Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Teya vs Dojo for UK card machines

Comparison · Updated September 17, 2026

Teya vs Dojo for UK card machines

VS
Teya

Teya

B

Teya is a London-headquartered payments and business-banking company founded in 2019 as SaltPay by Ali Mazanderani and Eduardo Pontes, renamed in April 2023, and backed by investors including Tiger Global, Ribbit Capital and Michael Spencer — total funding is reported at about $845 million by data providers and $1.1 billion by The Business of Payments. It grew by acquisition — Iceland's Borgun in 2020, the UK's RMS Group in 2022 and the Czech ePOS company Storyous among them — and now sells to small businesses in nine European markets, the UK, Croatia, Czechia, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Portugal, Slovakia and Spain, with Spain and Italy launched commercially in February 2026. In the UK the offer is a Teya Pro or Teya Lite card machine from £14.99 a month with a lifetime warranty, Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android, online payments, and a free e-money Business Account that card takings settle into next working day as standard, every day including weekends and bank holidays as an option, or in seconds with Instant Settlements. Rates are quoted rather than published — the pricing page says there is no standard price list, the card-machine page says fees start at 1.59% — and using an outside bank account instead of Teya's adds 0.10% to every transaction. Teya Solutions Ltd is an electronic money institution authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority (reference 978181), so the account is safeguarded rather than FSCS-protected. Its UK Trustpilot profile is 4.4 from about 1,500 reviews, 82% five-star and 15% one-star, and the one-star reviews are about held funds and unreturned calls.

Read Full Review
Dojo

Dojo

B

Dojo is the trading name of Paymentsense Limited, a London company incorporated in 2008 that grew into one of the UK's largest card-terminal resellers before rebuilding itself, from 2020, as a cloud-native acquirer under the Dojo brand. It now holds its own acquiring licence rather than reselling Fiserv's, and by its own filings handled £46.2bn of card volume for roughly 146,000 merchant locations in the year to March 2025 — a share it puts at 12.5% of UK small-business card-present acquiring. The pitch is simple: a fast card machine, money in your account the next day including weekends and bank holidays, integration with more than 450 EPOS systems, and a UK phone line. For businesses turning over less than £100,000 a year on cards there is a published Fix plan at £39.99 a month covering the first £3,999 of monthly card turnover, with 1% above that. Everyone larger gets a quote. Independent satisfaction is strong — 4.2 on Trustpilot from 5,612 reviews, 88% of them five-star — and the company is FCA-authorised. Against that sit a 12-month minimum term with the remaining terminal fees payable if you leave early, custom pricing that cannot be benchmarked, a fee schedule with £28 chargebacks and a £15-a-month PCI non-compliance charge, and a balance sheet carrying £649m of net debt at a 14% effective interest rate.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

Teya and Dojo are two London-based acquirers selling Android card machines to UK shops, cafés, salons and restaurants, and both earn a B on Payment Review. They sell in opposite ways. Dojo publishes its small-business price: the Fix plan is £39.99 a month covering the first £3,999 of monthly card turnover with 1% above that, on a 12-month term, with hardware bought outright from £149. Teya publishes only a floor — machines from £14.99 a month and rates 'from 1.59%' — and quotes each business individually, but the default contract has no lock-in, the machine comes with a free e-money business account paying 0.5% cashback, and support is 24/7. At Teya's published starting rate Dojo's Fix plan is cheaper for almost any business under £100,000 a year; Teya's case is flexibility, settlement options and the bundled account rather than headline price.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓Dojo publishes a fixed small-business price — £39.99 a month for the first £3,999 of monthly card turnover, then 1% — while Teya quotes each business and publishes only 'from 1.59%' and 'from £14.99 a month'.
  • ✓Dojo is cheaper on the published numbers: at £5,000 of monthly card turnover Dojo's Fix plan costs about £50 against about £94 at Teya's starting rate, and Teya adds a £29.99 monthly fee if turnover falls under £2,500.
  • ✓Teya has no lock-in on its standard contract and lets you cancel freely; Dojo's Fix plan is a 12-month term, and leaving early means paying the remaining service fees, with 30-day rolling only on the higher-turnover Flex plan.
  • ✓Teya bundles a free e-money business account with a 0.5% cashback debit card and instant settlement into it; Dojo has no account but pays out next day, seven days a week, at no extra cost.
  • ✓Teya's support is 24/7 by phone, WhatsApp and chat; Dojo's technical line runs 8am to 11pm, seven days, and account support 8am to 6pm. Dojo integrates with more than 450 EPOS systems, Teya with more than 200.

