout and a free business account to small Colombian merchants. You buy the terminal outright, from COP 79,000 for the Bluetooth Neo to COP 399,000 for the Smart Pro with a printer. There is no rental, monthly fee or fixed-term contract. As of November 2026, merchants selling up to COP 10 million a month pay 2.69% + COP 300 on in-person Visa and Mastercard sales and 2.99% + COP 900 online, if they take next-day payouts into a Cuenta Bold. Instant payouts and payouts to other banks cost more. Every rate is quoted before IVA and tax withholdings. Bold.Co S.A.S. signs the merchant agreement as a payment aggregator. A sister company, Bold CF Compañía de Financiamiento, is the licensed acquirer and holds the deposit account. Bold CF is supervised by the Superintendencia Financiera and its deposits are covered by FOGAFÍN. The pricing is unusually transparent for the market and the app ratings are excellent. The merchant terms are the weak point. Bold can freeze a merchant's whole sales balance for an initial 180 days when a dispute or suspected fraud comes up, keep a reserve of 15% to 25% of monthly sales, and change rates on seven days' notice.
Transbank is Chile's largest card acquirer, which traces its origins to a company a group of banks set up in 1989 and is still owned by banks. Its biggest shareholders are Banco de Chile, Banco Santander-Chile and Scotiabank Chile. It signs merchants directly under its own Visa, Mastercard and American Express acquiring licences, and it sells card terminals, the Webpay online checkout, Oneclick stored-card payments and free payment links. Its tariff page lists 2.29% on credit cards and 1.49% on debit and prepaid cards, plus IVA, for merchants that join from 1 September 2026. Two help-centre articles still quoted 2.35% and 1.75% in October 2026, so confirm the rate in writing. Existing merchants are priced differently. Debit sales made before 2pm on a business day are paid the next business day, and credit sales a day later. The contract has no fixed term and either side can end it on 30 days' notice. For most of its life Transbank's pricing was regulated. Its acquiring margin was freed in January 2026, after the Supreme Court upheld a 2025 competition-tribunal ruling and the competition authority confirmed Transbank's share of acquirer processing, by number of transactions, had been below 50% for six months. Its record includes a 2024 fine from the financial regulator and several lawsuits from large merchants and payment companies over fee increases.
Pesapal is a Nairobi payments company, founded in 2009, that lets businesses in East and Southern Africa accept Visa, Mastercard and American Express cards and mobile money such as M-Pesa. It sells online checkout (API, plugins, a hosted payments page, payment links and e-invoices), Sabi card terminals, the Rack point-of-sale and inventory system, a bulk payout tool called Openfloat, and merchant loans. The Central Bank of Kenya has licensed Pesapal Limited as a payment service provider since June 2021, and the company says it is also regulated in Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Zambia. Its site also has Malawi and Zimbabwe pages. Each business signs a merchant agreement with Pesapal itself. Its takings sit in a trust account and are paid out to a local bank account when the business asks; Pesapal's help pages put that at 48 hours to 3 working days. The main weakness for a buyer is price: as of October 2026 Pesapal publishes no merchant rates. Its old pricing page is gone, and its own FAQ links to a pricing page that does not exist. KCB Group, Kenya's largest bank, has agreed to buy 22.23% of the company, subject to regulatory approval. Pesapal's Trustpilot profile is small and very negative, and most complaints are about withdrawals that are delayed or held.
Openpay is a Mexican online payments company founded in Querétaro in 2013 and part of the BBVA Group since 2017. BBVA signed the agreement to buy it on 23 December 2016 and announced the closing, at its Mexican bank BBVA Bancomer (now BBVA México), on 24 April 2017. It lets a business take cards, SPEI bank transfers and cash payments at more than 30,000 shops through its own Paynet network, from one checkout, payment link or API integration. Its prices are published. As of October 2026 domestic Visa, Mastercard and Carnet cards and American Express cost 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA. International Visa and Mastercard cards cost 4.10% + IVA, SPEI transfers MX$8.00 + IVA, and cash payments 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA. Interest-free instalments (meses sin intereses) add a surcharge of 4.8% to 13.8%, depending on the term. There is no monthly fee and no fixed contract term. Openpay works as an aggregator: it collects your sales into an Openpay balance and pays the balance out weekly, on the weekday you choose. Card sales become available to pay out one business day after the sale, and Amex and cash sales after three. The terms are firmly on Openpay's side. It can hold all or part of your balance for up to 540 days, makes you liable for chargebacks for 540 days, and charges 3% a month interest on unpaid chargeback debts. It can also refuse or close an account without giving a reason. BBVA also sells Openpay to its own customers as Zona de cobro, a separately priced product run through the BBVA app.
