Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Reviews
PayKings

Review · Fact-checked September 7, 2026

PayKings Review

PayKings is a specialized payment processor offering tailored solutions for high-risk industries with a strong emphasis on fraud prevention.

PayKings logo
A
433 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, Florida (with a Utah office)1st of 14 agent offices
Connect with PayKings
See pricing
Visit website

External link — we may earn a commission.

Rate from
IC + 1.10% + 25c, or IC + 0.80% + 10c above $100K/mo.
Monthly
$13 (waived on Growth).
Payout
T+2, or next-day above $100K/mo.
Contract
No long-term contracts.
Support
Business hours (ET)
VerdictPricingFeatures5ReputationFAQsAlternatives3Methodology

Connect with PayKings

Tell them what you need. This goes to PayKings only.

Free. Providers are ranked on fit and editorial grade — no one can pay to appear higher.

Best for

Card-not-present merchants in restricted verticals — CBD, nutraceuticals, firearms, debt relief, supplements, coaching — who want a number they can model before they talk to anyone. It suits merchants around and above $100K a month best, where the Growth tier drops the markup to 0.80% + 10c and adds a dedicated rep, and merchants who have been declined elsewhere and need a broker with a real panel of back ends rather than a single bank.

How it scores

Pricing4.5
Features4.5
Ease of use4.0
Support3.5
Contract4.0
Reputation score4.5

What it costs

Details →
Online
IC + 1.10% + 25c, or IC + 0.80% + 10c above $100K/mo.
Monthly
$13 (waived on Growth).
Chargeback
$25 per incident.

What others rate them

Details →
TRUSTPILOT
4.7
GOOGLE
4.7
BBB
null

The take

A

PayKings does the one thing this corner of the industry almost never does: it publishes what it charges. Three interchange-plus tiers, a monthly fee, a chargeback fee and a settlement speed for each, all on the public site, where every competitor makes you book a call. It also advertises no setup fees and no long-term contracts, and Merchant Maverick's July 2026 review records the same. The qualifier that keeps it from the top of the scale is structural rather than a criticism of conduct: PayKings is an agent office, not a registered ISO, and its site does not say so. The contract you sign, the reserve you carry and the day your money lands are set by whichever ISO your file is placed with — North, Maverick, Worldpay and Global Payments are among them. Ask which one before you sign, and the published rate card is a genuinely strong starting point.

Skip if you

Take most of your volume in person: the Starter tier charges the same 1.10% markup on a swipe as on a keyed sale, and a low-risk card-present specialist will be far cheaper. Skip it too if you sell internationally, since PayKings places US accounts only; if you are low-risk and qualify for a flat-rate payfac, where you will pay less and sign nothing; or if you need contractual certainty from the company you are actually talking to, because as an agent office PayKings is not the party on your merchant agreement.

Chapter 1

Should you choose PayKings?

The headline take, the audiences it's right (and wrong) for, and the genuine differentiators behind the verdict.

About

PayKings is a specialized payment processor offering tailored solutions for high-risk industries with a strong emphasis on fraud prevention.

Pros, cons, and audience

Best for

  • Mid-volume merchants ($100K+/mo) who want IC + markup with a dedicated rep
  • High-volume restricted-vertical merchants (CBD, nutra, firearms, debt relief) processing $300K+/mo
  • Merchants graduating from Stripe / Square who need real account management
  • Businesses that want published interchange-plus pricing as a negotiation anchor before talking to specialty acquirers

Skip it if you

  • Low-volume merchants under $25K/mo — flat-rate competitors (Square, Stripe) will likely cost less than IC + 1.10%
  • High card-present-volume retailers — Helcim's ~0.20% CP markup is meaningfully cheaper than PayKings's flat 1.10% Starter markup on the same swipe
  • Brand-new businesses in unrestricted verticals — flat-rate predictability is easier to forecast in early months
  • Merchants who refuse to share processing statements during underwriting

