Head to head
Compared side by side on published facts and the same six criteria every review is graded on — generated from the live directory, not a sales page.
Braintree (PayPal Enterprise Payments)
Payment Processor · 4.3/5 mean
Braintree is a full-featured, globally-capable payment gateway solution (online + mobile) backed by PayPal, offering robust APIs, developer tooling, and enterprise-class features for merchants. Primarily deals in mobile and web payment systems.
Read the full review →PayPal
Payment Processor · 4.0/5 mean
PayPal is a global, feature-rich digital payments platform (consumer wallet + merchant services) with extensive integrations and brand reach. It is trusted by many businesses but criticized in public reviews for dispute handling and account-hold practices.
Read the full review →Braintree (PayPal Enterprise Payments) holds the higher standing — by grade, then mean category score. The row-by-row picture below is what should actually decide it for your business.
Both graded against the same six criteria. How we grade · Last fact-checked September 2, 2026.
| Criterion | Braintree (PayPal Enterprise Payments) | PayPal |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | 4.0wins this criterion | 3.0 |
| Feature set | 5.0 | 5.0 |
| Ease of use | 4.0 |
Straight from each provider's published documentation. Where a number isn't published, we say so rather than estimate.
| Metric | Braintree (PayPal Enterprise Payments) | PayPal |
|---|---|---|
| Online rate | 2.89% + $0.29 per transaction | 2.89% + $0.29 per transaction |
| Monthly fee | $0 monthly fee for standard processing. Third-party guides report a $49/month gateway-only model with $0.10 per transaction; neither PayPal nor Braintree publishes such a rate. | $0 Pay-as-you-go | Enterprise agreements have monthly fees |
| Payout | Typically 1-2 business days after batch settlement (varies by acquiring bank) | 1-3 business days (standard bank transfer) |
| Contract | Public sources indicate month-to-month terms for many merchants | Pay as you go or month-to-month business accounts |
| In-person rate | Not disclosed | 2.29% + $0.09 per card-present transaction (PayPal's published POS rate, not Tap to Pay only) |
| Keyed rate |
From the PayPal review
Braintree, PayPal's own enterprise gateway, gives medium and large merchants deeper developer control, card vaulting, and subscription tooling while still processing PayPal and Venmo natively. Standard PayPal holds up for merchants who want the same 2.89% + $0.29 online rate without the integration overhead, plus in-person POS options Braintree lacks.
Pick Braintree (PayPal Enterprise Payments) if you want PayPal and Venmo acceptance inside a developer-controlled gateway integration
Ideal for
Not recommended for
Ideal for
Not recommended for
The full reviews carry the pricing narratives, contract analysis and everything else behind these numbers — or let the matching funnel score the whole directory against your business.
| Customer support | 4.0wins this criterion | 3.0 |
|---|
| Contract terms | 4.0 | 4.0 |
|---|
| Industry reputation | 5.0 | 5.0 |
|---|
| Not disclosed |
| 3.49% + $0.09 for manually entered cards, published on PayPal's POS pricing page |
| International rate | typically an additional +1% surcharge | Cross-border fee +1.50%; currency conversion spread 4.00% (3.00% on some transaction types) |
|---|
| PCI fee | Not disclosed | None |
|---|
| Statement fee | Not disclosed | Varies by product/region |
|---|
| Chargeback fee | Not disclosed | Region dependent ($20 US) |
|---|
| Early termination | Likely no early termination penalty | Not applicable for standard pay as you go accounts; enterprise/reseller contracts may have terms |
|---|
| Last fact-checked | September 2, 2026 | September 2, 2026 |
|---|