Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Mangopay vs Stripe Connect for European marketplaces

Comparison · Updated October 13, 2026

Mangopay vs Stripe Connect for European marketplaces

VS
Mangopay

Mangopay

B-

Mangopay is payment infrastructure for marketplaces and platforms rather than a processor a shop signs up with. It launched in 2013 as a spin-off of the French group-gifting site Leetchi, was bought by Crédit Mutuel Arkéa in 2015, and has been majority-owned by Advent International since April 2022, which put €75 million of new capital in at the same time; Sergi Herrero, previously global director for payments and commerce partnerships at Meta, has been chief executive since September 2024. Mangopay S.A. is registered in Luxembourg and licensed by the CSSF as an electronic money institution, which is the core of the product: it can open an e-wallet for every buyer and seller on a platform, hold funds there, split a payment between several parties, and pay out later — the money movement a marketplace legally cannot do itself without a licence of its own. Its UK arm, Mangopay U.K. Limited, has been an FCA-authorised electronic money institution since 2023, under firm reference 984753. The company says it has created 207 million wallets and processed €68 billion in transactions, and its named clients are the big European marketplaces: Vinted, Wallapop, Chrono24, Rakuten France, ManoMano, Malt, Mirakl. It bought the Polish anti-fraud firm Nethone in November 2022 and the Dublin payment orchestrator WhenThen in March 2023, and now sells fraud screening, identity verification, FX across twenty-plus wallet currencies, payouts in thirty-plus countries and virtual IBANs alongside the core wallet. What it does not do is publish prices: pricing is custom and volume-based, quoted per platform, with no self-serve tier and no public rate card.

Read Full Review
Stripe

Stripe

A

Stripe is a leading payment processor known for its developer-friendly API, transparent pricing, and comprehensive suite of payment solutions for businesses of all sizes.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

This compares the two as payment infrastructure for a marketplace or platform based in the eurozone, using what each published in October 2026, with Stripe's Ireland and France pricing (they are identical). Stripe wins for most marketplaces. Its rates are public: 1.5% + €0.25 for standard EEA cards, and on the Connect model where the platform sets its sellers' pricing, €2 per monthly active account plus 0.25% + €0.10 per payout. It supports more payment methods, offers 24/7 support and has the deeper developer tooling, and Stripe is available to businesses in 51 countries and regions. Mangopay publishes no rates for platforms: every contract is quoted by its sales team, there is no free tier or self-serve plan, and only platforms registered in the EEA or the UK can sign up. What Mangopay does better is hold money. It is an e-money institution licensed in Luxembourg that gives every user a wallet and lets a platform hold funds there with no fixed time limit, while Stripe says it does not provide escrow and requires funds held with manual payouts on an EEA connected account to be paid out within 90 days. A marketplace whose model depends on holding buyers' money for months, such as rentals booked far ahead, crowdfunding or milestone-based services, should get a Mangopay quote. Payment Review grades Stripe A and Mangopay B-.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓Stripe is the better choice for most European marketplaces: public pricing (1.5% + €0.25 on standard EEA cards; €2 per monthly active account plus 0.25% + €0.10 per payout if the platform sets sellers' pricing, or no Connect fees if Stripe bills sellers directly), 100+ payment methods and 24/7 support.
  • ✓Mangopay publishes no rates, setup fees or minimums. Its pricing page says pricing is custom, volume-based and quoted by sales, with no free tier or self-serve plan, so the cost of the two cannot be compared without a quote.
  • ✓Mangopay is built for holding money: its pricing page lists unlimited time balance on user wallets, and its docs say platforms can hold funds as long as needed, though its user terms treat a wallet with no activity for two years as inactive. Stripe says it does not provide escrow; funds held on a connected account with manual payouts must be paid out within 90 days for EEA accounts (2 years in the US, 10 days in Thailand).
  • ✓Both are e-money institutions: Mangopay S.A. supervised by Luxembourg's CSSF, and Stripe's EEA entity, Stripe Technology Europe Limited, by the Central Bank of Ireland. Mangopay only signs platforms registered in the EEA or the UK.
  • ✓Both require sellers to pass identity checks before they can be paid. Mangopay requires every EEA platform to use its hosted KYC/KYB flow and blocks all payouts until a user is verified; Stripe's hosted or embedded Connect onboarding is included in its pricing.

Mangopay

Mangopay suits an established marketplace or platform registered in the EEA or the UK that needs to hold buyers' and sellers' money in wallets for long or open-ended periods, split it between several parties and pay out across Europe, and that is prepared to go through a sales process to learn the price.

