Payment Review
HomeReviewsGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Reviews
Payline Data
Payline Data logo
Chicago, Illinois, United StatesFact-checked September 3, 2026

Payline Data Review

B

Payline Data is a Chicago merchant account provider that publishes its whole interchange-plus rate card on its home page: interchange plus 0.35% and 10 cents under $50,000 of monthly volume, sliding to interchange plus 0.15% and 8 cents above $1 million. That alone puts it in a small minority of US processors. It advertises no application fee, no cancellation fee and no term length, does not charge for PCI compliance, and funds next day. It is a registered ISO of Wells Fargo Bank N.A. and Fifth Third Bank N.A., says it serves more than 20,000 merchants, and takes high-risk business including nutraceuticals, subscriptions, firearms, CBD and adult. The complication a reader should know before signing is ownership: Payline was bought by Pineapple Payments in October 2017, and Fiserv bought Pineapple in May 2021, so Payline has been a Fiserv brand for five years. Nothing on Payline's own site says so.

Connect with Payline Data
See pricing
Visit website

External link — we may earn a commission.

Rate from
The same published tiers apply to online volume — Payline does not publish a separate card-not-present markup. Interchange and card brand assessments pass through on top, and Payline's calculator adds card brand fees to its estimate.
Monthly
No published monthly account fee; terminals are billed separately.
Payout
Next day.
Contract
Month to month.
Founded
2010
VerdictPricingFeatures6ReputationFAQsMethodology

Connect with Payline Data

Tell them what you need. This goes to Payline Data only.

Free. Providers are ranked on fit and editorial grade — no one can pay to appear higher.

Best for

Small and mid-sized US merchants who want interchange-plus pricing they can check against a published number rather than reconstruct from a statement, and who value a month-to-month agreement over a negotiated rate. It is also a reasonable first call for moderate-risk businesses — supplements, subscriptions, firearms, CBD, coaching and info products — that want a mainstream-looking processor rather than a dedicated high-risk shop.

How it scores

Pricing4.5
Features3.5
Ease of use3.5
Support3.0
Contract4.0
Reputation score3.0

What it costs

Details →
Online
The same published tiers apply to online volume — Payline does not publish a separate card-not-present markup. Interchange and card brand assessments pass through on top, and Payline's calculator adds card brand fees to its estimate.
Monthly
No published monthly account fee; terminals are billed separately.

What others rate them

Details →
GOOGLE
4.2
TRUSTPILOT
0
The takeB

Payline is one of the few merchant account providers that will tell you its markup before you talk to a salesperson, and the terms attached to it — month to month, no cancellation fee, no PCI charge, next-day funding — are the ones a small merchant should be asking for. That is worth a lot in an industry built on quoted rates. What holds the grade at B is everything that is not published: Payline does not disclose that it is owned by Fiserv, its own pricing page attaches 24-month terms to terminals on the same screen that promises no term length, and there is almost no independent record of how the account behaves after the sale — no BBB profile, no Trustpilot page, and about fifty Google reviews.

Skip if you

You need to know exactly who is holding your money and under what escalation path. Payline's public materials never mention Fiserv, and a merchant who thinks they are buying from an independent Chicago ISO is in fact a Fiserv merchant. Skip it too if you process card-present volume through leased hardware: the terminal line items carry 24-month commitments that sit awkwardly against the no-term-length promise, and if you are high risk, none of the published tiers apply to you — those accounts are quoted, not listed.

Chapter 1

Should you choose Payline Data?

The headline take, the audiences it's right (and wrong) for, and the genuine differentiators behind the verdict.

About

Payline Data is a Chicago merchant account provider that publishes its whole interchange-plus rate card on its home page: interchange plus 0.35% and 10 cents under $50,000 of monthly volume, sliding to interchange plus 0.15% and 8 cents above $1 million. That alone puts it in a small minority of US processors. It advertises no application fee, no cancellation fee and no term length, does not charge for PCI compliance, and funds next day. It is a registered ISO of Wells Fargo Bank N.A. and Fifth Third Bank N.A., says it serves more than 20,000 merchants, and takes high-risk business including nutraceuticals, subscriptions, firearms, CBD and adult. The complication a reader should know before signing is ownership: Payline was bought by Pineapple Payments in October 2017, and Fiserv bought Pineapple in May 2021, so Payline has been a Fiserv brand for five years. Nothing on Payline's own site says so.

