Comparison · Updated September 27, 2026

A cloud point-of-sale system founded in Norwich, England in 2011 by Jacyn Heavens, now operating in the US from an Orlando office and claiming more than 80,000 business locations across 70-plus countries. The software is well liked — 26,281 Trustpilot reviews average 4.3, and the day-to-day complaints are few. The problems are all at the edges of the relationship: nothing about software pricing is published on the US site, the hardware bundle is advertised behind a discount countdown that never actually runs out, no two independent reviewers describe the same contract length, and the recurring theme in the US complaint record is how hard it is to get out. BBB lists 114 complaints in three years against an A+ accredited profile. Good product, aggressive commercial packaging — get the term and the monthly cost in writing before you sign anything.
Square offers simple, transparent payment processing ideal for small businesses. Flat-rate pricing, no monthly fees, and excellent software make it a top choice — but account holds and limited support are key concerns.
Epos Now and Square both sell a till, the software to run it and the card payments behind it to UK shops, cafés and restaurants, but on opposite commercial terms. This comparison uses each company's UK pages in pounds, not the US figures in the site's reviews. Epos Now (a B- on Payment Review) charges 1.7% on Visa and Mastercard through Epos Now Payments and sells its countertop Complete Solution for £299 + VAT, but that price needs a 12-month payments, care and support subscription starting at £54 a month. Its UK terms add a payments agreement of 12, 24 or 36 months, a £49 monthly inactivity fee if you process too little through it, and exit costs equal to the remaining monthly payments. Square (an A) charges 1.75% on every in-person UK card including Amex. Its POS software is free, it sells its hardware outright (Reader £19 + VAT, Terminal £149 + VAT, Register £699 + VAT), and it has no contract or cancellation fee. Square also pays out the next day including weekends where your bank supports it. The 0.05-point rate gap covers Epos Now's £54 subscription only above about £108,000 a month in card sales, so for most small businesses Square costs less and is far easier to leave.
Epos Now suits an established UK retailer or hospitality business that wants a countertop till with an integrated printer and is ready to sign a fixed-term agreement. It also suits a business that wants to keep its existing card processor, since Epos Now can run with third-party payments. Get the rate, the term and the exit cost in writing first.
Square suits most small and mid-sized UK businesses. It has free POS software, one flat rate on every UK card including Amex, hardware you buy outright from £19 + VAT, next-day payouts including weekends, and no contract. You can leave at any time without a fee.

Square is the better choice for most UK businesses. Epos Now's rate is 0.05 points lower on Visa and Mastercard, but its software starts at £54 a month where Square's is free, so Square costs less below about £108,000 a month in card sales. Square also publishes every rate, charges Amex the same as other cards, has no contract, minimum volume, chargeback fee or exit fee, and pays out the next day including weekends where your bank supports it. Epos Now is worth pricing if you want to keep your current card processor, or if you want a countertop till with a built-in printer and will commit to its terms. Read the payments agreement's term and inactivity clause before you sign.
| Feature | Epos Now | Square |
|---|---|---|
| In-person Visa and Mastercard | 1.7% | 1.75% (UK cards) |
| Epos Now's payments and card-machine pages both give 1.7%, and its UK Complete Solution terms list "Payments @ 1.7%". The same site also says "For card transactions we charge from 0.8% and offer a rate match", and its standalone Payments Lite device is 1.5%. Epos Now's payment terms (clause 3.6) say its fees exclude "applicable VAT" without saying whether VAT applies to processing. Square's pricing pages do not state VAT treatment; a Square community moderator has said its UK processing is a VAT-exempt supply. Epos Now's 0.05-point lead is worth £5 per £10,000 of card sales. It covers the £54 minimum monthly subscription only above about £108,000 a month, and at that volume both firms negotiate: Square offers custom rates above £200,000 a year and Epos Now says it charges "from 0.8%" with a rate match. No winner is given because the 1.7% comes only with Epos Now's paid subscription and its VAT treatment is not stated. Square for Retail Plus (£49 a month per location) lowers Square's rate to 1.6%, below Epos Now's. | ||
| Amex, JCB and UnionPay in person | Opt-in at a second rate, not disclosed | 1.75%, same as Visa and Mastercard Winner |
| Epos Now's footnotes offer "one flat rate" on Visa, Mastercard, Diners and Discover and an opt-in "second fixed rate" for Amex, JCB and UnionPay. It does not publish that second rate for its integrated service (its standalone Lite device charges 2.5%). Square says Visa, Mastercard and American Express are "all charged at the same rate". | ||
| Non-UK cards | Not disclosed | +1.5% |
| Online checkout | Not disclosed | 1.4% + 25p (UK cards) |
| Square charges 2.5% + 25p on non-UK cards online. Epos Now takes online payments through Epos Now Online and ecommerce apps but does not publish an online rate. | ||
| Keyed, payment links and invoices | Not disclosed | 2.5% |
| Epos Now sells Pay by Link and describes "clear flat rates" without giving the rate. Square's 2.5% covers manually keyed cards, card on file, Virtual Terminal and invoices, plus 1.5% on non-UK cards. | ||
| Chargeback fee | £29 per chargeback | None Winner |
| The fee is in Epos Now Payment Services Terms (UK Version 2.5), clause 7.2. Square lists no chargeback fee and says "We cover the fee for every dispute that we fight on your behalf". | ||
| Minimum processing | £2,000 or 75% of card sales per 28 days, or £49/month per terminal | None Winner |
| Under Epos Now's payment terms (clause 10.4) you must activate the terminal within 45 days with at least 50 transactions. After that, in every rolling 28-day period, you must process at least 75% of your card payments or £2,000 through Epos Now. If you meet neither, Epos Now may by written notice charge an inactivity fee of £49 a month per terminal during the initial term, suspended once you meet the threshold again for 28 days. For seasonal businesses Epos Now may average the threshold at its discretion. Square has "no minimum monthly transaction requirements". | ||
Recommendations based on your business type
At this volume Epos Now's lower rate saves at most £10 a month, against a £54+ monthly subscription and a fixed term. Square's free software, £19 Reader or £149 Terminal, and freedom to leave cost far less.

Epos Now sells Basic plans with third-party payments and says it integrates with major payment providers. Square processes all card payments itself and can only record outside payments as other tender. Expect Epos Now's price to be higher if you don't use Epos Now Payments.
Square charges Amex at the same 1.75% as every other UK card in person. Epos Now makes Amex an opt-in at a second rate it does not publish for its integrated service.
Square has no minimum term or exit fee, so a quiet winter costs nothing but card fees. Epos Now's subscription and payments agreement run for at least 12 months, leaving early costs the remaining monthly payments, and its payments agreement rolls on month to month after the term unless you give notice before it ends.
Both. Square gives 24/7 phone support to Square Terminal sellers and on Square for Restaurants Plus (£69 a month); its Free plan has weekday support. Epos Now offers 24/7 phone support as part of its paid Premium Support. Check which plan your quote includes.
Common questions about this comparison
Explore more payment processor matchups