Payment Review
HomeReviewsGet MatchedComparisonsBlogContact
Provider login
Payment Review

Your trusted source for payment industry insights, analysis, and expertise. Stay informed about the latest developments in payments technology and regulations.

Quick Links

  • Reviews
  • Comparisons
  • Blog
  • Request a Review
  • API Documentation
  • Provider Login

Contact

  • Contact Us
  • info@paymentreview.com

Follow Us

© 2026 Payment Review. All rights reserved.

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
Home
Reviews
Talus Pay
Talus Pay logo
Dallas, Texas, United StatesFact-checked September 6, 2026

Talus Pay Review

B-

Talus Pay is a Dallas merchant-services organisation trading as FPT Operating Company, LLC. The business dates to 2006, when it was founded in Dallas as Future Payment Technologies; it took the Talus Pay name in February 2019 following a trademark dispute, and has since consolidated its acquisitions under the master brand Talus. Its Better Business Bureau file records a business start date of 2 December 2016 and accreditation since 10 April 2017 — dates that reflect the current LLC's registration rather than the origin of the business. It has been a portfolio company of the private-equity firm A&M Capital Partners since 2017 and has grown largely by acquisition: Prolific Business Solutions in 2018, three add-on deals during 2019, and Jobox.ai together with Clarus Merchant Services in January 2024. The corporate structure is unusually layered even by ISO standards — AMCP Payments Intermediate Company LLC does business as Talus Pay, Talus Payments, LTD Merchant Services, MSP Consulting, Granite Payment Alliance, Philadelphia Processing, City National Bank Merchant Services and Merchant Bank Partners, and the group is a registered ISO or MSP of Pinnacle Bank dba Synovus Bank, Citizens Bank N.A., Elavon and Esquire Bank. Talus sells a proprietary gateway called Talus Connect, the ReadyPoint point-of-sale line, mobile acceptance, and — through a partnership with Ingenico announced in December 2025 — a hardware-free SoftPOS tap-to-pay product for North America. It holds an A+ BBB rating. It publishes no rates, no fees and no contract terms anywhere.

Connect with Talus Pay
See pricing
Visit website

External link — we may earn a commission.

Rate from
Not published. Talus quotes after underwriting and says pricing is set to each merchant's risk profile. Both tiered and interchange-plus pricing are reported to be available, with interchange-plus the more common placement; the markup is not disclosed publicly and varies materially between accounts.
Monthly
Not published.
Payout
Set at underwriting.
Contract
Advertised as no long-term contract.
Founded
2006
VerdictPricingFeatures5ReputationWatch out1FAQsMethodology

Connect with Talus Pay

Tell them what you need. This goes to Talus Pay only.

Free. Providers are ranked on fit and editorial grade — no one can pay to appear higher.

Best for

Small and mid-sized US businesses that want a single relationship covering gateway, terminals, POS and support rather than assembling those from separate vendors, and that are prepared to negotiate. Talus targets field and in-home services, B2B, restaurants, healthcare and general retail, and its integrated-payments and reseller programme make it a reasonable option for a software company wanting to monetise payments without becoming a payment facilitator. Merchants who value having a named account contact over having the lowest possible rate tend to be the happiest customers here.

How it scores

Pricing1.0
Features3.5
Ease of use3.5
Support3.0
Contract3.0
Reputation score3.0

What it costs

Details →
Online
Not published. Talus quotes after underwriting and says pricing is set to each merchant's risk profile. Both tiered and interchange-plus pricing are reported to be available, with interchange-plus the more common placement; the markup is not disclosed publicly and varies materially between accounts.
Monthly
Not published.

What others rate them

Details →
BBB
5
The takeB-

Talus is a middle-of-the-road ISO that has visibly cleaned itself up and still asks to be taken on trust. The improvement is real and worth crediting: its own site now advertises no long-term contracts, no junk fees and underwriting-based pricing, Merchant Maverick's current assessment describes month-to-month billing with no early-termination fee, and the BBB file is A+ with a modest complaint count for a company of this size. The problem is that none of it is verifiable in advance. There is no rate card, no fee schedule and no sample agreement, so the only way to find out what Talus costs is to let a salesperson quote you, and older third-party write-ups still describe three-year terms with automatic renewals and termination fees in the $295–$499 range. Either those terms are gone or they are still in some agreements; a company that published its terms would not leave that open. B- is a competent processor you can do perfectly well with, provided you read the contract you are actually handed rather than the marketing.

