Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Heartland vs Square

Comparison · Updated October 19, 2026

Heartland vs Square

VS
Heartland Payment Systems

Heartland Payment Systems

B-

A large US small-business processor founded in 1997, bought by Global Payments for $4.3 billion in 2016 and now openly in the middle of being retired as a brand — Global Payments' own page is headed "Heartland Payment Systems is now Global Payments." It still sells under the Heartland name at heartland.us, still runs the Merchant Bill of Rights it invented, and still publishes no pricing. Signing today means signing with a brand that is being folded away around you.

Read Full Review
Square

Square

A

Square offers simple, transparent payment processing ideal for small businesses. Flat-rate pricing, no monthly fees, and excellent software make it a top choice — but account holds and limited support are key concerns.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

We compare the two for a US restaurant, shop or service business that wants card processing and a point of sale, using prices published as of October 2026. Heartland is now in the middle of a rename. Global Payments has owned it since 2016, and its own page now says "Heartland Payment Systems is now Global Payments". New point-of-sale sales go out under the Genius name. heartland.us still takes sign-ups under the Heartland name, with a banner saying it is moving to the Global Payments brand. So in practice, choosing Heartland today means a Global Payments account and, for a new POS, Genius. In person, Global Payments advertises rates from 2.6% + 10¢ on every Genius plan, but only for "certain" transactions, and it publishes no online or keyed rate. Square publishes all of them: 2.6% + 15¢ in person on its free plan, 2.5% + 15¢ on Plus and 2.4% + 15¢ on Premium, with online and invoice payments at 3.3% + 30¢ on Free and 2.9% + 30¢ on paid plans. Genius software starts at $0, $42 or $129 a month for a single station. Square's plans cost $0, $49 or $149 a month per location. The biggest difference is commitment. Heartland's posted processing terms set a 36-month term that renews each year, with a $295 early termination fee per location. Square has no contract and no termination fee, and pays out the next business day at no charge. Heartland's advantage is support: live phone help around the clock, which Square gives only on Premium. Payment Review grades Square A and Heartland B-.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓Square is the better choice for most small businesses: every rate is published, there is no contract or termination fee, and payouts arrive the next business day at no charge.
  • ✓In-person rates are close at list price. Global Payments advertises Genius from 2.6% + 10¢, but only for certain in-person transactions and only for merchants that qualify. Square charges 2.6% + 15¢ on Free, 2.5% + 15¢ on Plus and 2.4% + 15¢ on Premium. Heartland publishes no online or keyed rate. Square charges 3.3% + 30¢ online on Free, 2.9% + 30¢ on paid plans, and 3.5% + 15¢ keyed.
  • ✓Heartland asks for a longer commitment. Its posted merchant processing terms run 36 months, then renew a year at a time unless you give 60 days' written notice, with a $295 early termination fee per location. Square has neither.
  • ✓Heartland's support is broader: it advertises 24/7/365 live phone support. Square's phone line is open 6am to 6pm PT on weekdays (first 90 days only on Free), and runs 24/7 only on the $149 Premium plan.
  • ✓Heartland is being renamed Global Payments, and its POS is now sold as Genius. A contract signed today will probably move to Global Payments' branding, portals and statements over its term.

Heartland Payment Systems

Choose Heartland (now Global Payments with Genius POS) if 24/7 live phone support matters to you or if your volume lets you negotiate interchange-plus. Get the rate, the term and the termination fee in writing before you sign.

Square

Choose Square if you want prices you can check before you sign, no contract and free next-business-day payouts. Its free plan lets you start without a monthly fee, and you can move to Plus or Premium as you grow.

Overall Winner

Square
🏆 Winner

Square

Aexpert grade
Heartland Payment Systems
Runner-up

Heartland Payment Systems

Why?

Square is the better choice for most US small businesses. Every rate it charges is on its pricing page, from 2.6% + 15¢ in person on the free plan to 2.4% + 15¢ on Premium. It has no contract, no termination fee and no chargeback fee, and pays out the next business day at no charge. Heartland, now sold as Global Payments with Genius POS, advertises a slightly lower in-person starting rate of 2.6% + 10¢. But that rate applies only to certain transactions, and Heartland publishes no online or keyed rate. Its posted processing terms also tie you in for 36 months with a $295 termination fee per location. Heartland's clearest advantage is 24/7 live phone support, which Square includes only on its $149-a-month Premium plan.

Read Square Full Review
Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Card rates (US, as of October 2026)

Card rates (US, as of October 2026): Heartland Payment Systems compared with Square.
FeatureHeartland Payment SystemsSquare
In person: tap, dip or swipe
From 2.6% + 10¢
2.6% + 15¢ (Free); 2.5% + 15¢ (Plus); 2.4% + 15¢ (Premium)
Global Payments' pricing page lists 2.6% + $0.10 per transaction on each Genius plan, with a footnote saying the rate applies "to certain in-person card transactions". heartland.us lists the same 2.6% + 10¢ as a starting price, and says not all merchants or transactions qualify for flat-rate pricing and that card-network assessment increases may be added. Square charges every major card brand the same rate, and adds 1.5% on cards issued outside the US. At list prices, a $40 sale costs $1.14 at 2.6% + 10¢ and $1.19 on Square Free. Heartland's figure is a starting price, so we give no winner.
Online and invoice payments
Not disclosed
3.3% + 30¢ (Free); 2.9% + 30¢ (Plus, Premium)
Global Payments says rates for online, card-not-present and other transaction types "may vary", and quotes them only through sales. Square's online rate covers its online store and invoices. Payments through Square's APIs are 2.9% + 30¢ on every plan.
Keyed or card on file
Not disclosed
3.5% + 15¢ on every plan
Pricing model
Flat rate or interchange-plus, quoted per business
Flat rate, published; custom pricing above $250,000 a year
heartland.us says it offers "customized flat rate and interchange plus pricing". With interchange-plus you pay the card networks' cost plus a markup, and Heartland does not publish the markup. Square Pro offers custom pricing to businesses that process more than $250,000 a year.

