Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Openpay vs Conekta in Mexico

Comparison · Updated October 31, 2026

Openpay vs Conekta in Mexico

VS
Openpay

Openpay

B-

Openpay is a Mexican online payments company founded in Querétaro in 2013 and part of the BBVA Group since 2017. BBVA signed the agreement to buy it on 23 December 2016 and announced the closing, at its Mexican bank BBVA Bancomer (now BBVA México), on 24 April 2017. It lets a business take cards, SPEI bank transfers and cash payments at more than 30,000 shops through its own Paynet network, from one checkout, payment link or API integration. Its prices are published. As of October 2026 domestic Visa, Mastercard and Carnet cards and American Express cost 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA. International Visa and Mastercard cards cost 4.10% + IVA, SPEI transfers MX$8.00 + IVA, and cash payments 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA. Interest-free instalments (meses sin intereses) add a surcharge of 4.8% to 13.8%, depending on the term. There is no monthly fee and no fixed contract term. Openpay works as an aggregator: it collects your sales into an Openpay balance and pays the balance out weekly, on the weekday you choose. Card sales become available to pay out one business day after the sale, and Amex and cash sales after three. The terms are firmly on Openpay's side. It can hold all or part of your balance for up to 540 days, makes you liable for chargebacks for 540 days, and charges 3% a month interest on unpaid chargeback debts. It can also refuse or close an account without giving a reason. BBVA also sells Openpay to its own customers as Zona de cobro, a separately priced product run through the BBVA app.

Read Full Review
Conekta

Conekta

B-

Conekta is a Mexico City online payment company for businesses that sell in Mexico. It takes cards, meses sin intereses (interest-free instalments), SPEI bank transfers, cash payments at stores and BBVA cash machines, Apple Pay, Google Pay, pay-by-bank through BBVA and buy now, pay later. As of October 2026 its published rate for small and mid-size businesses is 3.4% + MX$3 per card sale, MX$12.50 per SPEI transfer and 2.6% + MX$3 per cash payment, all plus 16% IVA. There is no monthly fee and no fixed contract term. Either side can end the agreement on 30 days' written notice. Card sales are deposited two business days later. Conekta signs merchants as a payment aggregator under acquiring banks, but in September 2026 it announced CNBV authorisation to act as a direct non-bank acquirer. In 2024 it sold the cash business behind OXXO Pay to FEMSA, and its current cash network and terms no longer list OXXO. Public review data is thin, and the terms let Conekta hold funds for up to 540 days.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

We compare the two for a business in Mexico taking online payments in pesos by card, SPEI transfer or cash at shops, using each provider's own Mexican pricing pages and merchant terms as of October 2026. Both quote every rate before Mexico's 16% IVA, which is added to the fee rather than the sale, so the listed rates compare directly; our worked examples add the IVA. Openpay, S.A. de C.V. is a Querétaro payments company that BBVA's Mexican bank (then BBVA Bancomer, now BBVA México) agreed to buy in December 2016 and completed buying in April 2017; its site still describes it as backed by the BBVA Group and invites new merchants to register online. Conekta's contracting company is Grupo Conektame, S.A. de C.V. in Mexico City, an independent venture-backed firm that announced CNBV authorisation as a direct non-bank acquirer on 21 September 2026. Openpay is cheaper on cards and SPEI: 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA per domestic card sale against Conekta's 3.4% + MX$3 + IVA, and MX$8 + IVA per SPEI transfer against MX$12.50 + IVA. Conekta is cheaper on cash payments above about MX$167, pays card sales into your bank two business days after the sale instead of weekly, and offers Apple Pay, Google Pay, BBVA pay-by-bank and several buy now, pay later providers. Neither can take cash at OXXO: Conekta sold the business behind OXXO Pay to FEMSA in 2024, and neither provider's current cash network lists OXXO. Both terms let the provider hold funds for up to 540 days, and both have no fixed term with 30 days' notice to leave.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓Openpay is cheaper for card and SPEI payments. A MX$1,000 card sale costs MX$36.54 including IVA on Openpay against MX$42.92 on Conekta, and an SPEI transfer MX$9.28 against MX$14.50.
  • ✓Conekta pays out faster. Its terms deposit card sales in your bank account two business days after the sale; Openpay pays your balance once a week, on a weekday you choose, and only considers more frequent payouts after three months of operating.
  • ✓Conekta is cheaper on cash above about MX$167 (2.6% + MX$3 + IVA against 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA) and has more ways to pay: Apple Pay, Google Pay, BBVA pay-by-bank, Aplazo, Creditea and Coppel Pay. Openpay adds Kueski Pay for buy now, pay later.
  • ✓Neither takes cash at OXXO. Openpay's Paynet network lists more than 30,000 points such as 7-Eleven, Walmart and Farmacias del Ahorro; Conekta lists more than 19,000 points including 5,600 BBVA Practicaja machines.
  • ✓The contracts are similar: no monthly fee, no fixed term, 30 days' notice to leave, and balance holds of up to 540 days in both sets of terms.

