Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Reviews
Fresha

Review · Fact-checked September 19, 2026

Fresha Review

Fresha is the London-based booking and business platform for salons, barbershops, spas and wellness studios, founded as Shedul in 2015 by William Zeqiri and Nick Miller and renamed in 2019. It became a unicorn in May 2026 when KKR invested $80 million at a valuation above $1 billion, at which point it said it served more than 130,000 businesses, handled 35 million appointments a month and about $15 billion a year in gross merchandise value, and was profitable on a $140 million revenue run-rate. Payments are embedded in the software through Adyen for Platforms: as of September 2026 the US rate card is 2.29% plus $0.20 in person (plus $0.10 per Tap to Pay authorisation), 2.79% plus $0.20 online, 3.30% plus $0.20 for manually keyed cards and 5.99% plus $0.30 for Klarna instalments, with payouts the next business day, no contract and no early-termination fee. The software itself stopped being free in 2025 — plans are $19.95 a month for one person or $14.95 per bookable team member — and clients who find you on the Fresha marketplace cost a one-off 20% commission with a $6 minimum. Trustpilot rates it 4.8 from more than 7,000 reviews. It grades B+ on clear pricing and terms, with the marks held back by the marketplace fee, the 2025 pricing shift and the payout holds that come with any aggregator.

Fresha logo
B+
London, United Kingdom2nd of 14 POS and business software providers
Connect with Fresha
See pricing
Visit website

External link — we may earn a commission.

Rate from
2.79% + $0.20 per transaction for online bookings, deposits, prepayments, self-checkout links, QR codes and saved cards
Monthly
$19.95 a month (Independent, one bookable team member) or $14.95 per bookable team member a month (Team); 7-day trial; Enterprise pricing above 20 team members. Payments are optional and carry no separate monthly fee.
Payout
Next business day (daily payouts, default)
Contract
Month to month; no contract
Founded
2015
VerdictPricingFeatures7FAQsMethodology

Connect with Fresha

Tell them what you need. This goes to Fresha only.

Free. Providers are ranked on fit and editorial grade — no one can pay to appear higher.

Best for

Salons, barbershops, spas, nail and lash studios and wellness practices that want scheduling, deposits, no-show protection, retail, memberships and card acceptance in one system, from a single chair-renter to multi-location groups; businesses that rely on card-on-file cancellation fees; teams with independent contractors who need payments split and paid out to each merchant.

How it scores

Pricing4.5
Features4.5
Ease of use4.5
Support3.5
Contract4.0
Reputation score3.5

What it costs

Details →
Online
2.79% + $0.20 per transaction for online bookings, deposits, prepayments, self-checkout links, QR codes and saved cards
Monthly
$19.95 a month (Independent, one bookable team member) or $14.95 per bookable team member a month (Team); 7-day trial; Enterprise pricing above 20 team members. Payments are optional and carry no separate monthly fee.

The take

B+

For a beauty or wellness business, Fresha's payments are the easy part of the decision: the rates are published, competitive with Square's for in-person work and cheaper than most vertical software, funds arrive the next business day, and you can leave at any time. The harder questions are about the platform around them. Since 2025 you pay a monthly subscription, the marketplace's 20% new-client commission with a $6 floor is expensive on low-ticket services, and because Fresha is an aggregator on Adyen's rails your money can be held for review with only Fresha's support to escalate to. If you would run your books on Fresha anyway, turning on its payments is the right call; buying it for the processing alone is not what it is for.

Skip if you

You are outside beauty and wellness — Fresha is vertical software, not a general merchant account; you depend on the marketplace for new bookings and sell low-ticket services, where the $6 minimum commission can exceed a third of a $18 cut; you process large volumes and want interchange-plus pricing or a bank you can negotiate with; or you need funds within hours rather than next business day.

Chapter 1

Should you choose Fresha?

The headline take, the audiences it's right (and wrong) for, and the genuine differentiators behind the verdict.

