Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Fresha vs GlossGenius for salons and spas

Comparison · Updated October 17, 2026

Fresha vs GlossGenius for salons and spas

VS
Fresha

Fresha

B+

Fresha is the London-based booking and business platform for salons, barbershops, spas and wellness studios, founded as Shedul in 2015 by William Zeqiri and Nick Miller and renamed in 2019. It became a unicorn in May 2026 when KKR invested $80 million at a valuation above $1 billion, at which point it said it served more than 130,000 businesses, handled 35 million appointments a month and about $15 billion a year in gross merchandise value, and was profitable on a $140 million revenue run-rate. Payments are embedded in the software through Adyen for Platforms: as of September 2026 the US rate card is 2.29% plus $0.20 in person (plus $0.10 per Tap to Pay authorisation), 2.79% plus $0.20 online, 3.30% plus $0.20 for manually keyed cards and 5.99% plus $0.30 for Klarna instalments, with payouts the next business day, no contract and no early-termination fee. The software itself stopped being free in 2025 — plans are $19.95 a month for one person or $14.95 per bookable team member — and clients who find you on the Fresha marketplace cost a one-off 20% commission with a $6 minimum. Trustpilot rates it 4.8 from more than 7,000 reviews. It grades B+ on clear pricing and terms, with the marks held back by the marketplace fee, the 2025 pricing shift and the payout holds that come with any aggregator.

Read Full Review
GlossGenius

GlossGenius

B

GlossGenius is booking, point-of-sale, marketing and staff software for US salons, barbers, spas, medical spas and wellness and fitness studios, built in New York by twin sisters Danielle Cohen-Shohet, the chief executive, and Leah Cohen-Shohet. The company was incorporated in August 2015, raised a $44 million Series D at a $1.15 billion valuation in July 2026 and at the same time renamed itself Genius AI, with GlossGenius kept as its main product; it says more than 125,000 businesses use the platform. Card processing is built in and runs on Stripe: GlossGenius is the platform, Stripe is the processor, and every business gets a Stripe connected account rather than its own merchant ID. The published price is one flat 2.6% with no per-transaction fee, and it is the same whether the card is tapped, keyed, stored on file or used to pay a deposit online, which is unusual among salon platforms. Invoices cost 2.9% + $0.30 and buy-now-pay-later 6% + $0.30. A setting lets the business pass some or all of the fee to clients as a 2.5% or 3.5% convenience fee. The software costs $24, $48 or $148 a month billed annually ($28, $56 or $168 billed monthly), is month to month, and standard payouts are free, sent each evening Sunday to Thursday, and usually arrive the next day. The weak spots are the service record: a D- BBB rating for failing to respond to 24 complaints, and recent complaints from businesses whose payouts were held for verification.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

Fresha and GlossGenius are booking and payments software for salons, barbers, spas and wellness studios. Both build card processing into the calendar, so deposits, saved cards and no-show fees run through the same system. Fresha is based in London and processes through Adyen. GlossGenius is based in New York, serves US businesses and processes through Stripe. This comparison uses US prices as of October 2026. The biggest change is at GlossGenius. Its pricing page and help centre, updated on 13 and 14 October 2026, no longer show its flat 2.6% rate, though it gives no date when existing accounts switch. When you pay the fee yourself, it now lists 2.4% + 15¢ for a card tapped, dipped or swiped in person, and 3.4% + 15¢ for online bookings, deposits, cards on file, no-show fees and keyed cards. Fresha charges 2.29% + 20¢ in person, 2.79% + 20¢ online and 3.30% + 20¢ keyed. In person the two are almost level: Fresha is cheaper on sales above about $45. Online, Fresha is cheaper on any sale above about $8. Software prices go the other way as a team grows. Fresha costs $19.95 a month for one person, or $14.95 per bookable team member. GlossGenius costs $28 a month for Standard, $56 for Gold (up to 9 people) and $168 for Platinum (unlimited), or less billed annually. GlossGenius adds things Fresha does not advertise: instant payouts for 1.8%, full chargeback cover on card-reader and Tap to Pay sales on Gold and Platinum, and a setting that passes the card fee to clients. Fresha has a consumer marketplace that GlossGenius does not, but it charges 20% (minimum $6) on each new client it sends you.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓Fresha (B+) is the better choice for most solo professionals and small teams. Its card rates are lower on online deposits and on most in-person tickets, its one-person plan is cheaper, and its reputation is far stronger. GlossGenius (B) is cheaper software for teams of four to nine and adds instant payouts and chargeback cover.
  • ✓GlossGenius dropped its flat 2.6% rate from its pricing page and help centre in mid-October 2026, without giving a date when existing accounts switch. On the "You pay" setting it now lists 2.4% + 15¢ in person and 3.4% + 15¢ for online, card-on-file, no-show and keyed payments. On a $100 online deposit that is $3.55, against $2.99 on Fresha.
  • ✓In person the rates are close. A $100 service costs $2.49 to process on a Fresha terminal and $2.55 on a GlossGenius reader. Below about $45, GlossGenius is cheaper. Tap to Pay costs 10¢ more per sale on Fresha, so there GlossGenius is cheaper on any sale below about $136.
  • ✓Fresha charges per bookable team member ($14.95 each on the Team plan). GlossGenius charges by tier: Gold is $56 a month for up to nine people. Fresha is cheaper for up to three people; GlossGenius Gold is cheaper from four to nine.
  • ✓Fresha has 4.8 on Trustpilot from 7,411 reviews. GlossGenius has 2.1 from 11 reviews and a D- at the BBB for failing to respond to 26 complaints. The BBB does not rate Fresha, because it is based in the UK.

