Head to head
Compared side by side on published facts and the same six criteria every review is graded on — generated from the live directory, not a sales page.
Braintree (PayPal Enterprise Payments)
Payment Processor · 4.3/5 mean
Braintree is a full-featured, globally-capable payment gateway solution (online + mobile) backed by PayPal, offering robust APIs, developer tooling, and enterprise-class features for merchants. Primarily deals in mobile and web payment systems.
Read the full review →Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
Payment Processor · 3.8/5 mean
Chase Payment Solutions is the merchant services arm of the #1 US bank, offering small and mid-sized businesses a deeply integrated combination of payment processing, same-day deposits, and banking tools. They're backed by the trust and scale of JPMorgan Chase but with flat-rate fees that may not suit high-volume merchants.
Read the full review →Braintree (PayPal Enterprise Payments) holds the higher standing — by grade, then mean category score. The row-by-row picture below is what should actually decide it for your business.
Both graded against the same six criteria. How we grade · Last fact-checked September 2, 2026 and August 19, 2026.
| Criterion | Braintree (PayPal Enterprise Payments) | Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | 4.0wins this criterion | 3.0 |
| Feature set | 5.0wins this criterion | 4.0 |
| Ease of use | 4.0 |
Straight from each provider's published documentation. Where a number isn't published, we say so rather than estimate.
| Metric | Braintree (PayPal Enterprise Payments) | Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services |
|---|---|---|
| Online rate | 2.89% + $0.29 per transaction | 2.9% + $0.25 per transaction |
| Monthly fee | $0 monthly fee for standard processing. Third-party guides report a $49/month gateway-only model with $0.10 per transaction; neither PayPal nor Braintree publishes such a rate. | $0 (basic plan; Chase Business Complete Banking may have separate monthly fee waivable with $2,000/month in payments) |
| Payout | Typically 1-2 business days after batch settlement (varies by acquiring bank) | Next business day for deposits to non-Chase bank accounts |
| Contract | Public sources indicate month-to-month terms for many merchants | Month-to-month plans. Free terminal plans may require 2 year service agreement. |
| In-person rate | Not disclosed | 2.6% + $0.10 per transaction |
From the Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services review
Braintree processes PayPal and Venmo natively alongside cards and wallets in one integration and offers the modern SDKs and developer control that Chase Payment Solutions lacks. Chase remains the better fit for merchants who value bank-integrated processing and same-day access to funds over developer tooling.
Pick Braintree (PayPal Enterprise Payments) if you need native PayPal and Venmo acceptance inside a single developer integration
Ideal for
Not recommended for
Ideal for
The full reviews carry the pricing narratives, contract analysis and everything else behind these numbers — or let the matching funnel score the whole directory against your business.
| 4.0 |
| Customer support | 4.0wins this criterion | 3.0 |
|---|
| Contract terms | 4.0 | 4.0 |
|---|
| Industry reputation | 5.0 | 5.0 |
|---|
| Keyed rate | Not disclosed | 3.5% + $0.10 per transaction |
|---|
| International rate | typically an additional +1% surcharge | Dynamic Currency Conversion available; custom rates apply |
|---|
| PCI fee | Not disclosed | Not publicly listed |
|---|
| Statement fee | Not disclosed | Not publicly listed |
|---|
| Chargeback fee | Not disclosed | $25 to $100 per incident |
|---|
| Early termination | Likely no early termination penalty | $0 for month-to-month accounts; applicable if free hardware accepted under 2-year contract |
|---|
| Last fact-checked | September 2, 2026 | August 19, 2026 |
|---|
Not recommended for