Comparison · Updated October 23, 2026

Paystone is a London, Ontario payment processor that calls itself Canada's largest bank-independent payment processor. It was founded in 2009 as Zomaron by Tarique Al-Ansari, who remains chief executive, rebranded to Paystone in November 2019 when it bought the Montreal gift-card and loyalty company DataCandy, and has since grown by acquisition — NiceJob in 2021, Canadian Payment Services in 2022 and the TSXV-listed loyalty firm Ackroo, for about C$21 million, in 2025 — on the back of roughly C$99 million raised in 2021, including C$30 million (about US$23.8 million) from Crédit Mutuel Equity. Its website says it serves more than 38,000 business locations and processes over $10 billion a year. The offer is interchange-plus with published starting points: in-person credit from 1.26% + 5¢ and debit from 5¢ a transaction on a $5-a-month merchant account, online credit from 2.27% + 25¢ on a $15-a-month gateway, a $99 setup fee, no locked-in contract, no cancellation fee and next-business-day deposits. Terminals range from the Ingenico Desk/5000 and Move/5000 to Clover Flex, Mini and Station Duo, and the processing is sold alongside its own DataCandy gift and loyalty programs and NiceJob review software. It is a registered MSP/ISO of U.S. Bank's Canadian branch and Elavon and of Wells Fargo Bank's US and Canadian branches, and a partner of Global Payments Direct and First Data Canada. The complaint record is small — third-party review sites count a handful of BBB complaints, mostly about terminal-rental billing and cancellation timing — and the company's BBB profile is currently under review. 'As low as' pricing means the real rate is a quote.

Moneris is Canada’s largest payment processor, providing point-of-sale systems, ecommerce payment gateways, and mobile payment solutions for businesses across Canada through a joint venture owned by Royal Bank of Canada and Bank of Montreal.
We compare the two for a Canadian small business paid in Canadian dollars, using each company's published prices and merchant terms as of 23 October 2026, with in-person and online figures kept separate. The two price differently. Paystone prices on interchange-plus (it publishes no flat-rate plan) and publishes 'as low as' starting rates: in-person credit from 1.26% + 5¢, Interac debit from 5¢, and online credit from 2.27% + 25¢ on its pricing page. Moneris publishes a flat rate of 2.65% + $0.10 in person and 2.85% + $0.30 online, with Interac at $0.12 in person and $1.00 online, and offers interchange-plus (Simplified Pricing) by quote. Neither number on one side is the same kind of number as on the other, so we set them side by side without declaring a winner. The contracts are closer than the marketing suggests. Paystone's pricing page said 'No locked-in contracts' and 'No cancellation fees' as late as April 2026, but its published Pay Terms set a three-year initial term that renews for six months at a time and a $295 early termination fee per unit of equipment, and those claims are gone from the page now. Moneris's April 2026 merchant agreement also runs three years with six-month renewals, and charges $300 per location when the agreement ends. Paystone rents every listed terminal at $45 a month; Moneris rents the Go Terminal at $34.95. Both companies are changing hands. Paystone has been under creditor protection (CCAA) since 5 June 2026, and a court-approved sale of its business to a company controlled by its principals had not closed by 16 October. RBC and BMO agreed on 10 August 2026 to sell Moneris to Francisco Partners for about C$2.0 billion, with closing expected by the end of January 2027.
Choose Paystone if you are an established Canadian retailer, restaurant or service business with enough card volume for interchange-plus to pay off, and you would use its DataCandy gift and loyalty or NiceJob review tools. Get the markup, the terminal rental and the termination terms in writing, and ask how the pending sale of its business affects your contract.
Choose Moneris if you want a published flat price you can check against your statement, the lowest published terminal rental of the two, and next-day deposits into an RBC or BMO business account. Read the three-year term and the $300-per-location deactivation fee before you sign.
Neither is the better choice for every business. Moneris is easier to price before you sign, because it publishes a flat rate and flat Interac fees. It also has the cheaper published terminal rental, the shorter notice period to leave and next-day deposits for RBC and BMO customers. Paystone publishes lower interchange-plus starting points and a lower in-person Interac floor, deposits next business day whatever your bank, and bundles gift, loyalty and review software it owns. But its rates are floors set in a quote, its terms carry a $295 early termination fee per unit of equipment despite its earlier no-contract claims, and it is in creditor protection while a sale to a company controlled by its principals closes. Both publish three-year terms that renew automatically.
| Feature | Paystone | Moneris |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing models offered | Interchange-plus (Cost Plus) | Flat rate or interchange-plus |
| Paystone prices on interchange-plus (it calls it Cost Plus): you pay the card networks' interchange and assessment fees plus Paystone's markup. Its pricing page shows no flat-rate plan. Moneris offers a Flat Rate plan that includes interchange and network fees, or Simplified Pricing, its interchange-plus model, priced 'based on business type and total volume processed' by quote. | ||
| In-person credit card | From 1.26% + 5¢ (interchange-plus) | 2.65% + $0.10 (flat rate) |
| These are different kinds of figures, so there is no winner. Paystone's is an 'as low as' starting point that depends on card type and volume, and its pricing page says volume discounts are available. Moneris's flat rate applies to every credit card brand it lists (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, UnionPay, Discover/JCB). Moneris does not publish its interchange-plus transaction fee. | ||
| Online credit card | From 2.27% + 25¢ (interchange-plus) | 2.85% + $0.30 (flat rate) |
| No winner, for the same reason. Paystone quotes three different online starting rates on its own site: 2.27% + 25¢ on the pricing page, 2.26% + 10¢ on the homepage and 1.26% + $0.05 on its e-commerce page. We use the pricing page and suggest you get the rate in writing. Moneris charges 2.85% + $0.30 for card-not-present credit on its Flat Rate plan, the same rate shown on its Moneris Online website plans. | ||
| Interac debit, in person | From 5¢ | $0.12 |
| Paystone's figure is an 'as low as' starting point; Moneris's $0.12 per successful transaction is the Flat Rate plan's fixed price. Paystone's floor is lower, but it is a minimum rather than a guaranteed price, so we set no winner. | ||
| Interac debit, online | Not disclosed | $1.00 |
| Moneris charges $1.00 per successful card-not-present Interac transaction on its Flat Rate plan. Paystone publishes no online Interac price. | ||
| Foreign card surcharge | Not disclosed | 0.80% |
| On the Moneris Flat Rate plan, a 0.80% foreign card payment fee applies. Under Simplified Pricing, foreign cards pay the card networks' incremental assessment fees, up to 1.00%. | ||
Recommendations based on your business type

Moneris's Flat Rate plan publishes 2.65% + $0.10 for in-person credit and $0.12 for Interac, so you can check every statement against the page. Its Go Terminal rents for $34.95 a month, against $45 for any Paystone terminal.

Moneris sales are eligible for next-day deposit into an RBC or BMO business account, and RBC says its clients can reach the funds seven days a week. Outside those banks, Moneris's agreement promises settlement within two business days.

Paystone owns DataCandy (gift and loyalty) and NiceJob (reviews) and sells them alongside interchange-plus processing with published starting rates. Go in with your eyes open: it is in CCAA, its business is being sold to a company controlled by its principals, and its terms charge $295 per unit of equipment to leave early.
Neither. Both companies' published terms set a three-year initial term with automatic six-month renewals and an exit charge: $295 per unit of equipment at Paystone for leaving early, and $300 per location at Moneris when the agreement ends. A business that wants month-to-month terms should negotiate them in writing or look elsewhere.
Common questions about this comparison
Explore more payment processor matchups