Teya

Teya is for a business that will not sign a 12-month contract, wants its card takings, business account and cashback card in one app with instant or daily settlement, values 24/7 human support, and is prepared to negotiate its rate.

Dojo

Dojo is for a shop or hospitality business under £100,000 a year that wants a published, predictable monthly bill, next-day payouts seven days a week, and a card machine that plugs into one of 450-plus EPOS systems, and can accept a 12-month term.

The Verdict

It Depends on Your Needs

Why?

On price Dojo wins, and it is not close at the published numbers: a flat £39.99 a month covering the first £3,999 of turnover beats a £14.99 rental plus 1.59% for any small business, and Dojo adds no low-turnover fee and no surcharge for settling to your own bank. On terms Teya wins: no lock-in, no early-exit cost, instant settlement, a bundled business account and 24/7 support against Dojo's 12-month term and 8am–11pm line. Both are graded B on Payment Review. A business that knows its turnover and will stay a year should take Dojo's published price; one that values the freedom to leave, or wants banking and payments in one app, should get a Teya quote and hold it to the numbers above.

Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Pricing (GBP, as published September 2026)

Pricing (GBP, as published September 2026): Teya compared with Dojo.
FeatureTeyaDojo
Published rate card
No — 'from 1.59%', quoted by sales
Yes for the Fix plan; Flex is negotiated
Winner
Teya's pricing page says there is no standard price list and rates are built around volume, sector and average transaction; its card-machine page gives 'transaction fees from 1.59%'. Its help centre describes blended, unblended and interchange-plus fee models.
Small-business plan
Machine from £14.99 a month plus a bespoke rate from 1.59%
Fix: £39.99 a month including the first £3,999 of card turnover, then 1% (under £100,000 a year)
Dojo's Fix plan includes American Express at the same rate and locks the price for 12 months. Businesses above £100,000 a year go on Dojo's Flex plan: negotiated rates plus £10 a month per location.
Illustrative cost at £5,000 monthly card turnover
About £94 (£14.99 + 1.59% of £5,000)
About £50 (£39.99 + 1% of £1,001)
Winner
Uses Teya's published starting rate; a negotiated Teya rate may be lower. At £2,000 a month Teya would also add its £29.99 low-turnover fee, taking it to about £77 against Dojo's £39.99.
Low-turnover fee
£29.99 a month when card turnover is under £2,500
None; Fix is a flat £39.99 whatever the turnover
Winner
Settling to an external bank account
+0.10% on every transaction
No surcharge
Winner
Teya waives the surcharge if takings settle into its own Teya Business Account, which is an e-money account rather than a bank account and is not FSCS-protected.
Chargeback fee
Not disclosed
£28 plus VAT
Dojo also charges £15 plus VAT a month for PCI non-compliance and up to £400 plus VAT for an unreturned or damaged terminal. Teya publishes no fee schedule; check the quote.

Published rate card

Teya
No — 'from 1.59%', quoted by sales
Dojo
Yes for the Fix plan; Flex is negotiated
Winner
Teya's pricing page says there is no standard price list and rates are built around volume, sector and average transaction; its card-machine page gives 'transaction fees from 1.59%'. Its help centre describes blended, unblended and interchange-plus fee models.

Small-business plan

Teya
Machine from £14.99 a month plus a bespoke rate from 1.59%
Dojo
Fix: £39.99 a month including the first £3,999 of card turnover, then 1% (under £100,000 a year)
Dojo's Fix plan includes American Express at the same rate and locks the price for 12 months. Businesses above £100,000 a year go on Dojo's Flex plan: negotiated rates plus £10 a month per location.

Illustrative cost at £5,000 monthly card turnover

Teya
About £94 (£14.99 + 1.59% of £5,000)
Dojo
About £50 (£39.99 + 1% of £1,001)
Winner
Uses Teya's published starting rate; a negotiated Teya rate may be lower. At £2,000 a month Teya would also add its £29.99 low-turnover fee, taking it to about £77 against Dojo's £39.99.