Network International is a Dubai-based payments company. It acquires card payments for merchants in the UAE through its own N-Genius POS terminals, SoftPOS apps and the N-Genius Online gateway, and it processes cards for banks across the Middle East and Africa. The company was set up in 1994 as a subsidiary of the bank group now called Emirates NBD. It listed in London in 2019, was taken private by a Brookfield-led group on 17 September 2024, and merged with the UAE payments company Magnati on 1 October 2025. Network said then that the two brands would co-exist for the time being, and Network International is still sold under its own name as of October 2026. Merchant pricing is not published: you get a quote, and the merchant agreement adds fees on top of the per-transaction rate, such as terminal rent, a minimum-volume fee for months with card sales of AED 20,000 or less and a fee for daily statements. All fees are charged plus 5% VAT. The UAE merchant agreement (February 2025 version) is strict. It runs for 36 months, renews automatically for another 36 unless you give three months' notice, makes Network your exclusive provider, and charges a business that leaves early at least AED 25,000. Network can also hold settlement funds for up to 540 days after delivery or termination. The product range is broad and support runs 24/7 in the UAE. However, all 22 Trustpilot reviews are one-star, and they mostly describe hidden charges and held funds.
Coinbase Business is the crypto business account from Coinbase, Inc., and since 31 March 2026 it is how a merchant accepts crypto through Coinbase. Coinbase Commerce, the self-custodial checkout Coinbase ran from 2018, was folded into it and its portal closed on that date. Coinbase Business takes stablecoins only: customers pay in USDC on Base, Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, Arbitrum and (per the product page) Avalanche, or in USDT on Ethereum, and the money lands as USDC in a custodial account that Coinbase holds for you, usually within seconds. There are payment links, invoices, a Checkouts API with refunds, and payouts. Stablecoin payments are final, so there are no chargebacks. You can hold USDC and earn a variable reward, listed at 3.60% APY in October 2026, or convert it to dollars and withdraw to your bank. As of October 2026, only businesses with a legal entity in the US or Singapore can open an account. The biggest weakness is price. Coinbase announced a 1% fee on payment links in October 2025 and keeps 1% for merchants who moved over from Commerce, but its public pages now say only that a fee applies to each completed payment and that you must sign in to see it. Converting USDC to dollars automatically also costs an unpublished fee. Coinbase can close an account at its sole discretion without giving a reason.
Asaas is a Brazilian billing and payments platform for small businesses and self-employed sellers, based in Joinville, Santa Catarina. It lets a business issue charges by Pix, boleto and card, send payment links, run subscriptions and instalment plans, chase late payers and issue service invoices from one free digital account. There is no monthly or setup fee. As of October 2026 its standard prices are R$1.99 per Pix or boleto payment received and R$0.49 + 2.99% for a single-payment credit card charge, rising to R$0.49 + 4.29% for 13 to 21 instalments. New accounts get lower prices for their first three months. The catch is timing: card money arrives up to 32 days after the sale, and each instalment arrives 32 days apart, unless you pay to anticipate it. Card anticipation costs 1.25% a month on single payments and 1.70% a month on instalments, subject to credit approval. Asaas has been a Banco Central do Brasil-authorised payment institution since June 2021, and a sister company in its group holds a finance company (SCFI) licence. It is not itself a card acquirer: card payments run through acquirers behind it, with Asaas holding the merchant relationship. It is founder-led and backed by BOND, SoftBank and others. Its Reclame Aqui rating is Ótima (great), but recent complaints centre on blocked accounts and withheld balances.
Compare processors on published facts — rates, fees, contract terms and support — with a grade that explains itself.
Browse reviews →Claim your listing to file corrections and track them. Not reviewed yet? Request one and we will assess you against the same six criteria as everyone else.
Free API + MCP
The grades, rates and fees are open behind a free API and an MCP server, so Claude or any MCP client can query the catalogue directly. No key, no waiting list.
search_reviewsget_reviewcompare_processorsThe library
Expert insights and industry analysis.

What a business in Estonia, Latvia or Lithuania pays to take cards and bank payments in 2026, from the Baltic price lists of Swedbank, LHV, Citadele, SumUp, Revolut, Montonio, Paysera and others, plus the surcharge ban, Latvia's duty to take non-cash payments and the EU instant-payment rules.

What a business in Argentina pays to take cards and QR transfer payments in 2026, from the providers' own pages: Fiserv (Posnet and Clover), Payway, Mercado Pago, Naranja X, Ualá Bis and Cuenta DNI, plus the central bank's caps, payout deadlines, the surcharge ban and the tax withholdings.

What a business in South Korea pays to take cards in 2026: the preferential rates set by regulation for merchants with sales up to ₩3 billion, what larger merchants pay, what Toss Payments and other online gateways charge, the ban on card surcharges, and how a foreign seller takes Korean cards.
Our team of experts can provide personalized recommendations based on your business needs.
Get Expert Advice