Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Chase Payment Solutions vs Square

Comparison · Updated September 10, 2026

Chase Payment Solutions vs Square

VS
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services

B

Chase Payment Solutions is the merchant services arm of the #1 US bank, offering small and mid-sized businesses a deeply integrated combination of payment processing, same-day deposits, and banking tools. They're backed by the trust and scale of JPMorgan Chase but with flat-rate fees that may not suit high-volume merchants.

Read Full Review
Square

Square

A

Square offers simple, transparent payment processing ideal for small businesses. Flat-rate pricing, no monthly fees, and excellent software make it a top choice — but account holds and limited support are key concerns.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

Chase undercuts Square on every published card rate - 2.6% + 10c in person against 2.6% + 15c, 2.9% + 25c online against 3.3% + 30c on Square's free plan, 3.5% + 10c keyed against 3.5% + 15c - and if your funds land in a Chase business checking account it deposits same day at no extra cost, where Square charges 1.95% to move money instantly. Square answers with everything around the payment: sign up and sell the same day with no underwriting wait, no chargeback fee at all, published software tiers at $0, $49 and $149 per location, hardware from $59, ACH at 1%, and a month-to-month arrangement you can cancel from the dashboard. The structural difference underneath is that Chase gives you a dedicated merchant account while Square is a payment facilitator placing you on a shared one. Payment Review grades Square A and Chase B.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓Chase is cheaper on all three published card rates - in person, online and keyed - by 5c or by 0.4% plus 5c online.
  • ✓Chase deposits same day at no extra cost into a Chase business checking account; Square charges 1.95% for an instant transfer.
  • ✓Square charges no chargeback fee; Chase does not publish one.
  • ✓Square opens same day with no underwriting wait and cancels from the dashboard; Chase underwrites you a dedicated merchant account.
  • ✓Chase answers the phone 24/7 on every account; Square's phone desk is weekdays 6am-6pm PT unless you pay $149 a month for Premium.

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services

Chase suits an established business with steady volume that already banks with Chase or would move to - the rate advantage compounds, same-day funding costs nothing, and 24/7 phone support comes with the account.

Square

Square suits new, small, seasonal or occasional sellers, and anyone who values starting this afternoon, leaving without a conversation and never paying a chargeback fee more than they value 5c a transaction.

The Verdict

It Depends on Your Needs

Why?

These two win on different axes and the split is clean enough that forcing a single answer would misinform most readers. Chase is cheaper on money, and not marginally: it beats Square's free plan on all three published card rates - 2.6% + 10c against 2.6% + 15c in person, 2.9% + 25c against 3.3% + 30c online, 3.5% + 10c against 3.5% + 15c keyed - and it hands you same-day funding at no cost if your money lands in a Chase business checking account, where Square charges 1.95% for the same speed. On a business doing $40,000 a month online, the online rate gap alone is real money, and the funding difference is real again. It also gives you a dedicated merchant account rather than a slot on a shared one, which is the structural reason payment-facilitator merchants are the ones who write about sudden holds, and it answers the phone 24/7 without an upsell. Square is better at everything that is not the rate. You can be selling this afternoon with no underwriting wait, you pay nothing when a chargeback lands, ACH is 1% with a published cap, hardware starts at $59, the software tiers are $0, $49 and $149 per location with the contents listed, and you cancel from a dashboard rather than a phone call. It is the higher-graded product on the site - A against B - because for the businesses that make up most of the market, that package is worth more than 5c a transaction. The dividing line is volume and permanence. Established, steady, banking with Chase or willing to move: take Chase and the rate. New, small, seasonal, or unsure how long this will run: take Square, and revisit once the volume justifies an underwritten account.

Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Published card rates

Published card rates: Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services compared with Square.
FeatureChase Payment Solutions and Merchant ServicesSquare
In person - tap, dip or swipe
2.6% + 10c
Winner
2.6% + 15c on the free plan
Same basis, same transaction type. Square narrows it on paid tiers - 2.5% + 15c on Plus, 2.4% + 15c on Premium - but those cost $49 and $149 per location per month, so they only pay for themselves at volume.
Online / e-commerce
2.9% + 25c
Winner
3.3% + 30c free plan; 2.9% + 30c on Plus and Premium
The widest gap in the comparison. On Square's free plan an online sale costs 0.4% plus 5c more than Chase's; a paid Square tier closes it to 5c a transaction but adds the monthly fee. Square's Payments API is 2.9% + 30c on every plan.
Manually keyed or payment link
3.5% + 10c
Winner
3.5% + 15c
Chase groups payment links with keyed entry at this rate. Both companies price keyed entry higher because the card is not present and the fraud exposure is the merchant's.
ACH / bank transfer
Not disclosed
1%, $1 minimum, $10 cap on paid plans
Winner
Square publishes ACH on invoices at 1% with a $1 minimum, capped at $10 on Plus and Premium, and 1% with a $5 cap through the API. Chase publishes no ACH rate on its processing fee page.
Chargeback fee
Not disclosed
None
Winner
Square states it charges no chargeback fee. Chase publishes no figure on its pricing page, so treat it as a question for the Payments Advisor rather than as a zero.

In person - tap, dip or swipe

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
2.6% + 10c
Winner
Square
2.6% + 15c on the free plan
Same basis, same transaction type. Square narrows it on paid tiers - 2.5% + 15c on Plus, 2.4% + 15c on Premium - but those cost $49 and $149 per location per month, so they only pay for themselves at volume.

