Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Tyl by NatWest vs Barclaycard for UK card machines

Comparison · Updated October 12, 2026

Tyl by NatWest vs Barclaycard for UK card machines

VS
Tyl by NatWest

Tyl by NatWest

B-

Tyl by NatWest is the card-acceptance service of National Westminster Bank plc, sold to UK small businesses since 2019. 'Tyl by NatWest' is a trading name of the bank itself, so NatWest is the acquirer and holds the merchant agreement. As of October 2026, businesses taking up to £50,000 a year in card payments pay 1.39% + 5p on UK and European personal cards and 1.99% + 5p on every other card, including business and international cards. Businesses above £50,000 get a custom quote built on five rate bands. Card machines rent for £13.99 to £19.99 a month plus VAT on a 12-month contract. Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android has no rental fee, and the online payments package costs £14.95 a month plus VAT on a one-month rolling plan. Money is settled the next business day into any UK bank account, and you do not need to bank with NatWest. The weak points are what Tyl does not publish: Amex rates, the chargeback handling fee, the PCI SafePay fee and the early termination fee all sit in quotes or in terms that are visible only after you sign up. Trustpilot reviewers rate Tyl highly overall, but a steady minority complain about support, held funds and contracts that renewed automatically.

Read Full Review
Barclaycard Payments

Barclaycard Payments

B-

Barclaycard Payments is the merchant-acquiring arm of Barclays Bank PLC, the business that has signed UK shops up to take cards since Barclaycard launched the country's first credit card on 29 June 1966 and installed the UK's first electronic point-of-sale terminal in 1986. It is one of the largest acquirers in the UK — the company says it processed more than nine billion card payments in 2025 for more than 160,000 businesses, settling in 18 currencies and accepting 118 — and it is in the middle of the biggest change in its history: in April 2025 Barclays agreed a partnership under which Brookfield Asset Management will help run the business as a standalone company, Barclays will put in about £400 million, and Brookfield can buy a majority stake from year three. A new chief executive, Jason Lalor, formerly of Mastercard, Conferma and Square, started in January 2026. For merchants the offer splits in two. Small businesses get Smartpay Anywhere, a £29 + VAT pocket reader with no contract and no monthly fee, or Smartpay Touch, a £29 + VAT-a-month Android terminal on a 12-month term with no exit fee; both settle next working day for sales taken before 7pm. Traditional countertop and portable terminals come on 18-month contracts at £16 or £18 + VAT a month after a free first year, with an exit fee if you leave early. Barclaycard publishes no rate card — every account is priced on turnover, with representative examples of 0.7% + 3p on an in-person debit card and 2.05% + 3p on a keyed credit card — and its service reputation is the weak point: the only Trustpilot profile blends consumer-card and merchant reviews and is dominated by complaints about reaching a person.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

This is a UK comparison in pounds, using what both banks published in October 2026. The main difference is price transparency. Tyl, a trading name of National Westminster Bank plc, publishes two rates for businesses taking up to £50,000 a year on cards: 1.39% + 5p on UK and European personal cards and 1.99% + 5p on all other cards, with no minimum monthly charge and no extra charge for phone, online or international card payments. Barclaycard Payments quotes every business individually. Its only published figures are examples (0.7% + 3p on a personal debit card in person, 2.05% + 3p on a personal credit card by phone), and its fee pages say a minimum monthly charge, a card-not-present fee and an international transaction fee may apply. On hardware, Tyl rents its PAX terminals at £13.99 to £19.99 a month plus VAT on a 12-month contract. Barclaycard charges £16 or £18 a month plus VAT on 18-month contracts for its countertop and portable readers, £29 a month on a 12-month contract for Smartpay Touch with no cancellation cost, and £29 once for Smartpay Anywhere with no contract. Both settle the next working day. Payment Review grades both B-.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓There is no overall winner, and both are graded B-. Tyl suits a small business that wants published prices and a 12-month term. Barclaycard suits a business that will negotiate a quote, or one that wants a cheap reader with no contract.
  • ✓Tyl publishes 1.39% + 5p on UK and European personal cards and 1.99% + 5p on all other cards, for businesses taking up to £50,000 a year. Barclaycard publishes no rate card. Its representative examples are 0.7% + 3p on a personal debit card in person and 2.05% + 3p on a personal credit card by phone.
  • ✓Tyl says it charges no minimum monthly fee and nothing extra for phone, online or international card payments. Barclaycard's fee pages list a possible minimum monthly charge, a card-not-present fee and an international transaction fee on top of its rates.
  • ✓Tyl's card machines cost £13.99 to £19.99 a month plus VAT on a 12-month contract. Barclaycard's countertop and portable readers cost £16 and £18 a month plus VAT on 18-month contracts with a variable exit fee. Its Smartpay Anywhere costs £29 plus VAT once, with no contract.
  • ✓Tyl's phone and chat team works Monday to Saturday 8am to midnight and Sunday 9am to 5pm. Barclaycard's customer service works weekdays 8am to 6pm, but its technical support line is open 24/7.

