Payment Review
HomeReviewsCategoriesGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Comparisons
Payline Data vs Stax

Comparison · Updated November 3, 2026

Payline Data vs Stax

VS
Payline Data

Payline Data

B

Payline Data is a Chicago merchant account provider that publishes its whole interchange-plus rate card on its home page: interchange plus 0.35% and 10 cents under $50,000 of monthly volume, sliding to interchange plus 0.15% and 8 cents above $1 million. That alone puts it in a small minority of US processors. It advertises no application fee, no cancellation fee and no term length, does not charge for PCI compliance, and funds next day. It is a registered ISO of Wells Fargo Bank N.A. and Fifth Third Bank N.A., says it serves more than 20,000 merchants, and takes high-risk business including nutraceuticals, subscriptions, firearms, CBD and adult. The complication a reader should know before signing is ownership: Payline was bought by Pineapple Payments in October 2017, and Fiserv bought Pineapple in May 2021, so Payline has been a Fiserv brand for five years. Nothing on Payline's own site says so.

Read Full Review
Stax

Stax

B

Stax is a payments technology company founded in 2014 that partners with SaaS companies, ISOs, and SMBs to enable flexible, multi-channel payment processing and invoicing solutions, claiming a distinctive subscription-based pricing model with 0% interchange markup.

Read Full Review
VS

Overview

We compare the two for a US small business on each provider's entry pricing, with in-person cards set against in-person cards and online against online. We used each company's own website, help centre and published merchant terms as read on 3 November 2026. Both are US ISOs that pass interchange through at cost, but they charge their own margin in opposite ways. Payline publishes an interchange-plus markup by monthly volume. Under $50,000 a month that is interchange + 0.35% + 10¢ in person and interchange + 0.50% + 20¢ online. Stax charges no percentage markup. Instead it charges a monthly subscription ($99 up to $150,000 of processing a year, $139 up to $250,000, $199 and up above that) plus $0.08 per in-person and $0.15 per online or keyed transaction. Payline's website changed between August and October 2026. Its website terms, effective 23 September 2026, now name Payline as a d/b/a of Under Inc, and its footer names Pathward, N.A. as its sponsor bank. Its pricing page no longer promises month-to-month terms, no cancellation fee, no PCI fee or next-day funding, and says those depend on your agreement. Stax publishes its contract, cancellation and funding terms: its own merchant terms run month to month with 30 days' notice, its help centre says there is no penalty for cancelling, and most accounts get next-business-day funding. So Payline's published markup is lower at small volumes, but Stax is the one whose exit terms you can read before applying. Stax (formerly Fattmerchant, founded in Orlando in 2014) has been majority-owned by Greater Sum Ventures since December 2020.

Key Takeaways

  • ✓It depends on your volume and how much you need in writing up front. On published figures alone, Payline's markup costs less at small volumes. At $10,000 a month in $50 sales it comes to about $55 in person and $90 online, against $115 and $129 for Stax's subscription and per-transaction fees. Payline, however, does not publish its monthly, gateway or PCI fees.
  • ✓Stax's own merchant terms are month-to-month with 30 days' written notice, and its help centre says there is no penalty for cancelling. The terms also carry a $750 deconversion fee if you ask Stax to help you move, a $499 charge for loaned equipment not returned within 30 days, and an exclusivity clause. Stax's legal page also links an older bank agreement with a three-year term, so confirm which one you are signing. Payline's site used to promise no term length and no cancellation fee. It now says only that terms depend on your agreement.
  • ✓Payline charges more online than in person: interchange + 0.50% + 20¢ under $50,000 a month, against + 0.35% + 10¢ for card-present sales. Stax charges $0.15 online and $0.08 in person on top of its subscription.
  • ✓Payline prices its terminals by the month over 24 months ($10 to $45 a month). Stax sells them outright ($125 to $495), with an optional $19-a-month protection plan.
  • ✓Payline's site now names a different business behind it: its website terms call Payline a d/b/a of Under Inc, and its footer names Pathward as its sponsor bank. Until at least August 2026 its site named Payline Data Services, LLC, with Wells Fargo and Fifth Third as sponsor banks. We found no public announcement of the change. Stax is majority-owned by Greater Sum Ventures and sponsored by Fifth Third and Synovus Bank.

Payline Data

Payline suits a small business, mostly selling in person, that wants interchange-plus pricing with a published markup. At Stax's entry tier (up to about $12,500 a month) Payline's published markup is clearly lower. It also suits a business in an industry mainstream processors turn away, which Payline places with partner providers. Before signing, get the monthly and PCI fees, the contract length, any cancellation fee and the funding schedule in writing. Its website does not publish any of them.

