Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Adyen vs Nuvei (US online payments)

Comparison · Updated November 3, 2026

Adyen vs Nuvei (US online payments)

VS
Adyen

Adyen

A-

Adyen is a global, enterprise-grade payments platform that unifies acquiring, processing, routing and risk management into a single stack for merchants with international and omnichannel needs.

Read Full Review
Nuvei

Nuvei

B

Nuvei is a Montreal-based global payment technology company founded in 2003 that offers 700+ payment methods across 200+ markets and deep vertical expertise in iGaming, fintech, and high-risk sectors — but carries meaningful risks around contract terms, pricing transparency, and customer support quality.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

We compare the two for a US business taking card payments online, using each company's own pricing pages, published merchant terms, documentation, filings and support pages as read on 3 November 2026. Both are global acquirers that sell mostly to larger merchants, but they publish very different amounts about themselves. Adyen, founded in Amsterdam in 2006 and listed on Euronext Amsterdam since June 2018, publishes an indicative rate card. In the US, Visa and Mastercard cost $0.13 plus interchange, scheme fees and a 0.60% markup, and American Express costs $0.13 + 3.3% + $0.10. It charges no setup or monthly fee, although a minimum invoice may apply depending on industry or business model. Its standard terms run for an indefinite period, ended by either side on two months' written notice. Nuvei, founded in Montreal in 2003 as Pivotal Payments and renamed in 2018, was taken private by an Advent International-led group in November 2024. It publishes no rate card. What it does publish is a US merchant agreement from its Nuvei Technologies unit with FFB Bank, in a three-year version and a month-to-month version, dated February 2024. That agreement sets a monthly minimum, a $25 dispute fee and, on the three-year version, a $395 or $495 exit fee. It is small-business paper: it treats you as a walk-in retail business unless you are approved for internet sales, and FFB Bank is not among the sponsor banks Nuvei currently lists. It shows what Nuvei's small-merchant contract looks like, not what an enterprise online merchant would sign, so get your own terms in writing. Adyen is the one you can price before a sales call. Nuvei is the one to get quoted if you need its long list of alternative payment methods or sell in a vertical such as US iGaming or crypto.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓It depends on what you sell and how much you need to know before signing. Adyen publishes its US rates: $0.13 + interchange++ + 0.60% for Visa and Mastercard, and $0.13 + 3.3% + $0.10 for American Express. Nuvei publishes no rate card.
  • ✓Adyen's standard terms have no fixed term and run until either side gives two months' written notice. Nuvei publishes only a small-business US agreement, in a three-year version that auto-renews yearly and carries a $395 or $495 exit fee, and a month-to-month version. Its enterprise terms are not published.
  • ✓Adyen's documentation puts US merchants on a two-business-day payout delay by default, then one to two business days for the payout to start. Nuvei does not publish a US payout schedule.
  • ✓Nuvei advertises over 720 alternative payment methods, local acquiring in 53 markets and crypto on- and off-ramps. It also processes US sports-betting and iGaming payments, which Adyen's rules prohibit for US-based gambling merchants. Adyen says it supports more than 200 payment methods. Both counts are the companies' own.
  • ✓Reviews point both ways. Adyen has a 1.3 Trustpilot score from 451 reviews and a BBB F for unanswered complaints. Nuvei scores 3.4 from 872 Trustpilot reviews, but it invites reviews and Adyen does not, and its BBB profile is currently unrated.

Adyen

Adyen fits a mid-sized or enterprise US online business that wants to see the price before talking to sales: interchange++ with a published 0.60% markup, no setup or monthly fee and no fixed term. It also suits platforms and marketplaces, and merchants who sell in person as well, on one contract. Ask about any minimum invoice and the dispute fee, neither of which is on the rate card.

Nuvei

Nuvei fits a large merchant that needs a wide range of alternative payment methods, local acquiring in many markets, or support for regulated high-risk sectors such as US iGaming and crypto. Before signing, get the rate, the contract term, any exit fee or monthly minimum, the reserve and the payout schedule in writing. None of them is on a public rate card, and the only contract Nuvei publishes is written for small merchants.

The Verdict

It Depends on Your Needs

Why?

For most US online businesses, Adyen is the easier one to evaluate. Its rates, payout timing and standard terms are published, and the terms carry no fixed term or exit fee. Its weak spots are support and billing complaints from smaller accounts, and a dispute fee and minimum invoice that you have to ask about. Nuvei is worth a quote if you need its wider range of alternative payment methods, local acquiring across many markets, or a provider that accepts regulated high-risk sectors such as US iGaming and crypto. Its rates and enterprise terms are not published, and its published small-business agreement can bring a three-year term, an exit fee, a monthly minimum and a reserve held for at least a year after you leave, so get every term in writing.

Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

US online card pricing (November 2026)

US online card pricing (November 2026): Adyen compared with Nuvei.
FeatureAdyenNuvei
Visa and Mastercard
$0.13 + interchange++ + 0.60%
Not disclosed
Adyen's pricing page charges a fixed $0.13 processing fee on every transaction, plus a fee set by the payment method. For Visa and Mastercard that fee is interchange and scheme fees at cost plus 0.60%. Adyen calls the listed fees indicative and offers custom pricing. Nuvei publishes no rate card. Its published small-business agreement describes a 'Cost Plus Surcharge' of interchange plus up to 100 basis points plus assessments, with the actual rate set in your application. A Nuvei partner landing page for Cart.com customers advertises 'rates as low as 2.25%' with no stated basis, so we have not used it.
American Express
$0.13 + 3.3% + $0.10
Not disclosed
Adyen's American Express page lists $0.13 + 3.3% + $0.10 for North America and $0.13 + 3.95% elsewhere. Adyen documents a seven-day settlement delay for American Express, which can lengthen your payout delay if most of your volume is Amex.
Monthly fee or minimum
None; minimum invoice may apply
Greater of $25 or 1% (SMB agreement)
Adyen says it has no setup, monthly, integration or closure fees, but its pricing page adds that a minimum invoice may apply depending on industry or business model, without giving an amount. Both February 2024 versions of Nuvei's published small-business agreement set a monthly minimum of $25 or 1% of approved monthly volume, whichever is greater. They also auto-enrol you in a reporting dashboard at $9.75 a month after a 60-day trial and a business-analytics tool at $29.99 a month after a 30-day trial, both cancellable, and list a $150 annual security and compliance fee 'if applicable' and a $29.99 monthly PCI non-compliance fee. An enterprise Nuvei contract may differ. No winner, because Adyen's minimum has no published amount and the two figures are on different bases.
Dispute fee
Not disclosed
$25 (SMB agreement)
Adyen's rate card shows no chargeback fee. Its terms for agreements from 1 November 2023 charge a non-refundable Chargeback Fee 'as set out in the Agreement', so the amount is in your contract. Nuvei's published small-business agreement lists a $25 dispute resolution fee and a $40 pre-arbitration fee. No winner, because Adyen's figure is not published.

Visa and Mastercard

Adyen
$0.13 + interchange++ + 0.60%
Nuvei
Not disclosed
Adyen's pricing page charges a fixed $0.13 processing fee on every transaction, plus a fee set by the payment method. For Visa and Mastercard that fee is interchange and scheme fees at cost plus 0.60%. Adyen calls the listed fees indicative and offers custom pricing. Nuvei publishes no rate card. Its published small-business agreement describes a 'Cost Plus Surcharge' of interchange plus up to 100 basis points plus assessments, with the actual rate set in your application. A Nuvei partner landing page for Cart.com customers advertises 'rates as low as 2.25%' with no stated basis, so we have not used it.

American Express

Adyen
$0.13 + 3.3% + $0.10
Nuvei
Not disclosed
Adyen's American Express page lists $0.13 + 3.3% + $0.10 for North America and $0.13 + 3.95% elsewhere. Adyen documents a seven-day settlement delay for American Express, which can lengthen your payout delay if most of your volume is Amex.

Monthly fee or minimum

Adyen
None; minimum invoice may apply
Nuvei
Greater of $25 or 1% (SMB agreement)
Adyen says it has no setup, monthly, integration or closure fees, but its pricing page adds that a minimum invoice may apply depending on industry or business model, without giving an amount. Both February 2024 versions of Nuvei's published small-business agreement set a monthly minimum of $25 or 1% of approved monthly volume, whichever is greater. They also auto-enrol you in a reporting dashboard at $9.75 a month after a 60-day trial and a business-analytics tool at $29.99 a month after a 30-day trial, both cancellable, and list a $150 annual security and compliance fee 'if applicable' and a $29.99 monthly PCI non-compliance fee. An enterprise Nuvei contract may differ. No winner, because Adyen's minimum has no published amount and the two figures are on different bases.