About

Fresha is the London-based booking and business platform for salons, barbershops, spas and wellness studios, founded as Shedul in 2015 by William Zeqiri and Nick Miller and renamed in 2019. It became a unicorn in May 2026 when KKR invested $80 million at a valuation above $1 billion, at which point it said it served more than 130,000 businesses, handled 35 million appointments a month and about $15 billion a year in gross merchandise value, and was profitable on a $140 million revenue run-rate. Payments are embedded in the software through Adyen for Platforms: as of September 2026 the US rate card is 2.29% plus $0.20 in person (plus $0.10 per Tap to Pay authorisation), 2.79% plus $0.20 online, 3.30% plus $0.20 for manually keyed cards and 5.99% plus $0.30 for Klarna instalments, with payouts the next business day, no contract and no early-termination fee. The software itself stopped being free in 2025 — plans are $19.95 a month for one person or $14.95 per bookable team member — and clients who find you on the Fresha marketplace cost a one-off 20% commission with a $6 minimum. Trustpilot rates it 4.8 from more than 7,000 reviews. It grades B+ on clear pricing and terms, with the marks held back by the marketplace fee, the 2025 pricing shift and the payout holds that come with any aggregator.

Pros, cons, and audience

Pros

  • A complete published rate card — 2.29% + $0.20 in person, 2.79% + $0.20 online, 3.30% + $0.20 keyed — with no monthly payments fee, no contract, no termination fee and terminals from $139 or free at volume.
  • Payments are native to the workflow: deposits and stored cards at booking, no-show and cancellation charges, amounts pushed to the terminal from the calendar, Tap to Pay on phones, and per-merchant routing for independents.
  • Next-business-day payouts by default, with weekly, monthly or manual schedules and a business wallet that can pay team members and locations.
  • Trustpilot 4.8 from 7,056 reviews (88% five-star), a profile claimed since December 2021 that replies to 98% of negative reviews, and support by chat and email with phone on the Team plan.
  • A well-capitalised operator: $285 million raised, KKR's $80 million at a valuation above $1 billion in May 2026, profitable on a $140 million run-rate, with Adyen as the regulated processing partner.

Cons

  • The software is no longer free. Fresha introduced the Independent ($19.95) and Team ($14.95 per bookable team member) plans in 2025, so the cost that made it the default recommendation in salon groups now sits on top of processing and commissions.
  • Marketplace new clients cost 20% with a $6 minimum, which on a $18 or $25 service is a 24–33% take; the fee is one-off per client, but a business that grows through the marketplace pays it constantly.
  • It is an aggregator: your funds sit in a Fresha wallet under Adyen's sub-merchant model, payouts can be paused for review, and one-star reviews describe money held with support referring the case to 'another team' without a timeline.
  • Support is tiered — phone support costs $14.95 a month extra on the Independent plan — and former users and ex-employees complain that once they stop generating fees the chat channel disappears.
  • No interchange-plus option, no instant payout, and the chargeback fee is not on the rate card; larger multi-site groups will find the flat rates less negotiable than a merchant account.

What makes them different

The genuine differentiator

Fresha pairs a consumer marketplace that it says drives millions of bookings a month with software that charges nothing per appointment for clients you bring yourself; the 20% commission applies once, to a brand-new client from the marketplace, and never to their return visits. Payments were built in with Adyen rather than bolted on — deposits, saved cards, no-show fees, Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android, Klarna and Afterpay at checkout, and a 'merchants' feature that routes each independent's takings to their own wallet — and it publishes a full rate card by country.

How we score it

4.5
Pricing Transparency
4.5
Feature Set
4.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
4
Contract Terms
3.5
Industry Reputation
Chapter 2

What it costs

Real-world cost at three volumes, plus the rates, fees, payouts, and contract terms that drive them.

What Fresha actually costs

Estimated annual cost at three realistic processing volumes, using Fresha’s published online rate plus monthly fees. Real costs vary with average transaction size, chargeback rate, and any negotiated terms.

Small business
$10K/mo volume · ~$75 avg transaction
$3.9K/year
≈ $326/mo · 3.26% effective rate
Growing merchant
$50K/mo volume · ~$100 avg transaction
$18K/year
≈ $1.5K/mo · 3.03% effective rate
High volume
$250K/mo volume · ~$150 avg transaction
$88K/year
≈ $7.3K/mo · 2.93% effective rate

Pricing details

What it is

Fresha began in 2015 as Shedul, a free scheduling tool for salons built by William Zeqiri and Nick Miller, and took its current name in 2019 as it added a consumer marketplace and payments. The bet was that free software would win the category and that the money would come from card processing and from a commission on new clients the marketplace delivered. It worked: by its KKR round on 21 May 2026 — $80 million at a valuation above $1 billion, taking total funding to $285 million — Fresha reported more than 130,000 businesses in over 120 countries, 500,000-plus professionals, 35 million appointments a month, about $15 billion a year in gross merchandise value, and a profitable business growing over 60% a year on a $140 million revenue run-rate. It is headquartered at 10 York Road, London, with offices Adyen lists in New York, Vancouver, Sydney, Dublin, Amsterdam, Dubai and Warsaw.

