Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
PayTrace vs Authorize.net for B2B and online payments

Comparison · Updated October 16, 2026

PayTrace vs Authorize.net for B2B and online payments

VS
PayTrace

PayTrace

B

PayTrace is a Spokane-area payment gateway built for businesses that sell to other businesses and to government. Its differentiator is automatic Level 2 and Level 3 data capture, which can qualify commercial and purchasing card transactions for materially lower interchange. It publishes no rate card, and the processing rate you actually pay is set by whichever merchant services provider sells you the account.

Read Full Review
Authorize.net

Authorize.net

A-

Authorize.Net is a mature, Visa-owned payment gateway that offers robust, developer-friendly payment tools, strong fraud controls, and wide platform integrations. Pricing and merchant-account terms that vary depending on whether you use Authorize.Net’s all-in-one plan or attach your own processor.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

PayTrace and Authorize.net are both US payment gateways. A gateway is the software that sends card payments to the networks. It is not the merchant account that holds your money and pays it into your bank. Authorize.net is a wholly owned subsidiary of Visa and has been running since 1996. It publishes a full price list. Every plan costs $25 a month. The All-in-one plan, which includes a merchant account, charges 2.9% + 30¢ per transaction. The Gateway only plan charges 10¢ per transaction plus a 10¢ daily batch fee. eChecks cost 0.75% with a $10 monthly minimum. There is no contract or early-termination fee on the gateway. PayTrace was founded in 2004 and has been part of North (formerly North American Bancard) since March 2022. It is built for businesses that sell to other businesses and to government. Its strength is automatic Level 2 and Level 3 data: the extra order and line-item fields that let commercial and purchasing card payments qualify for lower interchange rates. It publishes no gateway or processing prices. It sells directly and through more than 300 reselling partners, and on a reseller account the reseller sets your fees. Authorize.net also accepts Level 2 and Level 3 data where your processor allows it, but full Level 3 line items need its API. Its Virtual Terminal, invoices and hosted pages send Level 2 fields only. On PayTrace, Level 3 comes with the Pro plan and works through the virtual terminal, integrations and API (an add-on on Pro). Neither company funds your account under its gateway-only service, because your merchant service provider pays you out. Authorize.net offers 24x7 phone and chat support. PayTrace offers phone support on weekdays from 5am to 7pm Pacific, plus email at any time. Payment Review grades Authorize.net A- and PayTrace B.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓Authorize.net (A-) is the better choice for most businesses. Its prices are published, it charges $25 a month on every plan, its gateway has no contract, and support is open 24x7. PayTrace (B) is the specialist pick for B2B and government sellers who take a lot of commercial, corporate and purchasing cards.
  • ✓PayTrace publishes no gateway, processing, ACH or recurring-billing prices. Your reseller or PayTrace's sales team quotes them. Authorize.net's Gateway only plan works out at about $77 a month for 500 card transactions over 22 batch days ($25 + $50 + $2.20).
  • ✓Both gateways can send Level 3 data. PayTrace sends it automatically from its virtual terminal, payment links, ERP integrations and API on the Pro plan. Authorize.net needs an API integration for line items, and only where your processor supports it. On a $5,000 Visa purchasing-card sale, Visa's interchange rates effective 18 April 2026 (which PayTrace's published table matches) are 1.75% + $0.10 when Level 3 qualifies, against 2.95% + $0.10 for a non-qualified sale. That is $60 less interchange, or $47.50 against Visa's 2.70% + $0.10 standard card-not-present rate.
  • ✓Authorize.net's gateway terms are no contract and no early-termination fee. PayTrace's 2026 terms say either side may end the gateway service at any time by written or email notice. On both, the merchant account behind the gateway can carry its own term and cancellation fee, so read that agreement.
  • ✓Authorize.net has an A+ BBB rating against PayTrace's C+, though Authorize.net has far more complaints on file (53 in three years against 2). On Trustpilot, Authorize.net scores 1.6 from 92 reviews, and PayTrace's profile has a single review, so there is nothing meaningful to compare.

PayTrace

Choose PayTrace if a large share of your revenue arrives on commercial, corporate, purchasing or government cards. You get Level 2 and Level 3 data without hand-keying, embedded invoicing for Business Central, Acumatica, NetSuite and QuickBooks Online, and an optional direct merchant account with next-day or same-day funding. Before you sign, get a written quote that lists the gateway fee, per-transaction fee and processing markup separately.

Authorize.net

Choose Authorize.net if you want a published price and no gateway contract. It suits ecommerce, subscription and general online businesses. It connects to more than 170 ecommerce platforms, includes recurring billing, a card vault and its Advanced Fraud Detection Suite at no extra monthly fee, and runs 24x7 support. You can use its own merchant account or bring your own.

