Payment Review
HomeReviewsGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Reviews
Revolut Business
Revolut Business logo
London, United KingdomFact-checked September 6, 2026

Revolut Business Review

B

Revolut Business is the merchant-acceptance arm of Revolut, the London fintech founded in 2015 by Nik Storonsky and Vlad Yatsenko. It is unusual in this directory for a simple reason: it publishes a complete rate card. A merchant can read, before speaking to anyone, that in-person domestic consumer Visa and Mastercard transactions cost 0.8% + £0.02, that the same cards online cost 1% + £0.20, that commercial and international cards cost 2.6% + £0.02 in person and 2.8% + £0.20 online, that a Revolut Terminal is £169 + VAT and a Lite Terminal £129 + VAT, and that a chargeback dispute resolved in the merchant's favour returns £15. Acceptance is a sub-account of a Revolut Business account rather than a separate merchant account with a separate provider, so settlement lands in the same balance the business already banks from, in as little as 24 hours. The important limit is geographic: Revolut has offered acquiring across the UK and continental Europe since 2020–21 — its own January 2021 announcement put the count at 29 European countries, a figure it has not refreshed since — and launched a full merchant-acquiring suite in Australia during 2026. It publishes no United States card-acceptance rates. In March 2026 Revolut exited the Bank of England's mobilisation phase and received a full UK banking licence, roughly twenty months after being granted one with restrictions in July 2024.

Connect with Revolut Business
See pricing
Visit website

External link — we may earn a commission.

Rate from
1% + £0.20 for domestic consumer Visa and Mastercard; 1.7% + £0.20 for domestic consumer American Express; 2.8% + £0.20 for domestic commercial cards and for all international cards. Revolut Pay costs 1% + £0.20 and Pay by Bank 1% + £0.20 capped at €5.
Monthly
Included in the Revolut Business plan.
Payout
Next day, including weekends.
Contract
No fixed term.
Founded
2015
VerdictPricingFeatures6Watch out1FAQsMethodology

Connect with Revolut Business

Tell them what you need. This goes to Revolut Business only.

Free. Providers are ranked on fit and editorial grade — no one can pay to appear higher.

Best for

Small and medium businesses in the UK, the EEA or Australia that already use Revolut Business as their operating account and want card acceptance without adding a provider. It suits card-present retail and hospitality especially well, because 0.8% + £0.02 on domestic consumer cards is close to the floor of what flat-rate acquiring costs, and it suits businesses trading in several currencies, since acceptance and settlement span 30-plus currencies inside one account. Online sellers on WooCommerce or Shopify get a no-code plugin, and developers get a documented Merchant API with a sandbox.

How it scores

Pricing4.5
Features3.5
Ease of use4.0
Support2.5
Contract4.0
Reputation score3.0

What it costs

Details →
Online
1% + £0.20 for domestic consumer Visa and Mastercard; 1.7% + £0.20 for domestic consumer American Express; 2.8% + £0.20 for domestic commercial cards and for all international cards. Revolut Pay costs 1% + £0.20 and Pay by Bank 1% + £0.20 capped at €5.
Monthly
Included in the Revolut Business plan.
Chargeback
£15 or equivalent returned to the merchant when a chargeback dispute is decided in the merchant's favour.
The takeB

If your business banks with Revolut and sits in a market where Revolut acquires, this is one of the cheapest and least evasive card-acceptance offers you can buy. The in-person headline of 0.8% + £0.02 undercuts almost every flat-rate competitor, the rate card is public and itemised down to card type, settlement is next-day including weekends, and there is no separate merchant-services relationship to negotiate — acceptance is a switch inside an account you already have. What holds it to a B is not the pricing. It is that the cheap headline applies only to domestic consumer cards, with commercial and international cards jumping to 2.6–2.8%; that acquiring is a European and Australian product with no published US offer; that Revolut's support reputation is the weakest part of its consumer record and merchants inherit it; and that a bank fined €3.5 million in 2025 for anti-money-laundering monitoring failures is a bank whose risk systems can freeze a business account. Cheap card acceptance is worth a great deal less if your funds are the thing being reviewed.