Openpay

Openpay suits a Mexican online business whose sales are mostly domestic cards and SPEI transfers and which can live with weekly payouts. Its published 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA card rate and MX$8 + IVA SPEI fee are the lower of the two, it is part of the BBVA Group, and BBVA customers are offered a preferential rate that is not published.

Conekta

Conekta suits a Mexican online business that needs its money sooner, takes a lot of cash payments above about MX$167, or wants Apple Pay, Google Pay, BBVA pay-by-bank and several buy now, pay later options from one integration. It costs more per card sale, 3.4% + MX$3 + IVA, but deposits card sales two business days after the sale.

The Verdict

It Depends on Your Needs

Why?

Openpay is cheaper for the payments most Mexican online shops take, domestic cards and SPEI transfers, and is part of the BBVA Group. Conekta pays card sales out within two business days rather than weekly, is cheaper on cash payments above about MX$167, and offers more ways to pay, including Apple Pay, Google Pay, BBVA pay-by-bank and several buy now, pay later providers. Neither takes cash at OXXO, both can hold funds for up to 540 days, and both let you leave on 30 days' notice. Choose Openpay if price per card or transfer matters most and weekly payouts are fine; choose Conekta if cash flow, cash payments or a wider payment mix matter more.

Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Online pricing (Mexico, MXN, before 16% IVA, October 2026)

Online pricing (Mexico, MXN, before 16% IVA, October 2026): Openpay compared with Conekta.
FeatureOpenpayConekta
Domestic cards (single payment)
2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA
Winner
3.4% + MX$3 + IVA
Openpay's commissions page lists 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA for Visa, Mastercard and Carnet, and the same for American Express. A footnote says the commissions that apply are subject to Openpay's review and approval and could differ from the published rates, and the page says BBVA customers get a preferential rate it does not publish. Conekta's pricing page lists card payments 'desde' (from) 3.4% + MX$3 for small and mid-size businesses, says all plans and rates are plus IVA, and quotes enterprise volume pricing separately. Conekta also charges MX$1.50 + IVA per transaction sent to 3D Secure if you switch it on.
SPEI bank transfer
MX$8.00 + IVA
Winner
MX$12.50 + IVA
Both charge a flat fee per transfer. Openpay's page lists MX$8.00 MXN + IVA; Conekta's lists transfers 'desde' MX$12.50 + IVA.
Cash at shops
2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA
2.6% + MX$3 + IVA (min MX$5.40 + IVA)
No winner because the cheaper option depends on the ticket. The two fees are equal at about MX$167; Openpay is cheaper below that and Conekta above it. Conekta's minimum fee of MX$5.40 + IVA applies to cash payments under about MX$92. Conekta charges financial services and insurers a flat MX$16 + IVA per cash payment instead. On both, the shop also charges the buyer its own fee (see Payment methods).
Foreign cards
4.10% + IVA
Not disclosed
Openpay lists international Visa and Mastercard at 4.10% + IVA, with no interest-free instalments. Conekta's pricing page and terms give no separate rate for foreign cards; its help centre, as summarised in the site's review, says foreign credit cards are accepted with lower approval rates.
Monthly or setup fee
None
None
Openpay says registration is free and it charges only per successful transaction. Conekta's pricing page says you pay only for successful charges and integration has no cost.

Domestic cards (single payment)

Openpay
2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA
Winner
Conekta
3.4% + MX$3 + IVA
Openpay's commissions page lists 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA for Visa, Mastercard and Carnet, and the same for American Express. A footnote says the commissions that apply are subject to Openpay's review and approval and could differ from the published rates, and the page says BBVA customers get a preferential rate it does not publish. Conekta's pricing page lists card payments 'desde' (from) 3.4% + MX$3 for small and mid-size businesses, says all plans and rates are plus IVA, and quotes enterprise volume pricing separately. Conekta also charges MX$1.50 + IVA per transaction sent to 3D Secure if you switch it on.

SPEI bank transfer

Openpay
MX$8.00 + IVA
Winner
Conekta
MX$12.50 + IVA
Both charge a flat fee per transfer. Openpay's page lists MX$8.00 MXN + IVA; Conekta's lists transfers 'desde' MX$12.50 + IVA.

Cash at shops

Openpay
2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA
Conekta
2.6% + MX$3 + IVA (min MX$5.40 + IVA)
No winner because the cheaper option depends on the ticket. The two fees are equal at about MX$167; Openpay is cheaper below that and Conekta above it. Conekta's minimum fee of MX$5.40 + IVA applies to cash payments under about MX$92. Conekta charges financial services and insurers a flat MX$16 + IVA per cash payment instead. On both, the shop also charges the buyer its own fee (see Payment methods).