Stripe

Stripe suits most marketplaces and platforms, including early-stage ones, that want published pricing, quick self-serve onboarding for sellers, 100+ payment methods, round-the-clock support and strong developer tools, and that pay sellers out within 90 days of a sale.

Overall Winner

Stripe
🏆 Winner

Stripe

Aexpert grade
Mangopay
Runner-up

Mangopay

Why?

For most European marketplaces Stripe Connect is the better choice, and that matches Payment Review's grades (Stripe A, Mangopay B-). Its rates are public, it charges no Connect fees if Stripe bills sellers directly or €2 per active account plus 0.25% + €0.10 per payout if the platform sets its sellers' pricing, it supports 100+ payment methods, offers 24/7 support and has the broader developer tooling, and Stripe is available to businesses in 51 countries and regions. Mangopay cannot be priced without a sales process and only signs platforms registered in the EEA or the UK. Its clear strength is holding money: wallets can hold funds with no fixed time limit under its Luxembourg e-money licence, while Stripe requires funds held on an EEA connected account to be paid out within 90 days and says it does not provide escrow. If your model needs that, get a Mangopay quote.

Read Stripe Full Review
Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Pricing (eurozone, as published October 2026)

Pricing (eurozone, as published October 2026): Mangopay compared with Stripe.
FeatureMangopayStripe
Public rate card
No; custom quote only
Yes
Winner
Mangopay's pricing page says pricing is tailored to each platform by volume, the products activated (pay-in, wallets, FX, identity, fraud, payout) and the payment flows required, that higher volume means lower fees, and that it has no free tier or self-serve starter plan. Stripe publishes its card, payment-method, dispute and Connect fees and also offers custom pricing for large volumes.
Standard EEA consumer card, online
Not disclosed
1.5% + €0.25
Stripe's Ireland and France pricing pages both list 1.5% + €0.25 for standard EEA cards and 2.8% + €0.25 for premium EEA cards. Mangopay publishes no card rate.
International (non-EEA) card, online
Not disclosed
3.15% + €0.25
Stripe charges 2.5% + €0.25 on UK cards and 3.15% + €0.25 on other international cards, plus 2% if currency conversion is needed.
Marketplace fees on top of processing
Not disclosed
€2 per active account per month + 0.25% + €0.10 per payout
Stripe's figures apply when the platform handles pricing for its sellers (the model Stripe recommends for marketplaces): the platform pays Stripe's processing fees and charges sellers its own. An account is active in any month it receives a payout. If Stripe bills connected accounts for processing directly, there are no account, payout or onboarding fees for the platform. Under both models, Instant Payouts cost 1% of payout volume and cross-border payouts start at 0.25%. Mangopay's pricing page lists payout pricing that depends on country zones but publishes no figures.
Cost of paying one seller €1,000 in a month
Not disclosed
€4.60 (€2 account fee + €2.60 payout fee)
Stripe's Connect fees only, under the platform-handles-pricing model, for one €1,000 payout in a month; card processing on the underlying sales is charged separately. Mangopay's equivalent depends on the contract.
Setup or monthly fee
Not disclosed
None
Stripe's pricing page says there are no setup, monthly or hidden fees on standard pricing. Mangopay invoices its commission monthly, within five business days of the start of the month, and deducts it from the fees the platform has collected in its fees wallet; any shortfall is taken by direct debit.

Public rate card

Mangopay
No; custom quote only
Stripe
Yes
Winner
Mangopay's pricing page says pricing is tailored to each platform by volume, the products activated (pay-in, wallets, FX, identity, fraud, payout) and the payment flows required, that higher volume means lower fees, and that it has no free tier or self-serve starter plan. Stripe publishes its card, payment-method, dispute and Connect fees and also offers custom pricing for large volumes.

Standard EEA consumer card, online

Mangopay
Not disclosed
Stripe
1.5% + €0.25
Stripe's Ireland and France pricing pages both list 1.5% + €0.25 for standard EEA cards and 2.8% + €0.25 for premium EEA cards. Mangopay publishes no card rate.

International (non-EEA) card, online

Mangopay
Not disclosed
Stripe
3.15% + €0.25
Stripe charges 2.5% + €0.25 on UK cards and 3.15% + €0.25 on other international cards, plus 2% if currency conversion is needed.

