Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
takepayments vs SumUp for UK card machines

Comparison · Updated October 29, 2026

takepayments vs SumUp for UK card machines

VS
takepayments

takepayments

B

takepayments is a Stockport-based reseller of card machines, online payments and POS systems to UK small businesses, and since June 2024 it has been a Global Payments company. It does not hold your merchant agreement: its own terms make clear that a customer enters a separate contract with an acquiring bank for the transaction processing, while takepayments supplies the terminal, the onboarding, the PCI compliance help and the support line. Two things stand out. The first is its service record, which is the strongest of any provider reviewed on this site by volume: 4.8 on Trustpilot across 66,994 reviews, 94% of them five-star, with more than 6,000 arriving in the last twelve months. The second is that it publishes no prices whatsoever. Rates, standing charges and terminal costs are all quoted by a field consultant after a visit, on a twelve-month minimum term that then runs monthly. The company is older than its name suggests: Companies House records the entity as incorporated on 14 September 1995 and shows it trading as Targeted Transaction Managed Services, then Alphyra UK, then Payzone UK, before taking the takepayments name in December 2019.

Read Full Review
SumUp

SumUp

B+

A pay-as-you-go card reader and POS provider with flat published rates, no monthly fee and no contract. Strong for small and mobile sellers; the recurring complaint is account freezes and held funds with slow resolution.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

We compare the two for a UK business taking card payments in person on a card machine, using what each provider publishes for its UK offer as of October 2026. For SumUp that means its UK pricing page: pay-as-you-go at 1.69% with no monthly fee, or Payments Plus at £19 a month (or £189 a year) with 0.99% on domestic debit and credit cards and 1.69% on premium, international and American Express cards. For takepayments it means the indicative prices its own online quotation tool returns, in the pricing-summary format takepayments says the Payment Systems Regulator requires. Those prices depend on yearly card turnover (the tool starts at £50,000 a year) and are a starting point for a quote, not a price list. The two are built differently. SumUp is the payment provider itself: you buy a reader outright, there is no term, and you can leave at any time. takepayments rents you a terminal on a fixed-term contract (it advertises 12 months) and supports you by phone seven days a week, while a separate acquiring bank it nominates holds your merchant agreement and processes the payments. Transaction fees are compared as published on both sides, since UK payment processing is VAT-exempt. Hardware is quoted excluding VAT by SumUp; takepayments' tool does not say whether its £12.50 terminal rental and £4.80 PCI fee include VAT. On our worked examples, SumUp Payments Plus is cheaper for a business taking up to about £12,500 a month (£150,000 a year, where takepayments' third turnover band begins). Above that, takepayments' indicative rates come out cheaper, if your quote matches them and you accept the contract.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓It depends on your turnover. On our worked examples (80% debit, 20% credit, £20 average sale), SumUp Payments Plus costs £68.50 a month at £5,000 of card sales against £83.80 on takepayments' indicative prices. At £15,000 a month takepayments comes out at £147.80 against SumUp's £167.50. The switch happens at about £12,500 a month, where takepayments' rates drop to their next turnover band.
  • ✓SumUp publishes its full UK rate card: 1.69% on pay-as-you-go, or 0.99% on domestic debit and credit cards for £19 a month. takepayments publishes only indicative rates through its quotation tool, banded by yearly turnover, from 1% + 2p on debit and 1.5% on credit at £50,000 to £100,000 a year, plus a 3p authorisation fee on every payment.
  • ✓SumUp has no contract and no exit fee, and you buy the reader outright (from £25 excluding VAT). takepayments rents the terminal (£12.50 a month in its indicative quote) on a fixed term. It advertises 12 months, but a 2023 contract described by the Financial Ombudsman had an 18-month minimum. Under both that contract and takepayments' most recent published rental terms (a 2020 edition), leaving early means paying the rest of the rental plus non-use and administration charges.
  • ✓With takepayments you also sign a separate agreement with an acquiring bank it nominates, which sets the transaction charges and has to be ended separately. With SumUp, SumUp itself is the payment provider.
  • ✓takepayments offers phone support seven days a week (8am to 7pm on weekdays for existing customers). SumUp offers support in its app, with 24/7 priority support, including phone, on Payments Plus.

takepayments

takepayments suits an established UK business taking more than about £12,500 a month in person that wants a terminal set up for it and a phone line that answers seven days a week. Its indicative rates beat SumUp's published ones at that volume. Get the full schedule in writing, including the acquiring bank's charges, the minimum term, the notice period and the exit charges, because takepayments does not publish its current contract terms.

