Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Dwolla vs Moov

Comparison · Updated September 25, 2026

Dwolla vs Moov

VS
Dwolla

Dwolla

B-

An API for moving money between US bank accounts, founded in Des Moines in 2008 and one of the earliest companies to make ACH programmable. Dwolla does not touch cards at all: it does standard ACH, Same Day ACH, and instant payments over the RTP network and FedNow, behind a single integration. That is a genuinely useful thing to be able to buy, and Dwolla has been doing it longer than almost anyone. Two things should temper the enthusiasm. It no longer publishes any pricing — the pricing page now says only that terms are tailored to volume, rails and integration — and in May 2026 Dwolla was acquired by NMI, which is folding its capabilities into NMI's embedded payments platform. NMI says it will keep supporting existing Dwolla customers; neither company has said whether the Dwolla brand and product survive the integration. Build on it if bank-to-bank money movement is your requirement, but ask about the roadmap in writing.

Read Full Review
Moov

Moov

B

Moov Financial is a US payments platform for software companies, built by Wade Arnold and Bob Smith out of the open-source moov.io money-movement libraries Arnold began publishing in 2017. It sells one API that accepts cards and bank payments, holds balances in wallets, sends payouts by RTP, FedNow or push-to-card, and issues virtual cards — the full money-movement stack that a vertical SaaS company would otherwise assemble from four vendors. It is the rare payments company that publishes a complete rate card: interchange plus 0.60% and 15 cents for online card acceptance, interchange plus 0.50% and 15 cents for Tap to Pay, 25 cents for next-day ACH, and a $500 monthly minimum with no setup fee. It has raised roughly $77.5 million across three named rounds, with Visa, Andreessen Horowitz, Bain Capital Ventures and Commerce Ventures on the register, and it operates in the United States only.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

Dwolla and Moov are US money-movement APIs that software platforms build on to collect and pay out funds, and both use the same credit union, Veridian, for ACH and RTP payments. The difference is scope and pricing. Dwolla, graded B- on Payment Review and owned by NMI since 19 May 2026, is a bank-transfer platform: standard and Same Day ACH, RTP and FedNow payouts, a stored Dwolla Balance, and push to card through Checkout.com for approved customers, all on custom pricing it does not publish. Moov, graded B, adds card acceptance at interchange plus 0.60% and 15¢ online, push to card, and virtual cards, and publishes a standard rate card: 25¢ per next-day ACH credit, 40¢ same-day, 0.95% on instant payouts with a $5 cap, and a $500 monthly minimum. Dwolla allows larger instant payments by default, $500,000 per transfer against $100,000 on Moov's recommended instant-payment method.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓Moov wins on transparency: its standard rate card is public, from 25¢ per next-day ACH credit to 0.95% on instant payouts capped at $5, against Dwolla's quote-only pricing.
  • ✓Moov wins on breadth: it accepts cards itself (interchange plus 0.60% and 15¢ online), issues virtual cards and publishes the price and limit of its push-to-card payouts. Dwolla has no card acceptance of its own, and its push to card needs approval and a separate Checkout.com onboarding, with no published price or limit.
  • ✓Dwolla wins on instant-payment size: RTP and FedNow transfers go up to $500,000 each by default, against a $100,000 platform limit on Moov's recommended instant-payment method.
  • ✓They share plumbing: Veridian Credit Union carries ACH and RTP for both, and neither is a bank. Dwolla adds KeyBank for ACH; Moov uses Lincoln Savings Bank for FedNow and Pathward and Lincoln Savings Bank for cards.
  • ✓Moov is independent and venture-backed; Dwolla became part of NMI in May 2026, and NMI now offers Dwolla customers its card acceptance.

Dwolla

Dwolla suits a mid-sized or enterprise platform that moves only bank payments, needs large instant payouts up to $500,000, and would rather negotiate a custom contract than pay a published per-item rate.

Moov

Moov suits a platform that wants cards, bank transfers, wallets and instant payouts in one integration, with a published price list it can model before talking to sales, and can carry the $500 monthly minimum.

Overall Winner

Moov
🏆 Winner

Moov

Bexpert grade
Dwolla
Runner-up

Dwolla

Why?

Moov is the better fit for most platforms choosing between the two. It publishes a standard rate card, so a team can price its product before a sales call, and it covers cards, bank transfers, wallets, instant payouts and push to card in one integration. It also holds the higher grade on Payment Review. Dwolla is the stronger choice for a larger platform that moves only bank payments and needs big instant payouts: its default $500,000 limit per RTP or FedNow transfer is five times the limit on Moov's recommended instant-payment method. Its pricing is quote-only, though, and it has been part of NMI since May 2026.