Skip if you

You are a US merchant — Revolut publishes no US card-acceptance rates and the US Business product is an account rather than a documented acquiring offer, so confirm eligibility before planning around it. Skip it too if your card mix is heavily commercial or international, where 2.6–2.8% erases the advantage over an interchange-plus acquirer; if you process high volume, where interchange-plus will beat any blended rate and Revolut itself directs you to a sales conversation; or if a funding hold would be existential for you, since Revolut's own account-freeze reputation and its 2025 AML penalty both point at a risk function that acts first and explains later.

Chapter 1

Should you choose Revolut Business?

The headline take, the audiences it's right (and wrong) for, and the genuine differentiators behind the verdict.

About

Revolut Business is the merchant-acceptance arm of Revolut, the London fintech founded in 2015 by Nik Storonsky and Vlad Yatsenko. It is unusual in this directory for a simple reason: it publishes a complete rate card. A merchant can read, before speaking to anyone, that in-person domestic consumer Visa and Mastercard transactions cost 0.8% + £0.02, that the same cards online cost 1% + £0.20, that commercial and international cards cost 2.6% + £0.02 in person and 2.8% + £0.20 online, that a Revolut Terminal is £169 + VAT and a Lite Terminal £129 + VAT, and that a chargeback dispute resolved in the merchant's favour returns £15. Acceptance is a sub-account of a Revolut Business account rather than a separate merchant account with a separate provider, so settlement lands in the same balance the business already banks from, in as little as 24 hours. The important limit is geographic: Revolut has offered acquiring across the UK and continental Europe since 2020–21 — its own January 2021 announcement put the count at 29 European countries, a figure it has not refreshed since — and launched a full merchant-acquiring suite in Australia during 2026. It publishes no United States card-acceptance rates. In March 2026 Revolut exited the Bank of England's mobilisation phase and received a full UK banking licence, roughly twenty months after being granted one with restrictions in July 2024.

Pros, cons, and audience

Pros

  • A complete published rate card, broken down by card type and channel, which almost nobody else in this directory offers — you can price the relationship before you speak to a salesperson.
  • 0.8% + £0.02 on domestic consumer cards in person is at the cheap end of flat-rate acquiring anywhere, and 1% + £0.20 online is competitive against the 1.4–1.9% + 20p that UK merchants are usually quoted.
  • No acquiring monthly fee, no set-up fee, no maintenance fee and no charge to issue a refund; the monthly cost is the Revolut Business plan you were paying for anyway.
  • Settlement in 24 hours including weekends, straight into the balance the business trades from, because acceptance is a sub-account rather than an external merchant account.
  • No fixed acquiring term and no early-termination fee — you leave by turning it off, which is rare enough in merchant services to be worth stating plainly.
  • Acceptance and settlement in more than 30 currencies with no conversion charge until you choose to exchange, which is genuinely useful for a business selling across European borders.
  • Chargebacks resolved in the merchant's favour return £15, so winning a dispute is not merely the absence of a loss.
  • Real hardware and software coverage for a young acquirer: two terminals, Tap to Pay on iPhone, payment links, invoices, subscriptions, a documented Merchant API with a sandbox, and no-code plugins for WooCommerce and Shopify.
  • Revolut received a full UK banking licence in March 2026 after exiting the Bank of England's mobilisation phase, which puts the entity behind the acquiring on a firmer regulatory footing than it was on two years ago.

