Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Finix vs Tilled for software platforms

Comparison · Updated October 10, 2026

Finix vs Tilled for software platforms

VS
Finix

Finix

B

A San Francisco processor that charges a monthly subscription — from $250 — and takes zero markup on interchange, billing a flat $0.08 or $0.15 per transaction instead. Excellent economics above roughly $1m a year, wrong below it, and with a public track record still too thin to lean on.

Read Full Review
Tilled

Tilled

B

A Boulder, Colorado company that sells payments infrastructure to software companies rather than merchant accounts to businesses. Tilled claims to have coined the term PayFac-as-a-Service: a software vendor gets the economics of being a payment facilitator — a share of the processing revenue on every transaction its customers make — without taking on the registration, underwriting and compliance burden of actually becoming one. It is one of the very few companies in this catalogue that publishes its own prices in public, which is the main reason it grades where it does.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

Finix and Tilled both let a US software platform offer payments to its own customers and earn money on them, without the platform registering as a payment facilitator itself. They price that very differently. Finix publishes its costs to the platform: on its Standard platform plan you pay the card networks' costs at pass-through plus 0.30% + $0.15 per card transaction, $5 to onboard each merchant and $2.50 a month for each active one. There is no monthly platform fee, and you keep what you charge your merchants above those costs. Tilled publishes a monthly fee and a revenue share instead: $500 a month for 70% of the margin (Start-Up, for platforms under $5 million a month) or $2,500 a month for 80% (Scaling). It does not publish the buy rate that margin is measured from. So Finix's published card is more complete, but neither page lets you work out which costs you less without a Tilled quote. The other differences, as of October 2026: Finix is itself a card-network-certified processor and underwrites merchants itself, and supports Tap to Pay on iPhone. Tilled runs on a choice of four processors (North, TSYS, KORT and Paysafe), and its in-person payments are already live in Canada, where Finix's are still a pilot. Payment Review grades both B.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓Finix publishes its full platform cost card: interchange and network fees at pass-through plus 0.30% + $0.15 per card transaction, $2.50 per active merchant a month, $5 per onboarding, $30 per dispute and 1.00% (max $10) + $0.25 per ACH debit. Tilled publishes none of these.
  • ✓Tilled publishes what Finix does not charge: a monthly fee of $500 (70% revenue share) or $2,500 (80%). Finix's per-merchant fee reaches $500 a month only at 200 active merchants.
  • ✓Under Tilled you keep 70% or 80% of the margin above an unpublished buy rate, and cover the whole shortfall if your merchant pricing falls below it. Finix pays you your merchant fees minus its costs, though its documentation says some contracts add a revenue share.
  • ✓Both pay merchants daily by default. Finix pays card sales on T+1 or T+2, and Tilled's default on three of its four processors is next-day funding.
  • ✓For in-person payments, Finix sells PAX terminals and supports Tap to Pay on iPhone, which Tilled says it does not support. In Canada, Tilled's in-person payments (with Interac) are generally available, while Finix's are a pilot.

Finix

Finix suits US platforms that want to see every cost before signing, have few paying merchants yet (there is no monthly platform fee), need Tap to Pay on iPhone, or may one day register as their own payment facilitator on the same processor.

Tilled

Tilled suits platforms with enough merchant volume to carry a fixed $500 or $2,500 monthly fee, that prefer a simple revenue share, want a choice of processor, or need in-person payments in Canada now.

The Verdict

It Depends on Your Needs

Why?

Payment Review grades both B, and the deciding number, Tilled's buy rate, is not published. Finix publishes everything a platform pays it, has no monthly platform fee and lets you keep the markup, so it is the easier choice to model and the cheaper fixed cost until you have about 200 active merchants. It also supports Tap to Pay on iPhone and a later move to your own PayFac registration. Tilled suits a platform that prefers a fixed monthly fee and a 70% or 80% revenue share, wants a choice of processor, or needs in-person payments in Canada today. Get Tilled's Schedule A and both companies' exit terms in writing, then model each at your merchant count and volume.

Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Platform pricing (US, as of October 2026)

Platform pricing (US, as of October 2026): Finix compared with Tilled.
FeatureFinixTilled
Pricing model
Published buy rates; you keep the markup
Monthly SaaS fee plus revenue share
Finix's platform pricing page lists a Standard plan with fixed costs and a Custom plan on request. Finix's documentation calculates a platform's residual as merchant fees minus Finix costs, and says that depending on the agreement there may also be a revenue share. Tilled's pricing page lists two plans for software companies, and its documentation says a platform's commission is the merchant revenue minus the platform's cost, multiplied by its revenue-share percentage.
Card cost to the platform
Interchange + network fees + 0.30% + $0.15
Not disclosed
Finix's Standard platform fee covers Visa, Mastercard, Discover and Amex, applies to every transaction and authorization attempt, successful or failed. The page lists a single card rate, with no separate in-person rate. Amex also carries a $0.50 conveyed fee per transaction. Tilled's buy rates sit in a fee schedule (Schedule A) to its Payment Processing Agreement, which is not published. Its revenue calculator assumes all-in partner costs of 2.27% + $0.15 against merchant pricing of 2.9% + $0.30, but Tilled presents those as calculator assumptions, not a rate.
Monthly platform fee
None on Standard
$500 (Start-Up) or $2,500 (Scaling)
Tilled positions Start-Up for platforms processing under $5 million a month and Scaling for those above; both include the same features. Tilled also lists a Reseller plan ($5,000 a month, 80%) for ISOs and an Enterprise plan (from $30,000 a month, 95%) for acquirers, processors and card networks. Finix's Standard platform plan has no monthly membership fee; its $250 monthly membership fee applies to its direct-merchant plan, not to platforms.
Per-merchant fees
$5 onboarding; $2.50 per active merchant a month
Not disclosed
Finix counts a merchant as active in any month with at least one transaction or authorization attempt, ACH transaction, payout or card tokenization. At $2.50 each, Finix's per-merchant fees equal Tilled's $500 Start-Up fee at 200 active merchants and its $2,500 Scaling fee at 1,000, before Finix's $5 onboarding fee. That is not a full cost comparison, because Tilled's buy rate and revenue share also differ.
Your share of the margin
Merchant fees minus Finix costs
70% (Start-Up) or 80% (Scaling)
Tilled pays commissions by ACH by the last day of the following month. If merchant revenue falls below the platform's cost, the platform owes Tilled the full difference. Finix pays residuals within about 30 days of each monthly billing settlement, and residuals can also be negative if your merchant fees do not cover Finix's costs. Finix says some contracts include a revenue share, so get its split in writing.

Pricing model

Finix
Published buy rates; you keep the markup
Tilled
Monthly SaaS fee plus revenue share
Finix's platform pricing page lists a Standard plan with fixed costs and a Custom plan on request. Finix's documentation calculates a platform's residual as merchant fees minus Finix costs, and says that depending on the agreement there may also be a revenue share. Tilled's pricing page lists two plans for software companies, and its documentation says a platform's commission is the merchant revenue minus the platform's cost, multiplied by its revenue-share percentage.

Card cost to the platform

Finix
Interchange + network fees + 0.30% + $0.15
Tilled
Not disclosed
Finix's Standard platform fee covers Visa, Mastercard, Discover and Amex, applies to every transaction and authorization attempt, successful or failed. The page lists a single card rate, with no separate in-person rate. Amex also carries a $0.50 conveyed fee per transaction. Tilled's buy rates sit in a fee schedule (Schedule A) to its Payment Processing Agreement, which is not published. Its revenue calculator assumes all-in partner costs of 2.27% + $0.15 against merchant pricing of 2.9% + $0.30, but Tilled presents those as calculator assumptions, not a rate.

Monthly platform fee

Finix
None on Standard
Tilled
$500 (Start-Up) or $2,500 (Scaling)
Tilled positions Start-Up for platforms processing under $5 million a month and Scaling for those above; both include the same features. Tilled also lists a Reseller plan ($5,000 a month, 80%) for ISOs and an Enterprise plan (from $30,000 a month, 95%) for acquirers, processors and card networks. Finix's Standard platform plan has no monthly membership fee; its $250 monthly membership fee applies to its direct-merchant plan, not to platforms.