Fresha

Choose Fresha if you work alone or in a team of up to three, take a lot of deposits or online payments, or want new clients from a consumer marketplace. Its online rate of 2.79% + 20¢ is well below GlossGenius's 3.4% + 15¢, its in-person rate is lower on any ticket above about $45, and payouts arrive the next working day. Budget for the 20% one-off commission (minimum $6) on each new client the Fresha marketplace sends you, and remember the software is no longer free.

GlossGenius

Choose GlossGenius if you run a US team of four to nine people, since Gold covers all of them for $56 a month ($48 billed annually). It also suits owners who want instant payouts (1.8%), full chargeback cover on card-reader and Tap to Pay sales (Gold and Platinum), free unlimited marketing email, or the option to pass the card fee to clients. Since October 2026, online deposits and card-on-file charges cost 3.4% + 15¢, so check how much of your money arrives that way. Read the BBB complaints about held payouts before you move all your takings.

Overall Winner

Fresha
🏆 Winner

Fresha

B+expert grade
GlossGenius
Runner-up

GlossGenius

Why?

Fresha is the better all-round choice, as its B+ against GlossGenius's B suggests. Now that GlossGenius lists separate rates in place of its flat 2.6%, Fresha's rates are lower where salons increasingly take their money. Online bookings and deposits cost 2.79% + 20¢ against 3.4% + 15¢, and in person Fresha is cheaper on any ticket above about $45. Its one-person plan costs $19.95 a month against $28, payouts arrive the next working day, and 7,411 Trustpilot reviewers rate it 4.8. GlossGenius has a 2.1 from 11 reviews and a D- at the BBB. GlossGenius is the better buy for a team of four to nine people. Gold covers them all for $56 a month, where Fresha charges $14.95 for each bookable member. It also offers instant payouts at 1.8%, chargeback cover on card-reader and Tap to Pay sales, unlimited free marketing email, and a setting to pass the card fee to clients. Fresha advertises none of these. Fresha's marketplace can bring new clients, but each one costs 20% of their first booking, with a $6 minimum.

Read Fresha Full Review
Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Card processing (US rates when you pay the fee, October 2026)

Card processing (US rates when you pay the fee, October 2026): Fresha compared with GlossGenius.
FeatureFreshaGlossGenius
In person: chip or tap on the provider's terminal or reader
2.29% + 20¢
2.4% + 15¢
Fresha is cheaper on sales above about $45, and GlossGenius below. At $100 the fee is $2.49 on Fresha and $2.55 on GlossGenius. At $30 it is $0.89 on Fresha and $0.87 on GlossGenius. GlossGenius's rate is the same on every plan.
Tap to Pay on a phone
2.29% + 20¢, plus 10¢ per authorisation
2.4% + 15¢
Fresha's extra 10¢ makes its Tap to Pay fee 2.29% + 30¢. GlossGenius is cheaper on any sale below about $136.
Online bookings and deposits
2.79% + 20¢
Winner
3.4% + 15¢
Fresha is cheaper on any sale above about $8. On a $40 deposit the fee is $1.32 on Fresha and $1.51 on GlossGenius. GlossGenius's 3.4% + 15¢ also covers no-show and cancellation fees, cards on file, memberships and packages charged to a saved card, and online gift card sales. Fresha says deposits and saved-card charges cost "standard payment processing fees ... based on the method used". It does not name a separate card-on-file rate. When an appointment is secured by capturing card details, Fresha's partner terms say the fixed 20¢ part of the fee is charged at that point, even if the appointment is not completed. GlossGenius's /payment-processing page still says "No hidden Tap to Pay, card-on-file, or manual entry fees" beside 2.4% + $0.15, but its pricing page, rates page and help centre (17 October 2026) all list 3.4% + 15¢ for these payments. GlossGenius gives no effective date for existing accounts and tells members to check their rate in the app; its terms require 14 days' notice of fee changes.
Manually keyed card
3.30% + 20¢
3.4% + 15¢
GlossGenius is cheaper below $50 and Fresha above it.
Invoices
Not disclosed
2.9% + 30¢
Fresha includes quotes and invoices in its software but does not list a separate invoice rate.
Buy now, pay later
5.99% + 30¢ (Klarna)
6% + 30¢ (Affirm, Afterpay, Klarna)
GlossGenius says the BNPL fee cannot be passed on to clients.
Passing the card fee to clients
Not disclosed
Yes: client pays 2.5% (you pay 1%) or 3.5% (you pay 0%)
GlossGenius calls this a technology fee. The 15¢ fixed fee does not apply on these settings. Surcharging is limited by card-network rules and some state laws.
Who processes the payments
Adyen, through Adyen for Platforms
Stripe, on a connected account
Both are platforms, not merchant accounts, and neither publishes interchange-plus pricing.