SumUp

SumUp suits sole traders, market stalls, mobile businesses and small shops taking up to about £12,500 a month who want to start the day the reader arrives, pay nothing monthly (or £19 for Payments Plus), and leave whenever they like. Above about £3,000 a month in domestic cards Payments Plus is the cheaper plan. Above £10,000 a month SumUp offers custom pricing, which it does not publish.

The Verdict

It Depends on Your Needs

Why?

For most small UK businesses SumUp is the simpler and cheaper choice. Its whole UK rate card is public, you buy the reader for £25 to £135 excluding VAT, there is no contract, and Payments Plus at 0.99% plus £19 a month beats takepayments' indicative prices on our examples up to about £12,500 a month. takepayments starts to win on price above that. On its indicative rates, £15,000 a month comes to £147.80 against £167.50 on Payments Plus, and the gap widens at higher volume. It also gives you a Welcome Team that gets the terminal set up and a phone line open seven days a week. The catch is the contract. takepayments' prices are indicative until a consultant quotes them, the transaction charges sit under a separate acquiring-bank agreement, and the rental is a fixed term: 12 months as advertised, 18 months in one 2023 contract, and under every version we found leaving early means paying out the remaining rent plus further charges. A business taking well over £12,500 a month that is happy to sign up for a fixed term should get a takepayments quote and compare it with SumUp's custom pricing. Anyone smaller, seasonal or unsure should start with SumUp.

Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

In-person card rates (UK, October 2026)

In-person card rates (UK, October 2026): takepayments compared with SumUp.
FeaturetakepaymentsSumUp
UK consumer debit card
1% + 2p to 0.35% + 2p by turnover (indicative)
1.69% (pay-as-you-go); 0.99% (Payments Plus)
takepayments' quotation tool returns 1% + 2p at £50k–£100k a year of card turnover, 0.7% + 2p at £100k–£150k, 0.6% + 2p at £150k–£250k, 0.4% + 2p at £250k–£500k and 0.35% + 2p above £500k. The same figures came back for every industry and average-sale option it offers. These are indicative: takepayments says the final price comes from a conversation with a consultant, and that transaction charges are set under the separate acquiring-bank contract. SumUp's pay-as-you-go rate is 1.69% on all in-person cards. Payments Plus (£19 a month or £189 a year) charges 0.99% on domestic debit and credit cards. Its card-reader page says domestic consumer cards, and charges international, corporate and premium cards 1.69%. No winner, because the cheaper side depends on turnover (see the worked costs below).
UK consumer credit card
1.5% to 0.6% by turnover (indicative)
1.69% (pay-as-you-go); 0.99% (Payments Plus)
takepayments: 1.5% at £50k–£100k a year, 1.2% at £100k–£150k, 0.8% at £150k–£250k, 0.6% at £250k–£500k and 0.69% above £500k, as its tool returns them. It adds no fixed pence on credit cards. SumUp Payments Plus charges premium credit cards 1.69%, not 0.99%. SumUp does not define a premium card on its pricing page, so a business whose customers carry many reward cards should allow for that.
Business debit and premium cards
2.4% + 2p to 1.5% + 2p (business debit, indicative)
1.69% (both plans)
takepayments' tool, which follows the regulator's summary format, lists business debit card rates of 2.4% + 2p at £50k–£100k a year, 1.5% + 2p at £100k–£150k, 1.53% + 2p at £150k–£500k and 1.55% + 2p above £500k. It gives no rate for business credit or premium cards, and says other card types may cost more. SumUp charges 1.69% on premium, international, corporate and American Express cards on both plans. The two cells do not cover the same cards, so there is no winner.
Per-transaction authorisation fee
3p (indicative)
None
Winner
takepayments' quotation tool adds a 3p authorisation fee to every payment, on top of the percentage and the 2p on debit and business cards. On a £10 debit sale at the lowest band its own worked example comes to 15p (10p + 2p + 3p). SumUp's UK pricing page charges a percentage only, and nothing for a declined payment.
American Express
Not disclosed
1.69%
takepayments' quotation tool lists American Express among the card brands accepted but gives no Amex rate. SumUp includes Amex at 1.69% on both UK plans. No winner, because one side is not disclosed.

