Comparison · Updated October 3, 2026

LawPay is the payment processor built for law firms by AffiniPay, the Austin, Texas company Amy Porter founded in 2005 and which rebranded its corporate identity as 8am in August 2025; the product now trades as 8am LawPay. Launched in 2007, it is offered through all fifty state bar associations and more than sixty local and specialty bars, describes itself as the only ABA-recommended payment solution for the legal industry, and says more than 120,000 lawyers use it. Its reason for existing is trust accounting: card fees are debited from the firm's operating account rather than the client trust or IOLTA account, and chargebacks and refunds cannot be pulled from trust funds, which is what the bar rules require and what a general-purpose processor cannot promise. Pricing is published in full and interchange-free: $19 a month with no contract, 2.99% plus 30¢ on Visa, Mastercard and Discover, 3.90% plus 30¢ on American Express, 1% on eCheck, 5.95% on its Pay Later legal-fee financing, plus a $7.99 monthly card-brand pass-through fee and 1.75% on foreign cards. Since January 2024 eligible firms have had next-business-day funding on cards and eCheck, and since April 2026 8am has guaranteed it. 8am, LLC operates as an independent sales organization of Fifth Third Bank, Wells Fargo Bank, Synovus Bank and Fiserv Canada. The record is good: an A+ BBB rating with fourteen complaints in three years, and a Trustpilot profile that is 78% five-star. The costs are a card rate a tenth of a point above Stripe's, an Amex rate near four percent, and a pass-through fee that reviewers say catches firms unawares.

