Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
CCBill vs Verotel for adult and high-risk billing

Comparison · Updated October 16, 2026

CCBill vs Verotel for adult and high-risk billing

VS
CCBill

CCBill

B-

One of the longest-running high-risk processors in the United States, operating since 1998 and built around subscription billing for adult, dating, streaming and creator platforms. It will underwrite what almost nobody else will — but it publishes no rates, and its contract terms deserve a careful read.

Read Full Review
Verotel

Verotel

C+

Verotel is an Amsterdam internet payment service provider that has billed adult, webcam and other online-entertainment sites since January 1998. It is a trade name of Yoursafe B.V., an electronic money institution licensed by De Nederlandsche Bank in 2019 and owned by Verotel International B.V. Unlike most of its high-risk peers it publishes its entire fee schedule: a flat 15.5% on the Basic account, 13.0–14.0% by weekly volume on Premium, a 1.5% surcharge on recurring charges, no chargeback or refund fees, and a 10% holdback kept for 26 weeks on every account. The trade-off is the price itself — roughly five times a mainstream rate — a merchant agreement that lets Verotel terminate without cause and hold post-cancellation funds for six months, a one-star Trustpilot record, and a February 2026 order subject to penalty from the Dutch central bank for late annual accounts.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

CCBill and Verotel both started billing for adult and online-entertainment sites in 1998, and both still do the same core job. Each runs the checkout, answers your customers' billing and cancellation enquiries, and underwrites the business categories that mainstream processors turn away. They differ most on what they tell you before you apply. Verotel publishes its whole price list: 15.5% of every sale on its Basic account, 14.0% falling to 13.0% by weekly volume on Premium, 1.5% extra on each renewal, no chargeback or refund fees, and a 10% reserve held for 26 weeks. CCBill publishes no rate at all, only the pricing models it offers. What CCBill does publish, in its July 2026 merchant terms, is a clear payout cycle. It pays weekly, aiming for each Monday, for the billing week that ended nine days earlier. Verotel's contract instead issues a weekly invoice and pays the balance 14 days later. CCBill also offers 24/7 merchant support by phone, email and live chat, and holds an A+ BBB rating (checked 16 October 2026). Verotel's terms are lighter on exit. CCBill's contract stops you using its acquirers or service providers for a year after you leave, and Verotel's has no such clause. Verotel's licensed entity, Yoursafe B.V., was put under an order subject to penalty by the Dutch central bank in February 2026 for not submitting its audited 2024 accounts by the deadline, and a €12,500 penalty became payable. Payment Review grades CCBill B- and Verotel C+.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓CCBill (B-) is the stronger all-round choice. It pays weekly on a published contractual cycle, offers 24/7 merchant support and holds an A+ BBB rating. Verotel (C+) is the one that tells you the price before you apply.
  • ✓Verotel publishes every rate: 15.5% on Basic, 14.0% down to 13.0% by weekly volume on Premium, plus 1.5% on renewals. CCBill publishes no rate. The figures that third-party sites quote for CCBill disagree with each other and are not sourced from CCBill.
  • ✓CCBill pays weekly, aiming for each Monday, for the billing week that ended nine days earlier, under its July 2026 terms. Verotel's agreement pays each weekly invoice 14 days after it is issued, although its pricing page also advertises daily deposits into a Yoursafe account.
  • ✓Both hold money back. Verotel keeps 10% of every charge for 26 weeks. CCBill keeps a security deposit for a default minimum of six months but does not publish the percentage. After you leave, CCBill holds what it owes you for at least six months, and Verotel pays uninvoiced charges and the reserve six months after your last invoice.
  • ✓CCBill's contract has a one-year non-circumvention clause: after you leave, you may not use its acquirers or service providers. Verotel's has none, but Verotel can end the agreement without cause and change it unless you reject the new version and terminate in writing within 15 days.

CCBill

CCBill suits adult, cam, dating, creator and subscription merchants who want the more established operation. It offers round-the-clock merchant support, a weekly payout cycle set out in its terms, card pricing in six currencies and a PSP account under its own master merchant account. Expect to negotiate a rate it will not publish.

