Stripe is a leading payment processor known for its developer-friendly API, transparent pricing, and comprehensive suite of payment solutions for businesses of all sizes.
Stripe holds the higher standing — by grade, then mean category score. The row-by-row picture below is what should actually decide it for your business.
Both graded against the same six criteria. How we grade · Last fact-checked September 7, 2026 and September 16, 2026.
The six criteria
PayKings and Stripe scored out of 5 on each of the six review criteria.
Criterion
PayKings
Stripe
Pricing transparency
4.5
5.0✓wins this criterion
Feature set
4.5
5.0✓wins this criterion
Ease of use
4.0
Published facts
Straight from each provider's published documentation. Where a number isn't published, we say so rather than estimate.
Published rates, fees and terms for PayKings and Stripe.
Metric
PayKings
Stripe
Online rate
IC + 1.10% + 25c, or IC + 0.80% + 10c above $100K/mo.
2.9% + $0.30
Monthly fee
$13 (waived on Growth).
No monthly fees
Payout
T+2, or next-day above $100K/mo.
First payout 7-14 days; then a rolling schedule of about 2 business days
Contract
No long-term contracts.
No long-term fixed contract requirements for standard services / 1-year minimum commitment for add-ons and enterprise services
In-person rate
The same published markups apply in person — there is no card-present discount on the Starter tier.
2.7% + $0.05, plus $0.10 per authorization for Tap to Pay
Keyed rate
Same published markups; PayKings does not price by entry mode.
How our reviewers frame this matchup
From the PayKings review
Stripe offers transparent pricing and robust developer tools but has strict policies that may not accommodate high-risk industries.
Who each one is for
PayKings
Ideal for
Mid-volume merchants ($100K+/mo) who want IC + markup with a dedicated rep
Merchants graduating from Stripe / Square who need real account management
Businesses that want published interchange-plus pricing as a negotiation anchor before talking to specialty acquirers
Not recommended for
Low-volume merchants under $25K/mo — flat-rate competitors (Square, Stripe) will likely cost less than IC + 1.10%
High card-present-volume retailers — Helcim's ~0.20% CP markup is meaningfully cheaper than PayKings's flat 1.10% Starter markup on the same swipe
Brand-new businesses in unrestricted verticals — flat-rate predictability is easier to forecast in early months
Merchants who refuse to share processing statements during underwriting
Stripe
Ideal for
Online-focused businesses (ecommerce, SaaS, marketplaces) that have access to developer talent and need a scalable, customizable solution. Stripe is great for startups and tech-savvy companies selling globally, subscription-based services, and platforms that require multi-currency or multi-vendor payments. It’s also a strong fit for businesses that value transparent pricing and rich analytics.
Strengths and trade-offs
PayKings
✓Publishes interchange-plus pricing across three tiers on its own site — IC + 1.10% + 25c on Starter, IC + 0.80% + 10c above $100K a month — which almost no high-risk specialist does.
✓Publishes settlement speed per tier too: T+2 on Starter, next-day on Growth, same-day where available on Enterprise.
✓Advertises no setup fees and no long-term contracts, and Merchant Maverick's July 2026 review records the same.
✓Approves restricted verticals mainstream processors decline — CBD, nutraceuticals, firearms, debt relief and around fifty others.
✕PayKings is an agent office, not a registered ISO, and its site does not say so. The merchant agreement, the reserve, the funding timetable and any termination fee come from whichever ISO your file is placed with, not from PayKings.
✕Because of that, the published rate card is PayKings' offer rather than a guaranteed contract term — the final paper is the back end's.
✕No card-present discount on the Starter tier: the same 1.10% markup applies to a swipe as to a keyed card-not-present sale, which is expensive for a retailer.
Still deciding?
The full reviews carry the pricing narratives, contract analysis and everything else behind these numbers — or let the matching funnel score the whole directory against your business.
3.4% + $0.30 (the online rate plus 0.5% for manually entered cards)
International rate
Not supported. PayKings places US merchant accounts only.
+1.5% + ~1% for conversion
PCI fee
$4.50/month.
No separate PCI fee
Statement fee
Not disclosed
No monthly statement fee
Chargeback fee
$25 per incident.
$15 dispute received fee per dispute, kept whether you win or lose; a further $15 dispute countered fee if you respond manually, returned if you win and kept if you lose
Early termination
Not disclosed
No early termination fee under the pay-as-you-go model
Last fact-checked
September 7, 2026
September 16, 2026
Not recommended for
High-risk businesses (Stripe explicitly prohibits many high-risk categories). Also, very small or non-technical businesses that just need a simple point-of-sale or payment solution might prefer more out-of-box providers (like Square or PayPal). If you primarily operate a physical retail store or need in-person sales with minimal fuss, Stripe’s added complexity may not be worth it. Likewise, businesses unable to tolerate potential fund-holds or requiring a dedicated account representative might find Stripe’s model challenging.
✕Rolling reserves are normal on higher-risk files, and neither the percentage nor the release schedule is published.
Stripe
✓Best-in-class developer experience: clean APIs, SDKs, and documentation that set the industry standard
✓Transparent flat-rate pricing with no monthly, setup, PCI, or statement fees
✓Global reach with broad payment-method and multi-currency support
✓Deep feature set — subscriptions, invoicing, marketplace tools, virtual terminal — on one platform
✕First payout takes 7-14 days, and new or unusual accounts can face holds and verification friction
✕Flat-rate 2.9% + $0.30 gets expensive at volume compared with negotiated interchange-plus pricing
✕Complex for non-technical users — much of the value assumes you will build on the API
✕Prohibits many high-risk categories and is not available in every country