Payments are embedded rather than resold. Fresha built on Adyen for Platforms, and Adyen's April 2024 case study describes the pieces: in-person terminals and Tap to Pay, direct American Express acceptance, SafeKey 3D Secure, and processing in more than 100 currencies with settlement in 18. Adyen holds the acquiring licences; Fresha is the platform the salon contracts with, which puts it in the same position as Square or Toast — an aggregator whose support team, not a bank, decides what happens when an account is flagged.

Pricing

The US rate card as of September 2026 is short. In-person payments on a Fresha terminal cost 2.29% plus $0.20, with an extra $0.10 per authorisation for Tap to Pay on iPhone or Android; online payments, deposits, prepayments, self-checkout links, QR codes and saved cards cost 2.79% plus $0.20; manually keyed cards 3.30% plus $0.20; and Klarna instalments 5.99% plus $0.30. Terminals — Verifone V400m units with lifetime free 4G — are from $139 each or free subject to processing volume. There is no monthly fee for payments, no PCI fee, no contract and no termination fee, and the pricing FAQ says there are no hidden costs; the chargeback fee is the one figure the page does not state. For in-person work that undercuts Square's published free-plan rate of 2.6% plus $0.15 on any ticket above about $14; online it sits a shade below the 2.9% plus $0.30 that Stripe and Square's API charge.

The costs around the processing are where the total bill is decided. Since 2025 the software itself is a subscription: Independent at $19.95 a month for one bookable team member, Team at $14.95 per bookable team member, Enterprise above 20. New clients who discover you on the Fresha marketplace carry a one-off 20% commission with a $6 minimum — nothing on their return visits, and nothing on clients who arrive through your own link, Instagram or Facebook — which is fair on a $150 colour service and punishing on a $20 trim. Messaging is metered beyond a free allowance, and a menu of add-ons (AI Concierge $99.95, Client Loyalty $59.95, Data Connector $295 per location a month, premium phone support $14.95 on the Independent plan) can add up for a business that wants all of it.

Payouts and holds

Daily payouts are the default: money collected before midnight is sent to your bank the next business day if the balance is above 50 in local currency, with weekly, monthly and manual options and a business wallet from which you can pay team members and locations. Funds settle about 24 hours after a payment and a bank transfer can take up to two more days; weekends and holidays roll to the next business day. There is no instant-payout product. The 'merchants' feature lets a salon add chair renters and freelancers as separate merchants so one client payment is split and routed to each person's own wallet and payouts, which is a real answer to the commission-and-rent arithmetic of the industry. Holds happen: the one-star Trustpilot reviews in September 2026 include an owner unable to withdraw a balance and referred to 'another team' with no timeline, and Fresha's reply confirms that payout issues can require review by a specialised team.

Reputation

Fresha's Trustpilot profile shows 4.8 from 7,056 reviews, 88% five-star and 8% one-star, with 3,744 reviews in the last twelve months; the profile has been claimed since December 2021, invites reviews and replies to 98% of negative ones. Most five-star reviews name a support agent, so the score measures the chat team more than the product. The negatives cluster around the 2025 move to subscriptions, the marketplace minimum on cheap services, held payouts, and — from ex-employees of salons — difficulty deleting identity documents uploaded to set up a work profile. No lawsuit, regulatory action or advertising ruling against Fresha was found; the only litigation located is a 2024 patent suit in the Eastern District of Texas of the kind filed against most software companies.

Bottom line

Fresha earns a B+. The payments product is exactly what a salon wants — published rates that beat the general-purpose aggregators in person on a typical salon ticket, deposits and no-show fees wired into booking, next-day money, and nothing to sign or cancel — and the company behind it is profitable and well backed. What keeps it out of the A range is the same thing that makes it work: it is a platform first, so the subscription, the marketplace commission and the aggregator's power to hold funds all come with the rate card. If you run your business on Fresha, use its payments. If you do not, there is no reason to.