Pros

  • Publishes interchange-plus pricing across three tiers on its own site — IC + 1.10% + 25c on Starter, IC + 0.80% + 10c above $100K a month — which almost no high-risk specialist does.
  • Publishes settlement speed per tier too: T+2 on Starter, next-day on Growth, same-day where available on Enterprise.
  • Advertises no setup fees and no long-term contracts, and Merchant Maverick's July 2026 review records the same.
  • Approves restricted verticals mainstream processors decline — CBD, nutraceuticals, firearms, debt relief and around fifty others.
  • Growth-tier perks unlock at $100K a month rather than at seven figures, so a mid-sized merchant reaches a dedicated rep and better pricing sooner.
  • Places files across a serious panel of back ends — North, Maverick, Worldpay and Global Payments among them — so a decline at one is not the end of the application.
  • Fourteen years in business, incorporated in 2011, which is old for this corner of the industry.
  • Gateways are NMI and Authorize.Net, so the integration surface is large and a merchant is not locked to a proprietary gateway.

Cons

  • PayKings is an agent office, not a registered ISO, and its site does not say so. The merchant agreement, the reserve, the funding timetable and any termination fee come from whichever ISO your file is placed with, not from PayKings.
  • Because of that, the published rate card is PayKings' offer rather than a guaranteed contract term — the final paper is the back end's.
  • No card-present discount on the Starter tier: the same 1.10% markup applies to a swipe as to a keyed card-not-present sale, which is expensive for a retailer.
  • Rolling reserves are normal on higher-risk files, and neither the percentage nor the release schedule is published.
  • Starter support is email-only. A held batch that needs same-day attention will wait unless you are on Growth or above.
  • No BBB rating at all — accredited status was never sought and the bureau says it lacks sufficient information to issue one — so the single most-checked reputational signal in this industry is simply absent.
  • No international acceptance: PayKings places US merchant accounts only.
  • Three corporate names are in play — PayKings, 813 Management, LLC in the site footer, and Merchant Payments Acceptance Corp, LLC on the BBB record. Check which entity is named on your agreement.

What makes them different

The genuine differentiator

Published interchange-plus pricing in high risk. Every direct competitor in this category — PaymentCloud, Zen Payments, High Risk Pay, SecureGlobalPay, TailoredPay — quotes only after a sales call. PayKings prints three tiers, the fees attached to each, and the settlement speed you get with them. That does not make it the cheapest, and it is not a contract guarantee, but it is the only one you can price before you pick up the phone.

How we score it

4.5
Pricing Transparency
4.5
Feature Set
4
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
4
Contract Terms
4.5
Industry Reputation
Chapter 2

What it costs

Real-world cost at three volumes, plus the rates, fees, payouts, and contract terms that drive them.

What PayKings actually costs

Estimated annual cost at three realistic processing volumes, using PayKings’s published online rate plus monthly fees. Real costs vary with average transaction size, chargeback rate, and any negotiated terms.

Small business
$10K/mo volume · ~$75 avg transaction
$161K/year
≈ $13K/mo · 134.56% effective rate
Growing merchant
$50K/mo volume · ~$100 avg transaction
$607K/year
≈ $51K/mo · 101.13% effective rate
High volume
$250K/mo volume · ~$150 avg transaction
$2.0M/year
≈ $169K/mo · 67.77% effective rate

Pricing details

How PayKings pricing works

PayKings is one of the very few high-risk specialists that publishes its pricing rather than hiding it behind a sales call. The model is interchange-plus across three tiers: Starter for accounts under $100K a month, Growth from $100K to $300K, and a custom Enterprise tier above that where restricted verticals are quoted during underwriting. You pay the card networks' interchange cost plus a disclosed markup, which makes the bill auditable in a way tiered high-risk pricing never is.