Tyl by NatWest

Tyl by NatWest suits a UK small business taking up to £50,000 a year on cards that wants to know its rate before signing. It also suits a business that takes phone or online payments and does not want a card-not-present surcharge, or one that wants evening and Saturday support. You do not need to bank with NatWest.

Barclaycard Payments

Barclaycard Payments suits a business large enough to negotiate a quote, whose card mix is mostly debit (its representative debit rate is lower than Tyl's published rate). It also suits a mobile trader who wants a £29 + VAT Smartpay Anywhere reader with no contract, or a business switching from a provider that will charge exit fees, since Barclaycard may cover up to £1,000 of them.

The Verdict

It Depends on Your Needs

Why?

Neither bank wins outright, and Payment Review grades both B-. Tyl is the clearer deal for a small business. It publishes its rates (1.39% + 5p on UK and European personal cards up to £50,000 a year), charges nothing extra for phone, online or international cards and has no minimum fee. Its terminals are slightly cheaper on a shorter 12-month contract, and its support team works evenings and Saturdays. Barclaycard is the better choice if you will negotiate. Its representative debit rate of 0.7% + 3p is well below Tyl's single personal-card rate, it may pay up to £1,000 of your old provider's exit fees, its technical line is open 24/7, and Smartpay Anywhere costs £29 once with no contract. But you only learn your Barclaycard rate when you get a quote, extra fees such as a minimum charge and a card-not-present fee may apply, and its main card machines tie you in for 18 months. Get a written Barclaycard quote and compare it line by line with Tyl's published prices.

Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Transaction rates (UK, as published October 2026)

Transaction rates (UK, as published October 2026): Tyl by NatWest compared with Barclaycard Payments.
FeatureTyl by NatWestBarclaycard Payments
Pricing model
Published rates up to £50k a year; quoted above
Winner
Quoted for every business
Tyl's pricing page publishes two rates for businesses with annual card takings up to £50,000. Above that it quotes from five rate bands for Visa, Mastercard and Discover. Barclaycard lists 'Customised pricing' as the transaction rate for all four of its card readers and says its example rates are representative only.
UK personal Visa and Mastercard
1.39% + 5p
Not disclosed
Tyl's 1.39% + 5p covers UK and European personal debit and credit cards on its up-to-£50k pricing. Barclaycard publishes only examples: 0.7% + 3p on a personal debit card used in person, and 2.05% + 3p on a personal credit card used by phone. It says these are representative, and that each business gets its own pricing plan.
£50 personal debit card sale, in person
74.5p (published rate)
38p (Barclaycard's representative example)
Tyl: 1.39% of £50 (69.5p) plus the 5p authorisation fee. Barclaycard: its own worked example on its card-reader pages, 0.7% (35p) plus a 3p authorisation fee. Barclaycard calls this example representative and quotes each business individually, so no winner is given. It does show that a debit-heavy business may be offered less than Tyl's single personal-card rate.
£50 personal credit card sale, by phone
74.5p (same rate as in person)
£1.06 (Barclaycard's representative example)
Tyl charges the same 1.39% + 5p on a UK personal card whether it is taken in person, by phone or online. Barclaycard's own example is 2.05% (£1.03) plus a 3p authorisation fee, and its statement guide says a card-not-present fee is added to the standard rate. Barclaycard's figure is representative, so no winner is given.
Business, international and other cards
1.99% + 5p
Not disclosed
Tyl's second rate covers business cards and international personal cards. Neither publishes an American Express rate: Tyl says Amex rates vary by industry and are added to your quote. Barclaycard's statement guide says an international transaction fee applies on top of the rate for cards issued outside the UK.
Surcharges and minimum charges
None: no minimum, phone, online or international surcharge
Winner
Minimum billing, card-not-present and international fees may apply
Tyl's pricing page says it charges no minimum monthly service charge and nothing extra for card-not-present payments, international cards or refunds. Barclaycard's card-reader pages say you may pay a minimal monthly service charge, chargeback fees or PCI DSS management fees. Its statement guide also describes a minimum billing charge, a card-not-present fee, an international transaction fee and a non-secure transaction charge. Neither publishes its chargeback handling fee or its PCI fee. Tyl charges its SafePay PCI fee only if it decides you are subject to additional requirements.