Online / e-commerce

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
2.9% + 25c
Winner
Square
3.3% + 30c free plan; 2.9% + 30c on Plus and Premium
The widest gap in the comparison. On Square's free plan an online sale costs 0.4% plus 5c more than Chase's; a paid Square tier closes it to 5c a transaction but adds the monthly fee. Square's Payments API is 2.9% + 30c on every plan.

Manually keyed or payment link

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
3.5% + 10c
Winner
Square
3.5% + 15c
Chase groups payment links with keyed entry at this rate. Both companies price keyed entry higher because the card is not present and the fraud exposure is the merchant's.

ACH / bank transfer

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
Not disclosed
Square
1%, $1 minimum, $10 cap on paid plans
Winner
Square publishes ACH on invoices at 1% with a $1 minimum, capped at $10 on Plus and Premium, and 1% with a $5 cap through the API. Chase publishes no ACH rate on its processing fee page.

Chargeback fee

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
Not disclosed
Square
None
Winner
Square states it charges no chargeback fee. Chase publishes no figure on its pricing page, so treat it as a question for the Payments Advisor rather than as a zero.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Established retailer or restaurant already banking with Chase

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
Recommended
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
View the Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services review

The whole case lands at once: 2.6% + 10c in person against Square's 2.6% + 15c, and same-day deposits into the checking account you already hold at no additional cost, where Square would charge 1.95% for that speed. Add 24/7 phone support as standard and a dedicated merchant account underwritten to your business.

New business taking its first payment

Square
Recommended
Square
View the Square review

Square opens the same day from a dashboard with no underwriting wait, hardware starts at $59, the plan costs $0 a month, and you can stop whenever you like. Chase's application-and-underwriting route is the right one later, once you know the volume is there and the 5c a transaction starts to matter.

Online-first seller doing steady monthly volume

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
Recommended
Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services
View the Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services review

The e-commerce gap is the widest in the comparison: 2.9% + 25c at Chase against 3.3% + 30c on Square's free plan. Matching Chase's percentage on Square means paying $49 or $149 a month for Plus or Premium and still giving up 5c a transaction. Ask Chase about interchange-plus custom pricing, which its page offers by volume.

Seasonal or pop-up seller

Square
Recommended
Square
View the Square review

Months with no sales cost nothing on Square's free plan, you cancel from the dashboard rather than by phone, and there is no dedicated account to underwrite or unwind. Chase's rate advantage cannot pay for itself over a short trading season.

Business where a disputed transaction is a regular event

Square
Recommended
Square
View the Square review

Square charges no chargeback fee at all, so a dispute costs you the sale and nothing more. Chase publishes no chargeback fee on its pricing page - which is not the same as not having one. Get the figure from a Payments Advisor in writing before committing if this is your pattern.

Chase Payment Solutions and Merchant Services: Best for 2 use cases
Square: Best for 3 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

Chase, on every published card rate. In person it is 2.6% + 10c against Square's 2.6% + 15c; online 2.9% + 25c against 3.3% + 30c on Square's free plan; keyed or by payment link 3.5% + 10c against 3.5% + 15c. Square's paid tiers narrow the percentage - 2.5% + 15c in person on Plus at $49 a month per location, 2.4% + 15c on Premium at $149 - but never beat Chase's per-transaction cents, and the monthly fee has to be earned back first. Square wins on the fees around the payment instead: no chargeback fee, ACH at 1% with a published cap, hardware from $59. Model your own mix rather than trusting either headline.

Both deposit next business day as standard, free. The difference is the fast lane. Chase funds same day at no additional cost when you direct the money into a Chase business checking account - that is the single strongest argument for banking where you process. Square charges 1.95% per transfer for instant or same-day access, and asks for a $25 minimum balance after fees on an instant transfer. On $5,000 of takings, Square's fast money costs $97.50 and Chase's costs nothing.

Not less secure - differently structured. Square is a payment facilitator, so you trade under its master merchant account alongside many other sellers, which is exactly what lets you start the same day with no underwriting. Chase underwrites you a dedicated merchant account in your own business's name. The practical consequence is risk tolerance: aggregated accounts are quicker to freeze funds or close an account when a pattern looks unusual, because the facilitator carries the exposure for everyone on the account. If a sudden hold would be existential for you, that is an argument for the underwritten route.

The standard plan is month-to-month with no early termination fee. The caution is promotional hardware. Third-party reviewers report that accepting free or discounted equipment through a Chase advisor can convert the arrangement into a multi-year term, with either liquidated damages or a clawback of the equipment's retail value on early exit; the figures reported vary between sources and Chase publishes none of them. Chase's pricing page also notes that monthly fees may apply to certain products and pricing plans. Get the term, the monthly fees and the exit cost in writing before accepting any offer. Square is month-to-month throughout and cancels from the dashboard.

Chase, on availability. It offers 24/7 phone support on every account. Square's phone desk runs Monday to Friday, 6am to 6pm Pacific, unless you are on Premium at $149 a month per location, which includes 24/7 phone support. Quality is a separate question from hours and neither looks strong: Payment Review scores Square's support 1 out of 5 and Chase's 3 out of 5, and both sit at 3.7 on Trustpilot - though Square's score rests on 7,463 reviews against Chase's 143.

With Chase, yes. Its pricing page states that custom pricing, including interchange rate options, may be available based on processing volume, and it lists a Payments Advisor line to ask. That is the normal route for an established business with real volume, and interchange-plus will usually beat any flat rate once you are large enough. Square's published rates are the rates; the only lever is moving up a plan tier, and Square Pro exists as a custom option for businesses processing over $250,000 a year.

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

Square vs Lightspeed

View comparison

QuickBooks Payments vs Square

View comparison

Square vs Shopify Payments

View comparison
View All Comparisons