Published rates and fees

  • Starter (under $100K/mo): interchange + 1.10% + $0.25, T+2 settlement, email support
  • Growth ($100K-$300K/mo): interchange + 0.80% + $0.10, next-day settlement, dedicated rep, monthly fee waived
  • Enterprise ($300K+/mo): custom pricing, same-day settlement where available, 24/7 team and a dedicated risk analyst
  • Monthly fee: $13, waived on Growth
  • PCI compliance: $4.50 per month
  • Chargebacks: $25 per incident
  • Advertised: no setup fees, no hidden costs, no long-term contracts

The thing the website does not tell you

PayKings is an agent office, not a registered ISO. It sells and services merchant accounts but holds no card-network registration of its own, and submits applications to registered ISOs — North, Maverick, Worldpay and Global Payments among them. Nothing about that model is improper; it is how a large part of this industry works, and PayKings' panel is a genuine asset, because a file declined at one bank can be moved to another rather than dying. But the site does not disclose it, and a merchant reading that rate card would reasonably believe they are buying from the processor.

The consequence is concrete. The published tiers are PayKings' offer. The merchant agreement, the term, any early-termination fee, any rolling reserve and the day your money actually lands are the sponsoring ISO's, and they vary by back end. The single most valuable question to ask before signing is which one your file is going to — and then to get the term, the termination fee, the reserve percentage and its release schedule in writing from the company named on the paper.

Card-present costs the same as online

The published markups apply across online, keyed and in-person transactions alike, with no card-present discount on the Starter tier. For a retailer whose volume is mostly swiped or tapped, that flat 1.10% is expensive: low-risk card-present specialists price their in-person markup at a fraction of it. PayKings' pricing makes the most sense for card-not-present merchants comparing it against a flat-rate payfac rather than against a retail interchange-plus quote.

What the reputation signals do and do not say

Trustpilot rates PayKings around 4.7 across roughly 225 reviews, and Google 4.7 across 94; Merchant Maverick scored it 4.4 out of 5 in July 2026. Those are good numbers. The Better Business Bureau is the gap: PayKings is not accredited and carries no rating at all, because the bureau says it lacks sufficient information to issue one. That is neutral rather than damaging, but in an industry where BBB is the first thing a cautious merchant checks, an absent record is worth knowing about rather than glossing over.

What to pin down before you sign

Four things, and all four come from the back end rather than from PayKings: the contract term and whether it auto-renews, the exact early-termination fee if any, the reserve percentage and its release schedule, and your funding timetable. Ask which ISO the file is being placed with, and confirm all four with that company. The published rate card gives you a strong anchor going into that conversation, which is more than any direct competitor offers — but the anchor is not the agreement.

Processing Rates

Online

IC + 1.10% + 25c, or IC + 0.80% + 10c above $100K/mo.

Card-not-present, e-commerce, and online payments

In-person

The same published markups apply in person — there is no card-present discount on the Starter tier.

Card-present retail and point-of-sale transactions

Keyed

Same published markups; PayKings does not price by entry mode.

Manually entered card-not-present transactions

International

Not supported. PayKings places US merchant accounts only.

Cross-border and foreign currency transactions

Fees

Monthly Fee

$13 (waived on Growth).

Recurring monthly account fee

PCI Compliance Fee

$4.50/month.

Annual PCI DSS compliance and security fee

Chargeback Fee

$25 per incident.

Per-incident chargeback dispute fee

Payouts

Standard Payout Time

T+2, or next-day above $100K/mo.

Regular deposit schedule to your bank account

Expedited Payout Time

Same-day settlement where available, on the Enterprise tier.

Faster deposit option (may have additional fees)

Minimum Payout Amount

Settlement speed is published per tier on PayKings' own site — T+2 on Starter, next-day on Growth, same-day where available on Enterprise. That is unusually specific for a high-risk placement, but it is PayKings' commitment as the agent rather than the acquiring bank's: the bank your file lands with sets the funding that actually applies, so confirm it in the agreement you sign.

Minimum balance required before payout

Contract Terms

Contract Length

No long-term contracts.

