Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Wisetack vs Sunbit for service businesses

Comparison · Updated October 1, 2026

Wisetack vs Sunbit for service businesses

VS
Wisetack

Wisetack

B+

Wisetack is a San Francisco company, founded in 2018, that lets service businesses offer their customers monthly payments on jobs such as an HVAC replacement, a roof, a transmission repair or a dental treatment plan. It is not the lender. The loans come from its bank partners, which its lending-partners page listed in September 2026 as Hatch Bank, U.S. Bank and Happen Bank, the new name since June 2026 of LendingClub Bank. Wisetack runs the application, the offers and the merchant relationship, and the business signs Wisetack's merchant agreement. For home-services businesses the merchant cost is published and simple: a flat 3.9% of the financed amount, with no setup or subscription fee, unless the business opts into extended 0% APR plans, which cost 4.9%, 6.9% or 9.9% when a customer picks one of those offers. Customers see offers from 0% to 35.9% APR on terms of 3 to 120 months, on jobs from $500 to $65,000 in home services and up to $15,000 in auto, dental, medical and veterinary. The business is paid by ACH once the customer confirms the work is done, landing in 1 to 3 business days. Wisetack is built into Housecall Pro, Jobber and, by its own count, more than 30 other field-service platforms. Consumer ratings are split: 4.8 out of 5 from 936 Trustpilot reviews on a profile where Wisetack invites customers to review, against 1.23 out of 5 from 31 BBB reviews and 25 BBB complaints in three years.

Read Full Review
Sunbit

Sunbit

B

Sunbit is a Los Angeles financing company, founded in 2016, that puts pay-over-time options at the counter of everyday service businesses rather than at an online checkout. Its natural habitat is the unplanned bill: a $1,400 transmission repair, a root canal, a dog that swallowed something it should not have. The technology and the servicing are Sunbit's; the credit itself is not. Loans and the Sunbit Card are issued by Transportation Alliance Bank, trading as TAB Bank, which is the lender of record. Merchants are told customers can finance totals from $60 to $20,000, that roughly 90% of applicants are approved, and that the application takes about thirty seconds at the point of service. Sunbit's own pages variously describe a network of over 30,000 and over 40,000 locations, concentrated in dentistry, auto service, veterinary care, optical, powersports and general healthcare. The consumer record is unusually good for this category — 4.7 out of 5 across 3,977 Trustpilot reviews and an A+ BBB rating, accredited since 2020 — and Sunbit says it has now made the Forbes Fintech 50 three years running and the Inc. 5000 five. What it does not do is publish what it charges the merchant.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

Both let a US service business offer customers monthly payments, and neither is the lender: Wisetack's loans come from Hatch Bank, U.S. Bank and Happen Bank, Sunbit's from TAB Bank. They differ in where they are built to be used. Wisetack publishes a flat 3.9% merchant fee for home services and auto repair, with optional 4.9%, 6.9% and 9.9% plans for longer 0% offers, and finances home-services jobs from $500 to $65,000 over up to 120 months from inside Housecall Pro, Jobber and other field-service software. Sunbit is built for the service counter at auto shops, dental, optical, veterinary and healthcare practices. It finances purchases from $60 to $20,000 over up to 72 months and says 90% of applicants are approved, against Wisetack's stated 74%. For direct merchants Sunbit publishes only a dental fee 'as low as' 1.9%, though Stripe lists Sunbit at 6% + 30¢ for merchants who take it through Stripe. Sunbit's rates page lists two interest-free structures: 'True 0% APR', on which no interest accrues, and 'Avoid Paying Interest', on which interest accrues from the purchase date and is not owed if the financed amount is repaid before the promotion ends; the footnote to its dental no-interest plans describes the second. Wisetack says its 0% offers carry no deferred interest. Payment Review grades Wisetack B+ and Sunbit B.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓Wisetack is the clearer choice for home-services contractors: a published flat 3.9% fee, jobs up to $65,000 on terms up to 120 months, and financing built into Housecall Pro, Jobber and 30+ other platforms.
  • ✓Sunbit reaches smaller tickets and claims more approvals: purchases from $60 against Wisetack's $500 minimum, and a company-stated 90% approval rate against Wisetack's 74%.
  • ✓Sunbit publishes far less about the merchant side: a dental fee 'as low as 1.9%' that improves with usage, and 6% + 30¢ through Stripe, but no rate card for direct merchants in other verticals.
  • ✓Wisetack says its 0% offers carry no deferred interest, but by its own figures only about half of approved applicants see one. Sunbit's dental page offers a no-interest plan to every approved patient, but its footnote describes those plans as 'Avoid Paying Interest' plans: interest accrues from the purchase date and is not owed only if the financed amount is repaid within the promotion. Its rates page also lists a 'True 0% APR' plan on which no interest accrues.
  • ✓Sunbit has the stronger BBB standing (A+ and 3.7 out of 5 from 193 reviews against A- and 1.23 from 31); Trustpilot scores are close (4.8 for Wisetack, 4.7 for Sunbit).

