Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Wells Fargo vs Chase for merchant services

Comparison · Updated October 20, 2026

Wells Fargo vs Chase for merchant services

VS
Wells Fargo Merchant Services

Wells Fargo Merchant Services

C+

Wells Fargo Merchant Services is a division of one of the largest U.S. banks, offering credit and debit card processing, Clover POS systems, and e-commerce solutions to small and medium-sized businesses.

Read Full Review
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services

B

Chase Payment Solutions is the merchant services arm of the #1 US bank, offering small and mid-sized businesses a deeply integrated combination of payment processing, same-day deposits, and banking tools. They're backed by the trust and scale of JPMorgan Chase but with flat-rate fees that may not suit high-volume merchants.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

We compare the two for a US small business that takes cards and banks, or is willing to bank, with the same bank, using prices published as of October 2026. Both are now in-house bank merchant services. Wells Fargo's ran for years as a joint venture with First Data, later Fiserv. Wells Fargo did not renew it, and the venture ended on 1 April 2025. Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. now provides the service itself, and Fiserv still processes for it under a multi-year agreement and supplies the Clover hardware and software. Chase's merchant business (Paymentech, LLC, once Chase Paymentech) left its own First Data venture in 2008. At the entry level Chase is cheaper on every channel. In person it charges 2.6% + 10¢ against Wells Fargo's 2.60% + 15¢. Online it charges 2.9% + 25¢ against 3.50% + 15¢, and keyed 3.5% + 10¢ against 3.50% + 15¢. Wells Fargo also charges $19.95 a month per merchant ID in account and PCI fees, while Chase's QuickAccept has no monthly processing fee. Wells Fargo's rates fall automatically once a month's card volume passes $40,000 and $80,000, so a busy in-person merchant can end up paying less there. Chase pays QuickAccept sales into Chase checking the same day, and Wells Fargo pays the next business day into a Wells Fargo account. Wells Fargo's strongest points are 24/7 phone support and a pricing page that promises no long-term contract or termination fee, though an older program guide it still hosts says otherwise for merchants processing $1 million or more a year. Payment Review grades Chase B and Wells Fargo Merchant Services C+.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓Chase is the better choice for most small businesses. Below $40,000 a month in card sales it is cheaper on every published rate, has no monthly processing fee on QuickAccept and pays out the same day into Chase checking.
  • ✓Below $40,000 a month, Wells Fargo charges 2.60% + 15¢ in person and 3.50% + 15¢ online or keyed, plus $9.95 a month account fee and $10 a month PCI fee per merchant ID. Chase charges 2.6% + 10¢, 2.9% + 25¢ and 3.5% + 10¢.
  • ✓Wells Fargo gets cheaper as you grow. Its in-person rate drops to 2.50% + 15¢ at $40,000 a month and 2.40% + 15¢ at $80,000. At $100,000 a month in $100 in-person sales, that comes to about $2,570 including its monthly fees, against Chase's $2,700 at its published rate. The gap shrinks with smaller sales and disappears at an average of about $25, and a paid Clover software plan eats into it. Both banks offer custom pricing at that level.
  • ✓Wells Fargo has the stronger support and, on its pricing page, the clearer exit terms: customer service by phone 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and no long-term contract or early termination fee on card processing. An older Wells Fargo program guide still online sets a three-year term with a fee above $1 million a year, so confirm which terms you sign. Chase's QuickAccept phone line is open weekdays 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. CT.
  • ✓Wells Fargo Merchant Services is no longer a Fiserv joint venture. The venture ended on 1 April 2025, and the service is now provided by Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., with Fiserv still processing and supplying Clover.

Wells Fargo Merchant Services

Choose Wells Fargo if you already bank there, take most payments in person at well over $80,000 a month with average sales well above $25, and value 24/7 phone support and Clover's restaurant, retail and appointment software. Confirm in writing that you are on the published month-to-month rate card.

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services

Choose Chase if you want the lowest published bank rates at small-business volumes, no monthly processing fee and same-day deposits. QuickAccept needs Chase Business Complete Banking, whose $15 monthly fee is waived once $2,000 a month in card sales lands in it.

Overall Winner

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
🏆 Winner

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services

Bexpert grade
Wells Fargo Merchant Services
Runner-up

Wells Fargo Merchant Services

Why?

Chase is the better choice for most US small businesses. Below $40,000 a month in card sales, its published rates are lower on every channel: 2.6% + 10¢ in person, 2.9% + 25¢ online and 3.5% + 10¢ keyed, against Wells Fargo's 2.60% + 15¢ and 3.50% + 15¢. QuickAccept adds no monthly processing fee, where Wells Fargo charges $19.95 per merchant ID. Chase also pays QuickAccept sales out the same day. Wells Fargo is the better pick in narrower cases. Its rates fall automatically at $40,000 and $80,000 a month, so an in-person business well above those levels can pay less than Chase's published card. It answers the phone around the clock, says on its pricing page that card processing carries no long-term contract or termination fee, and sells Clover's full restaurant, retail and appointment software. Either way, the fastest payouts depend on keeping your business checking at the same bank.