Pros, cons, and audience

Pros

  • The complete interchange-plus rate card is published on the home page: five volume tiers from interchange + 0.35% + 10c down to interchange + 0.15% + 8c. Very few US merchant account providers will put a markup in writing before a sales call.
  • The published markup applies to card-present and card-not-present volume alike, so an omnichannel merchant does not pay a separate ecommerce premium on top.
  • No application fee, no cancellation fee and no term length on the processing agreement — month-to-month, which is the single most valuable contract term a small merchant can get in this industry.
  • No PCI compliance fee. That removes a $99-$199 annual charge that most competitors levy and many merchants never notice.
  • Next-day funding as the standard, not an upsell.
  • High-risk verticals are accepted rather than quietly prohibited — supplements, subscriptions, firearms, CBD, coaching and adult are named on Payline's own site.
  • Registered ISO of two real sponsor banks, Wells Fargo Bank N.A. and Fifth Third Bank N.A., disclosed in the site footer rather than buried in an agreement.
  • Sixteen years in business, which in an industry where brands vanish or get absorbed every year is a meaningful signal on its own.

Cons

  • Payline does not disclose its ownership anywhere on its site. It was acquired by Pineapple Payments in October 2017, and Fiserv acquired Pineapple in May 2021 for about $207 million, and no divestiture has been announced since — so on the public record a merchant signing with 'a Chicago ISO' is signing with a Fiserv brand.
  • The pricing page promises 'no term length, agreements are month by month' and, on the same screen, prices terminals at $40 and $10 a month marked '24 months'. Those two statements need reconciling in writing before you sign.
  • None of the published tiers apply if you are quoted as high risk. Payline lists the industries it accepts but publishes no high-risk rates, reserve requirements or approval times, which is exactly the information those merchants need.
  • There is no current BBB profile for Payline Data Services, LLC — the former listing no longer resolves. Third-party reviewers previously recorded an A+ with two complaints in three years, but that record is no longer independently checkable.
  • No Trustpilot presence at all: zero reviews on an unclaimed profile. For a company claiming 20,000+ merchants, the absence of public feedback is itself a gap in the evidence.
  • The '20,000+ merchants' figure is Payline's own and unaudited. For context, the whole Pineapple Payments group was reported at roughly 25,000 merchants before Fiserv bought it.
  • Interchange-plus means your actual cost is interchange plus the markup plus card brand assessments. The published tier is the only part Payline controls, and a merchant comparing it to a flat rate like 2.9% + 30c is not comparing like with like.
  • POS pricing is quote-only, so the one product where hardware and software costs matter most is the one with no published number.

What makes them different

The genuine differentiator

The published rate card. Payline lists five interchange-plus tiers by monthly volume on its home page, with the per-transaction cents included, which is something Stripe-style flat-rate processors do not offer and traditional ISOs will not put in writing until you are in a sales call. It is a genuinely unusual piece of transparency, and it is the reason to consider Payline at all.

How we score it

4.5
Pricing Transparency
3.5
Feature Set
3.5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4
Contract Terms
3
Industry Reputation
Chapter 2

What it costs

Real-world cost at three volumes, plus the rates, fees, payouts, and contract terms that drive them.

What Payline Data actually costs

Estimated annual cost at three realistic processing volumes, using Payline Data’s published online rate plus monthly fees. Real costs vary with average transaction size, chargeback rate, and any negotiated terms.