Stax

Stax suits a business that wants its price and exit terms in writing before it applies: a fixed monthly subscription, interchange at no markup, a few cents per transaction, month-to-month terms and next-business-day funding for most accounts. The subscription spreads thinner as volume grows. Watch the $750 deconversion fee and the exclusivity clause, and confirm which merchant agreement you are signing.

The Verdict

It Depends on Your Needs

Why?

On published numbers, Payline's interchange-plus markup is cheaper for a small business. At $10,000 a month in $50 sales it costs about $55 in person and $90 online, against $115 and $129 under Stax's $99 subscription and per-transaction fees. That gap is not the whole price, though. As of November 2026, Payline's site does not publish its monthly or PCI fees, contract length, cancellation terms or funding schedule. Stax publishes its contract, cancellation and funding terms: month-to-month with 30 days' notice under its own merchant terms, no cancellation penalty, and next-business-day funding for most accounts. Its terms do carry a $750 deconversion fee and an exclusivity clause, and its legal page also links an older three-year bank agreement, so confirm which applies. Choose Payline if you are at small volume and get its full fee schedule and exit terms in writing. Choose Stax if you want to read the contract before you apply, or once your volume makes a fixed subscription cheaper than a percentage markup.

Feature by feature

Detailed Comparison

Filter Options

Pricing (US entry tier, November 2026)

Pricing (US entry tier, November 2026): Payline Data compared with Stax.
FeaturePayline DataStax
Pricing model
Interchange-plus, markup by monthly volume
Subscription + interchange at cost + cents
Both pass interchange and card-network fees through. Payline adds a percentage and per-transaction markup that falls as monthly volume rises. Stax adds no percentage and charges a monthly subscription plus a fixed fee per transaction. The models differ, so no pricing row has a winner.
Markup, in person
Interchange + 0.35% + 10¢
Interchange + 0% + $0.08
Payline's card-present rate for under $50,000 a month. It falls to + 0.15% + 8¢ above $1 million a month. Stax's figure sits on top of its monthly subscription. Worked example, using published figures only: at $10,000 a month in 200 sales of $50, Payline's markup is about $55 (0.35% = $35, plus 200 × 10¢), while Stax's $99 subscription plus 200 × $0.08 is $115. Payline's monthly, gateway and PCI fees, if any, are not published and would add to its side.
Markup, online
Interchange + 0.50% + 20¢
Interchange + 0% + $0.15
Payline's pricing calculator switches to a separate card-not-present table when you choose 'No' for card present: + 0.50% + 20¢ under $50,000 a month, falling to + 0.10% + 12¢ above $1 million. Stax charges $0.15 per card-not-present transaction. On the same example ($10,000 a month, 200 sales of $50) the figures are about $90 for Payline against $129 for Stax.
Monthly fee
Not disclosed
$99 up to $150,000 a year
Payline's pricing page says account minimums, gateway or software charges, PCI-related charges and dispute fees 'may apply', without amounts. Stax charges $99 a month up to $150,000 of processing a year, $139 from $150,000 to $250,000, and $199 and up above $250,000, with a custom quote for higher volume.
ACH
Not disclosed
1% (capped at $10)
Payline offers ACH but says fees depend on the provider, service and agreement. Stax lists ACH as an optional add-on at 1% per transaction, capped at $10.

Pricing model

Payline Data
Interchange-plus, markup by monthly volume
Stax
Subscription + interchange at cost + cents
Both pass interchange and card-network fees through. Payline adds a percentage and per-transaction markup that falls as monthly volume rises. Stax adds no percentage and charges a monthly subscription plus a fixed fee per transaction. The models differ, so no pricing row has a winner.

Markup, in person

Payline Data
Interchange + 0.35% + 10¢
Stax
Interchange + 0% + $0.08
Payline's card-present rate for under $50,000 a month. It falls to + 0.15% + 8¢ above $1 million a month. Stax's figure sits on top of its monthly subscription. Worked example, using published figures only: at $10,000 a month in 200 sales of $50, Payline's markup is about $55 (0.35% = $35, plus 200 × 10¢), while Stax's $99 subscription plus 200 × $0.08 is $115. Payline's monthly, gateway and PCI fees, if any, are not published and would add to its side.

Markup, online

Payline Data
Interchange + 0.50% + 20¢
Stax
Interchange + 0% + $0.15
Payline's pricing calculator switches to a separate card-not-present table when you choose 'No' for card present: + 0.50% + 20¢ under $50,000 a month, falling to + 0.10% + 12¢ above $1 million. Stax charges $0.15 per card-not-present transaction. On the same example ($10,000 a month, 200 sales of $50) the figures are about $90 for Payline against $129 for Stax.

