Comparison · Updated November 3, 2026

A Seattle merchant services company founded in 2004, best known outside the industry for setting a $70,000 minimum salary in 2015, and better known inside it for doing two unfashionable things well: publishing a flat rate on its own website, and showing interchange and assessments at cost with its own markup as a separate line on the statement. Its formal complaint record is the cleanest of any provider we have reviewed at this size — one BBB complaint in three years against an A+ rating held since 2005. The two things to weigh against that are a markup that independent auditors have found higher than competing quotes, and a 2025 data breach at a third-party vendor that exposed Social Security numbers and banking details for 22,278 people and is now the subject of a proposed class action.

A small, long-running ISO that publishes its entire interchange-plus margin, charges $20 a month, and imposes no contract and no early termination fee. The catch is fit, not conduct: it declines high-risk verticals, is uneconomic below a few thousand dollars a month, and supports merchants only during business hours.
We compare the two for a low-risk US small business taking cards in person, online or both. We used each company's own published prices, help pages and fee tables as read on 3 November 2026. In-person prices are compared with in-person prices, and online with online. Both are independent sales organisations (ISOs): they sell merchant accounts under a sponsor bank rather than acting as the bank themselves. They publish different things. Dharma publishes its whole fee table for an interchange-plus account: card-network costs at cost, plus 0.15% and 8¢ per sale in person or 0.20% and 11¢ online, a $20 monthly fee on its rate tables (its monthly-fee FAQ says $15), a $25 chargeback fee, no PCI fee and a $49 closure fee, with no contract term. Gravity publishes one price: a flat 2.5% plus 10¢ on qualified in-person sales. Online, keyed and software-integrated sales may not qualify for it, and fall under a customised plan whose rate it does not publish. Gravity's help library lists PCI fees ($115 a year for integrated merchants and $85 a year breach protection for standalone ones, on a page last updated in October 2024) and promises 24/7 phone support. It does not publish its monthly fee, chargeback fee, contract length, exit fee or funding schedule. Gravity dates its start to 2004, when Dan Price founded it; it is based in Seattle and privately held. Dharma was founded in 2007 and is a registered ISO of Synovus Bank. Which costs less depends on your card mix and volume, so the comparison below works through examples.
Gravity Payments suits an established in-person business that wants a price it can see before a sales call, takes a lot of premium rewards and corporate cards, and values round-the-clock phone support. Before you sign, get the monthly fee, contract length, any early termination fee, the chargeback fee and the funding schedule in writing. None of them is published.
Dharma Merchant Services suits a low-risk business processing at least a few thousand dollars a month, in person or online, that wants every fee published and no contract term. It does not take high-risk businesses, its support keeps office hours, and its $15 to $20 monthly fee makes it poor value at very low volume.
For most low-risk small businesses that take at least a few thousand dollars a month, Dharma is the easier choice to check and to leave. Every fee is published, there is no contract term, there is no PCI fee, and online sales have a published rate too. Gravity is the better fit if you want 24/7 phone support or a flat price that does not move with the card mix, and its flat rate can come out cheaper than interchange plus on premium rewards and corporate cards. But Gravity publishes much less: no monthly fee, contract length, exit fee, chargeback fee or funding schedule, and no online price. Its help library lists PCI fees of $85 to $115 a year, which Dharma does not charge. If you are weighing Gravity, get those terms in writing and run your last statement through both.
| Feature | Gravity Payments | Dharma Merchant Services |
|---|---|---|
| In-person (card-present) sales | 2.5% + 10¢ flat (qualified sales) | Interchange + 0.15% + 8¢ |
| The two are priced on different models, so there is no winner. Gravity's flat rate already includes the card networks' costs. Dharma passes interchange and network assessments through at cost and adds its own markup. Dharma's published examples show what that means on a $100 sale: $0.65 on a Visa regulated debit card, $2.00 on a standard Visa credit card (Visa CPS Retail) and $2.97 on a Mastercard World Elite card. On Gravity's flat rate every $100 sale costs $2.60. Gravity says payments integrated with software, or taken when the customer is not present, may not qualify for the flat rate. Dharma's figures are from its retail rate page, Gravity's from its pricing page, both read on 3 November 2026. | ||
| Online and keyed (card-not-present) sales | Not disclosed | Interchange + 0.20% + 11¢ |
| Gravity prices online, keyed and software-integrated payments on its customised plan, described only as a 'custom processing rate & fees'. Dharma's online rate includes address verification (AVS) at no extra charge. Its published example of a $100 standard Visa online sale (Visa CPS Card Not Present) costs $2.37 in total. | ||
| Custom or high-volume pricing | Not disclosed | Interchange + 0.10% + 8¢ or 11¢; $15 a month |
| Dharma's high-volume pricing applies above $100,000 or 5,000 transactions a month, and to restaurants with an average ticket of $25 or less. It is not available to high-risk accounts, and Dharma may exclude advance deposits, custom orders and open-ended subscriptions. Gravity's alternative to its flat rate is a customised plan. Its site does not say how that plan is structured or what it costs. Dharma also publishes American Express margins: 0.25% + 8¢ in person and 0.30% + 11¢ online. | ||
Recommendations based on your business type

Dharma publishes an online rate of interchange plus 0.20% and 11¢ with AVS included, and funds card-not-present sales in two business days. Gravity's flat rate may not apply to online or keyed payments, and it does not publish the rate for its customised plan.
Both. On a standard Visa credit sale, Dharma's interchange-plus pricing comes out below Gravity's 2.5% + 10¢. On premium rewards and corporate cards, Gravity's flat rate can be cheaper. Ask Dharma for its free statement analysis, and ask Gravity for its monthly fee and contract terms. Then price your last three months of statements on both.

Gravity offers 24/7 phone support. Dharma's support keeps Eastern office hours, ending at 4pm Monday to Thursday and 2pm on Friday.

Dharma has no contract term and says seasonal merchants pay no closure or reactivation fee. Gravity does not publish its contract length or exit fee.
Common questions about this comparison
Explore more payment processor matchups