Skip if you

You want to know the price before you engage. Nothing is published, so price-shopping Talus against Helcim, Stax or Square is impossible without entering a sales process, and merchants who dislike that process should not start it. Skip it too if you process high volume and want interchange-plus quoted against a published markup, if you would rather buy hardware outright than accept whatever sale, rental, loan or lease arrangement the agreement specifies, or if you need acceptance outside the United States and Canada.

Chapter 1

Should you choose Talus Pay?

The headline take, the audiences it's right (and wrong) for, and the genuine differentiators behind the verdict.

About

Talus Pay is a Dallas merchant-services organisation trading as FPT Operating Company, LLC. The business dates to 2006, when it was founded in Dallas as Future Payment Technologies; it took the Talus Pay name in February 2019 following a trademark dispute, and has since consolidated its acquisitions under the master brand Talus. Its Better Business Bureau file records a business start date of 2 December 2016 and accreditation since 10 April 2017 — dates that reflect the current LLC's registration rather than the origin of the business. It has been a portfolio company of the private-equity firm A&M Capital Partners since 2017 and has grown largely by acquisition: Prolific Business Solutions in 2018, three add-on deals during 2019, and Jobox.ai together with Clarus Merchant Services in January 2024. The corporate structure is unusually layered even by ISO standards — AMCP Payments Intermediate Company LLC does business as Talus Pay, Talus Payments, LTD Merchant Services, MSP Consulting, Granite Payment Alliance, Philadelphia Processing, City National Bank Merchant Services and Merchant Bank Partners, and the group is a registered ISO or MSP of Pinnacle Bank dba Synovus Bank, Citizens Bank N.A., Elavon and Esquire Bank. Talus sells a proprietary gateway called Talus Connect, the ReadyPoint point-of-sale line, mobile acceptance, and — through a partnership with Ingenico announced in December 2025 — a hardware-free SoftPOS tap-to-pay product for North America. It holds an A+ BBB rating. It publishes no rates, no fees and no contract terms anywhere.

Pros, cons, and audience

Pros

  • Talus now advertises no long-term contracts and no junk fees on its own site, and Merchant Maverick's current review describes month-to-month billing with no early-termination fee — a genuine improvement on this company's earlier reputation.
  • A+ at the Better Business Bureau, accredited since April 2017, with a modest complaint count for a merchant-services company of this size.
  • A proprietary gateway rather than a resold one: Talus Connect covers retail, e-commerce, mobile, recurring billing, e-invoicing, text-to-pay, batch processing and an automatic account updater in a single stack.
  • Genuine full-service delivery — underwriting, gateway, devices, developer tools, fraud screening, settlement, reporting and support from one supplier, which is worth real money to a business that does not want to integrate four vendors.
  • Interchange-plus is available and is reportedly where most merchants are placed, rather than the tiered pricing that is the usual default at ISOs of this type.
  • Sales moved in-house from the telemarketing model that damaged the brand, and merchants are given electronic copies of contracts to review before signing.
  • A credible integrated-payments and reseller programme, letting a software company brand and monetise payments without registering as a payment facilitator.
  • Backed by A&M Capital Partners since 2017 and consistently acquisitive — Prolific Business Solutions in 2018, three deals in 2019, Jobox.ai and Clarus Merchant Services in January 2024 — so this is a funded business rather than a shrinking book.
  • A partnership with Ingenico announced in December 2025 brings a hardware-free SoftPOS tap-to-pay product to North America, letting a merchant accept contactless payments on an NFC phone with no terminal at all.