Wisetack

Wisetack suits US home-services contractors (HVAC, plumbing, roofing, electrical and similar) who quote jobs from about $1,000 up to $65,000 in Housecall Pro, Jobber or another integrated platform and want a fee they can see before signing up. It also covers auto repair, dental, medical and veterinary work up to $15,000.

Sunbit

Sunbit suits auto service departments, dental, optical, veterinary and healthcare practices where the customer is at the counter, the bill runs from under a hundred to a few thousand dollars, and approval rates matter most. Expect to get the merchant fee from a sales conversation rather than a price list.

The Verdict

It Depends on Your Needs

Why?

It depends on your trade, which fits the site's grades (Wisetack B+, Sunbit B). For a home-services contractor Wisetack is the better choice: its 3.9% fee is published, it finances jobs up to $65,000 over up to ten years, it pays once the customer signs off on the work, and it sits inside Housecall Pro, Jobber and other field-service software. Sunbit is built for auto service, dental, optical, veterinary and healthcare counters, where it finances purchases from $60, claims a 90% approval rate and has a stronger BBB record. Its direct merchant fee is not published beyond a 1.9% dental starting point, and on one of its promotional plan types interest accrues from the purchase date and is waived only if the financed amount is repaid within the promotion, so get the fee and plan types in writing before signing.

Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

What the business pays (US, as of October 2026)

What the business pays (US, as of October 2026): Wisetack compared with Sunbit.
FeatureWisetackSunbit
Standard merchant fee
3.9% of the financed amount (home services, auto repair)
Not disclosed for direct merchants; dental from 1.9%
No winner: Sunbit's direct fee is quoted only as a starting point. Wisetack's home-services and auto repair pages state 3.9% per transaction, deducted from the payout; its dental, medical and veterinary pages say only that there is a flat per-transaction fee, without a figure. Sunbit's dental page says practice fees are 'as low as 1.9%' and that pricing improves with usage, and gives no figure for auto, optical, veterinary or healthcare. Merchants who offer Sunbit through Stripe pay Stripe's listed price of 6% + 30¢ per successful charge.
Longer 0% plans
3-month 0% at 3.9%; 6, 12, 24 months at 4.9%, 6.9%, 9.9%
One fee whatever the plan (dental page)
No winner without Sunbit's fee. Wisetack's extended 0% APR plans are opt-in for home services: the higher fee applies only when a customer qualifies for and picks the longer interest-free offer, otherwise the fee stays 3.9%, and a business can trial a plan and drop it. Sunbit's dental page says its fee does not change with the patient's plan, adding that there is one prime rate and one subprime rate.
Setup, monthly fees and contract
No setup or subscription fee
No setup or monthly fees; no contract minimums (dental page)
Neither publishes its merchant agreement. Wisetack's merchant FAQ says there is no implementation cost or subscription. Sunbit's dental page states no setup costs, no monthly fees and no contract minimums; its other vertical pages do not address this. Neither allows the fee to be passed on: Stripe's Sunbit terms bar surcharging or passing Sunbit fees on to customers, and Wisetack's help centre says adding a surcharge for choosing financing violates its merchant agreement and may lead to deactivation.
Worked example: $3,000 job
$117 at 3.9% (home services or auto repair)
$57 dental at the 1.9% floor; $180.30 via Stripe
No winner: the figures sit on different bases. Wisetack: 3.9% × $3,000 = $117 on standard offers; if the customer picks a 6-, 12- or 24-month 0% offer on a home-services add-on plan, $147, $207 or $297. Sunbit: 1.9% × $3,000 = $57 is the lowest dental fee Sunbit advertises, not a rate a new practice is promised; through Stripe, 6% × $3,000 + $0.30 = $180.30. Wisetack does not publish its dental fee, so there is no like-for-like dental comparison.

Standard merchant fee

Wisetack
3.9% of the financed amount (home services, auto repair)
Sunbit
Not disclosed for direct merchants; dental from 1.9%
No winner: Sunbit's direct fee is quoted only as a starting point. Wisetack's home-services and auto repair pages state 3.9% per transaction, deducted from the payout; its dental, medical and veterinary pages say only that there is a flat per-transaction fee, without a figure. Sunbit's dental page says practice fees are 'as low as 1.9%' and that pricing improves with usage, and gives no figure for auto, optical, veterinary or healthcare. Merchants who offer Sunbit through Stripe pay Stripe's listed price of 6% + 30¢ per successful charge.

Longer 0% plans

Wisetack
3-month 0% at 3.9%; 6, 12, 24 months at 4.9%, 6.9%, 9.9%
Sunbit
One fee whatever the plan (dental page)
No winner without Sunbit's fee. Wisetack's extended 0% APR plans are opt-in for home services: the higher fee applies only when a customer qualifies for and picks the longer interest-free offer, otherwise the fee stays 3.9%, and a business can trial a plan and drop it. Sunbit's dental page says its fee does not change with the patient's plan, adding that there is one prime rate and one subprime rate.