UK consumer debit card

takepayments
1% + 2p to 0.35% + 2p by turnover (indicative)
SumUp
1.69% (pay-as-you-go); 0.99% (Payments Plus)
takepayments' quotation tool returns 1% + 2p at £50k–£100k a year of card turnover, 0.7% + 2p at £100k–£150k, 0.6% + 2p at £150k–£250k, 0.4% + 2p at £250k–£500k and 0.35% + 2p above £500k. The same figures came back for every industry and average-sale option it offers. These are indicative: takepayments says the final price comes from a conversation with a consultant, and that transaction charges are set under the separate acquiring-bank contract. SumUp's pay-as-you-go rate is 1.69% on all in-person cards. Payments Plus (£19 a month or £189 a year) charges 0.99% on domestic debit and credit cards. Its card-reader page says domestic consumer cards, and charges international, corporate and premium cards 1.69%. No winner, because the cheaper side depends on turnover (see the worked costs below).

UK consumer credit card

takepayments
1.5% to 0.6% by turnover (indicative)
SumUp
1.69% (pay-as-you-go); 0.99% (Payments Plus)
takepayments: 1.5% at £50k–£100k a year, 1.2% at £100k–£150k, 0.8% at £150k–£250k, 0.6% at £250k–£500k and 0.69% above £500k, as its tool returns them. It adds no fixed pence on credit cards. SumUp Payments Plus charges premium credit cards 1.69%, not 0.99%. SumUp does not define a premium card on its pricing page, so a business whose customers carry many reward cards should allow for that.

Business debit and premium cards

takepayments
2.4% + 2p to 1.5% + 2p (business debit, indicative)
SumUp
1.69% (both plans)
takepayments' tool, which follows the regulator's summary format, lists business debit card rates of 2.4% + 2p at £50k–£100k a year, 1.5% + 2p at £100k–£150k, 1.53% + 2p at £150k–£500k and 1.55% + 2p above £500k. It gives no rate for business credit or premium cards, and says other card types may cost more. SumUp charges 1.69% on premium, international, corporate and American Express cards on both plans. The two cells do not cover the same cards, so there is no winner.

Per-transaction authorisation fee

takepayments
3p (indicative)
SumUp
None
Winner
takepayments' quotation tool adds a 3p authorisation fee to every payment, on top of the percentage and the 2p on debit and business cards. On a £10 debit sale at the lowest band its own worked example comes to 15p (10p + 2p + 3p). SumUp's UK pricing page charges a percentage only, and nothing for a declined payment.

American Express

takepayments
Not disclosed
SumUp
1.69%
takepayments' quotation tool lists American Express among the card brands accepted but gives no Amex rate. SumUp includes Amex at 1.69% on both UK plans. No winner, because one side is not disclosed.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Sole trader, market stall or mobile business

SumUp
Recommended
SumUp
View the SumUp review

SumUp needs no contract and no monthly fee on pay-as-you-go, a reader costs from £25 excluding VAT, and Tap to Pay on a phone is free. takepayments' quotation tool starts at £50,000 a year of card turnover and comes with a fixed-term rental.

Small shop or café taking £3,000 to £12,500 a month in person

SumUp
Recommended
SumUp
View the SumUp review

SumUp Payments Plus (0.99% on domestic debit and credit cards, £19 a month) is cheaper than takepayments' indicative prices on our examples: £68.50 against £83.80 at £5,000 a month, and £137.80 against £140.90 at £12,000. You can also cancel it at any time.