Verotel

Verotel suits online-entertainment merchants, especially European ones, who want to know the full price before they apply. It publishes its rates, a fixed 10% reserve, no chargeback or refund fees and direct debit in nine European countries, and it has no post-exit restriction. In return you accept a 13–15.5% rate, a slower contractual payout and a weak public record.

Overall Winner

CCBill
🏆 Winner

CCBill

B-expert grade
Verotel
Runner-up

Verotel

Why?

CCBill is the better choice for most merchants, but it wins on operations rather than price, because its price is not public. Its July 2026 terms commit it to a weekly payout, and its help pages put that nine days after each billing week closes, against Verotel's weekly invoice paid 14 days after issue. It offers 24/7 merchant support by phone, email and live chat, and it holds an A+ BBB rating. It underwrites a wider set of verticals, and it is licensed in Ireland and the UK and sponsored by Esquire Bank in the US. Verotel's case is real and specific. It is the only one of the two whose price you can model before applying: 13.0% to 15.5%, plus 1.5% on renewals, a fixed 10% reserve for 26 weeks, and no chargeback or refund fees. It also charges less for Visa and Mastercard registration, publishes its payout fees, offers direct debit in nine European countries, and has no clause stopping you using its acquirers after you leave. Against that are a slower contractual payout, support with no published hours, a uniformly one-star Trustpilot record and a 2026 penalty from the Dutch central bank for not submitting its audited accounts on time. Whichever you choose, get CCBill's rate and reserve percentage in writing, and negotiate its one-year non-circumvention clause before signing.

Read CCBill Full Review
Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Pricing (published figures, as of October 2026)

Pricing (published figures, as of October 2026): CCBill compared with Verotel.
FeatureCCBillVerotel
Card processing rate, first sale
Not disclosed
15.5% Basic; 14.0% to 13.0% Premium, by weekly volume
No winner: Verotel publishes its rate and CCBill does not, so the two cannot be compared on price. CCBill's pricing page names the models it uses: a flat rate with 'no monthly fees' for its PSP offering, and interchange-plus, tiered or 'discount plus' for its ISO offering. It attaches no figure to any of them. Third-party sites quote CCBill rates that disagree with each other: one comparison site gives 10–14%, while others repeat figures in the high single digits for general high-risk and above 10% for adult, as our CCBill review records. None of these trace back to CCBill, so do not budget on them. Verotel's Premium rate is reset every Saturday from the average weekly euro volume of the previous four weeks. It is 14.0% up to €1,000 a week and falls in 0.1-point steps to 13.0% above €40,000 a week. Premium needs six months of processing statements to open.
Recurring (rebill) rate
Not disclosed
Base rate + 1.5% (17.0% Basic; 15.5% to 14.5% Premium)
Verotel adds 1.5% to every recurring charge after the first, on both account types. For a subscription site this is the rate that matters most over time.
Chargeback and refund fees
Not disclosed
None per item; +2.5% on the rate if the chargeback ratio reaches 1.0%
Verotel calculates the ratio over four weeks, with a two-week lag, once an account has processed more than 50 transactions in that window. Refunds are free. CCBill publishes no chargeback fee. Its terms (section 5) let it pass through to you, per item, any penalty its providers charge it for your chargebacks, refunds or returned checks. Verotel's merchant agreement (section 4) separately reserves the right, after notifying you and trying to agree a solution, to charge reasonable fees and recover costs for excessive customer enquiries, refunds, declines or chargebacks.
Annual Visa/Mastercard registration cost
Visa $950 + Mastercard $1,000 a year for certain business categories, per CCBill
€500 a year on Basic (waived at renewal at €100+ a week); €0 on Premium
Winner
CCBill's pricing page lists these as annual fees paid to the card schemes that high-risk merchants must pay. We could not find Visa or Mastercard publishing the amounts, so they are CCBill's figures. The page says they apply only to certain business categories (MCCs). It does not say whether merchants on its PSP master account pay them in full. Verotel's €500 covers 'Visa/MC registration and compliance monitoring' on Basic. Premium has no annual fee, but charges €25 in any week where volume is under €1,000. The two are not quite the same thing: CCBill's figures are the schemes' own fees, while Verotel's €500 is its own charge that includes registration. One merchant reviewer on Trustpilot (August 2026) said Verotel's CardBilling brand asked for USD 1,000 in setup and annual fees, which is not on Verotel's published price list.
Monthly or weekly account fee
None stated for the flat-rate PSP offering
None on Basic; €25 a week on Premium in any week under €1,000
CCBill lists 'no monthly fees' as a benefit of its PSP flat-rate model. It does not say what its ISO models charge each month.