Pricing model

Tyl by NatWest
Published rates up to £50k a year; quoted above
Winner
Barclaycard Payments
Quoted for every business
Tyl's pricing page publishes two rates for businesses with annual card takings up to £50,000. Above that it quotes from five rate bands for Visa, Mastercard and Discover. Barclaycard lists 'Customised pricing' as the transaction rate for all four of its card readers and says its example rates are representative only.

UK personal Visa and Mastercard

Tyl by NatWest
1.39% + 5p
Barclaycard Payments
Not disclosed
Tyl's 1.39% + 5p covers UK and European personal debit and credit cards on its up-to-£50k pricing. Barclaycard publishes only examples: 0.7% + 3p on a personal debit card used in person, and 2.05% + 3p on a personal credit card used by phone. It says these are representative, and that each business gets its own pricing plan.

£50 personal debit card sale, in person

Tyl by NatWest
74.5p (published rate)
Barclaycard Payments
38p (Barclaycard's representative example)
Tyl: 1.39% of £50 (69.5p) plus the 5p authorisation fee. Barclaycard: its own worked example on its card-reader pages, 0.7% (35p) plus a 3p authorisation fee. Barclaycard calls this example representative and quotes each business individually, so no winner is given. It does show that a debit-heavy business may be offered less than Tyl's single personal-card rate.

£50 personal credit card sale, by phone

Tyl by NatWest
74.5p (same rate as in person)
Barclaycard Payments
£1.06 (Barclaycard's representative example)
Tyl charges the same 1.39% + 5p on a UK personal card whether it is taken in person, by phone or online. Barclaycard's own example is 2.05% (£1.03) plus a 3p authorisation fee, and its statement guide says a card-not-present fee is added to the standard rate. Barclaycard's figure is representative, so no winner is given.

Business, international and other cards

Tyl by NatWest
1.99% + 5p
Barclaycard Payments
Not disclosed
Tyl's second rate covers business cards and international personal cards. Neither publishes an American Express rate: Tyl says Amex rates vary by industry and are added to your quote. Barclaycard's statement guide says an international transaction fee applies on top of the rate for cards issued outside the UK.

Surcharges and minimum charges

Tyl by NatWest
None: no minimum, phone, online or international surcharge
Winner
Barclaycard Payments
Minimum billing, card-not-present and international fees may apply
Tyl's pricing page says it charges no minimum monthly service charge and nothing extra for card-not-present payments, international cards or refunds. Barclaycard's card-reader pages say you may pay a minimal monthly service charge, chargeback fees or PCI DSS management fees. Its statement guide also describes a minimum billing charge, a card-not-present fee, an international transaction fee and a non-secure transaction charge. Neither publishes its chargeback handling fee or its PCI fee. Tyl charges its SafePay PCI fee only if it decides you are subject to additional requirements.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Café, salon or shop taking under £50,000 a year on cards

Tyl by NatWest
Recommended
Tyl by NatWest
View the Tyl by NatWest review

Tyl publishes its price for this size of business (1.39% + 5p on personal cards, £13.99 + VAT a month for a countertop PAX A80 on a 12-month contract) and charges no minimum fee. Barclaycard quotes individually and may add a minimum monthly charge.