In person: tap, dip or swipe

Heartland Payment Systems
From 2.6% + 10¢
Square
2.6% + 15¢ (Free); 2.5% + 15¢ (Plus); 2.4% + 15¢ (Premium)
Global Payments' pricing page lists 2.6% + $0.10 per transaction on each Genius plan, with a footnote saying the rate applies "to certain in-person card transactions". heartland.us lists the same 2.6% + 10¢ as a starting price, and says not all merchants or transactions qualify for flat-rate pricing and that card-network assessment increases may be added. Square charges every major card brand the same rate, and adds 1.5% on cards issued outside the US. At list prices, a $40 sale costs $1.14 at 2.6% + 10¢ and $1.19 on Square Free. Heartland's figure is a starting price, so we give no winner.

Online and invoice payments

Heartland Payment Systems
Not disclosed
Square
3.3% + 30¢ (Free); 2.9% + 30¢ (Plus, Premium)
Global Payments says rates for online, card-not-present and other transaction types "may vary", and quotes them only through sales. Square's online rate covers its online store and invoices. Payments through Square's APIs are 2.9% + 30¢ on every plan.

Keyed or card on file

Heartland Payment Systems
Not disclosed
Square
3.5% + 15¢ on every plan

Pricing model

Heartland Payment Systems
Flat rate or interchange-plus, quoted per business
Square
Flat rate, published; custom pricing above $250,000 a year
heartland.us says it offers "customized flat rate and interchange plus pricing". With interchange-plus you pay the card networks' cost plus a markup, and Heartland does not publish the markup. Square Pro offers custom pricing to businesses that process more than $250,000 a year.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

New or seasonal business, food truck or market stall

Square
Recommended
Square
View the Square review

Square Free has no monthly fee and no contract, a $59 reader is enough to start, and you pay only 2.6% + 15¢ when you take a card. Heartland's 36-month term and $295 termination fee are a poor fit for a business that may close for the season.

Shop or salon that also sells online or sends invoices

Square
Recommended
Square
View the Square review

Square publishes its online and invoice rate: 3.3% + 30¢ on Free and 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus or Premium. Its online store, invoices and in-person sales all run on one account. Heartland quotes online rates only through sales, so you cannot compare them before you talk to a rep.

Full-service restaurant that wants around-the-clock phone support

Heartland Payment Systems
Recommended
Heartland Payment Systems
View the Heartland Payment Systems review

Heartland and Genius advertise 24/7/365 live phone support. On Square, 24/7 phone support needs Premium at $149 a month per location. Before you sign, get Heartland's in-person, online and keyed rates, the contract term and the termination fee in writing.

Established business processing well over $250,000 a year

Both. At this volume, both will quote custom pricing. Heartland offers interchange-plus, and Square Pro has custom rates above $250,000 a year. Ask each for a quote on the same recent month of sales, and compare the markup and any monthly fees as well as the term.

Heartland Payment Systems: Best for 1 use case
Square: Best for 2 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

In person, the advertised rates are close. Global Payments advertises Heartland's Genius from 2.6% + 10¢, but only for certain transactions, and Square charges 2.6% + 15¢ on its free plan or 2.4% + 15¢ on Premium, as of October 2026. Square also publishes its online rate (3.3% + 30¢ on Free, 2.9% + 30¢ on paid plans) and its keyed rate (3.5% + 15¢). Heartland publishes neither. Square has no termination fee. Heartland's posted terms charge $295 per location if you leave before 36 months are up, so include that in your sums.

The company does, but the name is going. Global Payments, which has owned Heartland since 2016, says Heartland Payment Systems is now Global Payments, and it sells new point-of-sale systems under the Genius name. As of October 2026, heartland.us is still live and taking sign-ups under the Heartland name, and existing customers keep their accounts and portals.

Heartland's merchant processing terms, still posted on its InfoCentral portal, set a 36-month term that renews for a year at a time unless you give 60 days' written notice before it ends. Leaving early can cost $295 per location. Those terms date from 2016, and Global Payments says contract terms vary by how you sign up, so check the agreement you are given. Square has no contract and no early termination fee.

Square pays card sales into your bank account the next business day at no charge, or instantly for 1.95% per transfer. Global Payments says standard funding for Heartland and Genius merchants takes 1 to 3 business days. Next-day, same-day and Instant Deposit (up to $10,000 per transfer) are available, but Heartland publishes no price for them.

Heartland advertises 24/7/365 live phone support. Square's phone support runs 6am to 6pm PT on weekdays on Plus, and for the first 90 days on Free. It is 24/7 only on the $149-a-month Premium plan. Chat and email support are included on every Square plan.

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

Shift4 vs Square for restaurants

View comparison

GlossGenius vs Square for salons

View comparison

Zeller vs Square for Australian businesses

View comparison
View All Comparisons