Cons

  • Nothing is published. No rates, no monthly fees, no PCI charge, no contract length, no termination fee — you cannot compare Talus against anything without entering a sales process.
  • Sources genuinely conflict on the contract. Talus and Merchant Maverick describe month-to-month with no ETF; other third-party reviews describe a three-year term with automatic two-year renewals and a $295 or $499 termination fee. Verify against your own agreement, not against either account.
  • The corporate structure is opaque. One operating group trades under at least eight names across at least four sponsor banks, so two merchants under the Talus brand can be on quite different paper.
  • Equipment terms are open-ended: Talus may sell, rent, loan or lease hardware depending on the agreement, and hardware obligations are exactly what survives an otherwise clean cancellation.
  • The recurring complaint themes are the expensive ones — long support hold times, charges continuing after cancellation, difficulty returning equipment, and disputes about changing the deposit bank account.
  • The historic reputation was poor: aggressive telemarketing, expensive tiered pricing and overpriced equipment leases. The company appears to have moved on, but merchants inheriting older paper may not have.
  • Funding timing is not published and depends on which sponsor bank sits behind your particular account, which is not something a merchant can determine from the website.
  • United States and Canada only in practice, with no international acquiring proposition.
  • The name has changed twice — Future Payment Technologies to Talus Pay in 2019, then to the master brand Talus — which makes searching for a merchant's own historic complaint record harder than it should be.

What makes them different

The genuine differentiator

It is a roll-up wearing one name. Talus is the retail face of an acquisition vehicle that also trades as LTD Merchant Services, MSP Consulting, Granite Payment Alliance, Philadelphia Processing, City National Bank Merchant Services and Merchant Bank Partners, and it sits on at least four sponsor banks. That has practical consequences a merchant should understand: which entity your agreement is with, which bank sponsors it and which portfolio your account was originally written into all affect the terms you get, and two Talus merchants signed a year apart can be on materially different contracts.

How we score it

1
Pricing Transparency
3.5
Feature Set
3.5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3
Contract Terms
3
Industry Reputation
Chapter 2

What it costs

Real-world cost at three volumes, plus the rates, fees, payouts, and contract terms that drive them.

What Talus Pay actually costs

Estimated annual cost at three realistic processing volumes, using Talus Pay’s published online rate plus monthly fees. Real costs vary with average transaction size, chargeback rate, and any negotiated terms.

Small business
$10K/mo volume · ~$75 avg transaction
$NaN/year
≈ $NaN/mo · NaN% effective rate
Growing merchant
$50K/mo volume · ~$100 avg transaction
$NaN/year
≈ $NaN/mo · NaN% effective rate
High volume
$250K/mo volume · ~$150 avg transaction
$NaN/year
≈ $NaN/mo · NaN% effective rate

Pricing details

A roll-up that got better and still will not show you a price

Talus Pay is the retail brand of FPT Operating Company, LLC, a Dallas merchant-services business that goes back further than its paperwork suggests. It was founded in 2006 as Future Payment Technologies and took the Talus Pay name in February 2019 after a trademark dispute, later consolidating its acquisitions under the shorter master brand Talus. The BBB file's business start date of December 2016 records the current LLC, not the company — a distinction worth making, because a twenty-year-old processor and a nine-year-old one are different propositions. It has been a portfolio company of A&M Capital Partners since 2017 and has grown the way private-equity-backed ISOs grow, by buying other people's merchant portfolios: Prolific Business Solutions in 2018, three add-on acquisitions during 2019, and Jobox.ai together with Clarus Merchant Services in January 2024.

The structure that results is worth understanding before you sign anything. AMCP Payments Intermediate Company LLC does business as Talus Pay, Talus Payments, LTD Merchant Services, MSP Consulting, Granite Payment Alliance, Philadelphia Processing, City National Bank Merchant Services and Merchant Bank Partners, and the group is a registered ISO or MSP of Pinnacle Bank dba Synovus Bank, Citizens Bank N.A., Elavon and Esquire Bank. One brand, many entities, several sponsor banks. Which one your agreement runs through is not a detail — it decides your funding timing, your terms and who you escalate to.

