Head to head
Compared side by side on published facts and the same six criteria every review is graded on — generated from the live directory, not a sales page.
PayPal
Payment Processor · 4.0/5 mean
PayPal is a global, feature-rich digital payments platform (consumer wallet + merchant services) with extensive integrations and brand reach. It is trusted by many businesses but criticized in public reviews for dispute handling and account-hold practices.
Read the full review →Wells Fargo Merchant Services
Payment Processor · 2.5/5 mean
Wells Fargo Merchant Services is a division of one of the largest U.S. banks, offering credit and debit card processing, Clover POS systems, and e-commerce solutions to small and medium-sized businesses.
Read the full review →PayPal holds the higher standing — by grade, then mean category score. The row-by-row picture below is what should actually decide it for your business.
Both graded against the same six criteria. How we grade · Last fact-checked September 2, 2026 and August 19, 2026.
| Criterion | PayPal | Wells Fargo Merchant Services |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | 3.0wins this criterion | 2.0 |
| Feature set | 5.0wins this criterion | 3.0 |
| Ease of use | 4.0wins this criterion |
Straight from each provider's published documentation. Where a number isn't published, we say so rather than estimate.
| Metric | PayPal | Wells Fargo Merchant Services |
|---|---|---|
| Online rate | 2.89% + $0.29 per transaction | 3.50% + $0.15 (drops to 3.30% + $0.15 at $80,000+ monthly volume) |
| Monthly fee | $0 Pay-as-you-go | Enterprise agreements have monthly fees | $9.95 per month, per merchant ID (MID) |
| Payout | 1-3 business days (standard bank transfer) | 1-3 business days |
| Contract | Pay as you go or month-to-month business accounts | No long-term contract for the standard flat-rate plan (month-to-month). Custom pricing and B2B merchants may still require a three-year contract. Sellers who sign up for this contract will be charged an early termination fee if they process more than $1 million every year and cancel the agreement in the first three years. |
| In-person rate | 2.29% + $0.09 per card-present transaction (PayPal's published POS rate, not Tap to Pay only) | 2.60% + $0.15 (drops to 2.40% + $0.15 at $80,000+ monthly volume) |
From the Wells Fargo Merchant Services review
PayPal's 2.89% + $0.29 online rate, broad platform integrations, and buyer-trusted checkout serve ecommerce merchants far better than Wells Fargo's 3.50% entry-tier online pricing. Wells Fargo still makes sense for in-person businesses banking there that want next-business-day funding into the same account.
Pick PayPal if you need an online-first setup with a trusted checkout and pay-as-you-go pricing
Ideal for
Not recommended for
Ideal for
Not recommended for
The full reviews carry the pricing narratives, contract analysis and everything else behind these numbers — or let the matching funnel score the whole directory against your business.
| 3.0 |
| Customer support | 3.0wins this criterion | 2.0 |
|---|
| Contract terms | 4.0wins this criterion | 3.0 |
|---|
| Industry reputation | 5.0wins this criterion | 2.0 |
|---|
| Keyed rate | 3.49% + $0.09 for manually entered cards, published on PayPal's POS pricing page | 3.50% + $0.15, decreasing with volume |
|---|
| International rate | Cross-border fee +1.50%; currency conversion spread 4.00% (3.00% on some transaction types) | Not disclosed |
|---|
| PCI fee | None | $10.00 per month, per merchant ID |
|---|
| Statement fee | Varies by product/region | Not disclosed |
|---|
| Chargeback fee | Region dependent ($20 US) | Website says, "we don't charge extra fees for downgrades, chargebacks, voice authorization, or foreign transactions." |
|---|
| Early termination | Not applicable for standard pay as you go accounts; enterprise/reseller contracts may have terms | None for standard card processing (no long-term contracts, per the pricing page); custom and legacy agreements historically carried $500 per location, plus six times the monthly fee for higher-volume accounts. |
|---|
| Last fact-checked | September 2, 2026 | August 19, 2026 |
|---|