Dispute fee

Adyen
Not disclosed
Nuvei
$25 (SMB agreement)
Adyen's rate card shows no chargeback fee. Its terms for agreements from 1 November 2023 charge a non-refundable Chargeback Fee 'as set out in the Agreement', so the amount is in your contract. Nuvei's published small-business agreement lists a $25 dispute resolution fee and a $40 pre-arbitration fee. No winner, because Adyen's figure is not published.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Mid-sized US ecommerce business that wants published pricing

Adyen
Recommended
Adyen
View the Adyen review

Adyen publishes $0.13 + interchange++ + 0.60% for Visa and Mastercard, charges no setup or monthly fee, and its standard terms have no fixed term. Nuvei would have to quote before you could compare.

US sportsbook, iGaming, forex or crypto business

Nuvei
Recommended
Nuvei
View the Nuvei review

Adyen prohibits US-based gambling merchants outright. It treats gambling elsewhere, crypto exchanges and high-risk trading as restricted, and needs extra documentation for them. Nuvei builds for these sectors. Its 2023 annual filing said it was permitted to process sports-betting and iGaming payments in at least 27 US states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and it offers crypto on- and off-ramps. Get Nuvei's reserve, term and exit fee in writing.

Marketplace or SaaS platform paying out to sellers

Both run a platforms product with sub-merchant onboarding, split payments and payouts. Adyen's base rates are published. Nuvei's are not, so compare a written Nuvei quote against Adyen's rate card.

Merchant selling into many countries with local payment methods

Both. Adyen publishes per-method prices for over 200 payment methods. Nuvei claims more than 720 alternative methods and local acquiring in 53 markets but publishes no prices. Check that the methods you need are live in your markets on both.

Small US business processing under $10,000 a month

Neither. Both sell mainly to larger merchants. Adyen may apply a minimum invoice. Nuvei's published small-business agreement sets a monthly minimum of $25 or 1% of volume, offers a three-year version with an exit fee, and auto-enrols you in paid reporting tools after a free trial. A flat-rate, self-serve processor is usually a simpler fit.

Adyen: Best for 1 use case
Nuvei: Best for 1 use case

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

It cannot be checked from published figures, because Nuvei has no public rate card. Adyen charges US merchants $0.13 plus interchange, scheme fees and a 0.60% markup on Visa and Mastercard, and $0.13 + 3.3% + $0.10 on American Express, and calls those fees indicative. Nuvei's published small-business agreement describes interchange plus up to 100 basis points plus assessments, with your actual rate set in your application. Get a written Nuvei quote and model both against a month of your own transactions.

It can. Nuvei's published small-business US agreement (February 2024) comes in a three-year version and a month-to-month version. The three-year version renews for one-year terms unless you give 60 days' notice, and leaving early costs $395 or $495 depending on volume. For merchants with half or more of their sales online, the monthly minimum also keeps running for the rest of the term. Nuvei does not publish its enterprise terms, which may be negotiated differently. Adyen's standard terms have no fixed term and end on two months' written notice.

Adyen's documentation sets a two-business-day payout delay for merchants whose transactions are mostly in USD and acquired in the US. The payout then takes one to two business days to start, plus whatever time your bank needs to post it. Mostly-American Express volume can stretch the delay to seven business days. Nuvei does not publish a US payout schedule, so ask for yours in writing.

Nuvei was taken private on 15 November 2024 by a company formed by Advent International, at US$34 a share. Advent holds about 46%, founder and CEO Philip Fayer 24%, Novacap 18% and CDPQ 12%. Its shares were then delisted from the Toronto Stock Exchange and Nasdaq. In June 2026 Nuvei agreed to buy Payoneer, a deal that had not closed as of 3 November 2026. Adyen remains listed on Euronext Amsterdam, where it has traded since June 2018.

On their own counts, Nuvei: it advertises all major cards plus more than 720 alternative payment methods, against Adyen's 200+. The two count differently, so check that the specific wallets, bank transfers and local methods you need are live in your markets. Adyen publishes a price for most methods on its rate card. Nuvei does not.

Nuvei does. It processes sports-betting and iGaming payments, its 2023 annual filing said it was permitted to operate in at least 27 US states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico for that work, and it offers crypto on- and off-ramps. Adyen's prohibited and restricted list bars 'any type of US based gambling services' for merchants. It treats legal gambling elsewhere, cryptocurrency exchanges and high-risk trading such as CFDs as restricted, which means extra documentation before onboarding. High-risk merchants should expect reserves with either provider.

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

Mollie vs Adyen for European businesses

View comparison

Adyen vs Worldpay

View comparison

Adyen vs Braintree

View comparison
View All Comparisons