Cons

  • The cheap headline covers domestic consumer cards only. Commercial cards and all international cards cost 2.6% + £0.02 in person and 2.8% + £0.20 online — a B2B seller or a tourist-facing shop will pay far more than the advertised 0.8%.
  • No published United States card-acceptance rates. Acquiring is documented across the UK and continental Europe — Revolut's own count of 29 European countries dates from January 2021 and has not been updated — and, from 2026, Australia. A US business should confirm eligibility directly rather than assume the product exists.
  • Support is the weakest part of Revolut's record. It is predominantly in-app and chat-first, and merchants inherit the same queue that has drawn years of consumer complaints — a serious problem when the thing that has gone wrong is a settlement.
  • The Bank of Lithuania fined Revolut Bank UAB €3.5 million in April 2025 for failures in monitoring business relationships and transactions. Risk controls that miss things also tend to over-correct, and account freezes are the most common complaint against Revolut generally.
  • The published rates are the UK rate card. Fees differ by country and Revolut updates them on a notice period, so a merchant elsewhere is pricing off a page that does not describe them.
  • Acceptance is bundled into a Revolut Business plan, so the true monthly cost is the plan tier — free at the bottom in some markets, well over £100 a month at the top — and comparing against a standalone acquirer means adding that back in.
  • Flat blended pricing stops being competitive at volume. Revolut says as much itself, directing higher-volume merchants to a sales conversation for unblended acquiring, which is where the published transparency ends.
  • Everything lives inside one company. That is the product's main virtue and its main concentration risk: an account restriction does not just stop your banking, it stops your card acceptance at the same moment.

What makes them different

The genuine differentiator

Acceptance is a sub-account, not a separate relationship. Almost every other provider here puts a merchant account on one side, a business bank account on the other, and a settlement delay in between. Revolut collapses the two: the money a card terminal takes arrives in the same multi-currency balance the business pays suppliers from, usually within 24 hours, with no separate onboarding, no separate portal and no separate monthly bill — the acquiring monthly fee is simply included in whichever Revolut Business plan you already pay for.

How we score it

4.5
Pricing Transparency
3.5
Feature Set
4
Ease of Use
2.5
Customer Support
4
Contract Terms
3
Industry Reputation
Chapter 2

What it costs

Real-world cost at three volumes, plus the rates, fees, payouts, and contract terms that drive them.

What Revolut Business actually costs

Estimated annual cost at three realistic processing volumes, using Revolut Business’s published online rate plus monthly fees. Real costs vary with average transaction size, chargeback rate, and any negotiated terms.

Small business
$10K/mo volume · ~$75 avg transaction
$NaN/year
≈ $NaN/mo · NaN% effective rate
Growing merchant
$50K/mo volume · ~$100 avg transaction
$NaN/year
≈ $NaN/mo · NaN% effective rate
High volume
$250K/mo volume · ~$150 avg transaction
$NaN/year
≈ $NaN/mo · NaN% effective rate

Pricing details

An acquirer that shows you the price

Most of this directory is a study in what companies will not tell you. Revolut Business is the opposite case, and it is worth saying so first because it is genuinely uncommon: the entire card-acceptance rate card is on a public page, broken out by card type and by channel, with hardware prices next to it. Domestic consumer Visa and Mastercard cost 0.8% + £0.02 in person and 1% + £0.20 online. Domestic consumer American Express costs 1.7%. Commercial cards and all international cards cost 2.6% + £0.02 in person and 2.8% + £0.20 online. Revolut Pay, the company's own account-to-account checkout, is cheaper still at 0.5% + £0.02 in person. A Revolut Terminal is £169 + VAT; the Lite Terminal is £129 + VAT. Win a chargeback and £15 comes back.

The structural idea behind it matters as much as the numbers. Revolut does not sell a merchant account that pays into your bank. The merchant account is a sub-account of the Revolut Business account, so takings land in the same multi-currency balance the business already pays suppliers from, usually within 24 hours and including weekends. There is no separate provider relationship, no separate portal, no separate monthly acquiring bill, and no term or early-termination fee. You switch it on, and you switch it off.

