Comparison · Updated October 30, 2026

Coinbase Business is the crypto business account from Coinbase, Inc., and since 31 March 2026 it is how a merchant accepts crypto through Coinbase. Coinbase Commerce, the self-custodial checkout Coinbase ran from 2018, was folded into it and its portal closed on that date. Coinbase Business takes stablecoins only: customers pay in USDC on Base, Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, Arbitrum and (per the product page) Avalanche, or in USDT on Ethereum, and the money lands as USDC in a custodial account that Coinbase holds for you, usually within seconds. There are payment links, invoices, a Checkouts API with refunds, and payouts. Stablecoin payments are final, so there are no chargebacks. You can hold USDC and earn a variable reward, listed at 3.60% APY in October 2026, or convert it to dollars and withdraw to your bank. As of October 2026, only businesses with a legal entity in the US or Singapore can open an account. The biggest weakness is price. Coinbase announced a 1% fee on payment links in October 2025 and keeps 1% for merchants who moved over from Commerce, but its public pages now say only that a fee applies to each completed payment and that you must sign in to see it. Converting USDC to dollars automatically also costs an unpublished fee. Coinbase can close an account at its sole discretion without giving a reason.

BitPay is a cryptocurrency payment processor founded in May 2011 by Tony Gallippi and Stephen Pair, now based in Alpharetta, Georgia, and by its own description the world's longest-operating crypto payments company. A merchant is quoted in fiat, the customer pays in bitcoin, a stablecoin or another supported asset, and BitPay settles to the merchant's bank account in dollars on the next business day, absorbing the price movement. Its merchant pricing is published in full — 2% + 25 cents under $500,000 a month, 1.5% + 25 cents to $999,999, and 1% + 25 cents above $1 million — which puts it ahead of most of the payments industry on transparency. Crypto payments are push transactions, so there are no chargebacks. The company holds a BBB A without accreditation, settled with the US Treasury's sanctions office in 2021 over 2,102 apparent violations, and carries a 1.2-star Trustpilot score driven overwhelmingly by consumers using its wallet rather than by merchants.
We compare the two for a US business accepting crypto online, using each provider's own pages and help centre as of October 2026. The US is the market both serve for new accounts. Coinbase Business is open only to businesses with a legal entity in the US or Singapore. Coinbase Commerce, its older self-custodial checkout, closed on 31 March 2026. BitPay onboards new merchants in the US and Canada, and has paused new onboarding in the EEA, the UK and Australia. The two are built differently. Coinbase Business takes stablecoins only: USDC on six EVM networks, or USDT on Ethereum. The money lands as USDC in a custodial Coinbase account within seconds, and from there you can hold it, convert it to dollars or withdraw it to your bank. BitPay prices each invoice in dollars and lets customers pay in bitcoin, ether, Solana, stablecoins and other coins. It settles every business day, in dollars to a US bank (arriving two business days later), in crypto to your own wallet, or a mix. BitPay publishes its whole rate card: 2% + 25 cents under $500,000 a month, falling to 1% + 25 cents at $1 million. Coinbase now says only that a fee applies to each completed payment and that you see it after signing in. Its last published figure was 1%, which it still gives merchants who moved over from Commerce. Neither has chargebacks, and neither sets a minimum term. Payment Review grades both B-.
Coinbase Business suits a US business whose clients, buyers or contractors already hold USDC, such as crypto companies, software sellers with crypto-native buyers and firms invoicing international clients, and which is happy to hold money in a custodial Coinbase account. Payment links, invoices, payouts, USDC rewards and conversion to dollars sit in one account. Get your per-payment and conversion fees in writing first, because neither is published.
BitPay suits a US business that wants to offer crypto as an extra checkout option, take bitcoin and other coins as well as stablecoins, and receive dollars in its bank without holding crypto. Its rate card is public, it settles every business day and it has ready plugins for Shopify, WooCommerce, Magento, Wix, BigCommerce and WHMCS. Expect 2% + 25 cents unless you process $500,000 a month in crypto.
They solve different problems. BitPay is the better fit for a US business that wants crypto as an extra checkout option and dollars in the bank: customers can pay in bitcoin, ether, Solana or stablecoins, the price is fixed in dollars, and BitPay settles every business day with a published 2% + 25 cents fee and plugins for Shopify, Wix and BigCommerce. Coinbase Business is the better fit for a business whose counterparties already hold USDC and which wants a stablecoin account rather than a checkout: payments land as USDC in seconds, and payment links, invoices, payouts, rewards and conversion to dollars sit in one place. Its weaknesses are price transparency, since both the payment fee and the conversion fee are shown only after sign-in, and custody, since Coinbase holds the funds. Neither has chargebacks or a minimum term.
| Feature | Coinbase Business | BitPay |
|---|---|---|
| Per-payment fee under $500,000 a month | Not disclosed | 2% + 25¢ |
| Coinbase's payments and checkout pages say it 'charges a fee on each completed payment' and that you log in to see current fees; its developer docs say your rate is shown when you create a payment link. The October 2025 launch post said Coinbase collects 1% on completed payment-link transactions, and the Commerce transition help page lists '1% for migrating merchants'. Treat 1% as the last public figure, not a quoted price. BitPay's pricing page lists 2% + 25¢ below $500,000 of monthly volume, charged per paid invoice, with no cap on transaction count. BitPay says higher fees apply to high-risk industries, without saying what they are. | ||
| Higher-volume rates | Not disclosed | 1.5% + 25¢ from $500k; 1% + 25¢ from $1M |
| BitPay adjusts the rate automatically on cumulative month-to-date volume of paid invoices. Coinbase publishes no volume tiers. | ||
| Network fees for the customer | None on Base; gas on other networks | Network Cost fee on bitcoin only |
| Coinbase's help centre says payers on Base need no gas but may need gas on other networks, and its Business User Agreement makes the merchant responsible for telling payers about network fees. BitPay adds a separate Network Cost fee to bitcoin invoices when its estimated sweep cost is above $0.01, and charges none for Bitcoin Cash, Ethereum and ERC-20 tokens or XRP. In both cases the payer also pays their own wallet's network fee where one applies. | ||
Recommendations based on your business type

BitPay takes bitcoin and other coins as well as stablecoins, fixes the price in dollars and pays dollars to your US bank every business day. It has plugins for Shopify, WooCommerce, Magento 2, Wix, BigCommerce and WHMCS.

Coinbase Business invoices and payment links settle as USDC in seconds, with saved contacts, payouts and QuickBooks and Xero sync in the same account. Confirm the per-payment fee in your account first; the last published figure was 1%.

BitPay publishes 2% + 25 cents, falling to 1.5% and 1% at $500,000 and $1 million a month. Coinbase shows its payment fee and its conversion fee only after sign-in.

Coinbase Business keeps payments as USDC and pays a variable reward on eligible balances, listed at 3.60% in October 2026. BitPay can settle to your own wallet in USDC, but has no rewards on balances.
Neither. Coinbase Business is open only to US and Singapore entities. BitPay onboards in the US and Canada, with new onboarding paused in the EEA, the UK and Australia. A Singapore business can use Coinbase; a Canadian one can use BitPay.
Common questions about this comparison
Explore more payment processor matchups