Compared side by side on published facts and the same six criteria every review is graded on — generated from the live directory, not a sales page.
A-
Adyen
Platform / Acquirer · 4.4/5 mean
Adyen is a global, enterprise-grade payments platform that unifies acquiring, processing, routing and risk management into a single stack for merchants with international and omnichannel needs.
Helcim is a Calgary-based payment processing company that offers genuinely transparent interchange-plus pricing with no monthly fees, no hidden charges, and a comprehensive suite of free payment tools.
Helcim holds the higher standing — by grade, then mean category score. The row-by-row picture below is what should actually decide it for your business.
Both graded against the same six criteria. How we grade · Last fact-checked September 8, 2026 and September 7, 2026.
The six criteria
Adyen and Helcim scored out of 5 on each of the six review criteria.
Criterion
Adyen
Helcim
Pricing transparency
5.0
5.0
Feature set
5.0✓wins this criterion
4.0
Ease of use
4.0
4.0
Published facts
Straight from each provider's published documentation. Where a number isn't published, we say so rather than estimate.
Published rates, fees and terms for Adyen and Helcim.
1-2 business days (varies by currency, bank, payout model, and cut-off times)
Next business morning (eligible banks), else 1–2 days
Contract
None for main merchant contracts. Specific services have specific commitment.s that renew automatically
No long-term contracts
In-person rate
Not disclosed
Interchange + 0.4% + $0.08 per transaction
Keyed rate
Not disclosed
Interchange + 0.5% + $0.25
Who each one is for
Adyen
Ideal for
Mid-market to large international e-commerce retailers and marketplaces
Enterprise merchants seeking a single omnichannel platform
Companies that need advanced routing, local acquiring, or custom settlement/payout logic
Not recommended for
Very small brick-and-mortar merchants looking for a simple, low-cost POS
Merchants looking for flat monthly pricing
Helcim
Ideal for
High-volume retail or professional service businesses
Merchants processing more than $50,000 per month where volume discounts amplify savings
Also excellent for Canadian businesses, professional services (medical, dental, legal), home services, eCommerce merchants
Developers building custom payment integrations.
Not recommended for
Very low-volume businesses or startups
High-risk industries
Merchants who need same-day funding
Brick-and-mortar retailers that need a full countertop POS setup with customer-facing displays
Strengths and trade-offs
Adyen
✓Unified global platform covering online, in-person POS, payouts, and issuing in one stack
✓Transparent Interchange++ pricing — a published 0.60% markup on Visa, Mastercard and Maestro — with no setup, monthly, PCI, or statement fees
✓Strong developer tools, SDKs, documentation, and a full sandbox
✓Built-in risk and fraud management (RevenueProtect) at the platform level
✕Support, onboarding, payout, and billing complaints are common outside enterprise account tiers — Trustpilot sits at 1.3
✕Pricing and contract details are negotiated, which can be opaque and complex for smaller merchants
✕Interchange++ means your effective rate fluctuates with card mix rather than staying predictably flat
✕Sales-led onboarding with no self-serve signup — a poor fit for very small merchants who need to be live quickly
Helcim
$0 monthly, setup, PCI, statement, and cancellation fees — you pay only per-transaction costs
Still deciding?
The full reviews carry the pricing narratives, contract analysis and everything else behind these numbers — or let the matching funnel score the whole directory against your business.
Regional per-dispute fees (exact amounts depend on contract)
$15 per chargeback — refunded if merchant wins dispute
Early termination
None. However, termination does not alter your liability under the Agreement, including those for processed payments, related chargebacks, or other liabilities in connection with the agreement. If there are negotiated custom term or commercial commitments in your agreement, you will be responsible for such terms or commitments.
$0
Last fact-checked
September 8, 2026
September 7, 2026
✓
✓Fully published interchange-plus rate table, so you can price your account before ever talking to sales
✓Automatic volume discounts that update from your three-month processing average, no renegotiation needed
✓No long-term contract and a $0 early termination fee — effectively zero lock-in
✕Next-morning card deposits require an RTP/FedNow-participating bank and a batch closed by 7:00 PM MT; ACH payouts still take 3-5 business days
✕Some merchants report funds held or accounts closed during risk and AML compliance reviews, with limited explanation
✕Does not accept high-risk merchants
✕No full countertop POS registers, so brick-and-mortar retailers needing a complete register setup with customer-facing displays must look elsewhere