Overall Winner

Authorize.net
🏆 Winner

Authorize.net

A-expert grade
PayTrace
Runner-up

PayTrace

Why?

Authorize.net is the better gateway for most businesses, as its A- grade against PayTrace's B suggests. You can see the price before you sign: $25 a month, then 10¢ per transaction plus a 10¢ daily batch fee on your own merchant account, or 2.9% + 30¢ all-in. Recurring billing, the card vault and fraud tools cost nothing extra, there is no gateway contract, support is open 24x7, and more than 170 ecommerce platforms connect to it. PayTrace wins one important niche. If your customers pay invoices with commercial, corporate, purchasing or government cards, it sends Level 3 line-item data automatically from its virtual terminal, payment links, ERP integrations and API. Authorize.net needs a custom API integration for that. The interchange saving can be worth more than any gateway fee: $60 on a single $5,000 Visa purchasing-card sale at Visa's April 2026 rates, against a non-qualified sale. But PayTrace publishes none of its own prices, so its total cost is only known once a reseller quotes you.

Read Authorize.net Full Review
Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Pricing (USD, published rates, as of October 2026)

Pricing (USD, published rates, as of October 2026): PayTrace compared with Authorize.net.
FeaturePayTraceAuthorize.net
Published price list
No
Yes: three plans on its pricing page
Winner
PayTrace's terms (section 6) say fees are governed by your agreement with the reseller, or by a separate fee agreement if you buy directly from PayTrace. Its site lists no gateway, processing, ACH or add-on prices. Third-party directories print estimated PayTrace fees, but PayTrace does not confirm them and none are used here.
Gateway monthly fee
Not disclosed
$25 on every plan
Authorize.net prorates the $25 fee if you start mid-month. The same fee applies on its All-in-one, Gateway only and Gateway + eCheck plans.
Gateway per-transaction fee (bring your own merchant account)
Not disclosed
10¢ per transaction + 10¢ daily batch fee
Authorize.net charges the 10¢ on charges, refunds, voids and declines. Its gateway takes no percentage (0.00% discount rate) and has no monthly minimum. Your merchant account provider's own processing fees come on top. For example, 500 transactions over 22 batch days cost $25 + $50 + $2.20 = $77.20 a month in gateway fees.
All-in-one card rate (gateway + merchant account)
Not disclosed
2.9% + 30¢, plus $25/month
Authorize.net marks this rate "Subject to eligibility". PayTrace sells its own merchant account, PayTrace Merchant Services, but it is quote-based and PayTrace publishes no rate for it.
ACH / eCheck
Not disclosed
0.75% per eCheck, $10 monthly minimum
Authorize.net's eCheck.Net has no setup, per-transaction or batch fee. It charges $3 per returned item and $25 per eCheck chargeback, and is available only to US-based businesses. PayTrace sells Trace ACH, and its product matrix lists ACH as an option on the Pro plan, but it publishes no price.
Gateway chargeback fee
Not disclosed
$0 (cards); $25 (eCheck)
Authorize.net's $0 is its own gateway fee. Whoever provides your merchant account can still charge its own chargeback fee.
Setup fee
Not disclosed
$0

Published price list

PayTrace
No
Authorize.net
Yes: three plans on its pricing page
Winner
PayTrace's terms (section 6) say fees are governed by your agreement with the reseller, or by a separate fee agreement if you buy directly from PayTrace. Its site lists no gateway, processing, ACH or add-on prices. Third-party directories print estimated PayTrace fees, but PayTrace does not confirm them and none are used here.

Gateway monthly fee

PayTrace
Not disclosed
Authorize.net
$25 on every plan
Authorize.net prorates the $25 fee if you start mid-month. The same fee applies on its All-in-one, Gateway only and Gateway + eCheck plans.

Gateway per-transaction fee (bring your own merchant account)

PayTrace
Not disclosed
Authorize.net
10¢ per transaction + 10¢ daily batch fee
Authorize.net charges the 10¢ on charges, refunds, voids and declines. Its gateway takes no percentage (0.00% discount rate) and has no monthly minimum. Your merchant account provider's own processing fees come on top. For example, 500 transactions over 22 batch days cost $25 + $50 + $2.20 = $77.20 a month in gateway fees.

All-in-one card rate (gateway + merchant account)

PayTrace
Not disclosed
Authorize.net
2.9% + 30¢, plus $25/month
Authorize.net marks this rate "Subject to eligibility". PayTrace sells its own merchant account, PayTrace Merchant Services, but it is quote-based and PayTrace publishes no rate for it.

ACH / eCheck

PayTrace
Not disclosed
Authorize.net
0.75% per eCheck, $10 monthly minimum
Authorize.net's eCheck.Net has no setup, per-transaction or batch fee. It charges $3 per returned item and $25 per eCheck chargeback, and is available only to US-based businesses. PayTrace sells Trace ACH, and its product matrix lists ACH as an option on the Pro plan, but it publishes no price.