Foreign cards

Openpay
4.10% + IVA
Conekta
Not disclosed
Openpay lists international Visa and Mastercard at 4.10% + IVA, with no interest-free instalments. Conekta's pricing page and terms give no separate rate for foreign cards; its help centre, as summarised in the site's review, says foreign credit cards are accepted with lower approval rates.

Monthly or setup fee

Openpay
None
Conekta
None
Openpay says registration is free and it charges only per successful transaction. Conekta's pricing page says you pay only for successful charges and integration has no cost.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Online shop selling mostly by domestic card

Openpay
Recommended
Openpay
View the Openpay review

Openpay's 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA is below Conekta's 3.4% + MX$3 + IVA at every ticket size: MX$36.54 against MX$42.92 on a MX$1,000 sale. Plan for weekly payouts.

Business collecting many SPEI transfers, such as invoices or tuition

Openpay
Recommended
Openpay
View the Openpay review

Openpay charges MX$8 + IVA per transfer (MX$9.28 with IVA) against Conekta's MX$12.50 + IVA (MX$14.50).

Small business that needs card money in the bank quickly

Conekta
Recommended
Conekta
View the Conekta review

Conekta's terms deposit card sales two business days after the sale. Openpay pays out weekly and only considers more frequent payouts after three months of operating.

Seller whose customers often pay cash

Both have large cash networks without OXXO. Conekta's 2.6% + MX$3 + IVA is cheaper above about MX$167 and its customers pay no fee at BBVA Practicaja machines; Openpay's Paynet network is larger by its own count, at more than 30,000 points, and is cheaper on small cash tickets.

Store wanting Apple Pay, Google Pay or several pay-later options

Conekta
Recommended
Conekta
View the Conekta review

Conekta lists Apple Pay, Google Pay, Pago Directo BBVA, Aplazo, Creditea and Coppel Pay. Openpay's Mexican site lists Kueski Pay and BBVA Points but not Apple Pay or Google Pay.

Business that needs OXXO cash payments

Neither. Conekta sold the business behind OXXO Pay to FEMSA in 2024, and OXXO is not in either provider's current cash network.

Openpay: Best for 2 use cases
Conekta: Best for 2 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

For cards and SPEI transfers, Openpay. As of October 2026 Openpay charges 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA per domestic card sale and MX$8 + IVA per SPEI transfer; Conekta charges 3.4% + MX$3 + IVA and MX$12.50 + IVA. On a MX$1,000 card sale that is MX$36.54 on Openpay and MX$42.92 on Conekta, including 16% IVA on the fee. For cash payments Conekta's 2.6% + MX$3 + IVA is cheaper than Openpay's 2.9% + MX$2.50 + IVA above about MX$167. Openpay notes that the rate in your account depends on its approval and may differ from the published one.

Not according to either provider's current pages. Conekta agreed in April 2024 to sell the assets behind OXXO Pay to Digital@FEMSA, and FEMSA says it completed the purchase in September 2024. Conekta's cash product now runs through BBVA Practicaja machines and more than 19,000 shops such as 7-Eleven, Circle K and Farmacias del Ahorro, and its terms do not list OXXO. Openpay's Paynet network of more than 30,000 points, including 7-Eleven, Walmart and Soriana, does not list OXXO either.

Openpay is part of the BBVA Group. BBVA announced on 23 December 2016 that its Mexican bank, then BBVA Bancomer and now BBVA México, had agreed to buy the Querétaro company, and the purchase closed in April 2017. The contracting company is Openpay, S.A. de C.V., and its site describes it as backed by the BBVA Group. Its site still invites new Mexican merchants to register online. It is unrelated to the Australian buy now, pay later company of the same name.

Conekta's terms deposit card and SPEI sales two business days after the sale, American Express in four, cash paid at shops on the Wednesday of the following week, and cash paid at BBVA Practicaja machines the next business day. Openpay makes card and SPEI sales available after one business day (Amex and cash after three) but transfers your balance once a week, on a weekday you choose. More frequent payouts need its approval and are only considered after three months of operating or once there is enough volume to analyse.

No. Both quote their fees before IVA, and 16% IVA is added to the fee, not the sale. A 2.9% + MX$2.50 fee becomes about 3.36% + MX$2.90 with IVA, and 3.4% + MX$3 becomes about 3.94% + MX$3.48.

Yes, both. Openpay's terms let it hold all or part of your balance for up to 540 days from a transaction, and Conekta's card terms let it retain funds for up to 540 days after a transaction for suspected fraud, illicit activity or to cover future chargebacks. Neither has a fixed contract term: both can be ended on 30 days' written notice, but chargeback liability continues after you leave.

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

Conekta vs Mercado Pago (Mexico, online)

View comparison
View All Comparisons