Processing Rates

Online

2.79% + $0.20 per transaction for online bookings, deposits, prepayments, self-checkout links, QR codes and saved cards

Card-not-present, e-commerce, and online payments

In-person

2.29% + $0.20 per transaction on a Fresha card terminal (Verifone V400m with lifetime free 4G, from $139 per device or free subject to processing volume), plus $0.10 per Tap to Pay authorisation on iPhone or Android (US rate card, September 2026)

Card-present retail and point-of-sale transactions

Keyed

3.30% + $0.20 per transaction for manually entered card details

Manually entered card-not-present transactions

International

Rate cards are published per country and priced in local currency; Fresha processes in more than 100 currencies with settlement in 18 through Adyen. Klarna buy-now-pay-later costs 5.99% + $0.30 per transaction; Afterpay is also offered at checkout in supported markets.

Cross-border and foreign currency transactions

Fees

Monthly Fee

$19.95 a month (Independent, one bookable team member) or $14.95 per bookable team member a month (Team); 7-day trial; Enterprise pricing above 20 team members. Payments are optional and carry no separate monthly fee.

Recurring monthly account fee

PCI Compliance Fee

None charged; Fresha's checkout is tokenised and 3D Secure is applied to online payments.

Annual PCI DSS compliance and security fee

Statement Fee

No statement fee. Marketplace new-client commission 20% one-off with a $6 minimum per client (returning clients free). Communications: 100 texts and 50 marketing emails free a month (per team member on Team), then $0.02 per text or email, $0.04–$0.11 per WhatsApp message, $0.08 per marketing text. Add-ons: AI Concierge $99.95, Client Loyalty $59.95, Google Rating Boost $14.95 and Data Connector $295 per location a month; Insights $9.95 per bookable team member; Team Connect $2.95 per team member; Smart Website $15.95; premium phone support $14.95 a month on Independent (included on Team). Chargeback fees are not stated on the pricing page. Rates exclude sales tax. All from fresha.com/pricing as of September 2026.

Monthly account statement and reporting fee

Early Termination Fee

None — no minimum commitment; cancel the subscription from Settings > Billing at any time and it does not renew.

Fee for canceling before contract end

Payouts

Standard Payout Time

Next business day (daily payouts, default)

Regular deposit schedule to your bank account

Expedited Payout Time

No instant payout. Daily payouts send funds collected before midnight the next business day once the balance exceeds 50 in local currency; weekly and monthly schedules are available, or 'never' to keep funds in the business wallet for manual transfers. Weekend and holiday takings go out the next business day and the transfer can take up to two days to land.

Faster deposit option (may have additional fees)

Contract Terms

Flexible Contract Terms

This provider offers month-to-month terms with no long-term commitment.

Contract Length

Month to month; no contract

Required commitment period

Cancellation Process

Cancel the plan under Settings > Billing > Subscriptions; the subscription stops renewing, workspace access is removed and the marketplace profile is unlisted, with reviews retained if you reactivate. Payments can be disabled separately. No termination fee; terminal devices are bought outright.

How to terminate your account

Fresha Pricing Calculator

Estimate your monthly costs

Pick a published plan, enter your volume and transaction profile, and we’ll compute the math the same way an underwriter would. Real costs vary with card mix, chargeback rate, and any negotiated terms.

$
$
Estimated Monthly Cost
$338.95
Effective Rate
3.39%
Discount rate (2.79% × $10,000)$279.00
Per-transaction fees ($0.20 × 200)$40.00
Monthly fee$19.95
Number of transactions200

Flat all-in rate (interchange built in)

Chapter 3

What you actually get

Products, integrations, payment-type coverage, security posture, and how their support holds up in practice.