Small business
$10K/mo volume · ~$75 avg transaction
$NaN/year
≈ $NaN/mo · NaN% effective rate
Growing merchant
$50K/mo volume · ~$100 avg transaction
$NaN/year
≈ $NaN/mo · NaN% effective rate
High volume
$250K/mo volume · ~$150 avg transaction
$NaN/year
≈ $NaN/mo · NaN% effective rate

Pricing details

What Payline Data is

Payline Data is a Chicago-based merchant account provider that describes itself as established in 2010, operating as a registered ISO of Wells Fargo Bank N.A. and Fifth Third Bank N.A. It sells card-present, online, recurring and high-risk processing to US small and mid-sized businesses, and says it serves more than 20,000 merchants. We use the company's own founding year here; third-party company records and its founder's own profile place the founding a year earlier, in 2009. The discrepancy is a year and does not change anything material, but it is the sort of small inconsistency worth knowing about before you take other numbers on faith.

The published rate card, which is the actual reason to look

Almost no US merchant account provider publishes its markup. Payline does, on its home page, in five tiers by monthly processing volume. Under $50,000 a month you pay interchange plus 0.35% and 10 cents per transaction. From $50,000 to $100,000 it is interchange plus 0.30% and 10 cents; to $500,000, plus 0.25% and 10 cents; to $1 million, plus 0.20% and 8 cents; and above $1 million, plus 0.15% and 8 cents. The same tiers cover card-present and card-not-present volume, which matters for an omnichannel business that would otherwise pay an ecommerce premium.

Interchange-plus is the honest structure: interchange and card brand assessments pass through at cost, and the markup is the processor's take. It is also the structure that makes a published number meaningful, because there is nothing hidden in a tier definition. What Payline publishes is only its own margin, so a merchant comparing 'interchange + 0.35% + 10c' against a flat 2.9% + 30c has to do the arithmetic on their own card mix to see which is cheaper. For most businesses above a few thousand dollars a month, interchange-plus wins.

The contract terms are good, with one exception

Payline advertises no application fee, no cancellation fee and no term length, with agreements running month to month and the first month free. It also states plainly that it does not charge for PCI compliance — worth roughly $99 to $199 a year against most competitors — and that funds are deposited the next day. Taken together that is a better standard package than most of the industry offers without negotiation.

The exception is hardware. On the same pricing page that promises no term length, Payline prices a smart terminal at $40 a month and a basic terminal at $10 a month, each marked '24 months'. POS is quote-only. A merchant who cancels processing in month three should expect the terminal obligation to be the thing that follows them, so get both commitments written into the same agreement and ask directly what the equipment liability is on early closure.

The ownership question

Payline was acquired by Pineapple Payments in October 2017 and kept operating as an independent brand. Fiserv then acquired Pineapple Payments — announced March 2021, closed 4 May 2021 for approximately $207 million net of acquired cash — and folded it into its Global Business Solutions organisation. We found no public announcement of a subsequent divestiture, so Payline has been a Fiserv brand for roughly five years.

Payline's website does not mention this. The footer names its sponsor banks, which is more disclosure than many ISOs offer, but not its corporate parent. For a reader using this site to get a genuinely independent second quote, that matters: a merchant who compares Payline against Fiserv's Clover or its bank-branded programmes and thinks they are shopping two companies is shopping one.

High risk: named, but not priced

Payline publishes a high-risk industry list — nutraceuticals and supplements, subscription and continuity billing, firearms and tactical goods, coaching and info products, CBD and legal cannabis, adult and collectibles — and describes a broad network of high-risk-friendly processors behind it. It publishes nothing else about the programme: no rates, no reserve requirements, no approval times, no chargeback fee. Assume none of the interchange-plus tiers on the home page apply to you, and treat Payline as an unpriced quote like any other high-risk shop until you have a written fee schedule that includes the reserve terms.

How much can you actually verify?

Less than you would like. There is no current BBB profile for Payline Data Services, LLC — the previous listing no longer resolves, and a BBB search returns nothing for the name. Third-party reviewers previously recorded an A+ rating with two complaints closed over three years, which is a clean file, but that record is no longer independently checkable. Trustpilot holds an unclaimed profile with zero reviews. The one real body of merchant feedback is around 52 Google reviews averaging roughly 4.2 to 4.3 out of 5, and sources disagree even on that figure.