Read Moov Full Review
Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Pricing

Pricing: Dwolla compared with Moov.
FeatureDwollaMoov
Published pricing
Custom quote only
Standard rate card published
Winner
Dwolla's pricing page says pricing is tailored to transaction volume, rails and integration needs. Moov publishes standard pricing, though not a separate standard ACH debit price, and offers custom pricing for large volumes.
Monthly minimum
Not disclosed
$500
Moov charges no setup fee. Its Data Sync and third-party bank validation products carry their own $500 monthly minimums.
ACH transfer
Not disclosed
25¢ next-day credit, 40¢ same-day
Moov charges $5 per ACH return, $15 per unauthorized return and 75¢ per notice of change. Its pricing page does not list a separate standard ACH debit price.
Instant payout (RTP, FedNow or push to card)
Not disclosed
0.95%, 50¢ minimum, $5 cap
Moov charges the same on RTP/FedNow credits and instant push to card; a scheduled push to card costs 25¢. Instant pull from a debit card costs 0.50% + 75¢.
Stored balance (wallet)
Not disclosed
50¢ per active wallet a month
Moov counts a wallet as active if it held a balance at any point in the month.

Published pricing

Dwolla
Custom quote only
Moov
Standard rate card published
Winner
Dwolla's pricing page says pricing is tailored to transaction volume, rails and integration needs. Moov publishes standard pricing, though not a separate standard ACH debit price, and offers custom pricing for large volumes.

Monthly minimum

Dwolla
Not disclosed
Moov
$500
Moov charges no setup fee. Its Data Sync and third-party bank validation products carry their own $500 monthly minimums.

ACH transfer

Dwolla
Not disclosed
Moov
25¢ next-day credit, 40¢ same-day
Moov charges $5 per ACH return, $15 per unauthorized return and 75¢ per notice of change. Its pricing page does not list a separate standard ACH debit price.

Instant payout (RTP, FedNow or push to card)

Dwolla
Not disclosed
Moov
0.95%, 50¢ minimum, $5 cap
Moov charges the same on RTP/FedNow credits and instant push to card; a scheduled push to card costs 25¢. Instant pull from a debit card costs 0.50% + 75¢.

Stored balance (wallet)

Dwolla
Not disclosed
Moov
50¢ per active wallet a month
Moov counts a wallet as active if it held a balance at any point in the month.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Software platform that needs card and bank payments together

Moov
Recommended
Moov
View the Moov review

Moov accepts cards at interchange + 0.60% + 15¢ online and handles ACH, wallets and payouts on the same API. Dwolla has no card acceptance of its own; its customers would need NMI's separate acceptance products.

Lender, insurer or B2B platform sending large instant disbursements

Dwolla
Recommended
Dwolla
View the Dwolla review

Dwolla allows RTP and FedNow transfers up to $500,000 by default, against $100,000 on Moov's recommended instant-payment method, and focuses on bank-only flows in lending, insurance and real estate. Moov's older RTP-only method allows more but is slated for deprecation.

Gig or marketplace platform paying out to debit cards

Moov
Recommended
Moov
View the Moov review

Moov's push to card is priced publicly at 0.95% capped at $5 and reaches fast-funds debit cards within 30 minutes. Dwolla's push to card needs approval and a separate Checkout.com onboarding, and its price and limits are not published.

Platform that wants to model payment costs before talking to sales

Moov
Recommended
Moov
View the Moov review

Moov publishes its standard prices, so a team can estimate costs up front; budget for the $500 monthly minimum, which makes it a poor fit for a platform with very little volume. Dwolla publishes no price or minimum, so comparing needs a sales conversation.

Dwolla: Best for 1 use case
Moov: Best for 3 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

There is no way to tell without a quote. Dwolla publishes no prices and builds each contract around volume and rails. Moov publishes a rate card: 25¢ per next-day ACH credit, 40¢ same-day, 0.95% on instant payouts with a 50¢ minimum and $5 cap, and a $500 monthly minimum.

Moov can. It charges interchange plus 0.60% and 15¢ on online cards and interchange plus 0.50% and 15¢ on Tap to Pay. Dwolla handles bank payments only; since NMI bought it in May 2026, NMI has offered its own card acceptance to Dwolla customers.

NMI, an embedded payments company, announced on 19 May 2026 that it had acquired Dwolla. About 60 Dwolla employees and more than 400 customers moved to NMI, and Dwolla's CEO became NMI's chief operating officer. Dwolla was founded in 2008 in Des Moines, Iowa.

Neither is a bank. Dwolla says it is not a money transmitter; Veridian Credit Union carries its ACH and real-time payments, and balances sit in pooled accounts at Veridian or an FBO account at KeyBank. Moov also uses Veridian for ACH and RTP, plus Lincoln Savings Bank for FedNow and Pathward and Lincoln Savings Bank for card processing.

Yes. Both send instant payments on RTP or FedNow depending on the recipient's bank, 24 hours a day, and both use them for payouts rather than collections. Dwolla's default limit is $500,000 per transfer; Moov's recommended instant-payment method is capped at $100,000.

Yes, for approved customers. Dwolla's developer docs describe Push to Card as a premium feature: payouts go to US Visa and Mastercard debit cards through Checkout.com, funded from a pre-funded settlement account, and Dwolla publishes no price or limit. Moov offers push to card at a published 0.95% with a $5 cap, up to $50,000 per payout.