In person: chip or tap on the provider's terminal or reader

Fresha
2.29% + 20¢
GlossGenius
2.4% + 15¢
Fresha is cheaper on sales above about $45, and GlossGenius below. At $100 the fee is $2.49 on Fresha and $2.55 on GlossGenius. At $30 it is $0.89 on Fresha and $0.87 on GlossGenius. GlossGenius's rate is the same on every plan.

Tap to Pay on a phone

Fresha
2.29% + 20¢, plus 10¢ per authorisation
GlossGenius
2.4% + 15¢
Fresha's extra 10¢ makes its Tap to Pay fee 2.29% + 30¢. GlossGenius is cheaper on any sale below about $136.

Online bookings and deposits

Fresha
2.79% + 20¢
Winner
GlossGenius
3.4% + 15¢
Fresha is cheaper on any sale above about $8. On a $40 deposit the fee is $1.32 on Fresha and $1.51 on GlossGenius. GlossGenius's 3.4% + 15¢ also covers no-show and cancellation fees, cards on file, memberships and packages charged to a saved card, and online gift card sales. Fresha says deposits and saved-card charges cost "standard payment processing fees ... based on the method used". It does not name a separate card-on-file rate. When an appointment is secured by capturing card details, Fresha's partner terms say the fixed 20¢ part of the fee is charged at that point, even if the appointment is not completed. GlossGenius's /payment-processing page still says "No hidden Tap to Pay, card-on-file, or manual entry fees" beside 2.4% + $0.15, but its pricing page, rates page and help centre (17 October 2026) all list 3.4% + 15¢ for these payments. GlossGenius gives no effective date for existing accounts and tells members to check their rate in the app; its terms require 14 days' notice of fee changes.

Manually keyed card

Fresha
3.30% + 20¢
GlossGenius
3.4% + 15¢
GlossGenius is cheaper below $50 and Fresha above it.

Invoices

Fresha
Not disclosed
GlossGenius
2.9% + 30¢
Fresha includes quotes and invoices in its software but does not list a separate invoice rate.

Buy now, pay later

Fresha
5.99% + 30¢ (Klarna)
GlossGenius
6% + 30¢ (Affirm, Afterpay, Klarna)
GlossGenius says the BNPL fee cannot be passed on to clients.

Passing the card fee to clients

Fresha
Not disclosed
GlossGenius
Yes: client pays 2.5% (you pay 1%) or 3.5% (you pay 0%)
GlossGenius calls this a technology fee. The 15¢ fixed fee does not apply on these settings. Surcharging is limited by card-network rules and some state laws.

Who processes the payments

Fresha
Adyen, through Adyen for Platforms
GlossGenius
Stripe, on a connected account
Both are platforms, not merchant accounts, and neither publishes interchange-plus pricing.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Solo stylist, lash, brow or nail artist who takes deposits online

Fresha
Recommended
Fresha
View the Fresha review

Fresha's Independent plan is $19.95 a month against $28 for GlossGenius Standard ($24 billed annually). Online deposits cost 2.79% + 20¢ against 3.4% + 15¢, which is 19¢ less on a $40 deposit. You only pay the marketplace commission if a new client finds you through Fresha's marketplace, not through your own link or Instagram.