Where the cheap number stops being cheap

The 0.8% headline describes one row of the table. A business whose customers pay on corporate cards, or a shop in a tourist district taking foreign-issued cards, is on 2.6% or 2.8% — which is not a bargain, it is roughly what an expensive flat-rate competitor charges for everything. Before treating Revolut as the cheap option, look at a month of your own settlements and work out what share is domestic consumer plastic. That single ratio decides whether this is a saving or a rounding error.

There is a second qualification, and it is the one most likely to catch an American reader. Revolut's published acquiring is a European product. The company rolled it out across the UK and continental Europe in 2020 and 2021, announcing in January 2021 that businesses in 29 European countries could accept card payments — a count it has never refreshed, and one attached to rates of 1.3% and 2.8% that the current rate card has long since replaced, so check your own market rather than the press release. During 2026 it launched a full merchant-acquiring suite in Australia. There is no published US card-acceptance rate card, and Revolut's US business offering is an account rather than a documented acquiring product. Revolut does operate in the United States, so a US merchant should ask directly — but should not plan around acceptance until it is confirmed in writing.

The risk you take on with the price

In April 2025 the Bank of Lithuania fined Revolut Bank UAB, the group's EEA banking entity, €3.5 million for shortcomings in monitoring business relationships and transactions — the largest anti-money-laundering penalty imposed in Lithuania at the time. The regulator did not find that laundering had occurred; it found that the systems meant to spot it were not adequate. That distinction matters less to a merchant than it sounds, because the same function that misses what it should catch is the one that catches what it should not. Frozen accounts are the most persistent complaint made against Revolut in any of its businesses, and support is chat-first and app-based, which is a poor fit for the day your settlement does not arrive.

Set against that, the regulatory picture has improved. Revolut was granted a UK banking licence with restrictions in July 2024 and spent roughly twenty months in the Bank of England's mobilisation phase before receiving full authorisation in March 2026, at which point it began rolling out fully licensed accounts. That is a slower path than Revolut wanted and a real strengthening of the entity sitting behind the acquiring.

Who should actually buy this

The natural customer is a small or mid-sized European or Australian business that already uses Revolut Business as its operating account, takes most of its money from domestic consumer cards, and wants acceptance without adding a supplier. For that business the offer is close to unbeatable: the lowest published in-person rate on the market, next-day money into an account it already holds, no term, no ETF, no lease, and a terminal it owns outright.

The businesses that should look elsewhere are the ones the rate card quietly excludes. High-volume merchants will do better on interchange-plus, and Revolut says so itself by routing them to sales. Heavily B2B or international sellers land in the expensive band. US merchants have no published offer to buy. And any business for which a funding hold would be fatal should think hard before putting its banking and its card acceptance inside the same company, however good the price is.

The verdict

B, and the grade is a balance of two strong opposing forces rather than a shrug. On one side: published pricing at a level of detail nearly nobody else here matches, genuinely low in-person rates, next-day settlement, no contract and no hidden equipment lease. On the other: a cheap rate that applies to a narrower slice of transactions than the headline suggests, acquiring that does not cover the United States, a support operation that is the company's weakest point, and a 2025 regulatory penalty aimed squarely at the risk systems that decide whether merchants get paid on time. Price it against your own card mix, confirm it is available where you trade, and keep a fallback.

Processing Rates

Online

1% + £0.20 for domestic consumer Visa and Mastercard; 1.7% + £0.20 for domestic consumer American Express; 2.8% + £0.20 for domestic commercial cards and for all international cards. Revolut Pay costs 1% + £0.20 and Pay by Bank 1% + £0.20 capped at €5.

Card-not-present, e-commerce, and online payments

In-person

0.8% + £0.02 for domestic consumer Visa and Mastercard; 1.7% + £0.02 for domestic consumer American Express; 2.6% + £0.02 for domestic commercial and all international cards. Tap to Pay on iPhone adds £0.08 per transaction. Revolut Pay in person is 0.5% + £0.02.