Setup, monthly fees and contract

Wisetack
No setup or subscription fee
Sunbit
No setup or monthly fees; no contract minimums (dental page)
Neither publishes its merchant agreement. Wisetack's merchant FAQ says there is no implementation cost or subscription. Sunbit's dental page states no setup costs, no monthly fees and no contract minimums; its other vertical pages do not address this. Neither allows the fee to be passed on: Stripe's Sunbit terms bar surcharging or passing Sunbit fees on to customers, and Wisetack's help centre says adding a surcharge for choosing financing violates its merchant agreement and may lead to deactivation.

Worked example: $3,000 job

Wisetack
$117 at 3.9% (home services or auto repair)
Sunbit
$57 dental at the 1.9% floor; $180.30 via Stripe
No winner: the figures sit on different bases. Wisetack: 3.9% × $3,000 = $117 on standard offers; if the customer picks a 6-, 12- or 24-month 0% offer on a home-services add-on plan, $147, $207 or $297. Sunbit: 1.9% × $3,000 = $57 is the lowest dental fee Sunbit advertises, not a rate a new practice is promised; through Stripe, 6% × $3,000 + $0.30 = $180.30. Wisetack does not publish its dental fee, so there is no like-for-like dental comparison.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

HVAC, plumbing, roofing or electrical contractor on Housecall Pro or Jobber

Wisetack
Recommended
Wisetack
View the Wisetack review

Wisetack is built into both platforms at a published 3.9%, covers jobs from $500 to $65,000 on terms up to 120 months, and pays 1–3 business days after the customer confirms the work. Sunbit tops out at $20,000, and Workiz is the only clear home-services platform among its listed partners.

Dealership service department or high-volume auto shop

Sunbit
Recommended
Sunbit
View the Sunbit review

Sunbit's auto program finances repairs from $60, claims over 96% approvals in auto service, and integrates with Xtime, myKaarma, Tekmetric and Shopmonkey. Wisetack also serves auto repair at 3.9% but starts at $500 and caps auto loans at $15,000 over 12 months. Get Sunbit's fee in writing, as its auto pricing is not published.

Dental practice

Both. Sunbit advertises dental fees from 1.9% with one fee whatever the plan, 87% approvals and no contract minimums; Wisetack finances dental treatment from $500 to $15,000 over 3 to 24 months but does not publish its dental fee. Get written quotes from both and ask Sunbit which promotional plans your patients will see.

Business with tickets under $500

Sunbit
Recommended
Sunbit
View the Sunbit review

Wisetack's minimum is $500. Sunbit finances purchases from $60, although a percentage fee on a small ticket rarely pays for itself unless the sale would otherwise be lost.

Business outside the United States

Neither. Both are US-only: Wisetack is unavailable in US territories and abroad, and Sunbit's loans are not available in or to residents of US territories.

Wisetack: Best for 1 use case
Sunbit: Best for 2 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

It cannot be settled from public prices. Wisetack charges a published 3.9% of the financed amount for home services and auto repair, or 4.9% to 9.9% when a customer picks a longer 0% offer the business has opted into. Sunbit publishes only a dental fee 'as low as 1.9%' that improves with usage for direct merchants, while Stripe lists Sunbit at 6% + 30¢ per charge for merchants who take it through Stripe. Ask Sunbit for your rate in writing.

Wisetack says its loans are simple interest and its 0% offers carry no deferred interest. Sunbit's rates page lists a 'True 0% APR' plan, on which no interest accrues, and an 'Avoid Paying Interest' plan, on which interest accrues from the purchase date and is not owed only if an amount equal to the financed amount is repaid before the promotional period ends. Sunbit's dental page footnotes its no-interest plans as the second kind, while saying patients face no deferred interest for late or missed payments. Ask which plan type your customers will see.

Neither company is the lender. Wisetack's loans come from Hatch Bank, U.S. Bank and Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub Bank). Sunbit's loans are made by Transportation Alliance Bank, trading as TAB Bank.

Wisetack sends the money by ACH the next business day after the customer confirms the work is complete, and it lands in 1 to 3 business days. Sunbit says a dental practice is paid in full up front when the patient checks out, but does not publish how long the deposit takes; through Stripe, Sunbit funds follow your normal Stripe payout schedule.

No. Both use a soft credit check to show offers. Accepting a loan can affect the customer's credit, and both report repayment activity to credit bureaus.

Wisetack finances home-services jobs from $500 to $65,000 over 3 to 120 months, and auto, dental, medical and veterinary work up to $15,000. Sunbit finances purchases from $60 to $20,000 over 3 to 72 months, with the largest amounts and longest terms limited to the most creditworthy customers and not available at every merchant.