Per-merchant fees

Finix
$5 onboarding; $2.50 per active merchant a month
Tilled
Not disclosed
Finix counts a merchant as active in any month with at least one transaction or authorization attempt, ACH transaction, payout or card tokenization. At $2.50 each, Finix's per-merchant fees equal Tilled's $500 Start-Up fee at 200 active merchants and its $2,500 Scaling fee at 1,000, before Finix's $5 onboarding fee. That is not a full cost comparison, because Tilled's buy rate and revenue share also differ.

Your share of the margin

Finix
Merchant fees minus Finix costs
Tilled
70% (Start-Up) or 80% (Scaling)
Tilled pays commissions by ACH by the last day of the following month. If merchant revenue falls below the platform's cost, the platform owes Tilled the full difference. Finix pays residuals within about 30 days of each monthly billing settlement, and residuals can also be negative if your merchant fees do not cover Finix's costs. Finix says some contracts include a revenue share, so get its split in writing.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Early-stage vertical SaaS with a few dozen paying merchants

Finix
Recommended
Finix
View the Finix review

Finix has no monthly platform fee: 40 active merchants cost $100 a month in per-merchant fees, against Tilled's $500 Start-Up fee whatever you process. Finix also publishes every cost, so you can set merchant pricing knowing your margin.

Platform whose merchants take in-person payments in Canada

Tilled
Recommended
Tilled
View the Tilled review

Tilled supports in-person cards and Interac in Canada through Paysafe, with French-language onboarding. Finix's in-person payments in Canada are still a pilot.

Platform that wants merchants to take payments on an iPhone

Finix
Recommended
Finix
View the Finix review

Finix supports Tap to Pay on iPhone for $0.10 a transaction on top of its card fee. Tilled says it does not support Tap-to-Phone.

Large platform planning to register as its own payment facilitator

Finix
Recommended
Finix
View the Finix review

Finix sells processing to registered PayFacs and describes a path from its managed model to your own registration. Tilled does not advertise a path to your own registration on its ISV plans.

Platform that wants a predictable vendor fee and a choice of processor

Tilled
Recommended
Tilled
View the Tilled review

Tilled charges a flat $500 or $2,500 a month plus a 70% or 80% revenue share, and lets you pick North, TSYS, KORT or Paysafe. Ask for the buy rates in its Schedule A before you compare it with Finix.

Finix: Best for 3 use cases
Tilled: Best for 2 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

There is no public answer, because Tilled does not publish its buy rates. Finix's Standard platform plan costs interchange and network fees plus 0.30% + $0.15 per card transaction, $5 per merchant onboarded and $2.50 per active merchant a month, with no monthly platform fee. Tilled costs $500 a month for a 70% revenue share or $2,500 for 80%, measured against a buy rate it quotes privately. On fixed fees alone, Finix's per-merchant charges reach $500 a month at 200 active merchants. Get Tilled's fee schedule and model both at your volume.

It lets a software company offer card payments to its customers as sub-merchants and earn on their processing, while the provider and its processing partners handle the card-network registration, underwriting and compliance. Tilled's plans for software companies are built on this model. Finix calls itself an outsourced PayFac for software platforms, and also sells processing to companies that register as payment facilitators themselves.

Both pay merchants daily by default. Finix pays card sales on T+1 or T+2 business days, depending on configuration, and on its Standard platform plan charges the platform $0.75 or $0.50 per payout respectively. Tilled's default on North, TSYS and KORT is next-day funding; on Paysafe it is T+0 or T+1 settlement, a day or two slower. Both hold bank debits longer, typically up to 5 business days.

Both support Canadian merchants, but not equally. Finix supports online payments in Canada, while its in-person payments there are a pilot. Tilled supports online and in-person cards, Interac, EFT debits and French-language onboarding in Canada, all through its Paysafe processor.

Neither publishes its platform contract term. Finix lists a $0 termination fee and one free payment-instrument migration at the end of the agreement, with further migrations at $10,000 each. Tilled said in a 2021 blog post that partners can take their data and merchant accounts with them. Get token portability and exit terms in writing from either before you integrate.

Both are independent, venture-backed companies. San Francisco-based Finix, founded in 2015, raised a $75 million Series C in 2024 led by Acrew Capital. Tilled, founded in 2019 by Caleb Avery and based in Boulder, Colorado, says it had raised nearly $40 million by October 2024.

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

Finix vs Stripe for embedded payments

View comparison
View All Comparisons