Read Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services Full Review
Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Card rates (US, as of October 2026)

Card rates (US, as of October 2026): Wells Fargo Merchant Services compared with Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services.
FeatureWells Fargo Merchant ServicesChase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
In person, under $40,000 a month
2.60% + 15¢
2.6% + 10¢
Winner
The percentages are the same, so Chase is 5¢ cheaper on every sale: $2.70 against $2.75 on $100. Wells Fargo's rate falls to 2.50% + 15¢ when a month's card volume reaches $40,000 and to 2.40% + 15¢ at $80,000. At those tiers Wells Fargo is cheaper than Chase's published rate on sales above $50 and above $25 respectively. Wells Fargo counts the volume of all your locations, including PIN debit, and says it adjusts the rate for that month automatically. Chase's rates are those in its QuickAccept fee schedule (effective 14 June 2026), which notes that other Chase Payment Solutions products may cost more or less. Both banks quote custom pricing, including interchange-plus, to larger merchants.
Online, under $40,000 a month
3.50% + 15¢
2.9% + 25¢
Winner
Chase is cheaper on any order above about $16.67: $1.70 against $1.90 on a $50 order. Wells Fargo's online rate falls to 3.40% + 15¢ at $40,000 a month and 3.30% + 15¢ at $80,000, and Chase stays cheaper above $20 and $25 respectively. Wells Fargo's Clover Gateway is included in its $9.95 monthly account fee. Chase's fee schedule lists 2.9% + 25¢ for online checkout through QuickAccept with no monthly fee, but the e-commerce product Chase markets is its Authorize.net gateway, at the same rate plus a monthly fee from $9.95.
Keyed in, under $40,000 a month
3.50% + 15¢
3.5% + 10¢
Winner
Chase's own pages conflict. Its fee schedule (effective 14 June 2026), merchant fees page and product pages say 3.5% + 10¢ for keyed transactions and payment links, but the FAQ on its main payments page still says 3.5% + 15 cents. The table follows the fee schedule; at 15¢ the two banks would charge the same. Wells Fargo's keyed rate falls with volume like its online rate (3.40% + 15¢, then 3.30% + 15¢).
Chargebacks
No chargeback fee
Not disclosed
Wells Fargo's pricing page says it does not charge extra fees for downgrades, chargebacks, voice authorization or foreign transactions. Chase's fee schedule lists no separate chargeback fee, but says transaction fees are not returned on refunds or chargebacks, and its QuickAccept terms let it charge a fee for handling chargeback disputes after giving notice.

In person, under $40,000 a month

Wells Fargo Merchant Services
2.60% + 15¢
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
2.6% + 10¢
Winner
The percentages are the same, so Chase is 5¢ cheaper on every sale: $2.70 against $2.75 on $100. Wells Fargo's rate falls to 2.50% + 15¢ when a month's card volume reaches $40,000 and to 2.40% + 15¢ at $80,000. At those tiers Wells Fargo is cheaper than Chase's published rate on sales above $50 and above $25 respectively. Wells Fargo counts the volume of all your locations, including PIN debit, and says it adjusts the rate for that month automatically. Chase's rates are those in its QuickAccept fee schedule (effective 14 June 2026), which notes that other Chase Payment Solutions products may cost more or less. Both banks quote custom pricing, including interchange-plus, to larger merchants.

Online, under $40,000 a month

Wells Fargo Merchant Services
3.50% + 15¢
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
2.9% + 25¢
Winner
Chase is cheaper on any order above about $16.67: $1.70 against $1.90 on a $50 order. Wells Fargo's online rate falls to 3.40% + 15¢ at $40,000 a month and 3.30% + 15¢ at $80,000, and Chase stays cheaper above $20 and $25 respectively. Wells Fargo's Clover Gateway is included in its $9.95 monthly account fee. Chase's fee schedule lists 2.9% + 25¢ for online checkout through QuickAccept with no monthly fee, but the e-commerce product Chase markets is its Authorize.net gateway, at the same rate plus a monthly fee from $9.95.

Keyed in, under $40,000 a month

Wells Fargo Merchant Services
3.50% + 15¢
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
3.5% + 10¢
Winner
Chase's own pages conflict. Its fee schedule (effective 14 June 2026), merchant fees page and product pages say 3.5% + 10¢ for keyed transactions and payment links, but the FAQ on its main payments page still says 3.5% + 15 cents. The table follows the fee schedule; at 15¢ the two banks would charge the same. Wells Fargo's keyed rate falls with volume like its online rate (3.40% + 15¢, then 3.30% + 15¢).