Required commitment period

Cancellation Process

PayKings advertises no setup fees, no hidden costs and no long-term contracts, and Merchant Maverick's July 2026 review records the same. Treat that as PayKings' own offer rather than the whole story: PayKings is an agent office, so the agreement you actually sign is the sponsoring ISO's — North, Maverick, Worldpay or Global Payments among them — and the term, any early-termination fee, any rolling reserve and the funding timetable all come from that company. Ask which back end your file is going to before you sign, and get those four things in writing from whoever is named on the contract.

How to terminate your account

PayKings Pricing Calculator

Estimate your monthly costs

Pick a published plan, enter your volume and transaction profile, and we’ll compute the math the same way an underwriter would. Real costs vary with card mix, chargeback rate, and any negotiated terms.

$
$
Estimated Monthly Cost
$20,110.00
Effective Rate
201.10%
Discount rate (1.1% × $10,000)$110.00
Per-transaction fees ($100.00 × 200)$20000.00
Number of transactions200

Flat all-in rate (interchange built in)

Chapter 3

What you actually get

Products, integrations, payment-type coverage, security posture, and how their support holds up in practice.

Products & Services

payment processing

High-Risk Merchant Accounts

Customized based on business type and risk level

Customized payment processing solutions for high-risk industries.

Key Features
  • Support for industries like CBD, adult, firearms, and more
  • Advanced fraud detection
  • Chargeback prevention tools
  • Recurring billing options
gateway

High-Risk Payment Gateway

Customized based on integration and volume

Secure gateway tailored for high-risk transactions.

Key Features
  • Real-time transaction monitoring
  • PCI DSS Level 1 compliance
  • Multi-layer authentication
  • Customizable payment flows
virtual terminal

Virtual Terminal

Included with merchant account services

Web-based terminal for manual payment processing.

Key Features
  • Manual entry for card-not-present transactions
  • Secure data handling
  • Integration with fraud prevention tools
ach

ACH Processing

Customized based on transaction volume

Electronic check processing for high-risk merchants.

Key Features
  • Support for recurring ACH payments
  • Reduced transaction fees compared to credit cards
  • Integrated with fraud prevention systems
mobile payments

Mobile Payment Solutions

Customized based on business needs

Accept payments via mobile devices.

Key Features
  • Mobile-optimized checkout
  • Integration with mobile wallets
  • Secure transaction processing

Special Features

Subscription Management

Supported

Manage recurring subscriptions and billing cycles

Invoicing

Supported

Create and send professional invoices

Marketplace Tools

Supported

Multi-vendor marketplace functionality

Virtual Terminal

Supported

Accept payments manually via web interface

Recurring Billing

Supported

Automated recurring payment processing

Multi-Currency Support

Not Available

Accept and process multiple currencies

Support & Contact

When something goes wrong

Support tiering matches the pricing tiers cleanly: Starter is email-only, Growth adds a dedicated account rep in business hours, Enterprise unlocks a 24/7 team and a dedicated risk analyst. The email-only floor is a real gap for a low-volume merchant — a held batch that needs same-day attention will wait. PayKings runs offices in Florida and Utah, which is why a Utah number appears alongside the St. Petersburg ones.

(727) 399-6960
support@paykings.com
Business hours (ET)
Visit Website
Chapter 4

What others say

Synthesis of third-party platform reviews and industry ratings — agreements, disagreements, and which signals to weight.

Platform Ratings

Aggregated Trust Score

Based on 94 reviews across 3 rating platforms

4.7
out of 5
Overall Rating

Trustpilot

0 reviews
Reviewer Notes

Trustpilot rates PayKings around 4.7 out of 5 across roughly 225 reviews, up in volume and slightly down in score from the 4.9 across 140 recorded at the last check. Reviewers consistently cite fast approval for verticals that had been declined elsewhere. As with any processor, the reviews cluster at onboarding — the point at which a merchant has met the sales team and not yet seen twelve statements.