Clio Payments is the payment processing built into Clio Manage, the legal practice-management software from Clio (Themis Solutions Inc.), which was founded in Vancouver in 2008. Clio first sold a payments add-on powered by LawPay from 2015, then launched its own native Clio Payments in the US in October 2021 and in Canada in November 2022. Card processing is provided by Stripe: each firm accepts Stripe's Connected Account Agreement, and Clio handles enrolment, fees and support. There is no separate monthly fee, but you need a Clio Manage subscription, which starts at $49 per user per month. As of October 2026 Clio's own pages list a flat 2.95% for standard credit and debit cards with no per-transaction fee, and 1% for US eCheck and direct ACH payments. American Express is 3.75% on Clio's current comparison page, or 3.5% for firms switching from the LawPay integration. Clio does not publish Canadian rates on its Canadian site. The trust-account handling is the main reason to use it: trust payments are deposited in full, and processing fees, chargebacks and the $15 (US) or $20 CAD dispute fee always come out of the operating account. Card funds take one to two business days in the US and three in Canada, and eChecks five to seven. Clio itself is well rated on Capterra, but its BBB file is rated F for unanswered complaints, mostly about subscription billing. Clio ended its LawPay integration on 31 August 2026, which leaves Clio Payments as Clio's own way to take payments inside Clio Manage.
Both are built for law firms, and both keep processing fees and chargebacks out of the client trust (IOLTA) account. The real difference is where they live. LawPay, from 8am (formerly AffiniPay), is a standalone legal processor. It costs $19 a month with no contract and works with 8am's own MyCase, CasePeer and DocketWise and dozens of other legal apps. Clio Payments is built into Clio Manage, and you cannot get it without a Clio Manage subscription, which starts at $49 per user per month. Card processing runs through Stripe, under Stripe's Connected Account Agreement. The choice matters more for Clio users now. Clio's help centre says the LawPay integration with Clio Manage ended on 31 August 2026, so a firm on Clio can no longer take LawPay payments inside Clio. As of October 2026, Clio's published card rate is lower: 2.95% with no per-transaction fee, against LawPay's 2.99% + $0.30 plus a $7.99 monthly card-brand allocation. Both charge 1% on eCheck. LawPay pays out faster, with next-business-day funding for new accounts on cards and eCheck. Clio cards process within two business days and some eChecks take five to seven. LawPay also has the much stronger BBB record (A+ against Clio's F). Payment Review grades LawPay B+ and Clio Payments B.
LawPay suits US firms that do not use Clio Manage, especially those on 8am's MyCase, CasePeer or DocketWise or on another integrated legal platform. It also suits firms that want a standalone legal processor with built-in trust handling, next-business-day funding and no contract, and firms that collect large eChecks and want the money fast.
Clio Payments suits US firms already on Clio Manage, including former users of the LawPay integration. It gives them payments that post automatically to the right bill, matter and trust ledger, at a flat 2.95% card rate with no per-transaction or monthly payments fee. As of October 2026, firms switching from LawPay qualify for a 3.5% American Express rate.
The deciding question is whether your firm uses Clio Manage. If it does, Clio Payments is the practical choice. Clio ended the LawPay integration on 31 August 2026, and Clio Payments is built into Clio Manage. It costs less per card payment, at 2.95% with no per-transaction fee against LawPay's 2.99% + $0.30. There is no monthly payments fee and no network-fee pass-through, and it handles trust money correctly. If your firm does not use Clio Manage, LawPay is the choice. Clio Payments cannot be bought on its own, and LawPay works standalone or with MyCase, CasePeer, DocketWise and dozens of other legal apps. LawPay is month to month and funds new accounts the next business day, and its BBB record is far stronger. That fits the site's grades: LawPay is graded B+ as the stronger standalone legal processor, and Clio Payments B as a good built-in option tied to one software platform.
| Feature | LawPay (8am, formerly AffiniPay) | Clio Payments |
|---|---|---|
| Visa, Mastercard and Discover | 2.99% + $0.30 | 2.95%, no per-transaction fee Winner |
| Both are flat list rates published on each company's own pages (LawPay's pricing page; Clio's payments comparison page), and neither publishes a separate keyed-in or online rate. On a $5,000 retainer LawPay's fee is $149.80 and Clio's is $147.50. On a $200 payment the fees are $6.28 and $5.90. LawPay also offers custom pricing on request, and Clio invites firms to book a rate assessment, so either may quote below list price. | ||
| American Express | 3.90% + $0.30 | 3.75% (3.5% if switching from LawPay) Winner |
| Clio's general payments comparison page lists 3.75%. Its LawPay switching page, checked 3 October 2026, says firms moving from the LawPay integration qualify for 3.5%. On a $5,000 Amex payment LawPay's fee is $195.30, against $187.50 at Clio's 3.75%. LawPay's pricing page also lists American Express network fees that may be passed through on top (for example a 0.30% card-not-present fee), so its effective Amex cost can be higher still. | ||
| eCheck / ACH | 1% | 1% (eCheck and Direct ACH) |
| The headline rates are the same. LawPay's pricing page shows no cap, and its help centre says the 1% is charged on every attempt, including an eCheck that fails, plus a $10 return fee per failed attempt. Clio's fee-schedule article says failed payments do not incur a processing fee. Clio limits each eCheck to $25,000. Direct ACH, where the client sends the money from their own bank, is open to firms with a record of successful Clio Payments transactions and a low dispute rate. | ||
| Card-network fees | $7.99/mo allocation; other network fees may pass through | None passed on Winner |
| LawPay's pricing page says card-network fees that are triggered are passed through directly with no mark-up or through an allocation. It names a $7.99 monthly allocation and gives examples of possible per-transaction network fees, such as Visa's $0.10 integrity fee. Clio says it never passes on card-brand network fees. | ||
| Foreign-issued cards | Extra 1.75% | Not disclosed |
| Clio's pages describe one flat rate for all standard cards but do not say whether foreign-issued cards cost more. | ||
| Client financing (Pay Later, via Affirm) | 5.95%; $150–$30,000 | 4.95%; $50–$30,000 Winner |
| On both, the firm pays the fee, cannot pass it to the client, and is paid in full while the client repays Affirm; LawPay says the money settles by ACH within 1 to 5 business days. LawPay offers client terms of 3 to 24 months; Clio lists options up to 36 months. Clio's Pay Later is limited to individual clients, not businesses. | ||
| Chargeback fee | Not disclosed | $15 per dispute |
| Clio charges $15 on every US dispute, whatever the outcome. LawPay's pricing page and help-centre chargeback articles do not give a fee. | ||
Recommendations based on your business type

LawPay no longer works inside Clio Manage, because Clio ended the integration on 31 August 2026. Clio Payments posts payments to the right bill, matter and trust ledger automatically. It charges 2.95% per standard card with no per-transaction fee and no monthly payments fee.

As of October 2026, Clio says firms switching from the LawPay integration qualify for a 3.5% American Express rate instead of 3.75%. You could keep LawPay as a standalone processor, but then payments no longer post into Clio and someone has to record them by hand. Replace any permanent LawPay payment links on your website when you switch.

LawPay is native to 8am's own practice-management products. Clio Payments only works inside Clio Manage.

LawPay works on its own, with basic invoicing and time tracking included, or alongside 65+ legal apps, for $19 a month with no contract. Getting Clio Payments would mean buying Clio Manage, from $49 per user per month.

Both charge 1% on eCheck. LawPay funds eChecks in two business days as standard and the next business day for new accounts. Clio says some eChecks take five to seven business days, and it limits each eCheck to $25,000.

Both use Affirm, but Clio charges the firm 4.95% to LawPay's 5.95%, and accepts bills from $50 rather than $150. On a $10,000 financed fee the difference is $100.
Common questions about this comparison