Head to head
Compared side by side on published facts and the same six criteria every review is graded on — generated from the live directory, not a sales page.
Clover
POS & Business Software · 3.7/5 mean
Clover is a widely used, all-in-one POS platform (hardware + software + app marketplace) favored by small and medium retailers and restaurants and backed by Fiserv, offering broad functionality but with real-world variability in support and reseller pricing.
Read the full review →Moneris
Platform / Acquirer · 2.8/5 mean
Moneris is Canada’s largest payment processor, providing point-of-sale systems, ecommerce payment gateways, and mobile payment solutions for businesses across Canada through a joint venture owned by Royal Bank of Canada and Bank of Montreal.
Read the full review →Clover holds the higher standing — by grade, then mean category score. The row-by-row picture below is what should actually decide it for your business.
Both graded against the same six criteria. How we grade · Last fact-checked September 16, 2026 and August 19, 2026.
| Criterion | Clover | Moneris |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | 3.0wins this criterion | 2.0 |
| Feature set | 5.0wins this criterion | 4.0 |
| Ease of use | 4.0wins this criterion |
Straight from each provider's published documentation. Where a number isn't published, we say so rather than estimate.
| Metric | Clover | Moneris |
|---|---|---|
| Online rate | Not disclosed | 2.4% to 3.5% + per transaction fee |
| Monthly fee | $84.95-$104.90/month (published plans) | often $10 to $50+ |
| Payout | Not disclosed | Typically 1 – 2 business days |
| Contract | Not disclosed | Commonly 1 to 3 years, sometimes longer for equipment deals |
| In-person rate | 2.3% + $0.10 tapped, swiped or inserted on Clover's published restaurant plans and on retail Standard and Advanced; 2.6% + $0.10 on retail Basic (clover.com prices only; reseller agreements differ) | 1.4% to 2.5% + per transaction fee |
| Keyed rate | 3.5% + $0.10 for typed-in cards across Clover's published restaurant and retail plans (clover.com prices only; reseller agreements differ) |
From the Moneris review
Clover's App Market lets merchants add functionality without custom engineering and is backed by Fiserv's large acquiring network, where Moneris centers on its own Moneris Go hardware family. Moneris keeps the edge for Canadian businesses that want one domestic provider with Interac debit support and 24/7 phone and chat support.
Pick Clover if you want a modular POS you can extend through an app marketplace
Ideal for
Not recommended for
Ideal for
Not recommended for
The full reviews carry the pricing narratives, contract analysis and everything else behind these numbers — or let the matching funnel score the whole directory against your business.
| 3.0 |
| Customer support | 3.0 | 3.0 |
|---|
| Contract terms | 3.0wins this criterion | 2.0 |
|---|
| Industry reputation | 4.0wins this criterion | 3.0 |
|---|
| 2.5% to 3.9% + per transaction fee |
| International rate | Not disclosed | higher than domestic rates, often +1% or more |
|---|
| PCI fee | Depends on merchant service provider | $5 to $30 monthly |
|---|
| Statement fee | None listed, but platform fee of $5.00 | $5 to $15 monthly |
|---|
| Chargeback fee | Depend on reseller/acquirer contract | $15 to $25 per dispute |
|---|
| Early termination | Depending on partner/reseller contract | can range from $100 to several hundred dollars or remaining contract obligation |
|---|
| Last fact-checked | September 16, 2026 | August 19, 2026 |
|---|