Gateway chargeback fee

PayTrace
Not disclosed
Authorize.net
$0 (cards); $25 (eCheck)
Authorize.net's $0 is its own gateway fee. Whoever provides your merchant account can still charge its own chargeback fee.

Setup fee

PayTrace
Not disclosed
Authorize.net
$0
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Distributor, manufacturer or government supplier paid mostly by commercial or purchasing cards

PayTrace
Recommended
PayTrace
View the PayTrace review

PayTrace sends Level 2 and Level 3 data from every way you take payments, including keyed payments in the virtual terminal and invoices paid by link, so staff never key line items by hand. Its Product List helps with Visa's CEDP rules. Make sure you are quoted the Pro plan, because Basic sends Level 2 data only.

Online store on Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce or Magento

Authorize.net
Recommended
Authorize.net
View the Authorize.net review

Authorize.net connects to more than 170 ecommerce platforms through ready-made plugins and publishes its prices. The only ecommerce platform PayTrace lists in its marketplace is Shopware.

Subscription or SaaS business

Authorize.net
Recommended
Authorize.net
View the Authorize.net review

Automated Recurring Billing, Customer Information Manager and the fraud suite are all included in Authorize.net's $25 monthly fee. Account Updater costs $0.25 per updated card. PayTrace offers recurring billing as an option on Pro and publishes no price for it.

B2B company running Business Central, Acumatica, NetSuite or QuickBooks Online

PayTrace
Recommended
PayTrace
View the PayTrace review

PayTrace's Trace AR builds invoice payment links, a client portal, reminders and payment matching into those systems, and the payments carry Level 3 data. Authorize.net's own invoices work without an integration but send Level 2 fields only.

Business that wants support outside US business hours

Authorize.net
Recommended
Authorize.net
View the Authorize.net review

Authorize.net offers phone and live chat 24x7, closed on major holidays. PayTrace's phone line is open 5am to 7pm Pacific on weekdays, with email at other times.

PayTrace: Best for 2 use cases
Authorize.net: Best for 3 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

For most B2B sellers, yes. Both can send Level 3 line-item data, but they do it differently. PayTrace sends it automatically on its Pro plan from the virtual terminal, payment links, ERP integrations and API. Authorize.net accepts Level 3 only through its API (createTransactionRequest), and only if your processor or acquirer supports it. Its Virtual Terminal, hosted payment page, Payment Links and Invoices send Level 2 fields only. Neither company can guarantee that a transaction will qualify for the lower rate, because the card networks decide that.

Authorize.net publishes its prices, as of October 2026. Every plan costs $25 a month. On the All-in-one plan, transactions cost 2.9% + 30¢. On Gateway only, they cost 10¢ each plus a 10¢ daily batch fee. eChecks cost 0.75% with a $10 monthly minimum. There is no setup fee. PayTrace publishes no prices. Its terms leave fees to your reseller's agreement, or to a separate fee agreement if you buy directly. Ask for the gateway monthly fee, the per-transaction fee and the processing markup over interchange as three separate written numbers.

Not as gateways. PayTrace's help centre says it is the gateway and does not make deposits. Your merchant service provider controls funding. Authorize.net says the same, and gives a typical figure of 2–3 business days after the daily batch settles, with an industry average of three to five. If you buy the merchant account from them too, it is a different picture: PayTrace Merchant Services advertises next-day funding (12am ET cut-off) or same-day funding (10:30am ET cut-off), and Authorize.net's All-in-one plan includes its own merchant account.

Yes, both. Authorize.net's Gateway only plan connects to a merchant account you already have, at $25 a month plus 10¢ per transaction and a 10¢ daily batch fee. PayTrace sells a gateway-only account that connects to processors including North Enterprise, Fiserv and TSYS. Level 2 and Level 3 support, and EMV in-person payments, depend on which processor your account runs on, so check that first.

Not for the gateway itself. Authorize.net's gateway has no contract and no early-termination fee. PayTrace's 2026 terms let either side end the gateway service at any time by written or email notice. The merchant account is a separate agreement. A reseller's merchant agreement, or Authorize.net's All-in-one merchant account, can have its own term and cancellation fee, so read that contract before you sign.

Authorize.net is a wholly owned subsidiary of Visa and has been in business since 1996. PayTrace was founded in 2004 in the Spokane area of Washington. It joined North American Bancard, which renamed itself North in 2024, in March 2022, and became that group's preferred gateway. PayTrace still trades under its own name and describes itself as "a North company".

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

PayPal vs Authorize.net

View comparison

Cybersource vs Authorize.net

View comparison

Authorize.net vs NMI

View comparison
View All Comparisons