Business taking payments by phone or online

Tyl by NatWest
Recommended
Tyl by NatWest
View the Tyl by NatWest review

Tyl charges the same rate on phone and online payments as in person, and Pay by Link costs £0 a month. Barclaycard adds a card-not-present fee to its rate, and its representative phone example is 2.05% + 3p on a personal credit card.

Market trader or occasional seller who wants no contract

Both have a contract-free way to start. Tyl's Tap to Pay turns a phone into a card reader with no monthly fee or hire contract, at Tyl's published 1.39% + 5p on personal cards, but it cannot take Amex. Barclaycard's Smartpay Anywhere is a pocket reader bought for £29 + VAT once, with no contract and no cancellation cost, but its rate is quoted rather than published. Both merchant agreements roll monthly and end on about a month's notice.

Established business over £50,000 a year switching from another provider

Both banks quote at this size. Barclaycard may reimburse up to £1,000 of exit fees from your current provider (under £6.5m a year in card takings, customised pricing only), and its representative debit rate is low. Get both quotes in writing, including authorisation, card-not-present, international, PCI and minimum charges.

Bar or restaurant open late

Both. Tyl's team answers account and technical calls until midnight Monday to Saturday, but only 9am to 5pm on Sundays. Barclaycard's technical line is open 24/7, but statement and settlement queries wait for weekday office hours. Choose based on which kind of problem you expect to call about.

Tyl by NatWest: Best for 2 use cases
Barclaycard Payments: Best for 0 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

It depends on your card mix and what Barclaycard quotes you. Tyl publishes 1.39% + 5p on UK and European personal cards and 1.99% + 5p on other cards for businesses up to £50,000 a year, with no minimum fee or phone, online or international surcharge. Barclaycard publishes no rate card. Its representative examples are 0.7% + 3p on a personal debit card in person (lower than Tyl) and 2.05% + 3p on a personal credit card by phone (higher than Tyl), and extra fees may apply. Get a written quote and compare it with Tyl's published prices.

NatWest itself. Tyl by NatWest is a trading name of National Westminster Bank plc, which is named as the merchant acquirer in Tyl's terms, so you contract with NatWest directly rather than with a reseller. NatWest and Endava announced a technology partnership in May 2026 to modernise Tyl's payments platform. You do not need a NatWest bank account to use Tyl: it can pay into any UK bank account.

Tyl's card machines come on a 12-month contract that renews for further 12-month periods unless you give at least one month's notice before it ends, according to the hire terms Tyl hosts. Its online package is a one-month rolling plan. Barclaycard's countertop and portable readers are on 18-month contracts, Smartpay Touch on 12 months, and Smartpay Anywhere has no contract. Both banks' underlying merchant agreements can be ended with about a month's notice.

Tyl does not publish a figure. Its help centre says there may be a termination fee for leaving early, although its pricing page lists cancelling your contract among the things it does not charge for. The 2022 hire terms it hosts charge the rentals remaining in the minimum term, discounted at 5%. Barclaycard charges nothing to cancel Smartpay Touch or Smartpay Anywhere. For countertop and portable readers its fee depends on the months remaining, with examples of £7 + VAT and £10 + VAT per month left.

Both pay the next working day. Tyl pays by the end of the next business day into any UK bank account, with Friday, Saturday and Sunday sales paid on Monday. Barclaycard pays the next working day for sales taken before 7pm, or before 9pm on its countertop and portable readers.

Not for new sign-ups, as far as Barclaycard's own pages show. The terms on its contact page say the offer of 12 months of free service fees on new countertop and portable readers ended on 30 September 2026, although the same page still mentions the offer in its sales section. The card-reader pages no longer show it. The current list prices are £16 + VAT a month for the countertop and £18 + VAT a month for the portable, both on 18-month contracts. Ask the sales team whether any discount is still available.