Card-present retail and point-of-sale transactions

Keyed

Not separately priced. Revolut prices by card type and channel rather than by entry method, so a keyed or invoice payment falls under the online rates above.

Manually entered card-not-present transactions

International

All international cards are charged at the top band — 2.8% + £0.20 online, 2.6% + £0.02 in person — regardless of scheme. Acceptance and settlement span 30-plus currencies, with no extra charge until you choose to exchange, within the plan allowance and during market hours.

Cross-border and foreign currency transactions

Fees

Monthly Fee

Included in the Revolut Business plan.

Recurring monthly account fee

PCI Compliance Fee

Not published as a separate charge.

Annual PCI DSS compliance and security fee

Statement Fee

Revolut charges no set-up or maintenance fee for the merchant account, no separate acquiring monthly fee, and no fee to process a refund. Hardware is a one-time cost: £169 + VAT for the Revolut Terminal, £129 + VAT for the Lite Terminal. What is genuinely not free is the account itself — acceptance is bundled into a paid Revolut Business plan, so the real monthly cost is whichever tier you sit on, and plan pricing differs by country and changes periodically. Check the fee page for your own market rather than a comparison article, and note that the published rate card is the UK one; other markets have their own.

Monthly account statement and reporting fee

Chargeback Fee

£15 or equivalent returned to the merchant when a chargeback dispute is decided in the merchant's favour.

Per-incident chargeback dispute fee

Payouts

Standard Payout Time

Next day, including weekends.

Regular deposit schedule to your bank account

Expedited Payout Time

Not offered as a separate paid service.

Faster deposit option (may have additional fees)

Minimum Payout Amount

Revolut markets 24-hour settlement with next-day access to earnings, and its Australian launch made the same promise including weekends. The published pricing page footnotes this: the payout schedule can vary according to the Fees and Payment Processing terms, which in practice means a newly onboarded or higher-risk merchant may sit on a longer cycle or a reserve until a trading history exists. Funds settle into the Revolut Business balance itself rather than transferring to an outside bank, which is what removes the usual extra day.

Minimum balance required before payout

Contract Terms

Contract Length

No fixed term.

Required commitment period

Cancellation Process

There is no acquiring contract with a term or an early-termination fee — the merchant account is a sub-account of the business account and can be stopped by closing it. The commitment that does exist is the Revolut Business plan itself, where an annual subscription is discounted against monthly billing and cancelling early forfeits that discount. Two things are worth reading before you commit a payment flow to it. First, the Payment Processing Services Agreement, which is where reserves, settlement holds and chargeback liability actually live. Second, the terms for your own country: Revolut publishes market-specific fee pages and updates them on notice periods, so the rate you signed up on is not guaranteed to be the rate you are on in two years.

How to terminate your account

Revolut Business Pricing Calculator

Estimate your monthly costs

Pick a published plan, enter your volume and transaction profile, and we’ll compute the math the same way an underwriter would. Real costs vary with card mix, chargeback rate, and any negotiated terms.

$
$
Estimated Monthly Cost
$100.00
Effective Rate
1.00%
Discount rate (1% × $10,000)$100.00
Number of transactions200

Flat all-in rate (interchange built in)

Chapter 3

What you actually get

Products, integrations, payment-type coverage, security posture, and how their support holds up in practice.