For a company that says it serves more than 20,000 merchants, fifty reviews is a very thin evidence base. It is not evidence of a problem — it is an absence of evidence, and it should shift how much weight you put on the published pricing versus how the account behaves once you are in it. Ask for references in your own vertical, and read the agreement rather than the home page.

Who should look at Payline

A small or mid-sized US merchant who wants interchange-plus pricing they can check against a public number, on a month-to-month agreement, with no PCI fee and next-day funding. That combination is genuinely hard to find, and it is why Payline is worth a quote. Weigh it against providers with a deeper verifiable service record, price the terminal commitment separately from the processing rate, and go in knowing that the company on the other side of the agreement is Fiserv.

Processing Rates

Online

The same published tiers apply to online volume — Payline does not publish a separate card-not-present markup. Interchange and card brand assessments pass through on top, and Payline's calculator adds card brand fees to its estimate.

Card-not-present, e-commerce, and online payments

In-person

Published interchange-plus tiers by monthly volume, applying to both card-present and card-not-present: interchange + 0.35% + 10c under $50,000; interchange + 0.30% + 10c from $50,000 to $100,000; interchange + 0.25% + 10c from $100,000 to $500,000; interchange + 0.20% + 8c from $500,000 to $1 million; interchange + 0.15% + 8c above $1 million.

Card-present retail and point-of-sale transactions

Keyed

Not published separately from the standard tiers.

Manually entered card-not-present transactions

International

Not published. Payline is a US-only ISO of Wells Fargo Bank N.A. and Fifth Third Bank N.A.

Cross-border and foreign currency transactions

Fees

Monthly Fee

No published monthly account fee; terminals are billed separately.

Recurring monthly account fee

PCI Compliance Fee

None. Payline states plainly that it does not charge for PCI compliance, which is a real saving against the $99-$199 annual PCI charge common elsewhere.

Annual PCI DSS compliance and security fee

Statement Fee

Terminals are the exception to the month-to-month framing: Payline's pricing page lists a smart terminal at $40 a month and a basic terminal at $10 a month, each marked '24 months'. POS pricing is quote-only. The first month is advertised free.

Monthly account statement and reporting fee

Early Termination Fee

None published. Payline states there is no application fee, no cancellation fee and no term length, and that agreements are month by month.

Fee for canceling before contract end

Payouts

Standard Payout Time

Next day.

Regular deposit schedule to your bank account

Expedited Payout Time

None published.

Faster deposit option (may have additional fees)

Minimum Payout Amount

None published.

Minimum balance required before payout

Contract Terms

Contract Length

Month to month.

Required commitment period

Cancellation Process

Payline advertises no cancellation fee and no term length. Get the terminal commitment in writing before you sign: the published hardware pricing runs on 24-month terms even though the processing agreement does not, and that is the line item most likely to survive a cancellation. If you are quoted as a high-risk account, ask separately whether the no-cancellation-fee promise still holds — the published terms describe the standard programme.

How to terminate your account

Payline Data Pricing Calculator

Estimate your monthly costs

Pick a published plan, enter your volume and transaction profile, and we’ll compute the math the same way an underwriter would. Real costs vary with card mix, chargeback rate, and any negotiated terms.

$
$
Estimated Monthly Cost
$0.00
Effective Rate
0.00%
Number of transactions200

Flat all-in rate (interchange built in)

Chapter 3

What you actually get

Products, integrations, payment-type coverage, security posture, and how their support holds up in practice.

Products & Services

payment processing

In-person payments

Countertop and smart terminals plus mobile readers, priced as a monthly hardware line ($10 or $40 a month) on a 24-month term rather than bundled into the processing rate.

ecommerce

Online payments

Ecommerce acceptance with shopping-cart integrations, APIs and no-code payment links, billed on the same published interchange-plus tiers as card-present volume.

invoicing

Recurring and subscription billing

Recurring billing for subscription and continuity merchants, a vertical Payline explicitly accepts rather than treating as prohibited.

virtual terminal

Virtual terminal

Browser-based keyed entry for phone and mail order, included alongside the gateway rather than sold as a separate product line.

payment processing

High-risk merchant accounts

A quoted programme for nutraceuticals and supplements, subscription and continuity billing, firearms and tactical goods, coaching and info products, CBD and legal cannabis, and adult and collectibles. Payline publishes the industry list but not the rates, reserves or approval times for it.

pos

POS systems

Point-of-sale hardware and software, the one product line on the pricing page marked 'enquire for pricing' with no published number.