Established business taking over about £12,500 a month that is happy with a contract

takepayments
Recommended
takepayments
View the takepayments review

takepayments' indicative rates fall with turnover, to 0.6% + 2p on debit and 0.8% on credit at £150,000–£250,000 a year. At £15,000 a month that comes to £147.80 against £167.50 on SumUp Payments Plus. Get the quote, the contract term and the acquiring bank's charges in writing, and compare them with SumUp's custom pricing, which it offers above £10,000 a month.

Seasonal business or one that may close or switch soon

SumUp
Recommended
SumUp
View the SumUp review

SumUp has no term or exit fee. takepayments rents its terminals on a fixed term, and leaving early means paying the remaining rental plus non-use and administration charges (£30 a month and £40 under its 2020 published terms, which also renew for 12 months unless you give two months' notice).

Owner who wants someone to set up the terminal and answer the phone at weekends

takepayments
Recommended
takepayments
View the takepayments review

takepayments provides a Welcome Team for your first three months and an existing-customer phone line open seven days a week, including Sundays and bank holidays. SumUp's standard support runs through its app, with 24/7 priority support, including phone, on Payments Plus.

takepayments: Best for 2 use cases
SumUp: Best for 3 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

For most small businesses, SumUp. Its pay-as-you-go rate is 1.69% with no monthly fee, and Payments Plus charges 0.99% on domestic debit and credit cards for £19 a month. takepayments' quotation tool gives indicative rates from 1% + 2p on debit and 1.5% on credit at £50,000 to £100,000 a year, plus a 3p authorisation fee per payment, £12.50 a month terminal rental and a £4.80 PCI fee. On our examples SumUp Payments Plus is cheaper up to about £12,500 a month (£150,000 a year), and takepayments' indicative prices are cheaper above that.

Partly. Its online quotation tool returns an indicative pricing summary, in the format takepayments says the Payment Systems Regulator requires, banded by yearly card turnover. It covers personal debit, personal credit and business debit card rates, the authorisation fee, chargeback fee, terminal rental, PCI fee and minimum monthly service charge. takepayments says the actual price comes from a conversation with a consultant, and the transaction charges are set under a separate contract with the acquiring bank it nominates. SumUp publishes a fixed UK rate card.

takepayments advertises a 12-month contract, though its quotation page mentions contracts from 30 days, and a Financial Ombudsman decision describes a 2023 takepayments hire agreement with an 18-month minimum. It does not publish its current terms. Its 2020 published rental terms renew for further 12-month periods unless you give at least two months' written notice before the period ends, and charge the remaining rental, a £30 non-use charge for each remaining month and a £40 administration charge if you leave early. Check the term, notice and exit charges in your own contract. The acquiring-bank agreement must be ended separately. SumUp's UK terms let you close your account at any time without charge, and Payments Plus can be cancelled at any time, although the subscription already paid is not refunded.

With takepayments you rent it. Its quotation tool shows £12.50 per terminal per month, and its switching page cites £25 plus VAT a month for terminal hire, software and SIM. Under its published rental terms the terminal stays takepayments' property and must be insured. With SumUp you buy it: Solo Lite £25, Solo £79 or Terminal £135, all excluding VAT, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Tap to Pay on your phone is free.

takepayments says the acquiring bank settles to your bank account the next working day if you run the terminal's end-of-day banking before the acquirer's cut-off. SumUp pays into its own SumUp Business Account by 7am the next day, including weekends and bank holidays. Payouts to an outside bank account take from the next working day to three business days, depending on which SumUp page you read.

takepayments Limited of Stockport describes itself as a Global Payments company, and its site lists Global Payments as one of its trading names. It is FCA-authorised for consumer hire of terminals (firm 663112), which covers sole traders and small partnerships, and works with acquiring banks that process the payments. SumUp's UK business is SumUp Payments Limited, authorised by the FCA as an electronic money institution (register number 900700).

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

Teya vs SumUp for UK card machines

View comparison

Viva.com vs SumUp for UK card machines

View comparison

SumUp vs myPOS for UK card machines

View comparison
View All Comparisons