Monthly fee

Payline Data
Not disclosed
Stax
$99 up to $150,000 a year
Payline's pricing page says account minimums, gateway or software charges, PCI-related charges and dispute fees 'may apply', without amounts. Stax charges $99 a month up to $150,000 of processing a year, $139 from $150,000 to $250,000, and $199 and up above $250,000, with a custom quote for higher volume.

ACH

Payline Data
Not disclosed
Stax
1% (capped at $10)
Payline offers ACH but says fees depend on the provider, service and agreement. Stax lists ACH as an optional add-on at 1% per transaction, capped at $10.
Jump to:

Best For Your Business

Recommendations based on your business type

Small retail or service business processing up to about $12,500 a month in person

Payline Data
Recommended
Payline Data
View the Payline Data review

At this volume Stax's $99 entry tier applies, and Payline's published card-present markup (interchange + 0.35% + 10¢) costs less than $99 plus $0.08 a transaction: about $55 against $115 at $10,000 a month in $50 sales. Get any monthly, gateway and PCI fees, the contract length and the cancellation terms in writing first.

Business that wants every fee and exit term in writing before applying

Stax
Recommended
Stax
View the Stax review

Stax publishes its subscription tiers, per-transaction fees, ACH pricing, terminal prices and merchant terms: month-to-month, 30 days' notice, no cancellation penalty. Confirm you are signing its own terms rather than the older bank agreement also on its legal page. Payline now says most of these depend on your agreement.

Online business processing around $40,000 a month

Stax
Recommended
Stax
View the Stax review

At $40,000 a month in 800 sales of $50, Payline's online markup (interchange + 0.50% + 20¢) comes to about $360. Stax's subscription for over $250,000 a year starts at $199, which with 800 × $0.15 comes to about $319 or more. Stax's top tier is priced 'and up', so get its quote and model both against your own statements.

Business in an industry mainstream processors decline

Payline Data
Recommended
Payline Data
View the Payline Data review

Payline names high-risk industries it places with partner providers, including supplements, subscriptions, firearms and telemedicine. It says these accounts commonly cost more than standard ones, so get the rate, reserve and funding terms quoted.

Payline Data: Best for 2 use cases
Stax: Best for 2 use cases

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this comparison

At small volumes, Payline's published markup is lower. At $10,000 a month in $50 sales, it comes to about $55 in person (interchange + 0.35% + 10¢) and $90 online (interchange + 0.50% + 20¢). Stax's $99 subscription plus $0.08 or $0.15 a transaction comes to $115 and $129. Payline does not publish its monthly, gateway or PCI fees, so ask for its full fee schedule. Stax's fixed subscription gets relatively cheaper as volume grows. Online at $40,000 a month in $50 sales, Payline's markup is about $360 against roughly $319 or more for Stax.

Payline no longer says. Until at least April 2026 its pricing page promised no application fee, no cancellation fee and no term length, with agreements running month by month. As of November 2026 the page says terms depend on the agreement and selected services. Its terminals are priced monthly over 24 months. Stax's own merchant terms are month-to-month with 30 days' notice, and its help centre says there is no cancellation penalty, though there is a $750 deconversion fee if you ask Stax to help you move. Stax's legal page also links an older three-year bank agreement, so check which one you sign.

Payline's website terms, effective 23 September 2026, name 'Payline, a d/b/a of Under Inc', and its footer names Pathward, N.A. as its sponsor bank. Pineapple Payments bought Payline in October 2017, and Fiserv bought Pineapple Payments in May 2021. Under's site says Payline 'returns' to it, but we found no announcement of when or from whom. Stax has been majority-owned by Greater Sum Ventures since December 2020.

Stax approves most merchants for next-business-day funding, with newer accounts sometimes starting on 48-hour funding. Payline used to advertise next-day deposits. Its site now says funding follows your approved account's terms, so confirm the schedule before signing.

No. Stax passes interchange through with 0% markup and charges a monthly subscription instead: $99 up to $150,000 of processing a year, $139 up to $250,000 and $199 and up above that. On top of this it charges $0.08 per in-person and $0.15 per keyed or online transaction. Payline charges a percentage and cents markup on top of interchange instead of a subscription.

Related Comparisons

Explore more payment processor matchups

PayJunction vs Stax

View comparison

Stax vs Square

View comparison

Stax vs Payment Depot

View comparison
View All Comparisons