Support & Contact

Chapter 4

What others say

Synthesis of third-party platform reviews and industry ratings — agreements, disagreements, and which signals to weight.

Platform Ratings

Aggregated Trust Score

Based on 52 reviews across 2 rating platforms

4.2
out of 5
Overall Rating

Google Reviews

52 reviews
Reviewer Notes

Third-party reviewers record roughly 4.2 to 4.3 out of 5 across about 52 Google reviews — sources disagree slightly on the figure and we could not verify it directly. Treat it as the only meaningful body of merchant feedback that exists for Payline, and note how small it is for a company that says it serves more than 20,000 merchants.

Trustpilot

0 reviews
Reviewer Notes

Payline has no reviews at all on Trustpilot and the profile is unclaimed. That is not a bad sign in itself, but combined with the absence of a current BBB profile it means a merchant has almost no independent evidence about post-sale service to weigh against the published pricing.

Chapter 6

Common questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Pricing

Payline publishes interchange-plus tiers by monthly volume: interchange + 0.35% + 10c under $50,000 a month, + 0.30% + 10c to $100,000, + 0.25% + 10c to $500,000, + 0.20% + 8c to $1 million, and + 0.15% + 8c above that. Those percentages are Payline's markup — you also pay interchange and card brand assessments, which go to the card networks and issuing banks, not to Payline. There is no published monthly account fee and no PCI fee. Terminals are billed separately at $10 or $40 a month.

Contracts & Terms

General

How we evaluated Payline Data

We evaluate every payment processor independently — Payment Review does not accept paid placement. Our analysis combines hands-on product testing where possible, public pricing and policy documents, third-party reviews from BBB, Trustpilot, Google, and G2, and employee feedback from sites like Glassdoor and Indeed. We update reviews on a rolling cadence and flag the next review date so readers know how fresh the analysis is.

Last fact-checked September 3, 2026

Was this review helpful?

Share this review

Share via Email

Found something inaccurate or out of date?

Suggest a correction. Our editorial team reviews every submission and updates reviews on a rolling cadence.

Work at Payline Data?

Claim this listing with an email at your own domain to file corrections and track them. Claiming does not let you change the grade, the verdict or the ratings.

Claim this listing →

Not sure Payline Data is the right fit?

Answer a few questions and we will rank every provider we have graded against what your business actually needs.

Get matched free

Free. Providers are ranked on fit and editorial grade — no one can pay to appear higher.

See something wrong? Suggest an edit →

Alternatives

NayaxB- · Not published separately; Nayax's business is overwhelmingly device-based rather than ecommerce.Electronic PaymentsB · Not published.dLocalB- · Enterprise pricing is negotiated and unpublished. dLocal Go, the self-serve product, publishes a country-by-country list: in Latin America, cards run 2.99% in Brazil and Chile, 3.49% in Argentina, 3.99% in Paraguay, 4.99% in Uruguay and 7.99% in Ecuador, with Mexico at USD 0.20 + 2.49% and Colombia at USD 0.20 + 1.99%. Brazilian Pix is 0.99% and boleto is a flat USD 0.50. In Asia, cards are 5.50% in Indonesia and Malaysia; in Africa, 3.90% in Nigeria and 3.90% for Kenyan mobile money. Local tax is charged on top of the processing fee and is substantial — 21% in Argentina, 22% in Uruguay, 19% in Chile and Colombia, 18% in Brazil and Peru, 16% in Mexico and Kenya.

Merchant Reviews

No merchant has reviewed Payline Data here yet. Be the first to share your experience.

Share your Payline Data experience

Never published. Used only if we need to contact you about this review.

Quick Navigation