Card processing rate, first sale

CCBill
Not disclosed
Verotel
15.5% Basic; 14.0% to 13.0% Premium, by weekly volume
No winner: Verotel publishes its rate and CCBill does not, so the two cannot be compared on price. CCBill's pricing page names the models it uses: a flat rate with 'no monthly fees' for its PSP offering, and interchange-plus, tiered or 'discount plus' for its ISO offering. It attaches no figure to any of them. Third-party sites quote CCBill rates that disagree with each other: one comparison site gives 10–14%, while others repeat figures in the high single digits for general high-risk and above 10% for adult, as our CCBill review records. None of these trace back to CCBill, so do not budget on them. Verotel's Premium rate is reset every Saturday from the average weekly euro volume of the previous four weeks. It is 14.0% up to €1,000 a week and falls in 0.1-point steps to 13.0% above €40,000 a week. Premium needs six months of processing statements to open.

Recurring (rebill) rate

CCBill
Not disclosed
Verotel
Base rate + 1.5% (17.0% Basic; 15.5% to 14.5% Premium)
Verotel adds 1.5% to every recurring charge after the first, on both account types. For a subscription site this is the rate that matters most over time.

Chargeback and refund fees

CCBill
Not disclosed
Verotel
None per item; +2.5% on the rate if the chargeback ratio reaches 1.0%
Verotel calculates the ratio over four weeks, with a two-week lag, once an account has processed more than 50 transactions in that window. Refunds are free. CCBill publishes no chargeback fee. Its terms (section 5) let it pass through to you, per item, any penalty its providers charge it for your chargebacks, refunds or returned checks. Verotel's merchant agreement (section 4) separately reserves the right, after notifying you and trying to agree a solution, to charge reasonable fees and recover costs for excessive customer enquiries, refunds, declines or chargebacks.

Annual Visa/Mastercard registration cost

CCBill
Visa $950 + Mastercard $1,000 a year for certain business categories, per CCBill
Verotel
€500 a year on Basic (waived at renewal at €100+ a week); €0 on Premium
Winner
CCBill's pricing page lists these as annual fees paid to the card schemes that high-risk merchants must pay. We could not find Visa or Mastercard publishing the amounts, so they are CCBill's figures. The page says they apply only to certain business categories (MCCs). It does not say whether merchants on its PSP master account pay them in full. Verotel's €500 covers 'Visa/MC registration and compliance monitoring' on Basic. Premium has no annual fee, but charges €25 in any week where volume is under €1,000. The two are not quite the same thing: CCBill's figures are the schemes' own fees, while Verotel's €500 is its own charge that includes registration. One merchant reviewer on Trustpilot (August 2026) said Verotel's CardBilling brand asked for USD 1,000 in setup and annual fees, which is not on Verotel's published price list.

Monthly or weekly account fee

CCBill
None stated for the flat-rate PSP offering
Verotel
None on Basic; €25 a week on Premium in any week under €1,000
CCBill lists 'no monthly fees' as a benefit of its PSP flat-rate model. It does not say what its ISO models charge each month.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Established adult or cam platform billing recurring subscriptions

Both have billed this vertical since 1998, and serious operators often run two billers so that one acquirer leaving the vertical does not stop sales. Verotel's published Premium price (14.0% to 13.0%, plus 1.5% on renewals) gives you a benchmark to hold CCBill's quote against.

Merchant who needs predictable weekly cash flow

CCBill
Recommended
CCBill
View the CCBill review

CCBill's terms pay weekly, aiming for each Monday, for the billing week that ended nine days earlier. Verotel's contract pays each weekly invoice 14 days after it is issued, and its site does not explain how its 'daily payouts' claim fits with that.

New site that wants to know the exact cost before applying

Verotel
Recommended
Verotel
View the Verotel review

Verotel Basic needs no processing history and has no weekly minimum. It charges a published 15.5% (17.0% on renewals) and €500 a year, waived at renewal if you process €100 or more a week. CCBill will only give you a figure after underwriting.