Salon with five to nine bookable staff, paid mostly at the front desk

GlossGenius
Recommended
GlossGenius
View the GlossGenius review

GlossGenius Gold covers up to nine people for $56 a month ($48 billed annually). Fresha's Team plan costs $74.75 for five people and $134.55 for nine. In person the rates are almost level (Fresha saves 6¢ on a $100 service). Gold also adds chargeback cover on card-reader and Tap to Pay sales, and separate bank accounts for booth renters. If much of your money comes from online deposits and saved cards, work out what GlossGenius's extra 0.61 percentage points (less its 5¢ lower fixed fee) would cost you before you choose.

Colour, extensions or spa business with tickets well above $100, taken in person

Fresha
Recommended
Fresha
View the Fresha review

On a terminal, Fresha's 2.29% + 20¢ beats GlossGenius's 2.4% + 15¢ on any ticket above about $45. On a $200 service the fees are $4.78 and $4.95. Use a Fresha terminal rather than Tap to Pay, because the extra 10¢ per authorisation pushes the crossover up to about $136.

New business that wants clients to find it

Fresha
Recommended
Fresha
View the Fresha review

Fresha runs a consumer booking marketplace and GlossGenius does not advertise one. The cost is a one-off 20% commission (minimum $6) on each new client's first completed appointment. That is fair on a $150 service and steep on a $20 one. Returning clients are free.

Owner who needs same-day cash or wants clients to cover card fees

GlossGenius
Recommended
GlossGenius
View the GlossGenius review

GlossGenius sends instant payouts in under a minute for 1.8% (50¢ minimum), up to $9,999 at a time, including weekends. It can also charge clients a 2.5% or 3.5% technology fee in place of some or all of yours. Fresha publishes neither: its fastest option is the next working day, or a manual transfer once funds settle, about 24 hours after payment.

Fresha: Best for 3 use cases
GlossGenius: Best for 2 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

Not on its published pricing. GlossGenius's pricing page, rates page and help centre now give two rates for businesses that pay the fee themselves. Card-reader and Tap to Pay payments cost 2.4% + 15¢. Online bookings and deposits, no-show and cancellation fees, cards on file, memberships charged to a saved card, online gift cards and keyed cards cost 3.4% + 15¢. The help articles were updated on 13 and 14 October 2026. GlossGenius gives no date when existing accounts move to the new rates and tells members to check their rate in the app. One page, /payment-processing, still says there are no card-on-file or manual-entry fees, which conflicts with the rest of the site as of 17 October 2026. The settings where clients pay the fee have not changed: you pay 1% and the client 2.5%, or you pay nothing and the client 3.5%.

It depends on how the card is taken and on the ticket size. Online, Fresha's 2.79% + 20¢ is cheaper than GlossGenius's 3.4% + 15¢ on any sale above about $8. On a terminal, Fresha's 2.29% + 20¢ is cheaper than GlossGenius's 2.4% + 15¢ above about $45. On Tap to Pay, Fresha adds 10¢, so GlossGenius is cheaper below about $136. For keyed cards the crossover is $50.

No. Fresha now charges $19.95 a month for one bookable team member on its Independent plan, or $14.95 per bookable team member on its Team plan. Enterprise pricing applies above 20 team members. Card payments are optional and carry no separate monthly fee. Fresha also charges a one-off 20% commission, with a $6 minimum, on new clients who find you through its marketplace.

GlossGenius, if you pay for it. Both send free standard payouts that usually arrive the next working day. GlossGenius also offers instant payouts to a bank account or debit card in under a minute for 1.8% (50¢ minimum), up to $9,999 each, including weekends. Fresha does not offer an instant payout. Its daily payouts send money taken before midnight on the next working day, once the balance is over $50.

On Fresha, a lost dispute is taken from your Fresha wallet, and its terms allow a chargeback fee whose amount is not published. GlossGenius helps you contest disputes and its rates page lists no dispute fee. On Gold and Platinum it covers the full loss on disputes over sales taken on its card reader or by Tap to Pay. That cover excludes cards on file, keyed cards and BNPL, which means no-show fees charged to a saved card are not covered.

No. Both are month to month with no cancellation fee. GlossGenius does not refund the current month when you cancel. Fresha's partner terms ask for 30 days' written notice to cancel services that carry service fees. GlossGenius can change its fees on 14 days' notice. Fresha gives 30 days' notice for subscription and service fees, and its terms say processing fees may vary from time to time.

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

GlossGenius vs Square for salons

View comparison

GlossGenius vs Vagaro for salons and spas

View comparison

Fresha vs Vagaro for salons and spas

View comparison
View All Comparisons