Marketplace fees on top of processing

Mangopay
Not disclosed
Stripe
€2 per active account per month + 0.25% + €0.10 per payout
Stripe's figures apply when the platform handles pricing for its sellers (the model Stripe recommends for marketplaces): the platform pays Stripe's processing fees and charges sellers its own. An account is active in any month it receives a payout. If Stripe bills connected accounts for processing directly, there are no account, payout or onboarding fees for the platform. Under both models, Instant Payouts cost 1% of payout volume and cross-border payouts start at 0.25%. Mangopay's pricing page lists payout pricing that depends on country zones but publishes no figures.

Cost of paying one seller €1,000 in a month

Mangopay
Not disclosed
Stripe
€4.60 (€2 account fee + €2.60 payout fee)
Stripe's Connect fees only, under the platform-handles-pricing model, for one €1,000 payout in a month; card processing on the underlying sales is charged separately. Mangopay's equivalent depends on the contract.

Setup or monthly fee

Mangopay
Not disclosed
Stripe
None
Stripe's pricing page says there are no setup, monthly or hidden fees on standard pricing. Mangopay invoices its commission monthly, within five business days of the start of the month, and deducts it from the fees the platform has collected in its fees wallet; any shortfall is taken by direct debit.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Early-stage European marketplace launching its first payments flow

Stripe
Recommended
Stripe
View the Stripe review

Stripe's pricing is public (1.5% + €0.25 on standard EEA cards, and no Connect fees if Stripe bills sellers directly), onboarding is self-serve, and it has no setup or monthly fee. Mangopay has no self-serve plan and quotes every platform individually.

Rental, travel or crowdfunding platform that holds buyers' money for months

Mangopay
Recommended
Mangopay
View the Mangopay review

Mangopay's wallets set no fixed time limit on holding funds. With Stripe, funds held with manual payouts on an EEA connected account must be paid out within 90 days, and Stripe says it does not provide escrow.

Platform based outside the EEA and the UK

Stripe
Recommended
Stripe
View the Stripe review

Mangopay only works with platforms registered in the EEA or the UK. Stripe is available in 51 countries and regions, and EEA, UK, US, Canadian and Swiss platforms can pay sellers across those regions.

Large EEA marketplace with high volume negotiating custom terms

Both. Mangopay's prices fall as volume rises and Stripe offers custom pricing for large volumes, including interchange-plus for connected accounts. Neither publishes its negotiated rates, so get both quotes in writing and compare the total of processing, wallet, payout and verification fees.

Platform that needs support at night or at weekends

Stripe
Recommended
Stripe
View the Stripe review

Stripe lists 24/7 support by email, phone and chat. Mangopay offers enterprise support through its Dashboard but publishes no hours.

Mangopay: Best for 1 use case
Stripe: Best for 3 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

It cannot be said from public information, because Mangopay publishes no rates for platforms. Its pricing is custom and volume-based, quoted by its sales team, with no free tier. Stripe's Ireland and France pricing is 1.5% + €0.25 for standard EEA cards, and if the platform sets its sellers' pricing, Connect adds €2 per monthly active account and 0.25% + €0.10 per payout.

Not as escrow. Stripe says it does not provide escrow services, but a platform can delay payouts with manual payouts. The funds must then be paid out within 90 days for connected accounts in most countries, including the EEA, within 2 years in the US and within 10 days in Thailand. Mangopay's wallets have no fixed time limit, although its user terms treat a wallet with no activity for two years as inactive.

Yes. Mangopay S.A. is an electronic money institution approved by Luxembourg's CSSF, and UK platforms contract with Mangopay U.K. Ltd. Advent International agreed to take a majority stake in April 2022. Stripe's EEA entity, Stripe Technology Europe Limited, is an electronic money institution authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland.

No. Mangopay only works with platforms registered in one of the 30 EEA countries or the UK. A US platform would need a provider such as Stripe Connect.

Mangopay sends EUR payouts from a seller's wallet the same business day by SEPA Credit Transfer if requested before 12:30 CET, or instantly by SEPA Instant. Stripe makes funds available 7 days after a new account's first payment, then on a 3-business-day schedule in eurozone countries; Instant Payouts cost 1% of the payout.

Yes, with both. Mangopay requires EEA platforms to use its hosted KYC/KYB flow and blocks payouts until a user is verified. Stripe Connect collects verification through Stripe-hosted, embedded or custom onboarding, included in its pricing.

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

HitPay vs Stripe for Singapore businesses

View comparison

Finix vs Stripe for embedded payments

View comparison

QuickBooks Payments vs Stripe

View comparison
View All Comparisons