Business selling to European customers who prefer bank payments

Verotel
Recommended
Verotel
View the Verotel review

Verotel offers direct debit in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Italy, Spain and Slovakia, and multi-currency pricing in nine currencies on Premium. CCBill's current payment-methods page lists cards, its CCBill Pay wallet and US ACH only.

CBD, ecommerce or creator-platform business outside online entertainment

CCBill
Recommended
CCBill
View the CCBill review

CCBill lists CBD, ecommerce, creator platforms and billing among its industries, and its terms include rules for physical goods. Verotel's agreement limits its codes to access to restricted websites unless it gives written consent.

Merchant who wants to keep its options open after leaving

Verotel
Recommended
Verotel
View the Verotel review

CCBill's terms bar you from using its acquirers or service providers for a year after you cancel. Verotel's published agreement has no equivalent clause. Both still hold much of what you are owed for about six months after you leave, and at CCBill six months is the minimum.

CCBill: Best for 2 use cases
Verotel: Best for 3 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

Nobody can say from public information, because CCBill does not publish a rate. Verotel charges 15.5% on Basic, or 14.0% falling to 13.0% by weekly volume on Premium, and adds 1.5% to recurring charges. It has no chargeback or refund fees, but adds 2.5% to your rate if your chargeback ratio reaches 1.0%. CCBill names its pricing models (flat rate for its PSP offering; interchange-plus, tiered or discount-plus for its ISO offering) but no figures. The CCBill rates quoted on third-party sites disagree with each other and are not sourced from CCBill. Get a written quote and compare it with Verotel's published table.

Both pay weekly, on different lags. CCBill's July 2026 terms pay weekly, aiming for each Monday, and its help pages put that nine days after each Sunday-to-Saturday billing week ends, and you can choose two-weekly, four-weekly or threshold-based payouts instead. Verotel's merchant agreement issues an invoice every Monday and pays a positive balance 14 days later. Its pricing page also advertises daily deposits into a free Yoursafe Business Account, which the site does not reconcile with the contract, so confirm it in writing.

Yes. Verotel holds 10% of every charge for 26 weeks on all accounts, with an escrow foundation looking after it, and can raise the amount after telling you. CCBill holds a security deposit for a default minimum of six months and can also raise it, but does not publish the percentage. When you leave, CCBill holds what it owes you for at least six months, and Verotel pays uninvoiced charges and the reserve six months after your last invoice.

Its published merchant terms (v.21, July 2026) include a one-year non-circumvention clause. For a year after you cancel, you may not use any of CCBill's acquirers or service providers to process for your websites. The terms also bar you, without CCBill's written approval, from hiring or contracting with a current or former CCBill employee until 24 months after they leave CCBill. Verotel's published agreement has no comparable clause.

Yes. Verotel is a trade name of Yoursafe B.V., an Amsterdam company licensed by De Nederlandsche Bank as an electronic money institution since 22 October 2019, with a passport to operate across the EEA. It has processed payments since January 1998 and is registered as a payment facilitator with Visa and Mastercard. In February 2026 the Dutch central bank imposed an order subject to penalty on Yoursafe for not submitting its audited 2024 accounts by the 31 December 2025 deadline. Because the report was still outstanding, a €12,500 penalty became payable. Yoursafe objected, then withdrew the objection in April 2026.

CCBill accepts credit and debit cards and its CCBill Pay stored wallet in USD, EUR, GBP, AUD, CAD and JPY, plus ACH for US customers in USD. Verotel accepts Visa, Mastercard, JCB, Discover and Diners, US online checks, and direct debit in nine European countries. Its Premium accounts can price in nine currencies, and it pays out in USD, EUR or GBP. Neither lists cryptocurrency as a customer payment method.

Yes. Many adult and subscription operators run two billers so that one acquirer leaving the vertical, or a card-scheme policy change, does not stop all their sales. It does mean two sets of underwriting, two reserves and more reconciliation work. If CCBill is one of them, read its one-year non-circumvention clause first.

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

CCBill vs Segpay for high-risk billing

View comparison
View All Comparisons