Comparison · Updated October 10, 2026

Shift4 Payments is a full-service payment processor and POS provider specializing in integrated commerce solutions for restaurants, hospitality, retail, and enterprise merchants.
Square offers simple, transparent payment processing ideal for small businesses. Flat-rate pricing, no monthly fees, and excellent software make it a top choice — but account holds and limited support are key concerns.
This compares Shift4's restaurant point of sale with Square for Restaurants in the US, using Shift4's published terms and Square's published prices as of October 2026. Shift4's system was called SkyTab until 12 May 2026, when it was renamed Shift4 Dine; Shift4 told customers the software, account setup and support would not change. The two are sold in opposite ways. Square publishes everything. Software is $0, $49 or $149 a month per location, in-person cards cost 2.6%, 2.5% or 2.4% + 15¢ depending on the plan, there is no contract and no early termination fee, and you buy the hardware. Shift4 publishes no processing rate. The description of its pricing page says pricing starts at $29.99, without saying what that figure covers, and the monthly fee includes hardware with a lifetime warranty, 24/7 support and free loyalty, reservations and a website builder. The cost is in the terms. Shift4's merchant processing agreement runs 36 months and renews yearly. Leaving early costs a per-device monthly fee of $100 to $750, set by your volume, for every month left. Shift4's terms also set $439.99 a year per device in regulatory and program fees, and the hardware goes back to Shift4 when you leave. Payment Review grades Square A and Shift4 B+.
Shift4 suits an established full-service restaurant or bar that wants to open or re-equip with no hardware outlay, values 24/7 support, on-site installation and a lifetime hardware warranty, and is confident it will stay three years. Get the rate, the monthly service fee per workstation and the termination tier in writing before signing.
Square suits most independent restaurants, cafés and quick-service counters: prices are published, there is no contract or exit fee, you own the hardware and payouts arrive the next business day. A full-service room needs Plus at $49 a month for split checks, bar tabs and tableside ordering.

Square is the better choice for most US restaurants, which matches the site's grades (A against B+). Every price that matters is published, you can leave at any time without a fee, you own the hardware, and payouts arrive the next business day. Shift4 publishes no processing rate, its agreement runs 36 months, and leaving early costs a per-device fee for every remaining month, which reaches five figures for a mid-sized restaurant. Each device also carries $439.99 a year in fixed fees, and the hardware goes back when you leave. Shift4 is the stronger offer on what it bundles: no hardware outlay, a lifetime warranty, 24/7 phone support for everyone, on-site installation and free loyalty, reservations and a website builder. For an established full-service restaurant that will stay three years and negotiates a good rate, that can be worth it. Compare its written quote with what Square Plus or Premium would cost at the same volume.
| Feature | Shift4 | Square |
|---|---|---|
| Published monthly price | From $29.99 (what it covers not stated); quoted per restaurant | $0 (Free), $49 (Plus) or $149 (Premium) per location Winner |
| The $29.99 figure appears only in the description of Shift4 Dine's pricing page, which does not say whether it is per workstation or per location. The page itself shows no prices. Shift4's service agreement bills a Total Monthly Service Fee and a Software Support Fee per terminal, both set in the merchant's own Exhibit A. Shift4 resellers advertise prices too, but those are their offers, not Shift4's terms, so they are not used here. Square Plus and Premium have a 30-day free trial and can be cancelled or switched at any time. Square quotes custom pricing to businesses processing more than $250,000 a year. | ||
| What the monthly fee covers | Software, hardware with lifetime warranty, 24/7 support, back office and mobile app | Software only; hardware bought separately |
| This is from Shift4's pricing FAQ. Square's plans include next-day transfers, offline payments and fraud prevention on every tier. | ||
| Guest-facing tools included | Marketing and loyalty, reservations and waitlist, QR order and pay, website builder, all advertised free | Online ordering page on every plan; loyalty, email marketing and automated campaigns on Plus and Premium |
| Shift4's pricing page labels these four tools free. Square's restaurant plan table lists no reservations tool. Split or reopened checks, preauthorized bar tabs, tableside ordering, timecards and shift scheduling are not included in Square Free, so Plus at $49 a month is the realistic starting point for a full-service restaurant. | ||
| Kitchen display and kiosk software | Not disclosed | KDS $30 (Plus) or $20 (Premium) per device a month; kiosk $50 or $30; neither on Free |
| Shift4 sells a kitchen display and a self-order kiosk as part of Shift4 Dine but publishes no price for either. | ||
| Online ordering | Commission-free, built into the POS; $34.99 a month Online Ordering Enablement fee in Shift4's terms | Commission-free ordering profile on every plan, with pickup and local delivery |
| Shift4's merchant processing terms (section 5.4.9) set a $34.99 monthly fee for a POS-integrated online ordering and delivery solution, and a $49.99 monthly fee for its xDine ordering platform (5.4.10). Shift4 does not say whether every Shift4 Dine merchant pays it, so no winner is given. Both systems pull DoorDash orders into the POS. Shift4's integration directory also lists Uber Eats, ChowNow, Deliverect and about 65 other partners, though some serve only countries outside the US. | ||
Recommendations based on your business type
Square has no contract and no exit fee, and you keep the hardware you bought. Shift4's 36-month term charges $100 to $750 per device for each month left if you close or switch early, and its $150 monthly inactivity fee per device can apply while you are closed.

Shift4 Dine puts workstations, handhelds and displays in for $0 upfront with a lifetime warranty, includes on-site installation from four workstations (from two at $599, waivable on volume) and offers 24/7 support. Square would mean buying Register at $899 or Handheld at $399 per device. Get Shift4's rate, monthly fee and termination tier in writing before you sign.
Square Free costs $0 a month and charges 2.6% + 15¢ in person, with an online ordering page included. Plus costs less than Free only above $49,000 a month in in-person card sales. Shift4's $439.99 a year in fixed fees per device is a large share of costs for a small counter.

Shift4 includes 24/7/365 technical support, with phone among its channels, in every agreement. Square's phone support runs 6am to 6pm PT on weekdays unless you pay $149 a month per location for Premium.
Square publishes its plan prices, every processing rate, hardware prices and payout fees. Shift4 publishes its terms but no rate and no clear monthly price, so the main costs only appear in a quote.
Common questions about this comparison
Explore more payment processor matchups