Head to head
Compared side by side on published facts and the same six criteria every review is graded on — generated from the live directory, not a sales page.
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
Payment Processor · 3.8/5 mean
Chase Payment Solutions is the merchant services arm of the #1 US bank, offering small and mid-sized businesses a deeply integrated combination of payment processing, same-day deposits, and banking tools. They're backed by the trust and scale of JPMorgan Chase but with flat-rate fees that may not suit high-volume merchants.
Read the full review →Wells Fargo Merchant Services
Payment Processor · 2.5/5 mean
Wells Fargo Merchant Services is a division of one of the largest U.S. banks, offering credit and debit card processing, Clover POS systems, and e-commerce solutions to small and medium-sized businesses.
Read the full review →Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services holds the higher standing — by grade, then mean category score. The row-by-row picture below is what should actually decide it for your business.
Both graded against the same six criteria. How we grade · Last fact-checked August 19, 2026.
| Criterion | Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services | Wells Fargo Merchant Services |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | 3.0wins this criterion | 2.0 |
| Feature set | 4.0wins this criterion | 3.0 |
| Ease of use | 4.0 |
Straight from each provider's published documentation. Where a number isn't published, we say so rather than estimate.
| Metric | Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services | Wells Fargo Merchant Services |
|---|---|---|
| Online rate | 2.9% + $0.25 per transaction | 3.50% + $0.15 (drops to 3.30% + $0.15 at $80,000+ monthly volume) |
| Monthly fee | $0 (basic plan; Chase Business Complete Banking may have separate monthly fee waivable with $2,000/month in payments) | $9.95 per month, per merchant ID (MID) |
| Payout | Next business day for deposits to non-Chase bank accounts | 1-3 business days |
| Contract | Month-to-month plans. Free terminal plans may require 2 year service agreement. | No long-term contract for the standard flat-rate plan (month-to-month). Custom pricing and B2B merchants may still require a three-year contract. Sellers who sign up for this contract will be charged an early termination fee if they process more than $1 million every year and cancel the agreement in the first three years. |
| In-person rate | 2.6% + $0.10 per transaction |
From the Wells Fargo Merchant Services review
Chase Payment Solutions offers same-day deposits at no extra cost with a Chase account, 24/7 live phone support, and a lower 2.9% + $0.25 online rate, against Wells Fargo's widely criticized support and 3.50% entry-tier online pricing. Wells Fargo holds up mainly for merchants already committed to a Wells Fargo business account who process primarily in person.
Pick Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services if you bank with Chase and want same-day deposits with 24/7 phone support
Ideal for
Not recommended for
Ideal for
The full reviews carry the pricing narratives, contract analysis and everything else behind these numbers — or let the matching funnel score the whole directory against your business.
| 3.0 |
| Customer support | 3.0wins this criterion | 2.0 |
|---|
| Contract terms | 4.0wins this criterion | 3.0 |
|---|
| Industry reputation | 5.0wins this criterion | 2.0 |
|---|
| 2.60% + $0.15 (drops to 2.40% + $0.15 at $80,000+ monthly volume) |
| Keyed rate | 3.5% + $0.10 per transaction | 3.50% + $0.15, decreasing with volume |
|---|
| International rate | Dynamic Currency Conversion available; custom rates apply | Not disclosed |
|---|
| PCI fee | Not publicly listed | $10.00 per month, per merchant ID |
|---|
| Statement fee | Not publicly listed | Not disclosed |
|---|
| Chargeback fee | $25 to $100 per incident | Website says, "we don't charge extra fees for downgrades, chargebacks, voice authorization, or foreign transactions." |
|---|
| Early termination | $0 for month-to-month accounts; applicable if free hardware accepted under 2-year contract | None for standard card processing (no long-term contracts, per the pricing page); custom and legacy agreements historically carried $500 per location, plus six times the monthly fee for higher-volume accounts. |
|---|
| Last fact-checked | August 19, 2026 | August 19, 2026 |
|---|
Not recommended for