The improvement is real

Talus used to have a bad reputation, built on telemarketing, expensive tiered pricing and overpriced equipment leases. The current picture is noticeably better. Sales moved in-house. Merchants are given electronic copies of contracts to review before signing. The company's own site now advertises underwriting-based pricing with no long-term contracts and no junk fees, and Merchant Maverick's current assessment describes month-to-month billing with no early-termination fee, subject to thirty days' written notice and to separate hardware obligations. The BBB rating is A+ and the complaint file is modest for a company of this size, with themes — hold times, charges after cancellation, equipment returns, deposit-account changes — that read as operational rather than predatory.

Interchange-plus is available and is reportedly where most merchants land, which is more than can be said for a good deal of this sector. And the product is not a thin resale: Talus Connect is a proprietary gateway covering retail, e-commerce, mobile, recurring billing, e-invoicing, text-to-pay, batch processing and an automatic account updater, with the ReadyPoint POS line and resold Clover hardware around it.

And the transparency is not

None of that can be checked before you engage. There is no rate card, no fee schedule, no sample agreement and no published contract term anywhere on Talus's site. Ask what Talus costs and the answer is a sales conversation. Third-party reviews circulate specific numbers — a monthly programme charge near $59.99, a $9.50 monthly maintenance fee, a $98 annual per-location corporate fee, a $99 application fee — but these are second-hand, undated and uncorroborated, and reproducing them as fact would be doing the reader a disservice. They describe the shape of an ISO bill, not necessarily yours.

The contract question is sharper still, because two credible sources say different things. Talus and Merchant Maverick describe month-to-month with no termination fee. Several other reviews describe a three-year term with automatic two-year renewals and a $295 or $499 early-termination fee. Given how many entities and portfolios sit under this brand, both may be accurate about different books of business. That is precisely why you check the paper in front of you rather than any review, including this one: read the term, the renewal clause, the notice period, the termination fee, and — separately — the equipment agreement, because hardware obligations are what most often survive an otherwise clean cancellation.

One formal proceeding

The one formal action we could verify against a primary record is an employment matter, not a merchant one. In March 2023 an unfair labour practice charge was filed with the National Labor Relations Board against FPT Operating Company, LLC d/b/a Talus Pay, alleging coercive rules and retaliation over concerted activity. The NLRB issued a consolidated complaint in September 2024, Talus answered in October, and a bilateral settlement was conformed in May 2025, closing the case. It tells you nothing about how merchant accounts are handled, and we include it only because it is a real, named, primary-sourced proceeding rather than the industry gossip that usually fills this space.

The verdict

B-. Talus is a competent, funded, full-service processor with a proprietary gateway, an A+ BBB file, a credible embedded-payments programme and a reformed sales operation — a company you can do perfectly well with. It is held below that by a single, fixable failing: it will not tell you what anything costs until you are in the funnel, and the one term that matters most to a merchant is described differently by the company, by its most-cited reviewer, and by everybody else. Go in prepared to negotiate, insist on a full written schedule of recurring, annual and non-compliance fees, read the equipment agreement as carefully as the processing one, and you will probably be fine. Take the marketing copy as the deal and you are guessing.

Processing Rates

Online

Not published. Talus quotes after underwriting and says pricing is set to each merchant's risk profile. Both tiered and interchange-plus pricing are reported to be available, with interchange-plus the more common placement; the markup is not disclosed publicly and varies materially between accounts.

Card-not-present, e-commerce, and online payments

In-person

Not published. Card-present acceptance runs through the ReadyPoint line, Clover devices and mobile acceptance, all priced per merchant.

Card-present retail and point-of-sale transactions

Keyed

Not published. Talus Connect supports virtual terminal, e-invoicing, email and text-to-pay and recurring billing; keyed rates are quoted rather than listed.

Manually entered card-not-present transactions

Fees

Monthly Fee

Not published.

Recurring monthly account fee

PCI Compliance Fee

Not published.