Low-turnover fee

Teya
£29.99 a month when card turnover is under £2,500
Dojo
None; Fix is a flat £39.99 whatever the turnover
Winner

Settling to an external bank account

Teya
+0.10% on every transaction
Dojo
No surcharge
Winner
Teya waives the surcharge if takings settle into its own Teya Business Account, which is an e-money account rather than a bank account and is not FSCS-protected.

Chargeback fee

Teya
Not disclosed
Dojo
£28 plus VAT
Dojo also charges £15 plus VAT a month for PCI non-compliance and up to £400 plus VAT for an unreturned or damaged terminal. Teya publishes no fee schedule; check the quote.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Café or shop under £100,000 a year that wants a predictable monthly bill

Dojo
Recommended
Dojo
View the Dojo review

Dojo's Fix plan is a published £39.99 a month including the first £3,999 of card turnover, with 1% above; Teya's cost depends on a quote and starts higher at its published rate.

New or seasonal business that will not sign a 12-month contract

Teya
Recommended
Teya
View the Teya review

Teya's standard contract has no lock-in and no early-termination charge beyond returning the terminal; Dojo's Fix plan runs 12 months and charges the remaining service fees to leave.

Business that wants its takings the same day

Teya
Recommended
Teya
View the Teya review

Teya offers instant settlement into its Business Account and a daily option that includes weekends; Dojo's next-day payout is fast but never same-day.

Restaurant or bar with an existing EPOS system

Both. Dojo integrates with more than 450 EPOS systems and Teya with more than 200, so check your own system is on the list; if it is on both, the choice comes down to contract and price.

Business that takes less than £2,500 a month by card

Dojo
Recommended
Dojo
View the Dojo review

Teya charges £29.99 a month below that turnover on top of the rental and rate; Dojo's Fix plan is £39.99 flat with the first £3,999 of turnover included.

Business that wants banking, funding and payments in one place

Teya
Recommended
Teya
View the Teya review

Teya bundles an e-money business account with a 0.5% cashback card and offers cash advances of £1,000 to £1,000,000; Dojo sells card acceptance only.

Teya: Best for 3 use cases
Dojo: Best for 2 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

At the published numbers, Dojo. Its Fix plan is £39.99 a month covering the first £3,999 of monthly card turnover, then 1% on the rest, for businesses under £100,000 a year. Teya rents its machine from £14.99 a month and quotes a rate 'from 1.59%', with a £29.99 fee in any month card turnover is under £2,500. At £5,000 a month that is about £50 at Dojo against about £94 at Teya's starting rate. Teya's rates are negotiated, so a quote may come in lower than the floor it publishes.

Teya's standard contract is flexible with no long-term lock-in, though it also offers a 12-month fixed contract; you return the terminal within five days of cancelling or are billed its cost. Dojo's Fix plan is a 12-month term with a 30-day no-commitment trial at the start, and leaving early means paying the remaining service fees; 30-day rolling terms are only available on its Flex plan for businesses above £100,000 a year.

Dojo pays out next day, seven days a week including bank holidays, at no extra cost. Teya's options are next working day, an Everyday option that settles daily including weekends, and Instant Settlements in seconds, the last into its own Teya Business Account. Settling Teya takings to an outside bank account adds 0.10% to every transaction.

No. It is an e-money account issued by Teya Solutions Ltd, which the Financial Conduct Authority authorises as an electronic money institution (reference 978181). Client money is safeguarded under the E-Money Regulations rather than protected by the FSCS deposit guarantee. It comes free with the card machine, pays 0.5% cashback on its debit card and is where Teya's instant settlement lands.

Teya offers 24/7 human support by phone, WhatsApp and live chat. Dojo's technical support runs 8am to 11pm seven days a week and its account support 8am to 6pm, with remote log-in to fix a terminal and 24-hour replacement of one that cannot be repaired. On Trustpilot Teya scores 4.4 from about 1,530 reviews and Dojo 4.2 from about 5,630, with Dojo having the higher share of five-star reviews.

Yes. Teya's card machines accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Dojo's Fix plan includes American Express at the same 1% rate as other cards. Dojo publishes surcharges for non-UK cards — from 0.05% for EEA cards present to 1.45% plus 13p for non-EEA cards not present — while Teya's international pricing is part of the quote.

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

takepayments vs Dojo for UK card machines

View comparison

SumUp vs Dojo for UK card machines

View comparison
View All Comparisons