Chargebacks

Wells Fargo Merchant Services
No chargeback fee
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
Not disclosed
Wells Fargo's pricing page says it does not charge extra fees for downgrades, chargebacks, voice authorization or foreign transactions. Chase's fee schedule lists no separate chargeback fee, but says transaction fees are not returned on refunds or chargebacks, and its QuickAccept terms let it charge a fee for handling chargeback disputes after giving notice.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Shop, salon or service business under $40,000 a month

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
Recommended
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
View the Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services review

Chase's 2.6% + 10¢ in-person rate and no monthly processing fee beat Wells Fargo's 2.60% + 15¢ plus $19.95 a month. On $10,000 a month in $50 sales that is about $280 at Chase against about $310 at Wells Fargo, and $2,000 a month in card deposits waives Chase's $15 checking fee.

Mostly online seller

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
Recommended
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
View the Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services review

Chase charges 2.9% + 25¢ online against Wells Fargo's 3.50% + 15¢ at the entry tier: $1.70 against $1.90 on a $50 order. Chase's Authorize.net gateway adds a monthly fee from $9.95, while Wells Fargo includes Clover Gateway in its account fee, but on most order sizes the rate gap is larger.

In-person business taking well over $80,000 a month, with average sales well above $25

Wells Fargo Merchant Services
Recommended
Wells Fargo Merchant Services
View the Wells Fargo Merchant Services review

Wells Fargo's in-person rate drops to 2.40% + 15¢ at $80,000 a month, which beats Chase's published 2.6% + 10¢ on any sale above $25. On $100,000 a month in $100 sales that is about $2,570 a month including Wells Fargo's $19.95 in fees, against $2,700 at Chase; at a $50 average it is about $2,720 against $2,800. A paid Clover plan narrows the gap: Restaurant Growth, with table mapping and online ordering, costs $89.95 a month, which leaves Chase cheaper at a $50 average. At this volume, about $1 million a year, Wells Fargo's older program guide would impose a three-year term and termination fee, so get the no-contract terms in writing, and ask both banks for an interchange-plus quote.

Business that wants to bank somewhere else

Both. Neither bank publishes complete terms for this. Chase gives its timing for a non-Chase account (2 to 3 business days on its standalone merchant accounts), but QuickAccept and its published rates require Chase Business Complete Banking. Wells Fargo's published rates are not tied to a Wells Fargo account, but it ties next-day funding to one and does not say how fast it pays into another bank. Ask both for funding times and pricing before you sign.

Wells Fargo Merchant Services: Best for 1 use case
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services: Best for 2 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

For most small businesses, Chase is. As of October 2026, below $40,000 a month in card sales Chase charges 2.6% + 10¢ in person, 2.9% + 25¢ online and 3.5% + 10¢ keyed, and Wells Fargo charges 2.60% + 15¢ in person and 3.50% + 15¢ online or keyed, plus $19.95 a month per merchant ID. Wells Fargo's rates fall at $40,000 and $80,000 a month, and at 2.40% + 15¢ its in-person rate is lower than Chase's published rate on sales above $25, though the $19.95 in monthly fees and any paid Clover plan count against that.

No. Wells Fargo Merchant Services was a joint venture in which First Data, and later Fiserv, held 40%. Wells Fargo chose not to renew it, and it expired on 1 April 2025. Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. now provides merchant services itself. Fiserv still processes Wells Fargo's merchant transactions under a multi-year agreement, and the Clover hardware and software Wells Fargo sells is Fiserv's.

Chase pays QuickAccept sales into Chase Business Complete Checking the same day, every day except Saturday, for sales settled by 8 p.m. ET. Its standalone merchant accounts fund the next business day into Chase, or in 2 to 3 business days into another bank. Wells Fargo pays as soon as the next business day into a Wells Fargo business deposit account.

Wells Fargo's pricing page says no early termination fees or long-term contracts apply to card processing services. Its older program guide, still online, sets a three-year term with a fee for merchants processing $1 million or more a year, so confirm which terms you sign. Chase's QuickAccept terms set no term or termination fee but ask you to keep your Chase account open for 180 days after you stop. We found no published terms for Chase's standalone accounts.

For Chase's QuickAccept, including its POS app, card reader and terminal, yes: it works only with Chase Business Complete Banking. Chase's standalone merchant accounts can deposit to another bank. Wells Fargo requires a Wells Fargo business or commercial account to get next-business-day funding, and it does not publish funding terms for other banks.

Wells Fargo's merchant customer service line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Chase's QuickAccept support line is open Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. CT, and it gives no hours for its Merchant Services line. Both banks draw many complaints, and the BBB profiles for both cover far more than merchant services.

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

Chase vs Bank of America for merchant services

View comparison

Chase Payment Solutions vs Square

View comparison
View All Comparisons