Annual PCI DSS compliance and security fee

Statement Fee

Talus publishes no fee schedule of any kind. Independent reviewers describe the usual ISO stack as possible rather than certain — monthly account fees, annual fees, PCI charges, monthly minimums, equipment and software fees and chargeback fees — with everything set at quote. Reported figures circulating in third-party write-ups include a monthly programme charge around $59.99, a $9.50 monthly maintenance fee, a $98 annual per-location corporate fee and a $99 one-time application fee, but these are second-hand, undated and not corroborated by Talus, so treat them as indicative of the shape of the bill rather than as your bill. Ask for a full schedule of recurring and annual charges in writing before signing, and specifically for the PCI non-compliance fee, which is where ISO margins usually hide.

Monthly account statement and reporting fee

Early Termination Fee

Disputed — Talus and Merchant Maverick currently describe no early-termination fee, while older third-party reviews report $295 to $499.

Fee for canceling before contract end

Payouts

Standard Payout Time

Set at underwriting.

Regular deposit schedule to your bank account

Minimum Payout Amount

Talus does not publish a funding schedule. Settlement timing depends on the sponsoring bank behind your particular account — the group is a registered ISO or MSP of Pinnacle Bank dba Synovus Bank, Citizens Bank N.A., Elavon and Esquire Bank — and on the risk profile underwriting assigns you. Standard next-business-day funding is the industry norm for a low-risk account, but that is an expectation rather than a published commitment here. A recurring theme in the BBB complaint file concerns deposits and bank-detail changes, so confirm the funding schedule and the process for updating your deposit account in writing at onboarding.

Minimum balance required before payout

Contract Terms

Flexible Contract Terms

This provider offers month-to-month terms with no long-term commitment.

Contract Length

Advertised as no long-term contract.

Required commitment period

Cancellation Process

This is the area where sources genuinely disagree and a prospective merchant must verify for themselves. Talus's own site advertises no long-term contracts and no junk fees, and Merchant Maverick's current review describes month-to-month billing with no early-termination fee, requiring 30 days' written notice to close and noting that equipment-return requirements, outstanding balances and separate hardware obligations may still apply. Several other third-party reviews, apparently reflecting older agreements, describe a three-year term with automatic two-year renewals and an early-termination fee of $295 or $499. Because Talus writes business under multiple entities and multiple sponsor banks, both descriptions may be true of different portfolios. Get the term, the renewal clause, the notice period and the termination fee confirmed in the document you are actually signing, and check the equipment agreement separately — hardware obligations are the piece that most often survives an otherwise clean cancellation.

How to terminate your account

Talus Pay Pricing Calculator

Estimate your monthly costs

Pick a published plan, enter your volume and transaction profile, and we’ll compute the math the same way an underwriter would. Real costs vary with card mix, chargeback rate, and any negotiated terms.

$
$
Estimated Monthly Cost
$0.00
Effective Rate
0.00%
Number of transactions200

Flat all-in rate (interchange built in)

Chapter 3

What you actually get

Products, integrations, payment-type coverage, security posture, and how their support holds up in practice.

Products & Services

gateway

Talus Connect

Talus's proprietary omnichannel gateway, covering in-store retail, e-commerce, mobile acceptance, subscription and recurring billing, e-invoicing, email and text-to-pay, batch processing, an automatic account updater and embedded payments in partner software.

pos

ReadyPoint

Talus's point-of-sale offering for retail, restaurant and service businesses, sitting alongside Clover devices which Talus also resells.

mobile payments

Payments On the Go

Mobile card acceptance for field and in-home service businesses, one of the verticals Talus targets most directly.

payment processing

Integrated payments for software partners

A brandable full-service programme letting software companies and resellers embed payments — onboarding, gateway, devices, developer tools, fraud screening, settlement, reporting and support — under their own name without registering as a payment facilitator.

other

Value added services

The usual ISO attach products around the core account, including business optimisation services and merchant tooling sold alongside processing.

Support & Contact

Chapter 4

What others say

Synthesis of third-party platform reviews and industry ratings — agreements, disagreements, and which signals to weight.

