Head to head
Compared side by side on published facts and the same six criteria every review is graded on — generated from the live directory, not a sales page.
Clover
POS & Business Software · 3.7/5 mean
Clover is a widely used, all-in-one POS platform (hardware + software + app marketplace) favored by small and medium retailers and restaurants and backed by Fiserv, offering broad functionality but with real-world variability in support and reseller pricing.
Read the full review →Payment Depot
ISO · 2.8/5 mean
Payment Depot, now operating as "Payment Depot by Stax," is a California-based merchant services provider founded in 2013 that pioneered the subscription/interchange-plus pricing model for small businesses, but has experienced significant customer service and transparency issues since its 2021 acquisition by Stax.
Read the full review →Clover holds the higher standing — by grade, then mean category score. The row-by-row picture below is what should actually decide it for your business.
Both graded against the same six criteria. How we grade · Last fact-checked September 2, 2026 and September 7, 2026.
| Criterion | Clover | Payment Depot |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | 3.0 | 3.0 |
| Feature set | 5.0wins this criterion | 2.0 |
| Ease of use | 4.0wins this criterion |
Straight from each provider's published documentation. Where a number isn't published, we say so rather than estimate.
| Metric | Clover | Payment Depot |
|---|---|---|
| Online rate | Not disclosed | Interchange + 0% + $0.15 |
| Monthly fee | $84.95-$104.90/month (published plans) | $0 |
| Payout | Not disclosed | Next business day |
| Contract | Not disclosed | None |
| In-person rate | Not disclosed | Interchange + 0% + $0.08 |
| Keyed rate | Not disclosed | Interchange + 0% + $0.15 |
| PCI fee | Depends on merchant service provider |
From the Payment Depot review
Clover is a full POS platform combining hardware, an app marketplace, and integrated payments, covering exactly the integrated-POS need Payment Depot doesn't meet natively. Payment Depot holds up for merchants focused on processing cost, since its published interchange-plus schedule is easier to evaluate than Clover's reseller-dependent quotes — and it integrates with the Clover ecosystem itself.
Pick Clover if you need an integrated point-of-sale platform with hardware and an app marketplace
Ideal for
Not recommended for
Ideal for
Not recommended for
The full reviews carry the pricing narratives, contract analysis and everything else behind these numbers — or let the matching funnel score the whole directory against your business.
| 3.0 |
| Customer support | 3.0wins this criterion | 2.0 |
|---|
| Contract terms | 3.0 | 4.0wins this criterion |
|---|
| Industry reputation | 4.0wins this criterion | 3.0 |
|---|
| $10/month, or $19.99/month if non-compliant |
| Statement fee | None listed, but platform fee of $5.00 | Not disclosed |
|---|
| Chargeback fee | Depend on reseller/acquirer contract | Not disclosed |
|---|
| Early termination | Depending on partner/reseller contract | None |
|---|
| Last fact-checked | September 2, 2026 | September 7, 2026 |
|---|