Head to head
Compared side by side on published facts and the same six criteria every review is graded on — generated from the live directory, not a sales page.
Bank of America Merchant Services
Payment Processor · 3.0/5 mean
Bank of America Merchant Services is a large, bank-integrated payment processing solution ideal for existing BofA business checking customers who value brand stability, seamless funding, and broad payment acceptance though it lags behind fintech competitors on pricing transparency, modern integrations, and third-party review scores.
Read the full review →Clover
POS System · 3.7/5 mean
Clover is a widely used, all-in-one POS platform (hardware + software + app marketplace) favored by small and medium retailers and restaurants and backed by Fiserv, offering broad functionality but with real-world variability in support and reseller pricing.
Read the full review →Clover holds the higher standing — by grade, then mean category score. The row-by-row picture below is what should actually decide it for your business.
Both graded against the same six criteria. How we grade · Last fact-checked August 19, 2026 and September 2, 2026.
| Criterion | Bank of America Merchant Services | Clover |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | 2.0 | 3.0wins this criterion |
| Feature set | 4.0 | 5.0wins this criterion |
| Ease of use | 3.0 |
Straight from each provider's published documentation. Where a number isn't published, we say so rather than estimate.
| Metric | Bank of America Merchant Services | Clover |
|---|---|---|
| Online rate | 2.99% + .30 | Not disclosed |
| Monthly fee | No standard monthly fee on the simplified pricing plan; POS software solutions require a monthly subscription fee | Clover publishes $89.95/month (restaurant Growth) and $84.95-$104.90/month (retail Standard and Advanced); reseller quotes vary |
| Payout | Next business day for all merchants (settlement to a required BofA business checking account) | Not disclosed |
| Contract | No length of term required. No penalty for closing the account. | Not disclosed |
| In-person rate | 2.65% + .10 | Not disclosed |
| Keyed rate | 3.50% + $0.15 |
From the Bank of America Merchant Services review
Clover offers a full POS ecosystem — hardware, an app marketplace, and developer APIs — that goes well beyond the point-of-sale options Bank of America Merchant Services provides. BofA remains the better fit for merchants who prioritize banking integration, same-day funding, and branch support over POS depth.
Pick Clover if you run a retail store or restaurant and need a customizable all-in-one POS
Ideal for
Not recommended for
Ideal for
Not recommended for
The full reviews carry the pricing narratives, contract analysis and everything else behind these numbers — or let the matching funnel score the whole directory against your business.
| 4.0wins this criterion |
| Customer support | 3.0 | 3.0 |
|---|
| Contract terms | 3.0 | 3.0 |
|---|
| Industry reputation | 3.0 | 4.0wins this criterion |
|---|
| Not disclosed |
| PCI fee | Not disclosed | Depends on merchant service provider |
|---|
| Statement fee | Not disclosed | None listed, but platform fee of $5.00 |
|---|
| Chargeback fee | Not disclosed | Depend on reseller/acquirer contract |
|---|
| Early termination | No early termination fees on simplified pricing plan. Older/legacy contracts through Fiserv/First Data had ETFs up to $500. | Depending on partner/reseller contract |
|---|
| Last fact-checked | August 19, 2026 | September 2, 2026 |
|---|