Comparison · Updated September 25, 2026

Adyen is a global, enterprise-grade payments platform that unifies acquiring, processing, routing and risk management into a single stack for merchants with international and omnichannel needs.
One of the largest acquirers in the world, bought by Global Payments in January 2026 and now being folded into that brand. Enormous reach, but small merchants still get a three-year contract, an auto-renewal clause and pricing that is never published.
Adyen and Worldpay both acquire card payments for large merchants in the US, UK and Europe, but they sell very differently. Adyen, graded A- on Payment Review, publishes one price list: a fixed processing fee of $0.13 (£0.11 in the UK) per transaction plus interchange++ and 0.60% on Visa and Mastercard, with no setup, monthly or closure fees, though it sets a minimum invoice by industry. Its standard terms run indefinitely and end on two months' notice. Worldpay, graded C+ and owned by Global Payments since January 2026, quotes US pricing individually and does not publish its direct US merchant terms. In the UK its online quote tool shows indicative small-business pricing: blended rates plus a 4.5p authorisation fee, a £15 minimum monthly charge, a £5 PCI fee and £20 a month per hired terminal, and its UK terms set an 18-month minimum hire for most smaller incorporated merchants. The same tool shows settlement in 24 hours, against Adyen's default payout delay of two business days, and Worldpay has far better Trustpilot numbers. Adyen is the stronger choice for most enterprise and mid-market merchants; Worldpay suits UK small businesses that want fast settlement and a price they can see before they call.
Adyen is for enterprise and mid-market merchants selling online and in store across several countries, who want published interchange++ pricing, one platform and a contract they can leave on two months' notice, and whose volume clears its minimum invoice.
Worldpay is for UK small businesses that want indicative pricing up front, 24-hour settlement and, if they have fewer than 10 staff and under €2m turnover, a processing agreement they can end on one month's notice, provided they accept a minimum terminal hire period.

For the enterprise and mid-market merchants both companies target, Adyen is the better choice. It publishes its card pricing as interchange++ plus a fixed fee, charges no setup or monthly fees, runs online and in-person payments on one platform backed by its own US, UK and EU banking licences, and publishes standard terms that end on two months' notice. Worldpay quotes US pricing privately and does not publish its direct US merchant terms. Adyen also holds the much higher Payment Review grade. Worldpay's advantages are in UK small business: 24-hour settlement and indicative pricing you can see before you call, and a processing agreement the smallest firms can end on a month's notice. Adyen's minimum invoice can rule out smaller merchants.
| Feature | Adyen | Worldpay |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Interchange++ plus a fixed processing fee Winner | Quote-based; blended rates in the UK quote tool |
| Adyen's pricing page says the fees shown are indicative and pricing can be discussed with sales. Worldpay's UK tool calls its figures indicative only and prices by annual card turnover and industry. | ||
| US Visa and Mastercard | $0.13 + interchange++ + 0.60% Winner | Not disclosed |
| Adyen's global pricing page, read 23 September 2026. Adyen charges American Express in North America at $0.13 + 3.3% + $0.10. Worldpay does not publish US rates. | ||
| UK Visa and Mastercard | £0.11 + interchange++ + 0.60% | 0.3%–1.9% + 4.5p (indicative) |
| Not the same basis: Adyen adds its 0.60% on top of interchange and scheme fees, which Adyen puts at around 0.3–0.4% in Europe; Worldpay's figures are blended rates that include them. Worldpay's UK tool ranges from 0.3% on in-person debit to 1.9% on online credit, depending on turnover band, with business cards up to 3.0%, plus a 4.5p authorisation fee on every transaction. | ||
| Setup and monthly fees | None Winner | £5 a month PCI DSS fee (UK, indicative) |
| Adyen says it charges no monthly, setup, integration or closure fees. Worldpay's UK quote tool lists a £5 PCI DSS service fee; gateway is shown as included. | ||
| Minimums | Minimum invoice set by industry; amount not published | £15 minimum monthly service charge (UK, indicative) |
| Adyen's pricing FAQ says it has a minimum invoice depending on industry or business model and refers merchants to sales for the figure. | ||
| Chargeback fee | Not disclosed | £20 (UK, indicative) |
| Worldpay's figure is from its UK small-business quote tool, which calls its pricing indicative only. Adyen does not publish a chargeback fee. | ||
Recommendations based on your business type

Adyen's published interchange++ pricing, local acquiring licences and 200+ payment methods on one integration suit a merchant collecting in several currencies, and its standard contract has no fixed term.

Adyen publishes $0.13 + interchange++ + 0.60% for US Visa and Mastercard and its standard contract terms. Worldpay's US pricing is quote-only and it does not publish its direct US merchant terms.

Adyen runs its terminals and online checkout on one platform, so in-store and online payments share one account and one set of reports.
Worldpay shows indicative UK pricing online, quotes settlement in 24 hours and lets businesses with fewer than 10 staff and under €2m turnover leave the processing agreement on one month's notice. Budget for the £15 monthly minimum, the £5 PCI fee and a terminal hire that runs at least 18 months for most incorporated small merchants. Adyen's minimum invoice may rule out a small shop.
Common questions about this comparison
Explore more payment processor matchups