Platform Ratings

Aggregated Trust Score

Based on 0 reviews across 1 rating platform

5.0
out of 5
Overall Rating

Better Business Bureau

0 reviews
Reviewer Notes

Talus holds an A+ rating and has been BBB-accredited since 10 April 2017, filed at 12712 Park Central Drive, Suite 350, Dallas, with a recorded business start date of 2 December 2016 and alternate names including Talus Payments and FPT Operating Company, LLC. That start date records the current LLC rather than the business, which was founded in 2006 as Future Payment Technologies. The complaint volume is modest for a merchant-services company of this size — Merchant Maverick counted eleven complaints over three years — and the themes are operational rather than predatory: long support hold times, charges continuing after an account was believed closed, difficulty returning equipment, and disputes over changing the deposit bank account. That is a considerably better file than this sector's ISOs typically post, and a marked improvement on the reputation Talus carried under its former name.

Chapter 5

Watch out for

Legal actions, regulatory matters, and signals from employee reviews that bear on how merchants get treated.

Legal Actions

NLRB case 16-CA-314545, FPT Operating Company, LLC d/b/a Talus Pay

2023-03-21
Settled

An unfair labour practice charge filed with the National Labor Relations Board against FPT Operating Company, LLC d/b/a Talus Pay, alleging coercive rules and retaliation over concerted activities under Section 8(a)(1). The NLRB issued a consolidated complaint on 27 September 2024 and Talus filed an answer in October 2024; a bilateral settlement agreement was conformed on 9 May 2025 and the case is closed. This is an employment matter and says nothing about how merchant accounts are handled, but it is the one formal proceeding naming the operating entity that we could verify against a primary record.

Chapter 6

Common questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Pricing

It does not say. Talus publishes no rate card and no fee schedule, quoting each merchant after underwriting and saying pricing reflects the individual risk profile. Both tiered and interchange-plus pricing are reported to be available, with interchange-plus the more common placement, but the markup is never disclosed publicly. Third-party write-ups circulate figures such as a monthly programme charge around $59.99, a $9.50 monthly maintenance fee, a $98 annual per-location fee and a $99 application fee — all second-hand and uncorroborated by Talus. Get a full written schedule before signing.

Contracts & Terms

General

Support

Features

Setup & Onboarding

How we evaluated Talus Pay

We evaluate every payment processor independently — Payment Review does not accept paid placement. Our analysis combines hands-on product testing where possible, public pricing and policy documents, third-party reviews from BBB, Trustpilot, Google, and G2, and employee feedback from sites like Glassdoor and Indeed. We update reviews on a rolling cadence and flag the next review date so readers know how fresh the analysis is.

Last fact-checked September 6, 2026Reviewed by Payment Review Editorial Team

Was this review helpful?

Share this review

Share via Email

Found something inaccurate or out of date?

Suggest a correction. Our editorial team reviews every submission and updates reviews on a rolling cadence.

Work at Talus Pay?

Claim this listing with an email at your own domain to file corrections and track them. Claiming does not let you change the grade, the verdict or the ratings.

Claim this listing →

Not sure Talus Pay is the right fit?

Answer a few questions and we will rank every provider we have graded against what your business actually needs.

Get matched free

Free. Providers are ranked on fit and editorial grade — no one can pay to appear higher.

See something wrong? Suggest an edit →

Alternatives

Revolut BusinessB · 1% + £0.20 for domestic consumer Visa and Mastercard; 1.7% + £0.20 for domestic consumer American Express; 2.8% + £0.20 for domestic commercial cards and for all international cards. Revolut Pay costs 1% + £0.20 and Pay by Bank 1% + £0.20 capped at €5.NexiB · Not published. Nexi's e-commerce acceptance is sold through partner banks and country channels, and the merchant discount rate is set in that channel rather than by a group price list.LavuB- · Not published. Lavu Pay is the built-in processor and Lavu does not disclose its card rates; online ordering runs through the same relationship.

Merchant Reviews

No merchant has reviewed Talus Pay here yet. Be the first to share your experience.

Share your Talus Pay experience

Never published. Used only if we need to contact you about this review.

Quick Navigation