Google Reviews

94 reviews
Reviewer Notes

Google reviewers echo the Trustpilot picture: quick onboarding for hard-to-place industries and responsive account handling.

Better Business Bureau

0 reviews
Reviewer Notes

The Better Business Bureau records PayKings at 433 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, started and incorporated on 1 November 2011 — which is where the founding year here comes from — and lists Kyle Hall as chief executive. It is **not** BBB accredited and carries no rating at all: the profile states the BBB does not have sufficient information to issue one. That is neutral rather than negative, and it is also the reason this review does not lean on BBB either way.

Industry Ratings

Card Payment Options

5/5

Merchant Maverick

4/5
Chapter 6

Common questions

Frequently Asked Questions

General

Yes. The Better Business Bureau records PayKings at 433 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, Florida, started and incorporated on 1 November 2011 — fourteen years in business — with Kyle Hall as chief executive. Trustpilot rates it around 4.7 across roughly 225 reviews. Two things to know rather than doubts about legitimacy: it is not BBB accredited and carries no BBB rating, and it is an agent office rather than a registered ISO, so the company on your merchant agreement will be one of its sponsoring processors.

Pricing

Contracts & Terms

Features

Support

Chapter 7

Better choices if…

Direct comparisons to alternatives, framed around when each option makes more sense than this one.

Alternatives compared

If you You have been declined by multiple processors and want a concierge to place you across multiple banks, or you value month-to-month terms with no cancellation fee over published rates.
Payment Cloud

PaymentCloud is a high-risk agent/reseller that shops your application across a network of banks, with no setup fees and often month-to-month contracts — but pricing is quote-only, while PayKings publishes its interchange-plus tiers upfront.

Compare PayKings vs Payment Cloud
If you You are an international or repeatedly-declined merchant that other high-risk processors will not place, and you prefer a boutique veteran shop over published pricing.
Durango Merchant Services

Durango is a veteran boutique high-risk specialist that can place almost any business type, US-based or international, but does not disclose rates — most accounts land on tiered pricing — and its small team hands off-hours support to upstream processors.

Compare PayKings vs Durango Merchant Services

Also worth comparing

Stripe

Stripe offers transparent pricing and robust developer tools but has strict policies that may not accommodate high-risk industries.

Compare PayKings vs Stripe

How we evaluated PayKings

We evaluate every payment processor independently — Payment Review does not accept paid placement. Our analysis combines hands-on product testing where possible, public pricing and policy documents, third-party reviews from BBB, Trustpilot, Google, and G2, and employee feedback from sites like Glassdoor and Indeed. We update reviews on a rolling cadence and flag the next review date so readers know how fresh the analysis is.

Last fact-checked September 7, 2026Reviewed by Payment Review Editorial Team

Was this review helpful?

Share this review

Share via Email

Found something inaccurate or out of date?

Suggest a correction. Our editorial team reviews every submission and updates reviews on a rolling cadence.

Not sure PayKings is the right fit?

Answer a few questions and we will rank every provider we have graded against what your business actually needs.

Get matched free

Free. Providers are ranked on fit and editorial grade — no one can pay to appear higher.

See something wrong? Suggest an edit →

Alternatives

StripeA · 2.9% + $0.30Payment CloudB+ · Estimated: 2.5% – 3.5% + $0.20–$0.30 for low-risk e-commerce; 3.5% – 5.0% + $0.30 for high-risk e-commerce.Durango Merchant ServicesB+

Merchant Reviews

5 out of 5 · 2 reviews

  • 2026-08-18

    Ethan at PayKings was so good. He got me taken care of and answered all of my questions quickly. I highly recommend PayKings to anybody looking for a solution!

    Isiah Steele

  • 2026-07-28

    Our company processes a lot of recurring online payments, so reliability is extremely important but Paykings got us approved and processing within a few days.

    Layla Reimann

Share your PayKings experience

Never published. Used only if we need to contact you about this review.

Quick Navigation