Products & Services

payment processing

Merchant account

A sub-account of a Revolut Business account that unlocks card acceptance online, in-app and in person, with order management, reconciliation reporting and fraud monitoring in the same dashboard the business already uses.

pos

Revolut Terminal and Lite Terminal

Countertop and portable card terminals sold outright at £169 + VAT and £129 + VAT respectively, taking chip, contactless and digital wallets at the 0.8% + £0.02 in-person rate for domestic consumer cards.

mobile payments

Tap to Pay on iPhone

Contactless acceptance on an iPhone with no hardware at all, priced at the standard in-person rates plus £0.08 per transaction.

ecommerce

Revolut Pay

Revolut's own one-click checkout, priced below cards at 1% + £0.20 online and 0.5% + £0.02 in person, which pays account-to-account rather than over the card rails.

invoicing

Payment links, invoices and subscriptions

No-code ways to take a payment without a storefront — a link, a branded invoice or a recurring subscription — all settling into the same business balance.

gateway

Merchant API and e-commerce plugins

A documented REST API with a sandbox for custom checkouts, plus OAuth or API-key plugins for supported platforms including WooCommerce and Shopify.

Support & Contact

Chapter 5

Watch out for

Legal actions, regulatory matters, and signals from employee reviews that bear on how merchants get treated.

Legal Actions

Bank of Lithuania penalty against Revolut Bank UAB for money-laundering prevention failures

2025-04-08
Settled

The Bank of Lithuania fined Revolut Bank UAB — the group's EEA banking entity — €3.5 million over shortcomings in the monitoring of business relationships and transactions, finding that the bank did not always properly identify suspicious monetary operations. It was the largest anti-money-laundering penalty imposed in Lithuania at the time. The regulator did not allege that money laundering had actually occurred; the finding was about the adequacy of the monitoring systems. It is relevant to merchants because the same risk function that failed to flag what it should have is the one that decides whether your settlement is held.

Chapter 6

Common questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Pricing

In person, 0.8% + £0.02 for domestic consumer Visa and Mastercard, 1.7% + £0.02 for domestic consumer American Express, and 2.6% + £0.02 for domestic commercial cards and all international cards, with Tap to Pay on iPhone adding £0.08. Online, 1% + £0.20 for domestic consumer Visa and Mastercard, 1.7% + £0.20 for consumer Amex, and 2.8% + £0.20 for commercial and international cards. Revolut Pay is 1% + £0.20 online and 0.5% + £0.02 in person. These are the published UK figures; other markets have their own fee pages.

Contracts & Terms

Setup & Onboarding

General

Features

Support

How we evaluated Revolut Business

We evaluate every payment processor independently — Payment Review does not accept paid placement. Our analysis combines hands-on product testing where possible, public pricing and policy documents, third-party reviews from BBB, Trustpilot, Google, and G2, and employee feedback from sites like Glassdoor and Indeed. We update reviews on a rolling cadence and flag the next review date so readers know how fresh the analysis is.

Last fact-checked September 6, 2026Reviewed by Payment Review Editorial Team

Was this review helpful?

Share this review

Share via Email

Found something inaccurate or out of date?

Suggest a correction. Our editorial team reviews every submission and updates reviews on a rolling cadence.

Work at Revolut Business?

Claim this listing with an email at your own domain to file corrections and track them. Claiming does not let you change the grade, the verdict or the ratings.

Claim this listing →

Not sure Revolut Business is the right fit?

Answer a few questions and we will rank every provider we have graded against what your business actually needs.

Get matched free

Free. Providers are ranked on fit and editorial grade — no one can pay to appear higher.

See something wrong? Suggest an edit →

Alternatives

Talus PayB- · Not published. Talus quotes after underwriting and says pricing is set to each merchant's risk profile. Both tiered and interchange-plus pricing are reported to be available, with interchange-plus the more common placement; the markup is not disclosed publicly and varies materially between accounts.NexiB · Not published. Nexi's e-commerce acceptance is sold through partner banks and country channels, and the merchant discount rate is set in that channel rather than by a group price list.LavuB- · Not published. Lavu Pay is the built-in processor and Lavu does not disclose its card rates; online ordering runs through the same relationship.

Merchant Reviews

No merchant has reviewed Revolut Business here yet. Be the first to share your experience.

Share your Revolut Business experience

Never published. Used only if we need to contact you about this review.

Quick Navigation