Comparison · Updated October 7, 2026

Chase Payment Solutions is the merchant services arm of the #1 US bank, offering small and mid-sized businesses a deeply integrated combination of payment processing, same-day deposits, and banking tools. They're backed by the trust and scale of JPMorgan Chase but with flat-rate fees that may not suit high-volume merchants.

Bank of America Merchant Services is a large, bank-integrated payment processing solution ideal for existing BofA business checking customers who value brand stability, seamless funding, and broad payment acceptance though it lags behind fintech competitors on pricing transparency, modern integrations, and third-party review scores.
This comparison is for US small businesses taking cards. Chase Payment Solutions and Bank of America both offer card processing from a bank you can also keep your checking with, and both publish simple flat rates. As of October 2026, Chase is slightly cheaper on every published rate: 2.6% + 10¢ in person against Bank of America's 2.65% + 10¢, 2.9% + 25¢ online against 2.99% + 30¢, and 3.5% + 10¢ keyed against 3.50% + 15¢. The bigger difference is how tightly each ties you to the bank. Bank of America requires a Bank of America business checking account and settles only into it. It funds every merchant next day, and same day at no fee if you are approved for it. Chase's simple QuickAccept product also needs a Chase Business Complete Banking account and pays out the same day. Its standalone merchant accounts can pay into another bank, but those deposits take 2 to 3 business days. Bank of America answers the advantages Chase has with 24/7 US-based technical support, a written promise of no contract term and no termination fee, and rate discounts of 0.05% to 0.10% for Preferred Rewards members. Payment Review grades Chase B and Bank of America Merchant Services C+.
Chase suits US small businesses that want the lowest published bank flat rate and the fastest default payouts, especially retailers, service businesses and mobile sellers who already bank with Chase or are willing to open Chase Business Complete Banking. It also suits merchants who want to keep their main account at another bank and can accept 2 to 3 day deposits.
Bank of America suits businesses that already bank there, particularly Preferred Rewards members whose balances earn a 0.05% to 0.10% rate discount, and owners who value round-the-clock technical support and a written no-contract, no-termination-fee promise. Restaurants and appointment-based businesses that want POS software from their bank should also look at its Growth plan (table mapping, appointment scheduling) and Pro plan (adds a kitchen display, online ordering and online booking).


Payment Review grades Chase B and Bank of America Merchant Services C+, and for most US small businesses Chase is the better choice. Its published rates are lower on every channel. QuickAccept pays out the same day by default, and card deposits of $2,000 a month waive the checking account's $15 fee. Chase also lets standalone merchants deposit to another bank, which Bank of America does not allow. Bank of America is the better pick in narrower cases. If you already bank there with enough balances for Preferred Rewards Platinum or Platinum Honors, its discounted in-person rate drops below Chase's. It promises 24/7 technical support and no contract or termination fee in writing. Its paid Growth and Pro POS plans add restaurant and appointment features that Chase does not list for its own POS. Whichever you choose, the account you settle into ties your processing to the bank, so leaving later means moving your banking too.
| Feature | Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services | Bank of America Merchant Services |
|---|---|---|
| In person (tap, dip, swipe) | 2.6% + 10¢ Winner | 2.65% + 10¢ |
| Both rates are the banks' standard flat rates, with the same 10¢ fixed fee, so Chase is 0.05 percentage points cheaper at every sale size: $2.70 against $2.75 on $100. Chase's rates are binding in its fee schedule (effective 14 June 2026) for QuickAccept, which also covers Tap to Pay on iPhone; the schedule notes that other Chase Payment Solutions products may cost more or less, and its merchant fees page quotes the same rates without that caveat. Bank of America's rates are its Simplified Pricing plan. Bank of America's Preferred Rewards for Business members get 0.05% (Gold, $20,000 in qualifying balances), 0.07% (Platinum, $50,000) or 0.10% (Platinum Honors, $100,000) off, credited at the end of each billing cycle. That brings Gold members level with Chase and puts Platinum and Platinum Honors members below it. Both banks offer custom pricing for larger merchants. | ||
| Online (e-commerce) | 2.9% + 25¢ Winner | 2.99% + 30¢ |
| Chase is lower on both the percentage and the fixed fee, so it is cheaper at every order size: $1.70 against about $1.80 on a $50 order. Bank of America's worked example of its Preferred Rewards discount covers only the in-person rate; if the top 0.10% discount also applies online (2.89% + 30¢), Chase still stays cheaper on orders under $500. Chase's Authorize.net gateway has a monthly fee from $9.95. Bank of America does not publish a monthly fee for its own Gateway. | ||
| Keyed-in (manual entry) | 3.5% + 10¢ Winner | 3.50% + 15¢ |
| The percentages are the same, so Chase is 5¢ cheaper per transaction. Chase's sources conflict: its fee schedule (effective 14 June 2026), merchant fees page and product pages give 3.5% + 10¢, but the FAQ on its main payments page still says 3.5% + 15 cents. The fee schedule is the binding document, so the table uses 10¢; at 15¢ the two banks would charge the same. Chase's rate also covers payment links; Bank of America labels its rate for manual keyed-in payments and does not publish a separate payment-link rate. Bank of America's Preferred Rewards example covers only the in-person rate; if the discount also applies to keyed payments, its keyed rate drops below Chase's on transactions above $100 (Gold) or $50 (Platinum Honors). | ||
| Refunds and chargebacks | Transaction fees not returned; chargeback fee Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Chase's fee schedule says QuickAccept transaction fees are not returned when you refund a payment or receive a chargeback, and does not list a separate chargeback fee. Its QuickAccept terms reserve the right, on notice, to charge a fee for handling chargeback disputes. Bank of America publishes neither its refund policy nor a chargeback fee. It says ancillary fees appear in a fee schedule shown before the account opens. | ||
Recommendations based on your business type

Chase's 2.6% + 10¢ in-person rate is below Bank of America's 2.65% + 10¢. QuickAccept deposits arrive the same day, and $2,000 a month in card deposits waives the $15 checking fee. The Chase POS app and terminal carry no monthly software fee.

Bank of America settles only into a Bank of America business checking account. Chase's standalone merchant accounts can deposit to a non-Chase bank in 2 to 3 business days.

A 0.07% or 0.10% discount takes Bank of America's in-person rate to 2.58% or 2.55% + 10¢, below Chase's 2.6% + 10¢. You also keep processing and banking in one place, with 24/7 technical support.

Bank of America's Growth plan ($79 a month for the first terminal) adds table mapping, appointment scheduling and physical gift cards, and its Pro plan ($129 a month) adds a kitchen display and online ordering and booking. Chase lists only essential features for its own POS and offers integrations with partner systems such as TouchBistro for more complex needs.

Chase charges 2.9% + 25¢ online against Bank of America's 2.99% + 30¢: $1.70 against about $1.80 on a $50 order. The Authorize.net gateway adds a monthly fee from $9.95, deposits as soon as next day into Chase checking, and comes with documented APIs and shopping-cart integrations.
Common questions about this comparison
Explore more payment processor matchups