Head to head
Compared side by side on published facts and the same six criteria every review is graded on — generated from the live directory, not a sales page.
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
Payment Processor · 3.8/5 mean
Chase Payment Solutions is the merchant services arm of the #1 US bank, offering small and mid-sized businesses a deeply integrated combination of payment processing, same-day deposits, and banking tools. They're backed by the trust and scale of JPMorgan Chase but with flat-rate fees that may not suit high-volume merchants.
Read the full review →Clover
POS System · 3.7/5 mean
Clover is a widely used, all-in-one POS platform (hardware + software + app marketplace) favored by small and medium retailers and restaurants and backed by Fiserv, offering broad functionality but with real-world variability in support and reseller pricing.
Read the full review →Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services holds the higher standing — by grade, then mean category score. The row-by-row picture below is what should actually decide it for your business.
Both graded against the same six criteria. How we grade · Last fact-checked August 19, 2026 and September 2, 2026.
| Criterion | Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services | Clover |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | 3.0 | 3.0 |
| Feature set | 4.0 | 5.0wins this criterion |
| Ease of use | 4.0 |
Straight from each provider's published documentation. Where a number isn't published, we say so rather than estimate.
| Metric | Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services | Clover |
|---|---|---|
| Online rate | 2.9% + $0.25 per transaction | Not disclosed |
| Monthly fee | $0 (basic plan; Chase Business Complete Banking may have separate monthly fee waivable with $2,000/month in payments) | Clover publishes $89.95/month (restaurant Growth) and $84.95-$104.90/month (retail Standard and Advanced); reseller quotes vary |
| Payout | Next business day for deposits to non-Chase bank accounts | Not disclosed |
| Contract | Month-to-month plans. Free terminal plans may require 2 year service agreement. | Not disclosed |
| In-person rate | 2.6% + $0.10 per transaction | Not disclosed |
| Keyed rate | 3.5% + $0.10 per transaction |
From the Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services review
Clover combines POS hardware, software, and an app market that lets retailers and restaurants add functionality without custom engineering, a deeper in-store toolset than Chase Payment Solutions offers. Chase holds up on pricing clarity — its flat rates are publicly posted, while Clover quotes vary widely by reseller and acquiring bank.
Pick Clover if you want an all-in-one POS with an app marketplace for retail or restaurants
Ideal for
Not recommended for
Ideal for
The full reviews carry the pricing narratives, contract analysis and everything else behind these numbers — or let the matching funnel score the whole directory against your business.
| Customer support | 3.0 | 3.0 |
|---|
| Contract terms | 4.0wins this criterion | 3.0 |
|---|
| Industry reputation | 5.0wins this criterion | 4.0 |
|---|
| Not disclosed |
| International rate | Dynamic Currency Conversion available; custom rates apply | Not disclosed |
|---|
| PCI fee | Not publicly listed | Depends on merchant service provider |
|---|
| Statement fee | Not publicly listed | None listed, but platform fee of $5.00 |
|---|
| Chargeback fee | $25 to $100 per incident | Depend on reseller/acquirer contract |
|---|
| Early termination | $0 for month-to-month accounts; applicable if free hardware accepted under 2-year contract | Depending on partner/reseller contract |
|---|
| Last fact-checked | August 19, 2026 | September 2, 2026 |
|---|
Not recommended for