Products & Services

payment processing

Fresha Payments

2.29% + $0.20 in person; 2.79% + $0.20 online; 3.30% + $0.20 keyed
None

Embedded card acceptance across the booking flow — online deposits and prepayments, in-store checkout, self-checkout links, QR codes, saved cards, gift cards and multi-card payments — run on Adyen for Platforms with fraud screening and 3D Secure. Optional; the software works without it.

pos

Card terminals and Tap to Pay

Terminals from $139 per device, or free subject to processing volume; Tap to Pay $0.10 per authorisation on top of the in-person rate
None

Verifone V400m terminals with built-in lifetime 4G and Wi-Fi, chip and PIN, contactless and wallets, synced to the calendar so the amount is sent to the device automatically; Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android with no hardware.

other

Booking software and marketplace

$19.95 a month (Independent) or $14.95 per bookable team member (Team); marketplace new clients 20% one-off, $6 minimum
Monthly

Calendar, online booking through your own link, Instagram and Facebook, waitlists, client records, consultation forms, retail and inventory, memberships and packages, reporting, marketing and team management, plus a consumer marketplace listing.

other

No-show protection and payment policies

Included; card fees apply to amounts charged
None

Collect deposits or store card details at booking, charge cancellation and no-show fees, refund deposits, and let clients pay in full upfront.

other

Merchants (independent team members)

Included on Team
None

Adds chair renters and freelancers as separate merchants inside one workspace so a client pays once and the money is split and routed to each person's Fresha wallet with their own payouts.

cash advance

Fresha Capital

Flat fee per offer
Until repaid

Merchant cash advance offered inside the account to eligible businesses — instant approval, a single flat fee, repaid automatically as a percentage of daily Fresha card takings.

payment processing

Buy now, pay later

Klarna 5.99% + $0.30 per transaction
None

Klarna and Afterpay instalments at checkout in supported countries.

Support & Contact

Chapter 6

Common questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Pricing

In the United States, as of September 2026: 2.29% plus $0.20 per in-person transaction on a Fresha terminal, plus $0.10 per authorisation if you use Tap to Pay on a phone; 2.79% plus $0.20 for online payments, deposits and saved cards; 3.30% plus $0.20 for manually keyed cards; and 5.99% plus $0.30 for Klarna instalments. There is no monthly fee for payments, no contract and no PCI fee. Terminals cost from $139 or are free subject to processing volume. Rates differ by country and are shown on the local pricing page.

Features

General

Contracts & Terms

Support

How we evaluated Fresha

We evaluate every payment processor independently — Payment Review does not accept paid placement. Our analysis combines hands-on product testing where possible, public pricing and policy documents, third-party reviews from BBB, Trustpilot, Google, and G2, and employee feedback from sites like Glassdoor and Indeed. We update reviews on a rolling cadence and flag the next review date so readers know how fresh the analysis is.

Last fact-checked September 19, 2026Reviewed by Payment Review Editorial Team

Was this review helpful?

Share this review

Share via Email

Found something inaccurate or out of date?

Suggest a correction. Our editorial team reviews every submission and updates reviews on a rolling cadence.

Work at Fresha?

Claim this listing with an email at your own domain to file corrections and track them. Claiming does not let you change the grade, the verdict or the ratings.

Claim this listing →

Not sure Fresha is the right fit?

Answer a few questions and we will rank every provider we have graded against what your business actually needs.

Get matched free

Free. Providers are ranked on fit and editorial grade — no one can pay to appear higher.

See something wrong? Suggest an edit →

Alternatives

VagaroB · 3.5% + $0.19 per transaction on both plans. Vagaro treats every online payment as keyed-in: online booking deposits and prepayments, purchases from your booking page, recurring membership and package charges, cards on file, and online Apple Pay or Google Pay payments.FreshBooks PaymentsB- · 2.9% + $0.30 on domestic consumer Visa, Mastercard, Discover and other cards, including Apple Pay and Google Pay; 3.5% + $0.30 on American Express and on commercial, corporate and business cards of any brand; ACH bank transfer 1% of the invoice, uncapped except on the Select plan, US only; Affirm and Afterpay buy-now-pay-later 6% + $0.30. USD fee schedule from FreshBooks' support article, as of September 2026; Canadian accounts are priced separately.Truist Merchant ServicesB- · Not published. Truist resells the Authorize.net gateway for online, virtual-terminal, eCheck and recurring billing, and its site advertises integration with 'leading shopping carts and payment gateways'.

Merchant Reviews

No merchant has reviewed Fresha here yet. Be the first to share your experience.

Share your Fresha experience

Never published. Used only if we need to contact you about this review.

Quick Navigation